(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

yugal: congrats to you and wife on your first pregnancy.

spotting is due to the instability of the foetus. you have to take good care of wife, dont let her exert too much. rest more and eat more healthily. rule of thumb is rest. 2 weeks should be fine. just take good care will do. but if there are more bleeding. then your wife have to consult the doc immediately as *touch wood* it could lead to miscarriage. hence, really have to rest well and eat well ^_^

mummies.. please advise if facial is ok? beautician called to say i have not been to facial for some times. i also think i seriously need to pamper my acne-covered face. how? can i?

im bored, nothing on tv interests me. hehe... everyone taken your dinner yet?

Welcome to ALL!!!

Serina, how come u need to leave your job becos you are preg? Thanks for the info on the salad sauces... think i gonna say bye to my fillet o fish for some time :p Actually i was in the midst of jumping over to my dream co.. they sounded so OK with preggy woman but the moment knowing i am preg... tsk tsk tsk... quite sad actually but guess tat is reality.

Lena, shld be like a normal jab but it certainly leave a suan suan after feel :p maybe preggy woman more emo, so alittle pain also cry but as long as its good for baby, how pain also must tong!

Yugal, after the pills and rest, the spotting shld stop. Mine stop abt 2 days after med and jab but came back last week becos i overwork. After resting then ok le. So best to rest well more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eon, really? Is it becos of the hormone side effect? I got bad rashes on my thigh and arms for my no 1 and seems like its back to visit me AGAIN!!! haiz.. really wish to look posh abit while being preggy but think hard la :p

Oh Mummies, i think its good to invest in the Medala nipple cream... I started applying in my 2nd trimester to prevent it from cracking!

EonEon, I learned from my beautician, facial is fine, just do not use any machines. To be safe, check with yours...

Serina, I also learned that many mummies to-be prefer Dumex than other brand.. I just got a can just now with hubby.. shall try tomorrow and see if I like it.. :)

Hi yugal, congrats to you and wife.. have you ever considered chinese medication? Other than stop spotting/bleeding, it should help to "yang tai" while waiting to see gynae..?

EonEon, i used to hv IPL treatment for my acne prblm but my doc say once i'm pregnant i cant do all these treatment n cant even apply any cream on my face...so u shld consult yr beautician or gynae abt tis facial ting.

Any mummies kw wat we shld/shldnt eat/drink during pregnancy?? i like to drink tea a lot...i kw cant drink lipton tea cos vy cooling...wat abt green tea??

serina, i tried the dumex mamil mama and anmum during my 1st pregnancy. honestly, i only tried it for about 1 week. after that, drinking the same thing everyday is really quite a turn off and nauseating! ha.. maybe u shd get free samples to see if you ok with the taste.

re: facial

so can do facial or not? i have facial appt this wed. they usually use this machine thing and attach a wrist band on my hand when the macine is in use.

good morning mummies ^_^

milo: i think all companies are the same. they can be so pro-family and then upon hearing you are pregnant, tsk tsk tsk.. thats it! but its definitely different when you are already employed with this pro-family organisations for some times liao. their reaction would not be as negative as when you are trying to land a post there.

yes, doc said my bad breakouts was due to hormonal change and now with the jab, it will definitely worsen the condition. haha, i dont think its possible for me to stay posh with my given situation. i look so messy!

where can we get the nipple cream? at pharmacy or those baby-mum stores? maybe i dont need the cream after all cause i still hasnt feel any soreness yet. my milk ducts are not working =(

bubbly7: sure, i will check with my beautician.

please update the taste of dumex once you have tried. i seriously need to lay my hands on the milk powder but am afraid i wont like the strong milk powder taste.

psh: thanks, i will check with beautician.

about drinking tea, i love my green tea but i have stop already. just to be safe. hehe..

by the way mummies, i found this link on the website which i think is quite comprehensive. have a look.

http://www.parenting.com/pregnancy/article/Pregnancy-Dos-and-Donts-1199832063709?page=0,2

time for work! catch up later... tada ^_^

Morning Mummies,

Hi Serina: thanks for the info about avoiding mayo and thousand island sauce etc cos i din know about this and i love to eat these sauces. Now i know i have to avoid liao... Hai...

Actually i also wonder if i have made the right choice to see Dr Adrian as he deliver birth at Thomson which is more expensive than KK, any mummies here can advise us on the cost of these 2 hospitals? Is the difference very big?

Hi Yugal: congrats, like what Eoneon has advised, do ask your wife to rest more and walk lesser. I am also having spotting so i tried to rest more on the bed. If the problem persists or become worse, do consult the gynae and dun wait till the next appt. The gynae can gif your wife mc to rest at home if neccessary if she's working.

