(2011/01) Jan 2011

fabiola: think bb is still not tt stable during the first trimester tt's y we need to be more careful..heed elders advice like cannot carry heavy stuff, don't climb up and down etc..if you are anxious y not schedule your check earlier but be prep you might not be able to see much la..

reia: me too..always very uptight..last week still can feel stomach bloating then this week nothing..so i told hubby how come bb not moving..then hubby say only few mm how to feel it moving..keke..i too paranoid..i think we mustn't think too much..bad for health..must always remain positive..waiting for my check nxt week..hope all will turn out well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello and congrats to all of you.

I have not been to this site for merely a few days. You gers are so fast and now I have 2 full pages of forum postings to read.

Sorry to hear that some of you are having bad MS. My gynae is Dr Adrian Woodworth. U know he is a man with few words. He didn't say when my EDD is but based on the baby ctr website, my EDD should be 2/1/11.

I had light brown spotting for a week. I felt bloated, no appetite to eat. Dr Woody asked me not to exercise, do housework and must rest in bed. I felt like an useless bum. I felt so tired when I laid on the bed for too long.

Sorry if u want to kill me that I don't have any naseus or vomiting. Am I normal?? Or is my baby having trouble?? There is a lot of websites saying that if no MS may mean something wrong. I am very worried. It's my 1st pregnancy. My hubby is excellently nice. I don't want both of us to lose hope. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunnybb: so it means cant take stairs also hor..how ya?my office one its old building so if want to go toilet must go down to the second floor..when morning on the way go to office also take the overpass bridge..must use the stairs also..>.<

just came back frm the gynae. CONFIRMED [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb is about 5weeks 2days..saw the sac and gynae says bb is in the right plc of the womb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

am goin back 2wks time again.

so happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

have a nice weekend ya! take very good care n dun forget your daily FOLIC ACID! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@reia - true, health is more important than money. will disuss with hubby tonite and change gynae from tmc to dr. C yap.

@ posion - not really...some say not good, but i think it's depend on individual. My fren pregnant now gave birth already, she dun feel any nauseus or vomiting at all, no craving but the husband craving for jap food the whole week. baby is 2 weeks bigger thn EDD, so she give birth earlier(without any pain) and now almost 2 years old already. don't worry too much, stay relax and happy...and I dun have such feeling too, just feel no apetite sometime and take longer time to finish a meal. Now, rest and take more healthy food.

@fabiola - try to avoid but if the toilet is at the 2nd floor then no choice, walk real slow, when step down, step softly..just be extra slow and careful should be no problem..dun worry too much :)

Congrates ilovemiffy..I still have to wait for another week to see my gynae then can confirm. so excited....

Rest well over weekend!!!

Congrats miffy! Next time you'll be able to see the hearbeat I guess.. so exciting! I think I'm 5 weeks 2 days too what a coincidence.

Kimmy, perhaps just go for one consultation with Dr C Yap and see how you feel about her as compared with Dr Yvonne?

PoisonIvy, I agree that MS might not be a good thing. It will be a constant indicator that the baby is still there (but so would say lack of bleeding or fatigue), but the drawback is MS makes it difficult to consume all the nutrients you need. So just count yourself lucky and don't worry! (easier said than done. I should know given I'm such a worrywort)

thanks kimmy n reia! i felt better this visit.

1st visit, gynae says she cant confirm..only manage to see one DOT and not sure if the DOT is a sac..was kinda of worried too.

now i will start to count down to 2 weeks time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tis is my 2nd but feels like 1st :p

sunnybb,fabiola

For these initial weeks we can't exert, carry heavy etc already? What about those with #1 or more? Since my #1 only 9mths + and very active, I need to catch him when he crawls up and down etc. how lah? After reading postings here, suddenly jolt my memory about being careful and not running and jumping around.

