(2011/01) Jan 2011

babykoh and fiona>> my pants are tight alr.. i havent tried my working skirts as i'm not working these few weeks.. i'm starting to borrow maternity wear alr and i'm thinking of ordering some from Old Navy as it seems to be cheaper than those from local shops..

1 more week to 3rd visit and will see what doc says.. probably will only announce next week..

Hey Tien> am also week 10! =D

pinky_j> my pants become tighter as the day progresses cos of bloating.

my MS is also pretty bad, was put on drip last week. hate the feeling, and fingers crossed that MS will stop soon!

Since our EDDs are all around Jan, any of you worry about getting confinement nanny since likely to coincide with CNY?

hi bbkoh...

'hi-5'!!! .... but gynae says bb has a high chance of popping out earlier by 1 to 2 weeks...as this is my #2...so will see how it goes ;p

if any mummies here considering getting confinement nanny, need to book ASAP esp if yr confinement will cross CNY. Many good ones will be booked already and alot of nannies dun want to do over CNY and those that do will charge double.

Even after u confirm one, along the way they can still say dun want.

That's wat happened to me with my #1 who was born in Jan

pinky: my pant also tight le.. i dun dare to wear jean.. i think will be more tight..

confinement lady, i am thinking of getting one.. but it will be double.. so headache looking for one.. anyone to recommend???

Hi pooh, we share the same EDD. However my #1 is earlier by a week so not sure if this bb will follow the same.

Tight pants - mine too.. getting tighter.. and of coz Jeans all cannot wear liao =X

I'm also thinking of getting some from ON. They have sale on and off, quite worth to get.

grumpus - Do u know if confinement catering hike their prices too? Im thinking of getting catering rather than CL.

Poor Mummy,

as far as i know confinement catering do not hike their prices. BUT no delivery on the 1st 2 days of cny. so if u order catering u need to figure out wat to do for those 2 days

welcome new mummies to this thread..

Went to see gynae today, so excited when see my baby moving in my womb. so adorable when the small little leg was actively kicking

altho the MS was bad but feel warm after seeing baby.

coconut - read that u asked abt massaging ur boobs... try to avoid esp when u into 2nd & 3rd trimester... massaging your boobies can trigger contractions and lead to premature labor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hey poor mummy, I had cramps earlier on as well. Now no more... Doc said its ok, could be uterus getting used to baby... but if you have any spotting/bleeding must see doc ASAP.

poor mummy>> u ordered before from ON directly? I emailed them but they say they dont do Singapore CC.. so weird..

my headache for confinement lady is solved.. my MIL doing it for me.. my PILs finally getting their first "nei sun" so everything's done for me.. my sister-in-law did get one confinement lady last yr from malaysia for 2.8K over the CNY period.. super expensive..

Hi Tien,

I also had tummy cramps when I am pumping milk. So, it might be cause by bf. So, it's really best to stop.

Hi poor mummy,

I also experience cramps now and then even after I stop bf. Think it's quite normal.

Hi, Sorry for interrupting.

Is anyone interested in doing prenatal pilates? Am currently letting go 8 classes at discounted rate at Sky Pilates at Liat Towers in Orchard. Pls PM me for more details if you are interested. Thanks.

good morning mummies!

kimmy, i agree wif wat u said. ms is only bearable after i see the fetal hb and my #1. everything is worth it!

misscandy, thanks! but my breasts are lumpy and kinda feel like clogged milk ducts when i was bfg with my #1. i m fearful of the pain associated with the clogged mulk ducts post delivery. my malay massage lady took 1 week to unclog my milk ducts.: (

Hi grumpus, thanks for the info.

Hmm looks like i have to find some other alternative....

Thanks all for sharing on the stomach cramp experience. Sometimes, i can hardly sleep due to the cramps.

My breast are kinda of heavier now too and i can see veins already.

Morning mummies to be...

Cookiefleur: I am still in my 7weeks. Will see my gynae when I am in week 10.

Daphne: Yep I really have to stop bfg. Yesterday's cramps were quite bad. But feeling engorgement. You actually went without pumping for 3 days. No engorgement?

ivftwins: You shld see the form of the babies some time from 10 week onwards. You will see the hands, legs etc.

Saw the gynae yesterday... Bb is 8 weeks... Hb veri strong... Have to review in 2 weeks time... My tummy is so big and bloated I think due to constipation....

Hi Tien,

Last week, I stop pumping for 2 days and hv to pump out on the 3rd day due to the pain on engorgement. Then after tat, I stop and today will be the 4th day. I still dun feel much engorgement. Think once you bear with it a few days and pump out, then after tat, the feeling of engorgement will take longer days. Think tat's how ppl stop bf altogether.

U can consider to try this method. Think it really works.

Hello All, me back again. my MS not as serious as last few weeks already. may i know anyone of you also experiencing less MS in your 9 wks? i am quite worry actually. don't know bb growing well or not. next visit is 4 days later. can't wait...

I booked my CFL already. Got the contact from forum. not sure good or not. pray for the best ba. She charging $1.9K. You gals also quickly go and book ba. if you book nearer to your EDD, some CFL will "hang up and sell" wan.

pinky_j, I ordered from ON before. they don't ship to S'pore direct. i got my orders ship back to singapore thru VPost.

Ting

i do. but mine is huang jiu (yellow wine) not hong jiu (red wine) but same to be used for confinement.

i hv lobang for hong jiu also but hong jiu more ex than huang jiu. if u're interested u PM me ok?

