(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi misty, Thanks for elaborating the term of OSCAR. but i still not sure what is the assessment for. Is it abstract of the don't know what fluid from our womb for checking?

i deliver my #1 when i am 30+. my Gynae nvr mention the OSCAR test to me. and i remember my prev Gynae told me age 36 onward then is consider high risk grp.

Ting, no, what you are referring to is aminocenthesis (don't mind the spelling). This is more invasive and involves putting a long thin needle into your tummy to draw the fluid for testing. This will provide a very accurate result whether the baby will have down syndrome.

I am not quite sure about the definition of the OSCAR test, but from what I know, it involves a scan and a blood test. The scan is basically to measure the fluid behind the baby's neck and the blood test will check for 2 markers which are present in a down syndrome pregnancy.

Any mums can further elaborate? Ok, need to run for meeting liao.

Hi misty, usually CFL will serve us for 28days. some good one can customise to our preference like less days or more days. if for normal 28days cases, when your confinement cross over to CNY, i think you may need to have "special ang pao arrangement" or they will increase their charges accordingly. all depend on your luck on what kind of CFL you met. some very calculative wan and also got some chin chye wan. BUT one thing i am quite sure is that CFL usually don't mind to work for you during CNY cos they can earn more.

misty

i read thru also, you are right its a scan and a blood test to see if you have high chance of carrying a down syndrome baby. only if the results come back positive then need to do the aminocenthesis to confirm the doubts

HiHi misty and bbkoh, Thanks for the details.

actually i have read thru some webpage on OSCAR but can't really understand lor :$

anyway, i remember i did a blood test sometime after my 1st trimester during last preg. not sure if it is call OSCAR. cos i don't remember i had any special scanning on my tummy. but i am quite sure the blood test is not only for preggie of high risk grp. its a standard practice. the test for high risk grp is the "aminocenthesis" test which misty you mention.

nvm I will confirm with my Gynae this Friday :p

Hi cookiefleur, pai sei. overlook your post.

as i will likely be delivering thru c-sect due to some medical history (Gynae advise not to risk lor) so i will likely plan my ADD sometime early Jan so that i can complete my confinement before CNY.

Ting,

actually not true that CFL will not mind working over cny cos can earn extra. alot of these CFL come from msia and are very traditional. cny is a big deal to them and they will turn down jobs if it requires them to be away for cny.

gwen,

i'm am so sorry to hear yr news. the most worrying thing i think is that yr bb only measures 7wks when u r supposed to be 10wks already. plus no heartbeat. fetal heartbeat is supposed to be present from 6.5-7wks onwards. sounds like it could be a "missed miscarriage"

the blood test yr dr is doing is to measure bHCG (pregnancy hormones). if the HCG shows to be rising over the 1st and 2nd test, yr dr will prob scan again and try to find the hb. if HCG shows to be dipping, means u could be miscarrying already.

do wait for yr dr's advise and stay strong. all the best.

Hi grumpus, maybe i am wrong ba.

We shall just hope that we can get responsible CFL to help us up during our confinement period ba. Good luck to all ;)

Ting,

yes yes, that is most impt. last time i book CFL, after confirm pay deposit already still kenna pass from one CFL to another. all with different story like "my old customer call me up insist i do for her #2 so cannot do for u, sorry ah i recommend my friend/neighbour/cousin, also very good one." or "my house got "white event" (funeral), sorry ah better dun do for u cos will clash, i recommend my friend/neighbour/cousin, also very good one."

grumpus, actually i feel that the deposit request from CFL is unreasonable since both parties are at "risk".they afraid we play them out and so do we. haiz. there are so many unhappy cases reported on the forum. i read already also scared. If i got a choice, i won't want to have stanger staying with me.

Ting,

agreed, the last time i got CFL although her work is very good but she have a lot of things to say. end up a lot of tension in the house cos of mil.

and like u said is a stranger staying with us like very awkward.

this time round i scared liao not going to get CFL but just order catering instead.

Pooh,

Ive not got the results yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ill have to go back to thomson on thursday to find out...

Gwen

No worries.. No news means good news... Usually if there is any prob with the result, the Dr will contact u.

Meanwhile, keep yr spirit up.

hihi... my confinement for my 2 boys all fall close to CNY period.. highest rate for confinement nanny...now #3 also... haha haiz...

@ivftwin - me week 10 today. can see baby moving but won't feel it cos still very small, can see small little legs and hands.

@gwen - don't think too much, get more rest and stay positive. bless you.

Hi mummies.. I was deliberating very long before i wanted to post... but for now i will.

Gwen... be strong...

I have 4 kids on my own.. 2 girls aged 10 n 9 n 2 boys aged 28 months and coming 15 months.

I had a miscarriage in 2006.. and did not get preggie nor had my menses (only twice) but got preggie in 2007 and gave birth in feb 2008. gave birth to my 4th in march 2009. had another miscarriage on CNY this year.. same case like u.. bb was suppose to be how many weeks by then but was not.... and yes.. i m preggie again and i just went for the scan.. i am facing the same thing.. but becoz i m still breastfeeding and irregular menses.. my last menses was 14 April (hbs bday) but i was tested negative all the way till end may and early june .. so doc said based on the positive time... my bb is in the correct age... 6 weeks++ and EDD 03/02 but if follow menses where it is suppose to be for most mummies... my bb should be 8-9 weeks already. Its worrying but i leave it up to god.. this came as a suprise to me as well... adn seriously having so much on my head with family problems and stuff.. I dont even know whether i want this baby... hb is at a loss too... but wat i pray and conclude is... i know and feel

(somehow) that i am gonna have a daughter if this bb is all well and sound and it will delight hb very much... if god wants us to have this bb.. by all means... i will take care of it... if not... I also have to be prepared.

