(2011/01) Jan 2011

Sorry to interrupt.

I have a Philips Avent SCD480 baby monitor for sale - 16 channels and up to 200m range. Good for single-level apartments. Bought only a few months ago and used for only a few nights. Condition 10/10. If you are interested, please PM me for price.

Hi Mummies, I went thru induce las time when I was having my son... I mus say the contraction come every other second so I hav no choice but to take epid as it's painful but I think it depends on invidual bah... Don't wan to scare u all as diff pp hav diff reaction I mus jus say the lesser u know the better as u won't expect anything kekeke that wat happen to me ;) all the best and jiayou everyone !!!! We are almost there!!!!!

chelleybaby.

wah.. ur gynae ask u either today or tomorrow?? so short time frame to decide..i understand how u feel also. i'm also waiting for baby to pop to end the discomfort of pregnancy.

my check up is this thursday. see wat the covering gynae (mine on hols till 1st jan) will say.

luckymummy,

induce lo. so u'll be literally camping in hospital before contraction starts. sure able to get epi de.

ivftwins

can get fenugrek pills from GNC and other reputable drug stores i think. 1 thing: DO NOT eat fenegrek so early. only eat when u need to boost BM. if u eat before ur milk supply comes in, it may worsen your engorgement and pain. u may wan to hold ur buy first??

lily,

u make wan wan to consider c-sec le..esp when kimmy say c-sec is not as bad as she imagine.. sigh~

Chabby, think u are right. Will hold purchase. I am c-sect this fri. Will post when I'm better on the experience. Hope it's on time for u.

Chabby,

My gynae going away for so many days and there is no covering gynae. Is it the norm? My next check up is like 2 weeks later (40weeks)?!? But if i really do pop in between, the 24hr answering service will call her buddy who is covering her duties to deliver my baby...

chelleybaby

there shld be a covering gynae that will help his/her patients to deliver in their absence. that is the norm. dun worry. they have their buddy system de.

i was schedule for check up as i've mild GD. so if u've not complications or wat so ever, your gynae may not schedule u for check up w the covering gynae as this will incur additional cost on your side.

so i was told tat if i'm due to delivery, jus go to the labour ward. the labour ward will call the covering gynae to come help me delivery. dun need to call her emergency line.

Chelleybaby,

I went through induction for no.1 and it was quite a good experience. I wasnt dilated at all up to 41wks and no contractions at all. Gynae checked me in at 12MN for induction coz he said hospital charges from 12 onwards so don't waste time LOL. Medicine will be given to clear your bowel then a pill will be inserted to dilate your cervic. THANK GOD, contractions kicked in naturally after 2hours so didn't have to take the drip. Gradually contractions get stronger, dilated pretty quickly. By 1pm my daughter is out, with min. intake of epidural. Midwife in Mt A is PERFECT, knows exactly how much epi to give that u can still push and always cleaning me up & moving me around to make me feel comfortable with every blow of contraction. Not much risks...

FYI, heard its the drip that cause massive blows of contractions, so will be alittle painful.

Hope this is useful...dont worry u will be fine.

Chabby,

I just went for checkup yesterday. And gynae says I can deliver anytime. He also gave me the option to induce on either 31 Dec or 1 Jan.... so I guess it's this weekend liao!

I can't wait to deliver coz bb is now getting very heavy and it's super tired to sleep...

Yes Chabby my is c sec this time ;)

Hoshi so we mite be having same birthdays for our kids!!

Thanks mummies for the info on p1 registration [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I will let my gal join as per moe regulation unless she can't cope than will get deferment [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luckymummy11,

I also have diarrhea for the past 1 week. Almost once every day. At first I tot I ate too much chilli until I read somewhere that it is our body preparing for labour.

But until now I have no signs at all! No spotting.. no contractions..

Time passes by seconds for me now.. tick tock tick tock..

Lily,

Yup!!... hehe... My gynae was saying that a lot of people will be delivering on 1 Jan... so I guess it might be pretty crowded in the delivery ward..

If my boy is born on 1 Jan 2011, I will register him with the 2010 kids... and yes, MOE guidelines allow us to choose whether to join the previous batch or current batch.

Morning Ladies,

It is getting really tiring isn't it...I am struggling to get out of bed to get to work. Everyone is asking me why I am still coming to work but I will be quite bored at home otherwise.

As my gynae was away on hols, I saw the covering gynae for my 38th week check last week. She then asked me to come back yesterday for CTG. And because this was not a scheduled check, I incurred additional costs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] end up with no contractions observed..bb was still quite comfortable in there. Hubby joked that the gynae's biz seems no so good so maybe it was to boost her income...haha..

I have been telling bb to hang in there till 3 Jan cause that is when my gynae will be back. Fingers crossed...

