(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi Coconutz and Sherill,

Me too going to have baby of same gender as #1, gal, gal. Was pretty disappointed and on and off still will now.

Not that I don't like gal, my gal has been my best buddy and bring me lots of joy to our lives. But guess its natural we always tends to hope for 1 boy, 1 gal to have a Hao. Besides my hubby is only son, though my hubby is very happy and looking forward to see our gal in Jan. (Especially after the Oscar trauma) I somehow feel a bit like letting his family down, mainly my father in laws who is more traditional.

Yesterday, I accidentally over heard the converstaion bet my hubby and his parents. My father in laws is very happy to be ye ye again. Don't know how the conversation evolved, I overheard him say, don't have to be a boy, healthy and clever can already. He just hope my second one like my gal, always make his day!!He even started to clean up his place last week, planning to build more shelves to keep new toys and stuffs for the coming baby.

After hearing all, I think, for my case, guess I am thinking too muc.And I really feel blessed. Will enjoy my pregnancy and looking forward to see my gal!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats Jovial ... Hahah I used to have ur mentality too... I am more traditional and hope for a boy ( my 1st was a boy but didn't make it to term) and now this one is a gal. My Hubby is very happy esp he loves girls... and I am also glad that my PIL is ok with either boy or gal healthy can liao .... I think I am the old fashion type hahaha ... Now I am really anticipating for my gal arrival in Jan.

Me too have 2 gals, going to close shop after this. Was pretty disappointed cos it will be nice to have 1 boy 1 gal, but i think i will be even more disappointed if i have 2 boys and no chance to have a gal, cos gal is definitely closer to parents and my no 1 is so sweet and adorable. It is really fun buying things for her and dressing her up as well! My in laws also say boy or gal dun matter, as long as healthy can already.

Mitch - so sorry to hear abt your number 1. So now yr gal is your first kid? Cos i notice in the table that u are expecting number 2 :) Actually it is really great to have a gal. I find nowadays when kids grow up, the gals are still close to their families, but when the boys get married, they will spend more time with the gal's family and tend to side more with their wives. Guess women are getting more powerful!!

True ladies! girls are very close to parents even after marriage and until marriage I think the raising, education everything is same. It is just that we want to taste both 'sweet and sour' at different times [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

One more thing: girls no NS ;)

sherill - haha, that's exactly what my hubby says as well... gals no need to go thru NS! So we no need to worry abt something happening to them during NS.

I only have 1 sister and the two of us are definitely closer to our parents then to our in laws. Also prefer spending time with our parents than our in laws.... haha...

V lightly used playmat. condition 10/10

Letting go at $30.. includes plastic cover. Pick up at Tampines

PM me if interested. thanks

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4418304.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4418305.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4418306.jpg]

Actually don't think so much lah... Girl or boy also same, so long as they are healthy. Now waiting for my no.2 to come out. I keep thinking I love my gal so much, and wonder how much more love I can expand for my 2nd one!... and keep thinking how will my baby look like when he comes out...

Hi Jovial & grumpus, I'm also born in dec and it's 4 days before x'mas. I think tat being a dec girl is quite good as I'm always the small girl in my class and most of my frens who are small age as me always look after me. Having my bday near all the holidays is also very exciting.

Now tat I'm going to hv a jan baby, I'm actually not used to it. My #1 boy is born in Oct09. He got 2 cousins in the same yr but few mths older. And everyone call my boy "didi" as he's the youngest. And I'm sure they will look after him when older also.

I prefer in dec as well, can save one year education [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My EDD is 7 jan so I am prepared to give birth in dec .

grumpus: my room's layout dun allow to push the cot in and out bcos cannot turn. I diden buy 2, i buy one and borrow one extra from fren :)

Jovial: congrats and welcome. We got the same EDD :)

Many mummies here know the baby gender already...I'm really looking forward to see my baby gender, I even had dream about it last night..so silly

I hope my FIL think the same as Jovial and Mitch's PIL, cos my FIL is very traditional type and my hubby is the only son in the family, the responsibility is on me alone...

daphne - nope, hv not got the results yet. I think will only get it next week. Wonder what other things we can tell from the results besides the gender and down's syndrome.

