(2011/01) Jan 2011

poor mummy, ur boy is so sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

previously I bought maternity clothes from EGG maternity. Quite expensive. Got a skirt from Spring Maternity too,but dun like the cutting.

Poor mummy, thanks. I did not know 4 year old still will need night feeds..

soya bean milk : oh oh I am drinking right now. But then I dunno my baby is girl or boy.

Dear Mums,

For sale - Brand New Avent Newborn Starter Kit (BPA Free)

I have a spare set which is given during the birth of my baby. Includes:

2 x Airflex Feeding Bottle (260 ml/ 9 oz) with size 2 teat.

2 x Airflex Feeding Bottle (125 ml/ 4 oz) with size 1 teat.

2 x Extra soft, Newborn Flow Teat size 1.

1 x Newborn Pacifier.

1 x Bottle and teat brush.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?ctn=SCD270/00&scy=gb&slg=en

Retail price @ about SGD49.90

My selling price SGD40nett, brand new.

Call me 98204176 to transact immediately.

good morning mtbs, its friday finally!!!!

Anyone felt the first kick/punch from baby yet? usually when will feel it ah?

Daphne - i'm also most likely going for the amnio test even tho my overall risk is above 1:300, but results is not that great. But i've decided to go for it so that I don't have to keep worrying abt it. I heard that the procedure is pretty fast, and it is not as scary as it sounds. Anyway, the risk of amnio is 0.3%, not 3% as someone mentioned.

Oh, so glad it is Fri.... can't wait to get out of the office today!

Hi Sputnik, my gynae told me my risk of DS is 1:115 and the risk of m/c in amnio test is 1:300. So, the risk of m/c is of cos lower than my risk of DS. So, I also rather go for it.

My gynae also said tat the procedure is very fast. Yeah, rather than worrying about it for the next 6 mths, might as well go for it to be 100% sure. The oscar test is only a guideline and not 100%. But with amnio test, it's defintely 100% accurate.

I've read some other forums about amnio test. Some of their risk is is as high as 1:3. But after the amnio test, bb turns out to be ok. At least this test is a guarantee...

Btw, if you decide to go for the amnio test, think u need to book an appt with yr gynae to check the position of yr placenta. As per my gynae, some ppl's are more difficult for amnio to be perform.

I'm waiting patiently for 1 mth later to do the test. At the mean time, I'm still enjoying my pregnancy.

i just ordered from bbr, funny that i not really showing or putting on that much, about under 2kgs now 15wks, but bottoms are bursting already. Can't wait to get my clothes and see what these taiwanese quality is like, first time ordering.

My #1 boy just turned 1yo 2 days ago, am worried that he has worms in his tummy. He is super active, sleeps abt 2hrs in the day and goes to bed past 10pm. I give him cereal with his milk at 9pm, then he will wake about 1 or 2 times in the night and each feed i give him 250ml which he finishes then throws his bottle aside and falls asleep again. At 9mths he was 8kg and now still the same, anyone experience similar?

BTW, I haven't been active on this forum, but read on and off, my EDD is 20 Jan but gynae advice me to go for C-section cos #1 was via C and #2 is very close to first preg so likely to deliver early Jan. Will deliver at Glen E.

Waiting for another 2 wks to find out baby's gender, symptoms similar to #1 though. Just get headaches at the end of day, everyhing normal otherwise.

Hi EL Chan, my no. 1 was also by C-sec and he's now 9mth+ and also quite close. For my this pregnancy, my gynae did not say if I shd also choose C-sec. My hb is asking me to go for C-sec as it's so much easier and faster. But in my mind, I'm thinking if I shd try to go natural. The C-sec for my no. 1 was no choice as he was in a breech position. Otherwise, I would rather go natural...

Daphne, my Gynae said that the C-cut from last delivery is not that strong yet, can burst, though quite unlikely. Anyway, I dilated only up to 4cm after 20hrs and bb heartbeat was up and down so had an emergency C. Ya, think C is easier and faster in a way, just takes longer to heal, anyway like you i am past 35, i think natural will be hard for #2. Wah, your #1 only 9mths now, age gap so close, not easy hor?

babykoh, the amnio test cost about $1k+. It's quite exp. Luckily $750 can be paid by medisave. But we still hv to fork out another few hundred dollars in cash.....

If yr case is low-risk, then maybe not neccessary to perform the test.