So Gwen.. i know extremely how u feel... i went thru it twice and actually now again wen doc told me the same thing... but i just felt somehow bb is gonna be all right... Be strong in watever circumstances you may face ok..

Sorry mummies for my extra long 1st post here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

grumpus... thanks.. not so brave actually.. i have to for the sake of my other 4 babies... sadness creeps into me at the most akward times and makes me feel so down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

idaarshad,

i hats off to u, u really have the strength and spirit. i really cant wait for tomorrow and having sleepless nights is really horrible...

Although i keep on telling myself that if its not meant to be its not meant to be.

idaarshad, You are really good. 2 boys and 2 girls is my ideal family size. but i think i am too weak to go for that. me old liao...ha!

actually for your case, you are still bf your bb. i suppose your menstrual cycle may be irregular. so should base on the +ve time and calculate then maybe accurate. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All the Best!

Gwen, do keep the mummies posted. We will be standing by you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ting>> did you order directly from ON website using local credit card and send to vpost? i kinda desperately need to get some maternity wear before i start work in 1.5wks.. lol..

gwen>> be strong for the bb!

gwen... dun say that... its quite tough for me but i have to keep going on strong...u be strong too ok.. my prayers are with you.

ting.... i m thinking that way too coz in Jan... i tested positive in time with my last menses .. but not this time as i tested positive much later... we were not expecting it as we take precautions and stuff but well u can't run away from god who wanna bestow u with little ones... thinking of grabbing its life away from her/him.. makes me shudder to how much my frens who have no babies till now and yet wants them so much.. so i conclude is i will follow wat god will's is for me...

Hi idaarshad,

Can I check with you, at the time when yr baby did not hv any heartbeat later, did you still hv all the pregnancy symptons or you suddenly just lost all the symptons? Just wondering wat to look out for... I've read the internet tat mention once you suddenly lose all yr pregnancy symptons, you would need to see yr gynae immediately.

My sis also experience this few years back. But at tat time she did not hv any symptons from the start, so she could not tell me. Anyway, she's now a proud mother of 2 lovely gals.

Gwen, if anything, it's just fated not to be yours. Try again later... I'm sure things will work out well for you...

Daphne,

The symptoms were still there but not very much for my 2 miscarriages. for the last miscarriage, hubby was the one having the cravings and all and also coincidently also when my 1st miscarriage happened... i sort of felt that i would have a miscarriage for the last Jan bb... dunno why that feeling came... i had cravings only. glad for your sister that she has now 2 lovely gals... but after my 1st miscarriage that time i was paranoid wehn i was preggie with my son again after some time.. but glad all went well for him

Did your gynae prescribe "An Tai" pills for any of you? Think its called progesterone pills. My gynae always prescribe this pill even for my first pregnancy even though i dun hv any spotting.

Just wondering if any one got any gynae whose also as kiasu as mine?

daphne.. my gynae prescribed some to me and gave instructions as to how much and when i should take should i note spotting / bleeding.. it's just a precaution for us just in case it happens and we cant see them until the next day..

daphne, my gynae never prescribed any pills for me except folic acids. for my #1 pregnancy, not even any prenatal vits or fish oil.

Daphne, my gynae gave me 3 weeks of duphaston just in case even though I dun have any spotting, maybe due to my #1 lost in Mar.

Hi pinky,

My gynae prescribe me to take every morning even though i dun hv any spotting or any M/C before. He said as long as I ate all the medicine he prescribe, my baby will be fine. I will need to take for the first 3 mths.

He prescribe me with folic acid and progesterone to take every morn and Vit B1 to take twice a day. Maybe my gynae is really too kiasu...

Hi Coconutz,

So you only take folic acids for the first trimester?

Mitch, at least yr gynae only ask u to take for 3 weeks. Mine will be till the end of first trimester...

Daphne,

for my #1, i only ate folic acid for the 1st tri, no hormone pill and multivit only start after 1st tri. my gynae only prescribe progesterone if hv bleeding or spotting.

my dr gave me 1 week of progesterone cos i have spotting 2 weeks ago. my dr say finish it, its female hormones so will be benefitical for pregnancy.

i also taking multi vit and folic acid

daphne, i only have folic acids for first trimester and nothing else for the rest of pregnancy. his view is that for my #1 pregnancy, pretty smooth and i m eating well, so no need for other vits. I guess its the same for #2 lor.

Hi pinky_j, Yes.I made payment with my local credit card. i think 1.5weeks a bit tight lei. ON side sometime fast but sometime they will stretch till 7 days. VPOST also take 3 to 4 working days sometime.

I am 11 weeks today, much better with nausea thing but still never feel as fresh as normal. Always afraid of vomitings things. Hope it disappers soon. Any idea when it should disapper??

Hi Sherill,

Some ppl will be better when reach 2nd trimester but some will remain this way throughout the whole pregnancy. It actually depends on individual.

hi mummies,,,

Just thought i share the unfortunate news with all. Unfortunately the blood count dropped today and i will be going through a D&C tomorrow... Its sad and dissapointing, but i am helpless and cant do anything.

hi gwen,

I'm really sorry to hear the sad news. But pls be strong and positive. Ever happened to a very close friend of mine too, but now she's a happy mother of a beautiful girl. So be strong and take good care of yourself ok.

gwen,

so sorry to hear the news. all the best and do remember to do a mini confinement after yr D&C

Hi Gwen

Sorry to hear the sad news.

Dun take it too hard. Stay positive and hubby's support is very important. K, dear?

Take it as a learning process to make you a stronger person and a stronger mummy in future

**Hughugs**