(2011/01) Jan 2011

Seems like a lot of mummies cannot wait to pop... haha.. for me it is the other way round. I dun mind waiting.. LOL...not looking forward to the lack of sleep for the first year and worrying abt BM supply. Hv gone thru that with my gal and now that she is nearly 3, she is very easy to handle.

Sputnik: hahahaha..u are funny.. like one of my work partner said, she wished she can stuff her baby back into her tummy after she was born. Because too much trouble of breast feeding, lack of z and changing all! hehehe.... maybe i'll feel the same too when bb is out.. but as of now, i just wan her out! Backache is really killing me.. and i just hate to keep gg to pee in the middle of the night!!!!!

wanna ask if u are gonna pop in TMC standard single bedded room. Which floor is the best?

On top of that, any idea how much is the sanitary pad that TMC charges? When should we ask them not to open theirs? should we bring our own or more advisable to just use theirs?

Sputnik - I'm on both side actually, hope to have full term bb so that it will have good birth weight... but at the same time, all the aches and night heartburns make me very worn out in the day time... Immobility also another issue for me, I need to be on the move for my pre-schooler.

Esther - Try not to go to bed after drinking water, these days I try not to drink water after 8 or 9pm and empty bladder before I go to bed. So far only woke up once for toilet break...How many weeks are u now?

Esther - Ya, a lot of mummies after giving birth say that it is easier being preg than looking after a newborn. I also having backache, but my hubby give me back massage every nite and it really helps..also enjoying the massage so dun wan to pop so soon!

Poor Mummy - did u try taking gastric meds? When i get heartburn i take the white minty syrup. Doc says it is very safe for pregnancy as it does not get into the bloodstream.

I told my gynae i dun wan to induce, he laugh and said i very patient. Think he finds it quite amusing cos i keep telling him i wanna wait. Now trying to stuff myself with food that i will not be able to eat during my confinement - ice cream etc. I put on abt 8kg so far and my bb shld be abt 2.8kg.

poorMummy: im due of the 27 jan. Not sure how to count.. not sure how many weeks is that now. :p

If i dont drink a cup of milk milo before i z, i will tend to be woken up in the middle of the night as bb kicked very hard. (she must be hungry i guess.)

If i drink just before i sleep, bb doesnt kick, but ended up gg to toilet again and again to pee. Oh well.... on top of that, i am always thirsty in the middle of the night too after gg to the toilet!@!! argh....

Ivftwins,

thks. Will check out if tmc has an equivalent lady stationed at their pharmacy.

CL,

congrats! And a 6 min delivery is amazing!!

Cookiefleur,

I'm also trying hard to persevere with the bf. Now mainly doing expressing so I can tell how much milk bb is taking. I have no choice but to give formula while bb is warded n anyway my production is low. Seeing her suckle so hard while getting almost nothing out is really heart wrenching.

Like someone else suggested, can spoon feed bb with ebm, but it does take very long.

esther - u shld be 38 weeks on 13 Jan. I hv been waking up for supper in the middle of the nite every nite since i was abt 2-3 mths preg...

Hi Mummies, anyone pass their due date yet? My EDD according to gynae last week should be 10 Jan but I have no signs of labour even until now! V anxious but gynae said ok to be overdue a few days.

Was trying to tear off the calendar paper just now and it fell on me and cut my tummy. Luckily superficial cut though some skin got scraped off

poor mummy, ya since first day u can tell nurse to help u keep glass bottles. then discharge u can go n ask if they have extras to give u...

Luckymummy>

let's Jiayou together... I agree that spoonfeed/cupfeeding takes too long... Actually now I dunno how much I'm producing cos only latching baby and not expressing. But should be enough for baby since she is sleeping 2-3 hours... Am so tempted to pump out and use bottle to feed her but I think abt the logistics when going out and have to bring so many things, it puts me off the idea too. Sigh!

Sputnik: Thanks! me too.. im enjoying the massage everynight from hubby! although its only 2-3 mins, its better than nothing lah!!!!

Mag (maggiepie): Oh dear, you better becareful. Usually the old folks says that baby should not be overdue for too long. They say max is about 4-5 days. Wanna try to induce? not sure whats the down side if you induce. Some mummy prefers to wait.

i guess we all feels like a 'COW' as we are gonna keep breast feeding baby every 2-3 hrs!! goodness me...And the idea of doing so... HOW TO BE ROMANTIC back with hubby!??!?! i really hope hubby wont see me as a walking 'COW' after delivery! sigh...

Anyone here already on maternity leave, just doing plain nothing but wait at home for baby to pop? I'm kinda bored at home after 2nd day.

was wondering if anyone is engaging this person/ store in regards to processing the Placenta.

HeavenlyHeatlhStore.com

Contact person is Yeo Chuan Hong at 98203772.