Chercat, my girl yr 2008 jan bb. She has been to 4 days childcare sometime when she is 20mths. i notice my girl is indeed more advance than her classmates who are all older than her. all the rest are yr 2007 bb. my girl is able to dine by herself and let teachers know what she want but the rest still waiting for teachers to feed them and just yell and not telling teachers what they want. for me, i actually followed very closely with development elaborated on babycenter and follow thru advices on how to develop their motor skills and language skills and am quite successful so far. so infact i thot my girl is just developing on pace and not faster than others. i notice some parents actually leave everything to presch to help develop their children n potty train them. so maybe their kids could seems developing slower when teachers attention got to be distributed among a grp of children. but anyway, not to worry too much lor. like what the other MTB said, eventually children will catch up with others on whatever they need to learn when they reach certain age. I think in a presch class, if child are the youngest they may gain more attention from teachers than others. Some sch will tasks older child to assist in looking after younger ones. On the other hand the educational system here is generally fix. Child only can enter primary school when they are 7YO. So no point rush kids to school also.

hoshi, jass, Thanks for the feedback on the matress. i will go for it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jovial, KKH got free booklets on breastfeeding. very well covered. if you happen to drop by there you may wanna pick up one for reference ;)

Does anyone know when we can start to use booster seat for our kids? Also, can car seat or booster seat be used in the front seat of the car?

Hi Ting,

I agree with you. Parents also have a big role to play and not just leave everything to the childcare. I remember 'training' my gal for childcare before she starts school. It is not to stress her, but rather teaching and guiding her the basics and be more independent so that she would not be so 'scared' in school. I taught her to chew 'bigger' food items like apples, bathe her with water dripping down from her head, making sure her nap time sync with the school's napping time. Other thing is I can't potty train her coz I'm a FTWM, and not possible to teach her during the day.

I also prefer dec baby, coz I'm also Dec person. I find it an 'achievement' that I can do so much more or even the same as my peers who are older than me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And when u grow older, u are still 'younger' than ur peers... hehe..

Hi kimmyksc,

so qiao. Same Edd.

Thanx ting,

I stayed very near Kkh. Will check out the booklet. Do u remember where it place?

Have a crazy day, work, work, work. Luckily on leave Tom. Yeh!!! Tink I really deserve it!! 

Hi Jovial, i think shud b able to find the booklet at the library. i think i saw it at the A&E also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TGIF... and finally we can get a good rest on weekends. This few days seems so difficult to sleep at night. Kept getting up to go toilet, scared of leg cramps, and my gal kept keeping my back.... sigh.... not sure how long more can let her sleep between us.... gosh...

This weekend is the NATAS fair, any mummies going?... I'm gg to look out for good taiwan deals...

I am going for my detailed scan tomorrow. Hope can know the gender and go shopping.

This few nights I also don't sleep well. I tried to drink lesser water but still need to keep going toilet. And my boy has been waking up in this sleep.

hi all mum to be

i have many sachet of milk powder of different brands selling at $1 each

similac mum 50gx3 sachets expiring 14/04/2011

Enfamum 50gx1satchet expring 13/11/2010

Dumex Mamil Mama 48g x 8 satchets (6 expiring on 13/11/2010 & 2 expiring on 16/05/2011)

Collection at Clementi Mrt/ Bt Panjang. Postage will be ard $2-$3 cos its a bit bulky.

Email me at [email protected] if interested

Just done my detail scan. Phew, all things r well. Can see baby very clearly. My gynae very experience. Scan here, scan there, say a lot of terms, measure many things.Tried to c baby face via 4d scan but still not very clear.

Now in my dentist clinic. Done my check n polish, waiting for hubby finish his check. So productive today!!! 

Hoshi, so envy u planning trip. Me still trying to persuade hubby. But his job very busy.

Mi too leg cramp n go loo many times at nite. Last pregnancy only have these in last trim. Long time never zzzz thru nite. Leg still feel pain from cramp. Ouch!!!!

Gr8 Jovial! u r really productive today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 4d scan in singapore should be very expensive right?

My detail scan is 2 week later and I cancelled my dentist appointment due to being preggo. I really dont want to make unnecessary doc visits these days. May be after delivery I willl go to dentist again.

Wow. so nice that many of you got to confirm bb's gender already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

R your tummies growing alot bigger lately? Mine did. Suddenly grow bigger n faster. Getting alil bit difficult to get out of bed, and to squat up & down now.

Do you notice ur busts growing bigger too? Mine did and Im feeling weird.

Misiko, ya, mine also suddenly getting very pointed and many colleagues start to ask me if i m pregnant. got one evening when i notice my big tummy i also very surprise. my busts also growing bigger and i also notice white stain (suspect is milk stain) around nipples sometime. i told my hb and he also feel surprise cos this time so fast. me just half way thru my pregnancy.

Misiko,

My tummy is huge and visible since 2months. Haha. And busts are definitely bigger. I already started using the bra extension months back. And I feel tightness on my tummy after meals. I thought my skin should be more elastic now after having one kid.

mine sometime look big, but sometime i feel lighter especially morning when i woke up from sleep..must be something to do with *thinking* - xin li zuo yong :)

I diden measure my busts, and dun dare to measure also :-S

can't wait... can't wait....2 more days to detail scan...