Just had diarrhea (somehow my preg hormones improves my digestion system tho i din have much appetite today), similar symptom as last preg, but still want to test again for a few more days till I get a darker line...hahah... I will call Dr Chris Chong at Gleneagles to find out from nurse when I should visit once i am certain my home tests are positive. Dr Chong is a very reassuring and patient gynae, he is quoted alot in the media and also speaks at events, I will go back to him since I am comfortable with him.

Hello Congrats to all

I am also Joining ur team and having abt 5weeks preg. I m seeing Dr Irene chua on 2nd June at KK. plan to deliver at KK . anyone can suggest the cost for delivery and hospital charges and CPF deduction amount At KK? I called and book for dr irene, Nurse said she put my booking under private suite. dunno wat it does mean loh.

@EL - ya, we should avoid carry heavy stuffs in 1st trimester. may be u can *set up* a play groun area for your first baby, limit the area when you are alone. give him his toys and u can sit there and play with him. may be can cut down the *catching him* time.

@ Thae - congrats! when is your EDD? For KK, There have public and private type (i heard from my friends), if you are under public, of course is cheaper but the waiting time is very long and you might not seeing the same gynae everytime you go for checkup. If they put you under private, then will be the same as others private hospital, paying more but seeing the same gynae everytime, and not spending whole day waiting at the clinic.

I got this link that you can refer to, it's a guideline to compare. guess quite accurate cos it's a government site. btw, are you local? I am not and im still waiting for my PR approval. My fees will be under private, so, not much difference for me to go to government or private hospital. according to many singaporean friends, the difference is not big either.

http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/billsizeDetails.aspx?cId=10

To all mummies here, i tested using home DIY this morning, is positive but faint line (one darker, one faint). not sure if anyone here encounter the same? Does it mean i may not pregnant or baby not develop good? Quite worried.

kimmy,

Re the DIY test strip. I think the test line will not be as dark as the control line. Its also got to do with the level of our HCG hormones and depending on the strength of the test strip as diff manufacturers have diff strengths as I understand in layman terms. Just to share with you that when I tested on day 31 3-4 days after missing period, it was extremely faint so much so I thought I was looking at the strip too hard hoping to see that test line "float" up. Next day it was slight more obvious. And today Day 33 of my cycle I can say its very obvious but no where close to the darkness of the control line. Hope this info helps;-)

Kimmy

Same with u, I done my test last night and got one clear line and one very very faint line. Decided to do another test next week.

congrats to all new mummies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

havent been reading for a few days and i had to catch up on all these readings..

kiasu me went to robinsons sale to take a peek at bottles, strollers etc.. hur hur.. my hubby was nagging that i dont need to look at those so early..

anyone feeling exceptionally tired the last few weeks? i have been feeling super tired and keep wanting to nap.. but nature of my job requires me to be hours on my feet each day..

1 more week to second visit to gynae and hear bb's heartbeat!

thanks El and coconut..im entiring into week 6 so i tot i can see both line real clear but turn it wasn't..but if one darker and 1 faint is suppose to be then i can more release...

@pinky, ur hubby is right, it's still too early to look at those BUT man always dun get the same feeling as us..i went to few sites to look at baby stuffs too..haha

hi gals, my AF came to report yesterday liao.. maybe it's all fated that I will need to score some points at work during my business trip before #2 arrives...

will try again after menses ends...by then I think it will be rabbit year baby liao.

all the best to all expecting mummies...stay happy !!

Kimmy: me too, i tried to test this morning and got one darker, one faint..same with you..tested with 2HPT..but now the test line is darker compare with the first HPT when my period is due..me is entering 5weeks now..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kidomum: Gudluck to you!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Miffy: woww..so excited!

Pinky: yay! counting down to hear the baby heartbeat..;)..

Thae: congratzz!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thae Thae..i am seeing Dr Irene Chua on the 2nd as well.... what time is ur appt? This will be my first visit as well..

Ladies....today, went to the Gynae, 5W 5D, only sac, unable to confirm anything as yet. Will see him again in 3 weeks' time.

This is my no.2., my girl is already 4.5yr now.

I've a smooth pregnancy the last round, no MS, my then Gynae told me I'm the lucky 10% who doesnt need to go through MS.

