(2011/01) Jan 2011

sherill, can try to take some 100plus? i survive my previous ms with 100plus. my gp recommended and somehow it works for me...

Sherill. try to take it easy. maybe you can do something to distract yourself from your preg

I read that eating banana may help with nausea. but it doesn't work for me.

I drank alittle carbonated drink and i really feel better after that.

I think frequent snacks may help also.

For me, i think i will only inform others after my 1st trimester when my preg is stable . I went rhough D&C before. I really feel bad when i have to repeat what i have been through to many people.

I think for the sake of our babies and ourselves, i think is alright to ignore how our colleagues look at us for now.

sunnybb, i guess its normal to have a bigger tummy. depends on individual.

my tummy looks like ard 3 mths. its difficult to sleep at night unless support tummy with pillows and sleep on my side.

you guys are wonderful......but you wont believe I vomited 3 more times in the mean time......even tried to eat snacks and small meal...but al come out. My DD pregnancy was like this...but now i am working so very hard.

My appointment is next week may be then can ask for some medicine. For today, I am planning to go back home soon.

Ya. Have a good rest at home is the best. I miss my bed now. *yawn*

Isotonic drink will be good as it replaces the fluid and salts that our body lose during vomitting..but if there's a choice try to go for those non carbonated..

cocountz, now most of my pants are tight..need to shop for clothes liao..this is your 2nd pregnancy right? you also experience big tummy previously too?

sherill, maybe u wld like to go gp to get them to prescribe some medications for your nausea before gg to see yr gynae next week?

sunnybb, my tummy is of reasonable size for my 1st pregnancy. now i look like when i was 3 mths previously.

but i have a colleague who has big tummy... and so obvious during her first trimester. as long as bb is healthy, mummy is fine, big tummy is alright : )

On MS, what about the age old remedy of sour plums? It works for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But I only have very mild MS so I only feel the need to resort to it maybe once every 2-3 days.

for MS can try sucking on a sweet as well?

if no MS means bb not growing well? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] waiting to go for my next scan next week.. first scan didnt managed to see much.. doc couldnt confirm how many weeks.. by i predict i should be week 6 now..

for me no MS.. but i keep feeling hungry.. rah.. think i'll put on a lot of unnecessary weight.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyone else keep eating too?

last week i felt something in my tummy.. this week i felt nothing.. not sure if it is normal?

i should be into week 6.. anyone face the same as me?

anyone seeing dr benjamin tham?

Hi ladies... just tested positive a few days ago... appt with Dr Irene Chua fixed on the 2nd June at TPS KKH. EDD think is 19th Jan..

hihi whoami_ting,

I had my first bb with Dr Benjamin Tham and wld like to see him for my 2nd one. Have u seen him already? i checked his website and saw that he will start tmc on 15 may. has dropped an email for an appt but no reply yet. What abt u?

Hi Sharz,

May i know how is your 1st with Dr Benjamin? I have plan to see him. Me just tested positive a few days ago. I just called his clinic at TMC and talk with the nurse, she advised me to come down on 1st or 2nd june because if i come down now,i cant see anything yet (my last menses is on 14th april). any advise? this is my 1st baby..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Komathi,

yess..;)..my 1st. My EDD is 18th Jan 2011. How about you?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi All 2nd time mommy,

can check if your first child behaving as usual recently? Are they unusually "noisy"?

Mine seems quite disturb this 2 weeks. She refuse to get into our bed room and rest unless i hug her in. and in the middle of the night, she will wake up and cry for me and only can get to sleep again in my arm. Not sure is her behaviour due to my pregnancy. My no 1 use to sleep soundly throughout the nite wan.. haiz...

sherill - oh dear so sorry to hear you're nauseous all the time. Me too - Im also nauseous most of the time, esp when im in the car. Think you can try to suck on a sweet? Or eat some crackers will help as well.

This first trimester is really horrible. I can't stand most smells (esp the chinese cooking smell) and a lot of food turn me off. I can't even really stand chinese food - end up having subway sandwich for lunch everyday. Hahaa.. Can't wait to move out of the first trimester.

ting - i can't see any difference in my No. 1 leh. He's still as sticky to me as before. Hahaa. Is there any other reason why she would wake up in the middle of the night? Did she recently start school or something?

Fabiola - the nurse is right, if you go too early, the gynae can only see a sac and can't really see much. That's why happened to me when i went to see my gynae at 5-6wks. You can see the gynae later as suggested by the nurse, but make sure in the meantime you are taking your folic acid everyday!