EL Chan, this pregnancy is an accident. I actually did not intend to hv another kid as I'm not young anymore. Yeah, it's very tiring for me but as my hb said, just be tired for these few yrs and when they are older, it will be easier.

So did yr gynae suggest u to do the amnio test or yr oscar results are low risk so no need for the test?

Daphne, my results for OSCAR for #1 were high risk, then i was in a big dilemma whether to do the amnio, but as i was afraid of the risks, i finally decided to wait till 20wks to do the full scan which is non invasive. With my experience, i thought this time i will not bother to do the OSCAR, since I am 1yr older, and i just feel that the age is also responsible for the computer to generated the bad results, besides this OSCAR is not 100%, so i thought i wont bother lor. How about yourself?

How long did you bf for or you conceived while bf? I deliberately stopped lactation as I wanted to conceive #2, and managed to at the 1st cycle, lucky.

EL Chan, my #1's results were low risk combined with my blood test results even though the neck thickness was borderline. But for this pregnancy, my blood test & the neck thickness was both borderline so my risk is high. My amnio test is scheduled 1 mth later.

I bf my #1 for about 8 mths when I found out tat I am pregnant. So my gynae advise me to stop bf. So, this pregnancy really is an accident....

My Gynae told me one thing, that he knew of a lady who did amnio and miscarried, then the results came out that the baby was perfectly normal.

I bf till 8mths too b4 stopping. I had alot of bf frozen in a large chest freezer and my #1 has just finished consuming it last week. Hopefully I will bf for longer for #2 since #1 can also consume.

Every child is a blessing ;-)

wow... finally it's Friday! wohoo

Tomorrow me gonna visit my gynea and I can see bb. Yay! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hopefully can see whether boy or girl already.

EL Chan, I know of the risk of amnio test. But I rather do the test to confirm my baby is normal than to worry for the next 6 mths also. And my hb & me really cannot handle a DS child.

Daphne & EL Chan,

wow! How did u both manage to bf for so long? Can teach me? I only manage to bf for 3.5mths

miaiko

juz to share...i total bf my son for 16 mths. it is the working mother's guilt in me that drives me to bf for so long...n oso getting a good breastpump that maintain my milk supply.

coconutz, kudos to you.

Miako, actually I was not working so in a way its easier to maintain your milk supply if bb suckles or you pump regularly without fail. Its tiring and painful. I suffered from breast abscess which was extremely painful and I had to go to the hospital to extract pus from my breast, lucky I recovered but the supply on my left side dwindled after that episode. I discovered that papaya is very effective for my milk production.

Ceasing the milk supply when i decided to stop bf was hard as I had to resist feeding and pumping and endure some engorgement yet being careful not to let the milk ducts get stuck, it was tricky for me, took about 1 mth to completely stop supply.

coconutz, thanks for sharing. It's great coming in here to read about mummies' experiences. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

What do you when nipples crack? What to apply? and do you still bf with crack nipples? Also, how to clear blocked ducts?

I stopped Bfg so early coz I did my own confinement and had blocked ducts, cracked nipples, and later developed fever. And I did not know what to do.

I actually intend to bf for 6mths as it's really tiring plus I am working. But like coconutz said, it's a working mother's guilt. Therefore, I set my target to 12 mths. But my pregnancy force me to stop at 8 mths. Luckily, my boy is ok with formula as I always feed him formula once every nite ever since he was born.

Miaiko, I pump out my milk from the start as my baby had prob latching on. Think most impt thing is to pump regularly to keep the milk flow. Once the interval between each pump is too long, engorgement will force milk supply to drop. Try to massage yr breast to clear blocked ducts. There's cream for cracked nipples also which can be applied.

miaiko

usu after latch on/ pumping session, can apply the nipple cream. even when my nipples crack, still must latch on cos scared of engorgement plus need to establish milk supply during the inital weeks. even with fever, u can pump the milk out but dun feed yr bb. after fever subsides, u can resume feeding.

gosh, blocked milk ducts are painful. hot water bottles, or frequent massage helps. but u must always remember to pump even with blocked milk ducts. i kena many times and managed to unblock by itself by pumping more frequently. except one occasion whereby i need to see doc for antibiotics.

haiz, bfg is one tiring journey. i dun wish to revisit it again but i wan the best for #2 too.

babykoh - my oscar result was 1:455. But i hv pretty much made up my mind to go for the amnio so as to stop thinking and stressing of the possibility of DS and also cos i am not prepared to handle a DS bb. It was not easy to arrive at this decision cos my risk is still higher than the cut off of 1:300, and people say that shld compared the risk of miscarriage if do amnio vs chance of DS, and only do amnio if chance of DS is higher than chance of miscarriage. But to me, this are two very different risks, it is like comparing apples with oranges.

hi sputnik & daphne

read thru the posts and understand that both of u r going for the amnio test? me too going for that test. in fact, i told my gynae that i do not want to take the oscar test as i had a bad experience when i did that for my 2nd pregnacy. The radiographer who took the measurements did not seem very confident and the end the result did not turn out good.

