(2011/01) Jan 2011

if its thru poly referral, the patients will be treated as subsidised case and no choosing of doc unless you change to pte class.

Currently i m consulting Prof Ho who was previously from KKH. It wont be difficult to miss him cos he is the HOD. He is very experienced and I feel safe to be seen by him. i was pretty sceptical of gg to sgh but he came highly recommended by my frens and colleagues.

wow....good. I hope I will be in safe hands with Dr Chua [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] many thanks coconutz!

Good Morning to All,

Been away for a day and seems like there are new mummies in the Club... Congrats to all and as the first trimester is the most crucial period, rest well and eat healthy.

Coconuts,

Its my second bb as well and i too feel that im more bloated then my first. I still remember during my first pregnancy i could wear my jeans right up till i was 5 months. But now only at about 6 weeks i feel rather stuff especially in my work uniform. So its time to start digging the pregnancy clothes out.

Min,

Please rest well and dont walk to much. Hope all will be fine for you.

hi gwen, i have already kept all my fitting skirts and been putting on those elastic band skirts and flare tops. my colleagues tot i m having twins...keke

Also my second baby girls, and not wearing any jeans, tight pants or skirts which were normal 15 days ago. It just feels so uncomfortable to wear them.

i managed to delay the deadline to confirm my trip to next Monday =)

By then, I should be able to get to know whether I'm preggy or not =P.

Nowadays my #1 has been bugging us when she can be a big sister... hope we can give her good news toon..

Congrats to all mummies with good news...

i m preggie too. Last menses is 25 march but i haven not seen a gynae yet. This is my 2nd child. Regarding flying, i was a flight attendant when i had my first child. Gynae give me the go ahead to fly. But i stopped when i was 2nd month preggie due to bad morning sickness. So i suppose, it depends on individual. congrats to all mummies!

congrats sharz! are you having nay morning sickness yet? I am 6 weeks today and it started since yesterday...any remedies?

Wow, this thread really moves fast! Thanks ilovemiffy for the welcome.

Sharz, congrats and thanks for sharing. I have heard of stewardesses flying in their first trimester and it seems fine so I'm a bit confused by conflicting information. I suppose the gynae will be the determining authority!

Kidomum, why don't you go to your GP or a gynae and ask for a blood test, which is much more sensitive?

Pinky, such a coincidence, I was also planning to travel to HK with hubby in June!

On morning sickness, I have very mild ones so I'm just ignoring it but I recently read about some wristband (the same kind people wear for seasickness) which may help.

Reia.....congrats to you as well....can i ask my doc somemedicines for mornning sickness if it gets worse in coming weeks? Last time with DD I had bad nausea so worried....because now I am working.

Some more.....I paid for 3 tickets to phuket for end of this month but will not be going hoever my money will be wasted for 3 tickets

Hi ladies!!

Am new here, I tested positive two weeks ago, and saw the gynae last Sat. EDD should be 31 Dec/1 Jan but thought I'll join in this thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's my second baby too - just read there are quite a number of second time mummies here. Hi hi!!!

Welcome, happybelle! How come all you gals can get your gynae appt so soon? My gynae's schedule seems packed to the brim, which is worrying.. I can't wait to go to one and for him/her to tell me everything will be alright!

So, a dumb question to consult the second/third time mums here.. I was happily sipping lemon barley earlier today when I suddenly froze when my brain played back to the person selling it telling me that its home made from china barley so extra cooling and then back again to the old wives tale about people losing their baby after eating cooling stuff. I'm sure that can't be true but I suppose I'm just looking for some reassurance here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

reia - cos i went on a friday morning, expected it to be off-peak, unlike saturdays, which are packed to the brim!

and i just had barley yesterday! I was eating the barley and drinking it as well! no problem lah, I know I had plenty of barley when I was expecting my first child cos my MIL would make barley on average twice a week...

hi reia,

i heard from chinese physicians that the western barley (those usually sold at coffeeshops) are more cooling than the china barley.

China barley usually have a stronger taste than the western ones..