Any mummies going for the Isetan sale? I am still in two minds as to whether I should brave it on my own since hubby will not be available to accompany me.

mummies who are still carrying your melon belly..enjoy while it last k..my baby was so awake btween 4am-6am which is normal..i still prefer to take care of her by myself so i din get my in-law to help...sleepless of course..u will miss the sleeping time after pop k..cut down the complaint..hahahahaha

however, it's always feel sweet to hold her in my chest after every meal (except midnite feed..haha..:p)..

Jiayou mummies..

And yes to chabby,

i dun see c-sect scary at all...just when doctor do stitching, they will press quite hard on your tummy to clear all the dirt, tat one gotto bear a bit, not pain but just discomfort..takes abt 10-20 minutes only...

Congrats to mummies who have popped!

Me still playing the waiting game. Bb's been very active. Maybe coz it's getting very cramp inside. her movements are quite hurting at times.

Been hvg alot of discharge too. Isit a sign? Feeling the pressure below some times.. n im guessing that bb has engaged. Can only be certain when I go for gynea visit this friday.

same here. hanging on till friday only.Baby is extremely active and at times, walking or standing feel so difficult as the pressure is everywhere in the stomach.

But like what kimmy says: we must treasure this last few days worth of moment.

Kimmy: I hope my experience with C is as smooth as yours.

Did you ask for extra pain killer to be put into drip after op?

Did you BF the same day of surgery?

SALE ALERT!!!

La Senza is having UP TO 70% OFF..

those mummies who are tempted to buy their stuff, it's time to trot down. =)

i'm tempted to buy a few strapless bra. but worry breast will swell and cup size will change.

mummies...

can share where to buy babies's hankies? nice soft material, but not small size nor thin material.

I like the mothercare ones but very expensive.

I realise I don't have enough.

Hie mummies...in my first pregnancy 4yrs ago, I was induce at 38 week. It is juz a simple process. They had me come in at 10pm, get me all comfy in the treatment room, insert a tablet up my vagina. In my case, i started having contractions half and hour later and they admitted me to the delivery suite. Was having strong and hard contraction. At 2am, i caved in and requested for epi (a women's best friend during long labour). At 3am, water was broke. At 1230pm, Baby was born.

Ladies, Dun u all feel sick and tired when u go to parties and ppl kept asking y u haven't pop yet? It gets so ridiculously irritating that i actually snap and told them that I am not due yet!!! I felt sorry for snapping but here i am wishing and hoping that my lil champ will come out soon once he has baked enuff. I had enuff of the sleepless nite cause by my melon tummy, the frequent visit to the loo, the back ache, having to stop every ten steps of walking. I wanna hold, cuddle and carry my 4yr old child normally again. I wanna play with my 4yr old child without needing to rest so often. No I am not complaining...but pls...i noe they are concern but they'll definately be informed when i popped. Sorry for the long post ladies...juz need to vent it out.

Miaiko,

dunno where my mum buy those plain white towel material square hanky.. a dozen for $4 only. i go ask her.

siti

thanks for sharing the story.. i guess the good thing abt it is that i'm sure to be in time for epi.

Hi mummies...after reading all the posts i think we are on the same boat... Mine is 39wks and I am counting down to my delivery... But seems so slow and i just can't wait for bb to deliver..

Miaiko, i also experience the same thing.. My bb very active and middle of night will kick and wake me up from my sleep... The discharge is a sign too, do keep a look out for mensus cramp and maybe stomachahe, if pain continue is time for labour..

I have the following preloved item for sale as I am relocating soon. Pls PM me for more details, thanks!

1. Philips Avent DECT Baby Monitor - Used only for a few times (sound only, no image)

Hello all..

Had my checkup today.. talked to my gynae. If I dun start Labour by Saturday night, I will do c-sect on Sunday morning. Induce not recommended for me as he does not want to risk anything. So praying hard that bb will auto come out..

Today's weight at 39w3d is 3.6kg.. hee.. now I also worried abt the newborn sized diapers that I bought cannot use..

siti> I feel the same way as u. I want to be able to play with my 2year old at the same time be MYSELF instead of being a sore huge troublesome ballon moving around. I dun feel FIT but am fitted with lots of pain and sleepless nights. No matter what time I sleep, I tend to wake up at about 3 - 4am and stay blinking at the dark ceiling trying to sleep in different positions. Can only knock off at about 5.30 or 6am. By then I am exhuasted and tired to go to work. I find it a misery though its for a new bundle of JOY...

rest of MUMMIES 2B> how r u all coping??? Hang in there tight, it's a matter of time only. Everything is for the best & precious moment coming along our way soon.

hello everyone! I just rejoined this forum. I'm in my week 37 and still haven't decide which breast pump to buy. Any recommendation? And is anyone buying the Moo Moo Kow cloth diapers to try? How does it work?

pinky_j,

haiz .. my baby's weight today at 36 weeks 4 days is aldy 3.6kg. die la. Anyway, my gynae is worried about my BP and I will probably induce by next week. I don't have pre eclampsia but since baby is aldy a good weight she thinks no point in waiting aldy.

sigh. tmr I still have to go in for an assesment then see how. hope i don't get warded and induced by Friday .. lol.

all the best pinky!:D

I heard many 'gd' c-sec experiences...hope everything will be fine for u![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Daphne, thank you for updating the table!