I'm in the high-risk group as I'm over 35.

Anyone on Facebook?

congrats miffy, good to hear all went well..take care

ivy, me too but my appetite very good..anxious waiting for the nxt appt to come n doc's assurance..

hello n Congrats Thae n Annissa..must take care of yourself ya..

Fabiola, pls wear shoes with good support and non slippery..n walk slowly..

pinky, same here then every night i will fall into deep sleep the moment i hit bed..feel my energy easily drained off nowadays..

Hi Komathi P > my apt time is at 7.30PM . Wat about urs? how much we can deduct from medisave? all delivery charges? any word or bedded class preference to get medisave deduction? Pls kindly advise.

Hi Kimmy koh> my EDD would be around 10 of Jan 2011 and first timer too. I am PR and got medisave.

Thae Thae: My appt is at 7 pm..wat a coincidence..maybe i can meet u there...i am not sure of the charges as its my 1st visit.Will noe on the 2nd June, i guess.

Saw my gynae today, didn't scan as its too early. But we did urine test with his preg test kit and confirmed my pregnancy. To me the line is quite distinct, but gynae said the line should be as dark as the control line then only when you scan can see sac. When line is faint means its still very early in the pregnancy, scanning may not show anything. Anyway, he started me on some hormone pills to "strengthen" and hold pregnancy. Told to see him in 2 weeks time which would be around 6+ weeks, he said will probably be able to see heartbeat then.

Have any of you thought about your confinement? Most likely we'll be in confinement over the CNY period, its going to be expensive and hard to find confinement nanny. My last confinement nanny was a great cook and great with my baby, just didn't quite like her greedy personality. She was trying to compete with me to eat my confinement food. Anyone got experiences to share? They should be eating different food right? I mean I dun mind she eats a little, but she was eating the same amount if not more than me and confinement food is not cheap!

HI all

anyone can advise for the different between Premier and classic ? I am seeing under Private suite with Dr Irene chua. Is it true that i can only go to Premier when i deliver rather than classic becoz of seeing Gynae at Private suite?

was hoping to get some advice for you guys...I had been intending to look for a new job cause I had wanted a change of environment plus my current workplace is very far from home. Would you guys bother applying for new jobs now that you know you are expecting? Will employers not hire us knowing that we will go on maternity leave in 8-9 months' time?

Really hope to hear some views here cause I saw this job offer that I am interested in and the office is like only 6 MRT staions away from my home!!

I got a job offer though they know that I'm expecting.

I've my reservation about going to a new job cause we should minimise unnecessary stress if we can during pregnancy, new challenges, new environment, new people, new network, new routine, new MTB, before you know it, you are due for delivery!!!

If you think is a good opportunity not to be missed or chance will not come again, go for it. Must be open with them that you are expecting.

I know of someone who was on the job for 5 months and realised she was pregnant, company decided not to confirm her.

I wish i can decide on a gynae soon..anyone seen Joycelyn Wong from TMC before? Any comments..a few of my friends use them by word of mouth and say she is not bad...so thought of booking appt with her.

I realise i got some yellowish discharge nowadays!! Will this harm my baby???

Annissa: So you accepted the job offer?

I put in my application anyway cause I told myself that if it will be if it is meant to be. But I totally agree with the part on being up front with them abt the pregnancy so they have a choice rather than no confirm me after the probation.

It is quite terrible of that company to not confirm that person after knowing that she is pregnant, rather unethical. I think it happens more often in SMEs.

Hi kikapo, agree with what victoria has said. Starting a new job when pregnant can be quite siong, because of all the uncertainties that come with a new job. But of course, see if they offer you first. If they offer you a job despite you being pregnant, it means they are serious about having you onboard and will most prob try to accommodate you.

Victoria: I'm with Dr Yvonne Chan at TMC. Do you want to try her? She's good - I had my first baby delivered by her.

Anyone feel like you have been eating more than usual? I really have been eating a lot, becos I keep feeling hungry after every 3-4 hrs! And if i don't eat, I'll feel nauseous already!