I guess other than the risk of misc, the whole procedure is not that scary afterall and in fact, my gynae did it in less than 5mins. I was very worried and paranoid when my gynae asked me to take this test during my 2nd prgy. However, he kept assuring me that the procedure is not painful and he is very experienced......that's why for my 3rd one, i proposed that i will take amnio test to save the hassle and $$.

btw daphne, with regards to the $750 which can be claimed from CPF Medisave, is it for the whole pregancy or is it specifically for amnio test?

shalan - thanks for sharing yr experience. I also spoke to someone who went for the amnio test and she said it was very fast, and altho it sounds scary it is actually quite ok. I think a lot depends on the gynae's experience. How old are you anyway? For the $750 that daphne mentioned, i believe that it is only for the amnio, not for the whole pregnancy.

Shalan, yeah, the $750 medisave is only for the amino. They allow us to claim max $750 for the amino test.

How many weeks are u pregnant now? My gynae also told me tat there's this patient of his who is only 26 yrs old asking to do amnio test straight away instead of oscar. So, think there's still alot of ppl doing it.

Sputnik & Shalan, is yr gynae the one doing the amnio test for you? Cos I saw in other forums tat some gynaes are not experience so they refer other gynae to do it.

When I book my appt for amnio test through the nurse at TMC, they ask if I'm using the doc in TMC to perform the test. Then I told them tat my gynae will be personally doing it for me. Think I hv more confidence in my gynae than some other docs which I did not know...

Hi Ladies, I saw a video on amnio test on youtube. you may wanna take alok if u r interested. the process seems simple and not so scary.

Good luck to all taking the test.

Hi Miaiko, i think the best way to let ourself to bf for a longer time is not to think about it and let it just become our everyday routine.

For me i bf my girl for 13 mths. my girl atually rejected fm and bottle feed when i am ard with her. so actually i got no choice. during my confinement i experienced cracked nipple and blocked duct. when i had the cracked nipple, i will just pump out my milk from the affected breast (luckily only one side crack :p) and discard as i do not want my girl swallow any dead skin peel off from the cracked nipple. i just clean the affected area with warm water frequently and leave it to heal naturally. as for block duct, i think to continue to latch on and massage our breast, the blockage will goes away very soon. engorgement is the most most most headache things le. during my bb 5th and 6th months, my supply was at peak but my work requires me to go on site testing quite frequently. ebm was very inconvenient at those test site. for those days where i have engorgement, i got to take panadol to relief my headache. i consulted PD le. he say 1 panadol each day is alright.

err...i continue to give my milk to my baby even when i have fever and flu. PD encourage that i should continue to do so to pass on my antibodies to my baby. but he suggest i wear a face mask when direct latching.

Daphne, Coconutz, Ting,

Thanks thanks for sharing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can ask which nipple cream do you all use?

I din use any nipple cream. I tried pumping once when i was engorged and it was tiring n pathetic. Coz I was using Avent manual pump... 45mins only 30ml. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] there after I nvr pump again.

Oops, didn't mean to cause panic regarding the soyabean milk. Just to share some of the things I heard regarding food that we shouldn't take too much of.

Ladies, bbr took in my order! Yippee!

I have a brand new Medela Pump In Style® Advanced Backpack to let go at $550. Bought it last month. Warranty included.

Do contact me at [email protected]

Features and Benefits

Daily use · double pump · electric

What’s Included

Stylish backpack design

Battery pack (8AA batteries not included)

Removable cooler carrier

4 - 5 oz breastmilk bottles, lids & travel cap

Wide base slow-flow nipple

2 - 24 mm PersonalFit™ breastshields

2 valves

2 membranes

Contoured ice pack

Breastfeeding Information Guide

Hello mummies... Me at tMC now... Waiting patiently for my turn for Oscar hope BB guai guai don't let me wait too long [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning Mummies,

Looking for a great and entertaining toy for your little ones? We have a few brand new sets of bright starts pdts for sale..