If you takes things in moderate amount, it shouldn't be a problem.

This thread is really expending fast >>>

During my first pregnancy i had also traveled and there was no problem at all. I know its not advisable to travel late in the pregnancy.

But the i still believe that diff people have diff effects to it...

hi reia, drinking barley in moderation shld be fine. i remembered i was so blur. i drank coconut juice once a week during my first trimester and stopped when i realised that I m supposed to drink the juice during my last trimester. thankfully, nothing happen wor.

actually i think casual travel should be ok.. ask the hubbies to help carry the luggage.

However, when we travel for work, most of the time, we have to tug the heavy luggages and laptop all those stuff all by ourselves..can be quite tiring..

furthermore, during first trimester, no one will help coz we may not even look preggy ... so maybe dun take the risk for business travel.

Coconutz, Thanks! That was reassuring. I got more worried when I read about coconut inducing birth in the last trimester! Was drawing the analogy that if it had the same effect in the first trimester that would equate to *gulp* miscarriage! Being silly of course.

Re work travel, none in the horizon so far but I do travel quite a bit for work and wonder how do I avoid it if in the first 3 months one's not actually supposed to tell people about the pregnancy? Hmm..

Thanks for your concern. will pray and talk to my bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

been MIA for a few days.. went to see my gynae yday instead of this fri as planned. doc confirmed my pregnancy but as only the sac can be seen, she cant tell much and to see her the next week and hopefully can see bb. gynae said the sac is still small and deduced it is only 4 weeks plus though it should be 5 weeks plus based on my LMP. Felt nervous and excited just like being preggie for the 1st time and at the same time feel worried like my 1st one cos of my spotting. i was given 5 days mc to rest at home. im on duphaston and going back on thurs for my hormone jab. nx appointment is next monday.

i even planned a road trip to KL/genting with my family end of the month, booked hotel etc before i tested for pregnancy. so tot i would just go ahead with the trip but was indecisive, hubby also said dun take risk cos long car journey. then spotting came, confirm and decided i cant go liao lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Min.......I also had brown spooting this sunday and was scared to death due to DC in march recently. tok leave on monday and rested for 2-3 days. Cancelled my plan to go to phuket but no reimbursement of money.

Pls. rest as much as you can, and feet up even in office chair.

Reia, i tink almost all my colleagues know tat i m preggie now : P

majority of my colleagues are nurses and i feel reassured if they know my condition. n they wont let me carry heavy things now since we are moving office soon. they oso say they can take care of me....keke

hi Min, rest as much as possible and be positive. can still go road trips after yr first trimester : )

in fact, road trips during first trimester is soooooo tiring and u wont enjoy....hmmm.. at least for me cos during my first pregnancy, I went to melaka when i was 10 weeks preggie. I have never felt so tired, crampy and nauseous in my entire life. not forgetting i always must find restrooms to pee along the malaysia highways...

actually i think it's good to inform direct bosses and some closer colleagues ..otherwise they may think we try to "gian" and dun wanna do work :p

i think can treat is as "need to know" basis =)

Travelling at 2nd tri is better.. Coz you would rather play safe then sorry.. After 2nd tri , you can travel all you want.. My 1st pregnancy I did not travel coz of previous 2 miscarriage due to travelling for work so I was very careful . 2nd pregnancy I trave from 2nd tri till 38 weeks still traveling.. Haha ..

congrats to all new mummies joining this forum.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

this thread is really moving very fast..

hubby planned family trip to genting end of this month.. luckily he driving while the rest of the family take the coach..

so far i havent have the onset of MS yet.. is it normal? but instead i keep feeling hungry.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

may i just ask how did you all let your parents and parents-in-law know about the good news? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinky: we havent tell anybody yet because of previous DC in march. Waititng for 8 weeks scan and then will tell immediate family only... rest will wait until 13 weeks including boss.

Min, do rest well. Actually when i went for a scan last week, gynae also say cannot see anything yet, and also too early to hear heartbeat. So no choice have to wait till 3 wks later for my next appt before can see & hear the baby. Like you say, must pray that our babies are growing healthily.