I am engaging this person, from this store. I heard they are reputable as they got chinese medical shop in china town for a long long time. And they will pick up my placenta from hospital immediately after i deliver and process them at their store and send it back to your home in capsules form. But its kinda expensive $300.

What to do, not many ppl are expert in this area.

Any other alternatives? do you think they are reputable enough? i hope i didnt gross out some mummy out there! ehehhee....

Esther - From petrol kiosk? Why? Yah perhaps I shld drink fresh milk to gain some weight for BB. =P

Wont lah.... hahaha but I also cant think of doing anything romantic with hubby after giving birth. My first one was status quo for quite sometime before we went back to 'normal'

Rachel - Thanks! Will do so in TMC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poor Mummy: i love eating rice dumpling either the one wrap in pandan leaves or those from petrol station. But old folks and gynae said, these food like rice dumpling / glutinous rice are hard to digest and causes indigestion which resulted in either gastric reflux or heartburn. Which i suffered for many early months of my pregnancy. Staying away from rice dumpling for a while was a good idea as my gastric subsided quite a bit. Its also becoz i started drink milk / milo in the morning to stable my stomach PH level.

poor mummy: dont eat sushi rice too. Because sticky rice are hard to digest too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh! u talking abt hearburn... hahaha

I thought what u meant.. hahaha

Okok noted.. no glutinous rice for me...

I realise when I drink those formula milk for preg mums/ milo I tend to have heartburn almost immediately...now milo still okay for me.

Mag, i hurt my tummy yesterday too. After i got out of the cab, i stood too near the door and the door hit my tummy when i was closing it. Tummy was painful for a few minutes then after that ok.

Hope baby inside is not injured.

Namie, I am already on leave, partly to wait at home for baby to pop and also to do some final housework before baby comes.

Still got some baby laundry to do.

I occupy myself by watching tv online!

And also got some baby books yet to finish reading.

maybe u can go to the library and borrow the childcare books to read.

Thanks Esther. Quite worried becos everyone seems to be early even my frens who have the same edd have all delivered. Asked gynae last week what if I have no signs of labour since I am already dilated 1.5cm and he said to wait a few days. Going for next appt tmr might induce though

Bethel, must be careful.. Went to bathe and the scraped wound hates plus my tummy is super duber stretched so v itchy too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Xiaopang,

I bought my Klorane dry shampoo at Watsons for $14.90. It works like a hair spray, spray it onto oily scalp, wait 2 minutes then comb through. It has a mild fragrance too. Since I can't properly wash my hair, this is the next best alternative.

LZZ,

I had Csec & for the first few days I slept on my back. I cant sleep on the sides cos the wound will hurt. I also need help to get out of bed but I would try to do it on my own. I slowly turn onto my side for a while then use elbow to prop myself up. It won't be entirely painless because you are also using your tummy muscles, but it gets better as the days go by. Hang in there!

Esther,

I processed my placenta into pill form. $200 for about 135 capsules depending on how big your placenta is. However this is a home-based business, it is up to you whether you want to trust them or not. Email: [email protected]

Hi Mag, my edd also on 13th Jan. N no signs of labor too, no dilation some more, haha. Just went for check up n I may be induced if bb dun wanna come out by his own before 16th.. Wats ur gynae suggestion....? U going to be induced?

LZZ: I also had emergency c sec... Try to rest on ur back as much as possible... I also find keeping e binder(mount a) on helps a lot as it constraint any unnecessary muscle movement.. And force air bubbles out from tummy... If u are breastfeeding.. Try to get ur hubby to carry bb to ur side and bf using e lying down position... It hurts like he'll when I try to change her diapers so dun worry.. Jus get ur hb/confinement nanny/mil/mom to help with e change for e time being.. It will get better... Jiayou!

Hi puix2, edd was original 13 Jan but it has shifted forward for last few visits to 10 jan. Gynae suggested to wait since I am going for next appt tmr. Think maybe if tmr still no signs then will induce. Thot he will come out today cos v nice date but he seems to be comfy inside leh

CINCH TUMMY WRAP

I just need 5 more wraps to close this spree..

Anyone else still keen?

Please let me know asap...

Est $120 all in...

Retailing at $159.90

Taking in order for this model only...

PLEASE PM ME as i do not follow this thread...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

est arrival: 1st Feb latest before CNY. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have the following to let go, almost brand new as seldom used . Pls PM me if interested

1. Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump at $300 (retail $388)

2. Baby Bjorn Synergy (Air Mesh Material) in Dark Blue at $200 (retail $289)

3. Capella S705 stroller (2010 model, Blue color) at $250 (retail $329)

4. My Brest Friend Nursing Pillow at $50 (retail $81)

cookiefleur,

yes I have the same dilemma. It's a lot less hassle latching direct, but after my nipples have been so abused recently I actually don't quite mind doing pumping instead. At least the pain is much less.