This is a great swing for new born...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274395.jpg]

The InGenuity™ Portable Swing features the innovative TrueSpeed™ Technology, which provides sustained swinging speeds even as baby grows and gets heavier. The swing automatically recognizes baby’s weight and adjusts the swing speed to maintain a consistent swinging motion. With innovative solutions like TrueSpeed™ and on-trend fashion combined with the quick fold-and-go mechanism, this portable swing is the ideal travel companion.

Features and Benefits:

.TrueSpeed™ Technology that maintains 6 swing speeds even as baby grows

.Whisper Quiet™ operation for peaceful swinging

.Comfort Recline™ seat with 2 positions to suit baby’s needs

.Swing Timer has 3 settings: 15, 30, and 45 minutes

.Removable head rest

.Cushioned foot pad and side supports for ultimate comfort

.Removable Toy Bar – pivots back for easy access to baby

.6 Melodies to soothe baby with volume control and auto shut-off

.Machine Washable seat pad and head rest

.5 point Harness keeps baby secure

Weight/Height: Up to 25 lbs

The rest of the pdts as followed:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274396.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274397.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274398.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274399.jpg]

For more pdt details, pls refer to http://shop.ebay.com.sg/mave003/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25

Hi Miaiko, I did not purposely get any nipple cream.but sometime i apply avent nappy rash cream intending to protect my nipple. the instruction for the nappy rash cream state can use as nipple cream also. didn't apply everytime cos i don't wan my girl to contact with too much chemical at that age. i think that time it comes as free gift when i bought my avent manal pump. i totally understand ur frustration when only get 30ml of milk after 45min of pumping when engorge...ahhhh! don't know is it because my breast use to my bb sucking method or what cos the milk just don't flow when i try ebm.but i still continue to pump when i watch tv or surfing internet lor. my girl is the only soln for my engorgement. my hb also teased that she is my personal lactacian specialist... but later when i went back to work, i bought a medela PIS and somehow i manage to get more milk. not sure is equipment good or after few months the milk flow been establish.

Miaiko,

actually engorgement is very common and when engorged the milk ducts all get blocked that's why u pump so long only get 30ml and breast still hard.

wat i used to do was fill up a small milk bottle with hot water and rub on my breast to soften the lumps, then pump. while pumping use hand to massage and rub, apply hot bottle and massage again until the lumps soften and dissipate. once engorge is very hard to clear the lumps at one shot so usually after abt 30mins i will stop pumping then 2-3 hr later do the same thing again.

the key is u need to pump or latch regularly, cannot wait until engorge then pump cos once engorge take few rounds of pumping to clear.

my girl had probs latching so i exclusively pump and bf my girl for one yr.

din know we can tap on medisave for amnio test? cos i paid cash the last time.

i m now 11th week. and i m 37 this yr. so i guess i might as well for the amnio test. i also hv a friend who was 32 when she did the amnio test (her 3rd pregancy) as oscar test did not turn out good.

my gynae will be perform the test for me at his clinic. guess like what u hv said, not all gynaes are experienced in performing the test. he cited last time when he was practising at KK, his colleague gynae half way thru asked for his help....

Hi ting - yes bb was listening! Initially he was really back facing, then sonographer shake my tummy n said c'mon baby let mummy go home early... N then bb flipped 2x to a nice position! So cute right?? Hehehe

I waited quite avehole for blood test n the nurse wasn't skillfull I got a bruise from the prick...

Hey Ting ? Grumpus,

Wow... thanks alot for sharing your experiences and information on bfg and methods to clear engorgement/block ducts. I guess I wasn't well-informed about bfg then and was at lost at what to do. haha

Shalan, who is yr gynae tat will be performing they amnio for u?

Maybe they did not inform u tat can pay up to $750 by medisave? Cos I check with the nurse about the price and she told me about the medisave part straight away..

Hi Hi ..

I'm also expecting in Jan 2011 :p

Am now 14 weeks :p

EDD - 22nd Jan 2011

Baby #5

I am 36 years old

Dr M George (KKH)

I live in Woodlands

My blood test did not come out so good so was asked to go for amniocentasis. I will consult my gynae at my next visit to see what she says :p cos my scan was perfectly fine. Nosebone could be seen etc etc so I shall see what my gynae says.