Hi, I am on the Ivf program at kk n just been told that I have BFP. Really happy as I've been trying for many years. I am not having ms yet but do feel tight in chest but not required to vomit. My first scan is on 1st june n I hope to go for scan soon as I still cannot believe I have BFP!

I get stomache move my bowels everyday but that is after constipating the first try n able move bowel at second visit. Also get mild af type of cramps occassionally.

Hope to learn more from everyone here.

Hi happybelle, my no 1 also 2YO. Your son also born in year 2008? My girl is quite alright with her playgroup. She understand that she need to goes to school everyday.

Hi happybelle, me! i also eat and eat. if i don't eat i'll feel nausea. I eat until very tired but don't eat i will feel mre tired. haiz

Hi Happybelle, i will consider THANKS!!Maybe i will try Dr Joyceyln Wong 1st as she is recommended by my best friend. See if i am comfortable with her..if not..maybe i can try Dr Yvonne chan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for recommendation.

Haiz..my appt with Joyceylyn earliest is on 16Jun'10. Gosh...a long wait..by the time i am already week 8-10!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Are all gynae need such a long wait??? Or only popular ones?? Now like a month wait lei..

Actually i am being offered for an interview recently by a MNC...but i dare not go..cos i think they will not consider me if they know i am pregnant..which co.so good wanna pay 4 months maternity leave to a new employee?? Somemore gonna deal with new work enviroment and stress, unless the current enviroment is very bad..if not it is still good to hang on a while first..till bb due and birth first? I m thinking of changing job after my confinement. Hehe

I feel i am more easily hungry than usual too..but not all the times...only certain timing lei...is it normal???

ivftwins - hi and welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so glad for you! do take it easy and don't stress about anything... and 1 June will come soon!

Ting - yeah my boy also 2008 baby! I was thinking of putting him in a playgroup, but i already registered him for nursery next year so maybe I'll just put him in for N1 next year lah. Still debating.

I'm also eating so much, haiz. So worried for the next gynae check when I weigh in again!

Victoria - yeah you should go to a gynae that you're comfortable with. Wow that's quite a long wait! Is that the earliest they can slot you in?

Sounds like everyone's doing full-time work? Anyone doing part-time work or SAHM?

hi ting and happybelle, my son is also born in 2008 and i m not sure whether shld i place him in pre-nursery when he turns 30 mths in july? he is currently in playgrp but he is shy. if he attend in jan next yr, tat will coincide with my #02 arrival, i fear he will feel more stressed with the changes in routine and new family members.

for my previous pregnancy, i eat and eat and eat and gain 7kg during my first trimester. the nurses warned me not to overeat... : ( now i m controlling and taking small meals. hopefully, weight gain not so drastic

New job:

Ladies, I am in a dilemma. I just started a new job today after stopping work for 2yrs to conceive #1 and he's 10mths now. Thing is I only found out abt pregnancy over weekend. How lah, do I or do i not tell my employer? I dun mind if they dun want me cos I starting to feel stress and besides this is a 1yr contract job and my boss had mentioned that they do not want to hire someone only to have them resign b4 the end of project which is their critical period. The worst thing is that I know the end of project would be around Q1 next yr. But as I had signed a contract with a recruitment agency which headhunted me for this role, there is a penalty if I resign within 6mths tho if the employer doesn't want me then I don't pay a penalty. BTW the contract doesn't provide maternity leave. I can always keep quiet till 3 mths later when my tummy shows, but my conscience pricks me and I like to be fair to the employer. What do you think?

EL, I think if you don't mind not keeping the job then the choice is clear - just let your employer know, and tell him/her truthfully that you only found out over the weekend. Don't worry about the recruitment agency - you're not resigning. Waiting till 3 months later could make things bad, at least now you can truthfully say you just found out and there is time for your employer to find someone else if necessary. 3 mths later its completely your fault for keeping it from them for 3 mths and by then there is too little time for them to find someone to cover their critical period.