As long as baby is pooing and urinating regularly you should be producing enough. Mine was not, so affected her weight and might have brought on the jaundice as well.

klorane dry shampoo,

I just tried it today to last me between baths and it's not bad. Hair immediately looks and feels less oily. If you're strictly following confinement rules of not bathing I would recommend this.

Chercat: Thanks for e advice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nimkulut: Thanks for e advice! It really helped to boost my morale, knowing tat i'm not e only one facing these probs...Me n my hubby r doing confinement ourselves, n it's really hard on my hubby as he needs to clean, cook n take care of me n bb. I really hope i can recover fast to take some load off him. Jiayou! ;)

Dear mummies just to update tat i have delivered.. BB Janelle arrived safely on 11 Jan'11 noon @ TMC. Wt:2.925kg ht: 48cm

Mummies help!

My bb refused to latch on.. When I put my nipple in her mouth she won't close it and keep screaming and bob her head backwards and forward.... Looking terrified.. I have been trying to feed her for e past 3 hrs without success... I tot it might be e Dom that I drank before I zzz... But when I heat up e ebm to feed her, she also refused to take... How??? I can't carry her for long cos of my wound and hb has to work tomorrow morning... Help...

Nimkulut,

is she showing other signs of distress? If it's just the feeding for now then try to spoon feed? Wait till you can call the paediatrician to find out more. Did u try burping etc? Maybe she has digestive issues n it's making heruncomfortable?

Nimkulut,

Could be latching on problem or bb dun feel well, like diaper wet..

Try cuddling bb to calm her down first .. Aft tat massage and squeeze some bm out on ur nipple and then 'offer' it to bb.. I always use tis method..

Nimkulut,

I have similar prob with my BB. He latches but gets frustrated after a while cause my milk supply hasn't come in...as he has a bit of jaundice, I was advised to give him formula..really hope my milk supply will kick in soon...

Mummies - Did it take long for your supply to come? I wonder what is taking mine so long, today is the 5th day since I delivered.

I also find calming down the BB works if they are impatient drinker.

I will call out their name, cuddle them when they are more in control, lesser screaming then I try again. The key is dont gan cheong/frustrated together with the baby...

kikapo - for my #1, it took me many days to establish milk flow.... am not that busty sort... but I just kept latching on...sometimes wondering if he's actually drinking anything or not..but since he doesnt fuss I just left him to be.

Congrats to those who have popped!

Think many of us are facing challenges in breastfeeding! I console myself that I am not the only one going through this tough period!

I think the 3rd week is always the challenging one, because baby will go through a growth spurt and I find myself producing not enough. To make things worst, baby is a snacker baby, so he won't empty the breast. He will drink a bit, then sleep and it's very difficult to wake him up. Just trying to get him to empty one breast takes about 1 hour! Then he will wake up in 1 hour and want to feed again. It is so exhausting!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

congrats to those who had delivered.

for my 1st boy I have some latch on prob too even I know i have milk supply. only to find out that its the gush of milk that makes baby couldnt latch on properly. u can use finger to express out the initial milk to release the pressure, so milk flow will be smoother for baby. I found out when expressing milk, i could see the initial milk just spray out.

c sec mommies milk supply comes in much later, mine came in on the 5th day and not much. so just keep latching baby for a while to stimulate supply.

tomorrow is my c sec, I have not packed my bag yet. still need 1 more open front gown, later go buy. feeling very laggy, dont wish to do anything at all.

Hi misty and all we mus persist on!!! And remember dun stress... Stress and not enough rest will affect milk supply... Plus remember to drink lots of fluid at least 2l and above.. And yes milk supply for individuals are different my came in only 5 or 6th day after my delivery

I will sleep at nite top up with fm and when Mormon I wake up I can either express out or latch on and usually the milk flow will be gd after a gd nite sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CONGRATS to all who have pop!!!!!!! rest well..

Remember to wear socks all the time to keep your feet warm. Or wear home slipers.. to prevent cold air from the floor getting into you body! (old folks believe.)

Side track a little, I was wondering since theres so many issues on breast feeding after delivery... since my EDD is in 2 weeks time..

Can i or should i start massaging my breast, hoping to increase the milk supply. If i start doing now, by the time baby decides to pop out next week or the week after, i will have the milk flow already. DOes it work that way?? hmm... i must be nuts..anything i can do now to help my breast ready for breast feeding? massaging nipples? :p

My baby also the impatient and fussy sort I think. I'm seriously in pain from sore nipples, finally decided to feed from bottle today. It was a hard decision to make but for sake of my nipples so I can continue giving baby breastmilk, I decided to feed her EBM. So far had to supplement w formula once so that my pumping can catch up... Feel lousy abt it... In fact a bit depressed... I miss baby at my breast. =(