My baby's still not turning dwnwards, still praying each day that bb will turn and hopefully will go through a natural birth.

I'm just wondering why my gynae din let me know my bb estimated size/weight after wk 32..i'm a curious and would like to control my diet so that i wont be delivering a HUGE baby!:p

Maumau

If you would like to buy nice photo frames for your new born bb, do visit http://fluffyheartz.blogspot.com

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4940655.jpg]

CL,

Yeah the diarrhoea was a bit scary cos I really thought it might be almost time. But guess mine was just something I ate? I also have no other signs and I'm going about my life as per normal, just waiting only.

Induction,

thks everyone who shared...doesnt seem so bad except for this drip thing. Will avoid that if at all possible!

kikapo/lilyh,

I went for the isetan sale...yup I'm incorrigible! My mum was with me and it wasn't too packed yet cos still morning. Actually most people still make way for me once they see my watermelon, EVEN during a sale. My friend said the crowds were terrible in the afternoon. Bought random household items and a bag. DKNY Jeans had an amazing sale...items at 300+ going for $40 etc. So tempted to get some items but clothes would be such an impractical buy now. Hai...next time lah.

kimmy,

my colleague who just delivered also told me to enjoy the time now. waking up to pee is better than waking up to breastfeed! haha. I can see the logic there but I also want to experience the joy of holding my baby etc.

Anyway mine seems pretty darn happy inside, not engaged, putting on weight like nobody's business...

pinky,

wah u are almost at the 40wk mark! Hang in there. I think most newborn diapers can wear till 4kg no? You should be able to clear 1 pack within the first few days. NBs lose some weight in the first week after delivery.

If my baby's growth spurt overtakes yours my gynae might also induce me pretty soon.

kristal,

You prefer a 2011 baby? Maybe can tahan till early next week? Keep us posted.

Thanks mummies! Really hoping for natural now.. just called the. Clinic to confirm my c-sect timing and waiting confirmation from hosp side now.. mixed feelings though..

Still no signs of natural labour like bloody discharge etc.. but getting super a lot of discharge now.. max of 4 more days carrying my huge watermelon ard.. hehe.. rotting at home in e mean time..

i am also one of the jan mtb.

my edd is on 9th jan but will be having c section on 1 jan due to past medical history – open surgery on fibroids..

need some advice or comments..

yesterday i went for my final consultation.. as usual my gynae will measure bb growth.. he said my bb is huge and he himself cannot believe it.. bet 3.8kg to 4.2kg.. this is not the first time he comment that my bb is huge.. i replied what if my bb is actually small size which i quoted less than 3kg, he jokingly said i will charge you free..

my body size is not very big.. i do not know what is my pre-pregnancy weight so i based on my appt book.. my 1st check in May was 53.2kg and yesterday my measurement was 64.7kg.. the difference is about 11.5kg.. OGTT result was negative.. when i go out, ppl comment that my tummy is small.. it does not look like i am carrying a 3 plus kg bb.. in both family lines, there are no big size built.. so quite puzzling..

now the worrying part is whether my bb will be healthy when he is out..

oh ya i complained of insomnia to my gynae, he suggested that i admit on 1 jan 12am to settle down and rest since the bed charge starts at 12am.. a check with the admission office, it is confirmed.. i can choose to be admitted at 12am or come in at 6.30am for my c section at 9am.. so now i am still considering to go at 12am or 6.30am.. if 12am mean i gotta spend my countdown in hospital for the 1st time.. haa..

regards to insomnia, anyone facing it? i think i gan cheong.. but it has been like these for 2 weeks.. i will fall asleep at about 11pm plus then wake up at 3am plus to go pee, after that cannot sleep anymore..

anyone went for c section at tmc already? How many nights did you stay? my gynae said 2 nights ok but admission office said 3 nights for package.. must we take the package? what is the difference?

there is another issue.. about job security.. anyone on hospitalisation leave? I am on HL since early dec.. due to my complaint of pain and difficulty to move around.. so all in all i am on 1 mth HL and 4 mth maternity leave.. will i be sack?

look like i am having many issues.. just wanna know if there is anyone who is encountering the same or similar to me and what is the result..