Daphne: I am using hand expression. If I feel engorged I will just express about 30-40ml out. Basically telling my body to reduce production. I don't want it to be so hardened that it becomes difficult to express. Also the last thing I want is mastitis...

Wow you ladies are fast! I havent booked my CFL. Want to wait for end of 1st Tri. Worse come to worse, do myself. Hahhaha...actually now I am a little experienced so roughly know what to do. Actually the good thing about CFL is that she can look after the baby at nite. I still find it weird to have a stranger around at home.

Hi Ting, wow u book CFL already and that is a good rate! who is your CFL if you don't mind sharing? i got 2 contacts from forum also, but i haven't call... hopefully is not the same! =P

I actually had my worst MS at 9 weeks... had to be put on drip... this week is slightly better, but not sure if its cos of medication...

Hi Mummies,,,,

Ive been missing for a while and seemed that the forum has growned so much..

Just wanted to share my unfortunate ordeal i faced yesterday with all and hoping to get an opinion from other experienced mummies...

I started spotting yesterday morning and some blood clods later in the afternoon so decided to go to thomson for a check,,, Acc to dr baby is only 7w in terms of size but calculation 10w. However the sad part was that we were unable to see the heart beat so dr took a blood test and ill have to do another blood test in 3 days. anyone been through something like this before????

hi gwen

i did a blood test when i first found out tat i was preggy. the blood test count compared from the 1st one and 2nd one done should be a 2x increase if it didnt increase means the bb is not growing properly

for my case 1st and 2nd test only increase by 10+% my dr told me its could be just an empty sac no baby, i took another blood test 2 days later and the number increased a fair bit and manage to scan the heartbeat.

Don worry so much first, compare the results of the tests and opt for a 3rd test cos sometimes bb is not growing that fast. Ask for the blood test to be done urgently so don have to wait soooo long for the answers. I can understand tat kinda wait is soooooo scary

i went to see my gynae last night, 8 weeks 5 days now. Dr advise me to do a OSCAR test or triple test for bb abnormalties. Any of you doing that soon? i read from the net it has a lot of false positive news, quite worrying

hey kohbaby,

basically for my #1 i went for blood test only.. the check for fetal abnormalties came back as low risk so i skip the OSCAR test...

but if u wanna more security and piece of mind you could go for it but it will cost ard $350.

pls also consider if one is within the high risk group of women above 30...most gynae will advise to go for it.

hi shycloud

i am scheduled to do the OSCAR test early july in my 12th week. a bit scared to have any "shocks"

hi babykoh,

thanks for the advise.. i have so many questions in my mind now... Its scary???? im still hoping everything is gonna be alrite...

gwen, rest your mind and body and think positive.

you still have spotting now? try to walk lesser and slower.

you and ur baby will be fine....

Hi Babykoh

I did OCSAR for mine 1st one, i was 34yrs by EDD. result came back was of low risk. No with the 2nd one I will also be doing OCSAR as now I am 35yrs by EDD. I know REDLINK where most pte patients goes cost abt $350. I did mine at NUH which is $195.

hi babykoh, i have scheduled to go for OSCAR in 2 weeks. hubby and i decided to opt for it, cos i'm 29. not over 30, but close.

hi gwen, don't worry too much first. wait for the results and keep positive. its tough, but hang in there.

hi mitch

i will be doing OSCAR at thomson medical cost ard $300+. The results of the test will be told right away? at least for the scan, understand tat the blood test will take few days

Hi cookiefleur, May I know how many weeks are you already? Glad to hear that your MS getting better also.

..err...putting on drip is it more convenient? no need to force ourselves to eat anything and can rest on bed :p recently i always find mealtime very torturing. feeling hungry but don't feel like eating. very tired of the food. and i just want to sleep.

me not comfortable to post my CFL's name here lei. If you want i can PM you ;)

hi ting, i'm into my 10th week.

drip is painful and uncomfy and have to stay in hospital. still feel hungry tho. i was put on drip for a few hours only, then went home to rest. i know what u mean about sleeping. cos sleep already then dun have the nausea. heehee.

sure, pm me can? thanks for sharing with me! =)

Babykoh

U will know the NT mesaurement immediately but have to wait for the bld test results. I got my results 1 day later.

Babykoh, my gynae also scheduled me for a scan and blood test in the 12th week. He said that the results are 80 to 85% accurate. I am an old lady liao, belong to higher risk group, so better to take the test.

Ting, wow, your CL good leh, never increase pricing. Sigh, I thinking of just catering and not hiring CL.

Hi misty, I thought CFL only increse their price when our confinement cross into CNY? if not anytime before CNY and eve should still remains at normal rate.

I have thot of having confinement catering also. but after 2nd thought, i rather don't risk. cos i got no helper at home and my hubby have night class. both our parents have other grand children to take care already. i need someone to help me with the marketing and hse work in case i can't cope with my 2 kids. i typical S'porean. KSKS. haha!

Ting, so $1.9K is for 4 weeks? Now I am still not quite sure of my EDD. Likely that it will be less than 1 mth before CNY. If that happens, means CL will go home for CNY? correct?

I didn't have a CL for my first child too, so thought of hiring one. But a bit uncomfortable leh.. got stranger in the house. Then if you are breastfeeding, CL will still wake you up at night right?