Hi Milo: thanks for the advise, hope everythings goes smoothly when i see my gynae tml and i dun have to take the jab? I also seldom take injections and like what you and Eoneon said, pregnant women do get emo more easily cos my tears also flow more easily these days, haha...

Hey Eoneon: Thanks for accepting my request at FB, you have very big eyes, i'm sure your BB will be so cute if he/she got your eyes and dimples! haha.... Holiday is always so shiok, i also cant bear to return from Taiwan previously, will plan to go again cos the people, food and place there is really nice... hehe...

I also wonder if i should buy the Dumex milk to drink, izzit good to drink at this early stage? I taking soyabean drink now as my mummy said it's good.. But i dun take it daily cos at times forgot, haha...

Wow... Eoneon, the jab realli will make our breakout worse ah??I'm also having some pimples on my face and some very red ones on my chest and back.... i wonder how to stop it, scared later take wedding photos not nice.... Hmmm... any advice mummies?

sorry to interrupt. i'm from the Aug2010 MTB thread, I am selling some stuff that I got extra from US to maximise on the shipping costs. if you are interested can visit my blogspot at http://quello-sale.blogspot.com/

Also organising some spree to get baby, kids & maternity stuff from US for my thread group, so see if anyone else interested can save more on the shipping. you can view more info at http://quello-spree.blogspot.com/

Hi EonEon, today I tried Dumex.. not too bad! At first I thought 6 scoops should be too much, but the taste was good.. on the salty side.. :-D but wonder how long I can continue taking.. hehehe... like nateM said, will be quite sick if we have it everyday...

Hi crown, i do experience heart beat very fast.. especially when i am pik cik at work.. need to always tell myself to stay cool...

Hello mums,

Did 3 test last week after our family trip.

Was thrilled to see a plus and positive sign.

Going back to gynae to scan on the 21st april.

I had a short cycle this time round, so if based on my calculation EDD will be dec 12/13.

This is my no2. Elder daughter is 2 and a half years old now.

Morning Mummies!

Aiyo i have been spending my morning hugging the toilet bowl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

thanks bubbly, hope the food will stay inside! sigh now my side peak period so not suitable for hugging bowls! haha

how are all the mummies feeling?

Afternoon mummies, has everyone taken your lunch?

Oh, I managed to down a bowl of U-Mian with extra veggie. So satisfied now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_clap.gif] Earlier I was feeling nauseous every 5 minutes or so. Keep popping my miracle Wu Hua Guo. I think I will end up with high blood pressure pretty soon with such high intake of salty stuff!

Lena: I have the comparison table which I have gotten from KKH. But its at home now. Update the details for everyone later.

Thanks for the compliments. I hope baby will inherit my eyes and dimples, be it boy or girl. I am always teasing hubby that baby will not look beautiful if he/she resembles him. Got him real sad and mad!! Yes, I am a meanie.. LOL

Yes, Dr Tham told me my breakouts will worsen after the jab. I have been religiously applying zit creams but does not seem to help. No worries about the pre-wedding photoshoot. They will touch up. But not for actual day photography, unless you pay more for editing, I supposed.

crown: I didnt really notice if my heart beats faster. Im really a blur and unobservant person. Maybe I should start monitoring.

bubbly: hmm... In that case, maybe I should get one tin to try out too. Do you think I can add coco powder into it to make it more palatable? hehe..

Ya yah... stay cool and calm.. Dont get agitated. Thats what I am telling myself too. But I get irritated even when people asked me to repeat myself more than once at times. haha.. like a volcano erupting anytime soon.

vally: Congrats and welcome to Dec '10 motherhood ^_^

milo: are you alright? do you have comforting food such as those preserved fruits or do you have morning sickness pill with you? take one if it is really very bad.

me me me... add us (baby and moi!)

Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham

Hospital: KKH until mid May and then TMC from then onwards

No. of kids: 1 upcoming

Million of thanks for collating the table for us milo. Owe you one!

Eon, am drinking milo with the hope of keeping my lunch down :p Working today? Tomorrow i on my leave to look after my no 1.. heng ah.. at least i can half a day break when he is in school!

milo: thanks for the updates.

try not to think of it, we need to play some psychological games with ourselves at times. tiring but no choice. i hate those hugging bowls feeling.

yes, working. these 2 weeks are really hectic week. cause next week is our audit and simultaneously there are a number of heavy-weight potatoes visiting our sg office this and next week. cant afford to MIA. sneaking in during my breaks to catch up with you gals. hehe... im aching all over already from the moving about and typing!

good! try to rest during that half day ^_^

Congrats to the new comers..