Ting, yah. I think i need to get some maternity clothes soon. Tummy getting big is gd & bad.. gd coz we noe bb is growing, n other ppl wld no longer stare at my tummy and wonder if Im fat or preggy. haha. Bad coz im losing my balance. Yikes.

jovial...yeah...very coincident, so we got 3 mummies's EDD on the same date now :) wondering if actualy day will be the same too..

Silly question: if I want my baby to come out slightly earlier, say early of Jan (by natural), u think eat more will helps?

pinkimum, u use bra extension coz ur chest circumference is wider right? not coz busts bigger bah. My busts grown bigger n faster this time, creating more cleavage which I feel umcomfy abt.Think maybe it's time to upsize my bra.

Mummies who had breastfed... where to buy gd quality n comfy nursing bras & Tops??

Grumpus, Jovial & Ting,

Thanks for your comments concerning Dec or Jan baby. I am still undecided though I am more inclined towards Jan2011 delivery. See how.

2nd time mummies,

Your 1st child popped before or after your EDD? My gynae told me usually 1st child will stay longer in womb & dun wanna come out. Is it true? Cos I m planning my Csec date.

Ladies, what are your weight gains so far? (Think most of us should be around 18-22weeks by now).

kimmy,

u so cute... I dun think eating more will 'help' ur baby to come out earlier. May even pose certain problems. for eg, eat too much, bb too big, may need to go for c-section..

chercat,

my no.1 pop out in week 37.. was by induced as bb was getting bigger and I had gestational diabetes. Think now my weight gain abt 5kg..

Miaiko,

Good to get nursing/maternity bra that does not come with wire, but bad thing is that very easily to get out of shape... haha... I remembered buying from John Little or OG, selling the eternity bra, very cheap, think less than $10 each.. very comfy too..

chercat, for my #1, during my 39 weeks check-up, I'm still not at all diluted. Anyway, since he's breech, so I schedule for c-sec the next day.

I'm in my 18 weeks + and I've already gain 6kg. This time round, I'm trying to control my diet as I dun want to gain a total of 20kg like my first pregnancy. But seems like I'm still gaining weight quite fast.

I'm 19 weeks today and probably only gained abt 1kg so far? Haha...

My tummy started growing the moment i found out i was pregnant. I guess cos it is number 2. By the time i was 2 mths cannot fit into my usual bottoms already. Tummy also feels really tight after meals, so no choice hv to eat small meals.

Miaiko,

Is it really good? Coz it's a bit ex for a tummy wrap. Did ur friends and relatives managed to slim down using this wrap?

Sputnik,

U so good, only gain 1kg....

me too so afraid to put on another 20kg this time round. Im getting the tummy wrap coz desperate to slim down my tummy after delivery!

think I put on about 2kg so far. eee..... I've been eating for pleasure.. not to fill my tummy. so unhealthy hor? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hoshi, yah quite expensive. But it is adjustable and soft. so can use for a long time. My friends who use them.. they all can get back to their pre-pregnancy's flat tummy and slim waist line lor. So envious. They even use this wrap to tighten n hide their tummy when they need to go out, so wont see the ugly bulge. I was like.. no wonder my tummy so wobbly! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Miaiko - the tummy wrap seems really expensive. I saw another BP selling a tummy wrap for $24.90, not sure if it is good. Can we use the tummy wrap immediately after we pop if it is natural birth?

Sputnik, u noe when I delivered my first child, i also got a tummy wrap from the BP. It was so cheap. but when I received it.. the size not right and material no good at all. very cheap stuff. Super disappointed. So i went to mothercare to buy another kind of tummy wrap. Material is much better but it keep shrinking upwards when i sit down and very comfortable when I wear it out as it cuts into my skin.

It's only late last year then I found out from my many friends that they r using this tummy wrap from USA and all have good reviews. So Im determined to get this wrap.

Im suddenly thinking... if we have enuf mummies here interested to get this wrap. Maybe we can ask this BP organiser if we can get it cheaper!

u ladies so good, i tink i have gained 8 kg oredi!!!! my tummy is very obvious and many pple gave up seats for me now... even my colleagues were commenting that my tummy is big for coming to 20 weeks. my bust has also up 2 size now... itchy and areolas bigger...Yikes!!!

Hi Miaiko, after my c-sec, my gynae straight away ask me to put on my tummy wrap the next day. This is to tighten the wound so tat I won't felt too much pain when getting out of bed or walking.

But I realised tat this BP page mentioned tat for C-sec, could only wear few weeks after. So not sure wat's the difference. If I could wear immediately, I might be interested in getting also. Did any of yr frens wear directly after c-sec?