All, are you MS symptoms getting worse? I know I mentioned earlier that I only have mild MS that I can easily control but now its really turned itself on and I'm just miserable all the time including tearing constantly on the way to work in an effort not to throw up in the vehicle!

EL> I agree with reia, i think it's better to tell them straight now.. at least they have time to look for someone. And you won't have to feel guilty everyday.. like that work also not happy mah..

Hi all, have been reading for a few days.. haha.. not a JAN 2011 MTB yet.. now still keeping fingers crossed.. haha..

Ya EL. i also feel that it is better that you be frank with your employer & see what they say. Rather than telling them months later when the stomach shown.

Happybelle..ya tat is the earliest they can slot me in! Sob!! I wonder if i should see other gynae first? How many weeks are you already?

My Ms is getting worst too..this morning keep burping and wanna vomit....but still controllable. But happy as this is a good sign that our homones is increasing rite?? Jia you!!

Hi mommies, I'm from Jan 2010 MTB.

I have the following I wish to let go:

Via post or Self collection @ Tg Pgr MRT on weekday evenings.

Pigeon Disposable Breast Pads

Used 50%. Left 17 pieces only.

$2 - prefer via self collection

Nursing Bra size 40C (Nude(brown) and light beige) - $8.50 each including postage

Washed not worn. Bought wrong size. Ribbon in the centre has been removed.

For pictures, please visit http://www.flickr.com/photos/23825906@N03/sets/72157623457485138

Medela Purelan Brand New Unopened (without box)

$11 including postage

37g Expiry June 2012

- Will throw in another tube which is left 50%.

From Little dreamers

Healing bottom spray $10 including postage

Brand new unopened 120ml bottle Expiry Sep 2011

I had to go for c-sect thus no use for it.

Dry confinement Powder (for hair) $7 including postage

3.4oz bottle Expiry Oct 2011

Used a few times. Tried using during confinement but end up washing my hair. :p

Lucky Baby

Stroller Cover for rain or shine - Brand New

Letting go @ $12

Do PM me if keen.

happybelle and ting>> same here.. i keep eating non-stop.. and it doesnt help that my hubby keeps feeding me as well.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but if i eat after 9pm.. i'll feel queasy n throw up.. happened twice le.. and i've learnt my lesson..

those with MS. try to take nutritious stuff.

hi El,

i think u shld visit a gynae first before you tell your employer. Ensure that you get the blessing from the doc before u make the decision, just to be on the safe side. cos that is what i intend to do. i realised i m preggie after a mth at work from my new job. I dont intend to tell my employer until i see my gynae first.

EL - agree with what everyone is saying. I think you should definitely tell your employer. Be upfront and honest - anyway yr conscious is clear since you didn't even know you were pregnant when you signed on [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

reia - YEAH me too! MS is just irking me - What's bad is that my sense of smell is particularly heightened. I'm extremely put off by smells - esp the smell of chinese cooking. Make me nauseous!

coconutz - hmmm sour plum is a good idea. I dunno why I never thought of eating sour plum. Shall go out and buy some later!

mummymonkey - all the best! hope you can join us here soon!

victoria - I think i should be about 8 weeks now. I'm due to see my gynae next week - normally she would schedule 3 wks betw each visit, until the later trimesters then it wld be 2 wks inbetw. Hmmmm i dun think you shld see other gynaes then go back to yr gynae. Should stick to one gynae so that she or he will have all your medical notes. If you really not happy with the long waiting time, then consider switching gynaes? But long waiting time prob means the gynae is very popular? that's good too right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Coconutz and Happybelle - you know how I earlier mentioned sour plum works for me? It doesn't anymore! In fact, I am put off by it, even those that I used to like. My tastebuds seem to have changed and they now taste salty and bitter rather than sour and slightly fragrant as they used to. I'm really sad! Maybe its time to try 100 plus, though I never liked it so maybe I should try H2O instead.

Just slightly more than one month to go before the misery is supposed to end! Or so I'm told.