Hi Happybelle,

thanks for your advise..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..so in the meantime,i just taking my folic everyday and hope the little one grow now..so excited until cant wait!!

but one of my preggy friend told me,just see the sac first,so you will know whether the sac grow inside the womb or fallopian tube. do you have any idea what does it mean?

Fabiola - i think if sac is in the fallopian tube, it will be an ectopic pregnancy, which is normally not viable. Hmmm im sure the gynae can detect if the sac is in the womb or not thru a scan.... so i guess if you want peace of mind, sure can go see yr gynae earlier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fabiola: HiHi.. mine is first as well.. same EDD as urs i gues.. not yet seen gynae...

Sunnybb: Thanks so much for the warm welcome.

Happybelle : thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..i just read the article about ectopic pregnancy. The first warning signs of an ectopic pregnancy are often pain or vaginal bleeding. so if i dont have this kind of signs so the chances of ectopic is lesser right?

i hope all mummies here have a smooth pregnancy for the next 9months..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Komathi: so you will be going to the gynae on 2nd june? the nurse advise you?

Komathi: mine is on 2nd of june with Dr. Benjamin Tham..yeah yeah..the nurse said mine should be around 7weeks already..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happybelle, haven introduce her anything new recently. my no 1 joined playgroup early this year.her day very routine wan. She also always stick to me. But recently is like suddenly she refuse to enter our bed room alone and can't sleep well at night lor. i also don't know why like that. continue for about 2 weeks le. hope will get better soon. haiz

Fabiola - yes i think if no symptoms, should be a normal pregnancy lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think positive! Must always think positive and be happy... i feel somehow the positive vibe will also be felt by the baby and baby will be happy too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ting - hmmm sometimes children have mood swings and change routines as well. Hard to pinpoint the reason. How old is yr no. 1 already? Does she enjoy the playgroup? My no. 1 is already 2 plus but i'm still thinking whether to put him in playgroup this yr or not....

hi all MTB...i tested mine and get positive 1 weeks ago. now waiting for my first appointment with TMC, dr. Yvoone on 24th May. No is about 5weeks plus, entering week 6 next Monday. No bleed and no spotting so far *TOUCH WOOD*. but sometime suffering from stomachache. Quite worried about this as not sure if it's just normal pain (toilet time) or some other issue...The gynae that I choose seems to always pack with appointments, considering to change gynae now to dr. christine yap (Mt.E). has anyone of you consult this gynae before?

Oh ya, my EDD is 9th Jan

Happybelle: yes yes must think positive! v ^_^ v..thanks for warming my heart..

Kimmy: Hi Kimmy..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies..

am goin for the 2nd visit to my gynae tomorrow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hopefuly this time they can see more than a DOT! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i should be 6wks by tomorrow. wish me luck! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

will update tml night again!

hi fabiola,

i m quite comfortable with Dr tham. hence the reason to go back to him on my 2nd childbirth. In fact, seeing him is a breeze cos basically he is rather knowledgeable in his field of work. He was rather precise when i did my last scan for my first baby. He said that my baby was abt 3.6kg and asked if i wanted to deliver. Indeed when my daughter came, she was 3.65kg. So i think he was rather accurate. Also, i had a emergency c-section. he did a rather impressive job and my scar was a super duper thin line.

morning ladies

TGIF..looking forward to waking up late tomorrow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kimmy: think pain/aches are normal as long as there's no spotting..maybe you can try to see your gynea during day time..evening time very crowded and they tend to chop chop esp there's alot of pple waiting outside..

miffy: do update us after your visit..don't worry..good luck ya..

Morninggg ladies..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sharz : i see..made my appointment to see him on 2nd june..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..cant wait to see my baby..^_^

Miffy: so excited!! wish you luck..

Kimmy: me also sumtimes feel the pain/aches on my abdominal stomach..as long there is no spotting/bleeding. should be ok..

Kimmy, a GP recommended to me 4 supposedly good gynaes, one of whom is Dr Christine Yap. I made an appointment to see her next week so I can't say anything about her yet. The good thing is I can get appointments on weekends, which is something I get for the other recommended gynaes so if you have a busy work schedule that's good. I am also quite inclined to go with her since the others on my list seem to be so hard to get hold of.

Sunnybb: hiii..im 4 weeks now based on babycentre..tested positive this week only..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..how about you? this is your first baby right? have you choose your gynae?

thanks ladies! reali excited n ANXIOUS! counting down to noon... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi hi, my period supposed to come last sun/monday usually day 27/28, but its already day 32 today. I tested yest very very faint line, then today tested the line a bit clearer but still slightly faint, so I am not sure. My #1 is coming 10 mnths next Fri and this is my first menstrual cycle after stopping bf less than 2 mths ago. (Did I strike "lottery" cos for #1 we tried for 7mths). Had slight cramps on off this week and thought period coming, period coming, then wait, wait, no sign of spotting. EDD 20 Jan and my own bday is 19 Jan. Thought of waiting till next weekend to see gynae after testing again the next few days.