Sherill, take care too! Is this your first or second baby?

Pinky, no MS is good! Either you're one of the lucky ones with no MS, or it will kick in later. I started MS only this week and I'm feeling nauseous all the time! Most food don't attract me that much these days, unless I have particular cravings....

Today my craving is for mee hun kuay.... best is the "chiew lian" brand. Aiyah dunno how to go buy now also. Anyone wants to share what your craving today is??? hehe

i'm hoping for no MS.. but i do have slight adominal discomfort.. but not serious to take medication prescribed by gynae yet..

wow this thread is really taking off fast..

Hello and congrats to new mommies!!!

Min, Happybelle..maybe they still shy so hiding from the screen..keke..me same case only can see sac..hopefully the next visit can see more..

me too booked a spa package but had to forgo the spa..better safe than be sorry..abit heart pain but i think it's worth it in the long run..

pinky we just called and tell them the first time we received confirmation from doctor..

good morning ladies! having ms is good, shows tat bb doing well like what WWT mentioned.

I had mine til nearly 6 mths during my last pregnancy : (

anyway, tat aside, i m craving for canned minced bean paste today... heavent been eating for some time and today die die wanna makan...keke

juz to share tat i m taking longer than usual to finish my meal. i cant finsh my food cos stomach so bloated and will feel like vomiting if i m too full. so now i m stuck with half eaten cheese sandwich for my breakfast : )

thanks WWT, it is rraly good.......but how to sope with it at work...specially when I havent tell anybody abt it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I plan to tell only after doc can see baby in there at 8 weeks.

Hi ladies here,

Can i join the thread?;)

just tested this morning with 2 strips and 1 clearblue..and all positive!!..so happy!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..

now really confused what to do next? should i go to the GP to confirm my pregnancy or just wait another 1-2weeks?

congrats mave! welcome to the thread...when is ur EDD? I think you should take 5 mg folic acid a day from NOW on.and can see doc in 7th or 8th week. Or if you are not satisfied can go to see gynae but mostly they wont scan until 7 or 8 weeeks.

Hi Sherill,

thanks for the warm welcome!! based on baby centre my EDD is 18 Jan 2011 and i currently 4weeks.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..this my 1st baby..

i am taking GNC folic acid now, is this enough?

and also before i get this news, i've already booked my trip to australia in august. Is it okay for me to flying?

I tested positive yesterday morning and was over the moon...a bit scary though cause this is my first pregnancy.

I am 5-6 weeks now, and will be seeing Dr Adelina Wong at Thomson in abt 2 weeks. An online calculator I used estimated that my EDD will be 5 Jan 2011 =)

welcome kikapo, congratulationssss......my EDD is also 6 Jan and 6 week 1 day today.

Mave: I hink should be enough.

Ladies, I am sooooooo sick.......havent eat anything and already vomited 3 times this morning.

any remedies?

Hi Sherill,

when you start your MS? me still nothing..stomach a bit bloated and nite time when i want to sleep i feel a bit cramp on my stomach..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]..cant move around easily..

hi sherill, coconut, pinky, happybelle, sunnybb

thanks!!

btw, gynae mentioned that im very lucky that i dun suffer MS. cosi told her last pregnancy i also didn't. but i told her lucky abt MS, but unlucky abt the spotting part sighz.. both pregnancies also got spotting... this is quite draggy, hopefully spotting will stop real soon. am currently resting at my mum's place. now i dont carry, shower my toddler girl.

Sherill, u reminded me of my MS man..for my 1st bb.

Go have some rest and take some warm liquids, if not wait dehydrated..

Then take some soup meehoon/mee when u r ready for intakes.

Sherill, maybe you can try to take small bites n rest between each mouthful..hths

currently i m around 5weeks but my stomach is very big like 4-5months perhaps..is this normal? is my 1st time

coconutz , take frequent meals but small portion. eat something before you know you getting hungry. have some healthy snacks easily reach. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]