Wow! So much activities!

Congrats to those mummies who have pop..

Excited for those that are near :D

I'm also waiting.. Yesterday feeling some aching on & off & tot I'm going to due liao! Haha!

How does contraction feels like??

I got pain once a while last 1-2wks, but yesterday was aching.

Haha! Even have to call up my frens to ask how does contraction feels like :p

still got 2 more bz days to go, gotta settle my work.. So BB can't come out now, else will b super bz... :-/ haha..

ivftwins,

no, i diden ask for extra pain killer. I reject pain killer till my gynae ask me to take the pain killer cos the first 2 days can feel the pain altho I dun feel it when lying on my bed, but walking can feel the pain but is bearable..just walk slow lor..the next day walk double faster and I walk down to clinic to change the dressing without any companion...Yes, I go back to my ward at 3plus and nurse push my baby at abt 5pm...If Im not wrong, TMC's practise is to bring the baby over to you within 1 hour (approximately) after u gave birth, they will wan u to BF your baby, cos it help u to boost up your BM...I found out this after I read their feedback form, one of the question is asking if the nurse bring my baby for BF within an hour.

If I say my heartbeat is normal in theater is bluf one, sure racing heart, but doctor say is normal, mine is consider gd..I think positive and kept take slow deep breath...u have to manage your own breath not doctor, so think positive sure can...

RE: Cinch wrap,

Mummies there..we wear this wrap while going out or wear for whole day? I haven start my massage yet,seeing gynae today to remove the stitch. BF really very fast to slim down...think positive and stay positive!!!!

RE: BF vs toilet

haa....both also an experience lar..if baby guai guai then very good...quite fast cos once they are full, they fall sleep then u can sleep...the hard time is the pumping milk schedule..cos after baby sleep, u can either pump out the remaining or sleep a while more then pump..tat one gotto be more hardworking if wan to have enuf supply in the long run...

RE: Facebook

How come I cannot comment on facebook wall :-( so sad

Hi kimmy, did we need to bring our wedding cert to the hospital? I cannot remember about this part already..

Think you better dun start on the cinch wrap first. Wait for another 2 weeks more. At the main time, you can continue to use yr elastic wrap.

Congrats to those who have popped! Can't believe its Jan soon! Time flies!

I am feeling huge pressure at V area today and sudden sharp pain such that I have to stop in my track and walk slowly. I don't remember feeling that for my #1.....

daphne,

yes, we need to show when we register baby birth cert..

bring passbok when open CDA & Baby bonus account.

I remove the elaastic wrap already...u mean the elastic wrap can help to tighten our belly too?

Misty & Cookiefleur,

Have you both popped on 27Dec??? I have!

My birth story is not very incredible cos I also opted for Csec like kimmy.

I chose to numb half body for the op so that husband can be inside the operating room with me. Epi was injected & the numbness set in within 10 mins. Gynae came in & I knew the procedure started when I smelled burned flesh, I think they used a laser to 'open' me. There was no pain but I could feel some tugging/pulling sensation. Gynae kept on reassuring me baby is almost out & true enough in about 15 mins, baby was lifted out to be cleaned & presented to me. WOW! (Hubby could see what was being done to me but I think I shall not scare the mummies here by being too graphic)

For the 1st day, I was put on a glucose drip & urine catheter cos was totally bedridden. Tummy had contractions but gynae said that is normal as the womb needs to slowly return to its original size & position. As I had alot of wind in me, I had much pain & discomfort for the 1st day.

2nd day onwards, once the drip & urine tube were removed from me, I could not wait to scramble out of bed to start walking, as advised by the gynae. Yes the wound area was painful, & I had bouts of breathlessness & disorientation, but now I am recovering slowly.

It was quite an experience!

Looking forward to hearing your birth stories one by one, ivftwins, LilyH etc... Let's join one another at the finishing line soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi kimmy, so if I'm not registering the birth cert there means I dun need to bring the marriage cert, rite?

Yeah, the elastic wrap can help to tighten our belly and also reduce the pain on the wound area. For my #1, I use the elastic wrap for my whole confinement. At tat time after my 7 days of massage, the massage lady ask me to use the elastic wrap to help tighten the belly...

Hie ladies...need help here...I am having bad shooting pain at my vagina and some uncomfortable contractions. Its the shooting pain at my vagina that is very painful. What is that?

Congrats Chercat!! think my birth story is not going to be any exciting as my is going to be c sec too..but the tot of gg thru the op kind of freak me out a little ...as its my 2nd time so kind of wary abt the pain and all...thou am excited about my gal!