Thing is... I am starting a new job this Monday after stopping work for 2yrs to conceive #1. Anyone can advice when is the best time to tell my new employer if I am really preggers. Like wait till 2mths later?

BTW anyone here also belong to July 2009 MTB thread?

I am tested faint positive line on the test kit to on thursday. Think i am testing another time early next week to confirm..although alot of ladies here in the forum are telling me faint positive means positive already. Just Keep my finger crossed that this is not an imaginary one.

If calculate from my last menses,i shld be 4 weeks too. But if calculated based on my estimated Ovaluation..should be only 2 weeks lor...Just dunno how to count.

I dun have much symptons yet...excepted feeling very bloated! SOB!

I dunno which gynae to go...and still gathering feedbacks from my friends..by when i need to see a gynae???

hi fabiola, yup this is my first..my gynea is Dr Wee from KKH..i went for my first consultation 2weeks ago..according to him is approx 4weeks..should be 5weeks now..going to see him again next week..hopefully can see more than a sac..

good luck miffy

hi ee, congrats..wow u might be celebrating birthday with your bb nxt time!! maybe you can inform them after you confirm you preggie with your gynea?

hi victoria, congrats..mine was also a very faint line..got hubby to take pix of the result and i relook at the pix again and again to make sure me not imagining things..haha..

yup it's based on 1st day of your last LMP..it really depends on you..i saw doc on my 4th week n i felt more relieved after doc's confirmation [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks fabiola and sunnybb..

I juse feel worried sometime when not feeling *normal*...will try to stay as relax as I can till my first gynae appointment.

Hi reia,

do share how you feel after you see dr. christine. Not sure if the consultation fees will be difference with other gynae in TMC and/or Mt.A? My hubby say parking at Mt.E is quite annoying so he prefer to go TMC. ya, the nurse from TMC told me that it's hard to make appointment during weekend, that's y I'm considering to change gynae. more convenience, more happy i suppose :)

I don't plan to tell my boss abt this until at least 3 months, if possible, i would like to keep the secret till my stomach show. So, i will apply leave instead of MC.

Victoria: hii..welcome..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunnybb: the nurse clinic said i better go when the pregnancy approx 7 weeks..so can see more..thats why she scheduled my appointment based on my last period..errrmmm..actually i am a bit excited..want to go early..:p

Ee: congratz![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kimmy: stay relax and calm..hope all of us have a smooth pregnancy..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Victoria, welcome! Good luck with finding a gynae. I am being kiasu and going to a few before deciding on one I feel most comfortable with. The visits before 7-8 weeks are essentially a waste of money because you can't hear the heartbeat yet.

Hi Kimmy, sure thing, will share on Dr C Yap. To my mind Mt E and Gleneagles are more expensive than TMC and Mt A, but it also depends on seniority of the gynae? Anyway I think we should considering all of them equally and just decide based on which dr we feel most comfortable with. The difference in price is nothing compared to health, peace of mind etc.

Congrats and welcome to everyone who just joined! Sorry I'm having difficulty keeping up!

Btw, just went to a gynae yesterday and we didn't do any scans because he thinks its pointless at wk 5 unless I really can't wait to see a sac. But more importantly, he said losing the baby at this stage is more common than people think! Yikes! I am certainly a lot more freaked and so now on days where my MS is not as bad and I'm not as tired I feel more worried rather than relieved. This is bad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Reia: so the doctor said within week 5 is common to lose the baby? what is the cause? so what is his advise? feel worried now..i haven't see my gynae yet..the nurse said its better for me to see the doctor 2nd june..when my baby is 7weeks..

No particular reason apparently. And nothing much you can do to prevent. He said just be sensible but its common to lose the baby because the pregnancy wasn't feasible in the first place. I might be reading too much between the lines but I gather he's basically saying sometimes its not the healthiest embryo that got implanted so nature kicks in and ends the pregnancy. I do hope I'm not causing too much fear here, which wasn't my intention! Perhaps the second or third time mums here can share their exp.

Nothing the gynae can do at this stage so I think its right that they ask you to go see them at 7-8 weeks. I insisted on an earlier appointment because I want to get a feel of which gynae I should go with.

Here's hoping everything goes well for all of us!