I am so glad that i am not the only worried abt the little one inside us, running to the toilet to see if there is any blood..

I am have been having all the pregnancy symptoms morning sickness.. everything that I smell puts me off. Although I have not been puking but the quezziness inside me is very uncomfortable.. I read form the net that candied ginger might help so I bought 1 pack to try and a whole box (40 packs) of Meji Cracker. My Morning sickness is the worse just when I wake up. So my whole train journey to work is just a torture,

Mlio66, maybe u can try too.. or try the traditional way which is the salty preserved fruits...

And I am feeling super tired everyday. I spend my whole Sunday sleeping... Any Mummies here also feeling the fatigue?

I thk for the short term we better not take drinks with caffeine (like coffee, tea and coke) and cooling fruits..

If scared milk taste I know there is chocolate milk powder for mummy...

ling: me too! fatigue but i cant really sleep so i attribute it to the fact that hubby is not besides me bah... getting tired most of the times and easily too.

chocolate milk powder for mummy? what brand?

ling - hehe u are definitely not alone.. me too! becoming paranoid liao :p i spent my whole sunday slping too! so poor thing that my hub and son was so boring they went swimming w/o me! haha but glad tat my hub is hand on with kid so can help out... i am so so sleepy.... wanna give me your details to add into the table?

hihi Eon n milo...thanks for the warm welcome!!!

Hmmm~~~i guess so...i hving 1st appt with my gynae onli on the 27th april...but i use the apps in iphone and roughly found out my edd will be 13th dec....ha...thats really fast....can't imagine that.... o_O

did u gals actually breakout this news to everybody or just hush hush.....after 1st tri dan broadcast the Great news???

Wow. I am confused. Too much to read.

Have been TTCing @ NUH for more den a year. Wanted to go for IUI but body was not reacting to injections so went ahead to do IVF but round 1 failed.

Went for 2nd round and everything went very smoothly. Did extract on 27th Mar and replacement on 30th Mar.

Tested positive this morning via blood test. According to calculations from websites (have not consulted my gynae yet) my EDD is 20th Dec.

I do not intend to deliver at NUH but TMC so I am looking at various Gynaes. But NUH's SOP is for IVF Patients to go back to get injections till the Gynae says the baby is stable. So what I intend to do is to go back and do what I gotto do till the baby is stable and den look for a gynae to help with delivery.

Hi all, I think I'm also going to be a Dec2010 mummy, with EDD to be early Dec - gynae will ascertain for sure when the baby gets bigger. This is my second child.

Just to share my experiences with some of the concerns raised above. I drank a lot of milk in my first pregnancy (Meiji milk cos this has the mildest taste) and my baby's skin was really fair and opaque. Plus he has very strong bones and his teeth came out faster than anyone else. So I think drinking milk is good. The formula milk for pregnant mothers are good too but they tend to pile the extra kilograms on you at the end.

Have been feeling quite nauseous this two weeks with lots of food aversions. Just rejected my mum's bittergourd chicken with rice for a fillet o fish meal at Mcdonalds. Haha.. i think you will get a lot of weird and wonderful cravings as you progress through the pregnancy. I think fillet o fish is fine cos i ate it a lot in my last pregnancy and the baby is fine. So did a lot of my pregnant friends.. it seems to be the no. 1 craving for many pregnant ladies that I know.

A lot of you are first time mums and I can imagine the excitement and anxiety you must be going through right now. Congratulations! Somehow for me, I feel more relaxed this time round than before and am not that stringent on diet - which is bad I think. But my gynae always reminded me of how in the olden times, women didnt even know they were pregnant till late and they didnt have scans and gynae visits, they carried heavy loads and had to cope with household chores, but still the majority of them delivered healthy babies. Quite true, isn't it? Of course this doesn't mean we should be careless about our pregnancy. Just a good reminder of a reality check when we feel our hormones going out of order or when we are fraught with anxiety over something we can't control.

Also, my way of coping with nausea is to eat. Having your stomach empty is the worst way to bring on nausea. But try to snack healthily - like drinking a glass of milk, fruits or low sodium crackers.

My last pregnancy ended in a boy and I had a roaring appetite. It's been said that if you are conceiving a boy, his energy intake is higher so you will be hungry often. So if you find yourself going to the fridge often for a snack, you may find yourself with a boy.

I am new here. I am in my 6 weeks and 1 day.

Just went for my scan didnt see any heartbeat but manage to hear the heart beat. It was 114bpm. Has anyone here went for a scan yet at 6 weeks and see or hear beanie heartbeat?

Hi all, thank you for all the advices. My wife just gotten for herself more than a week's mc just to rest at home.

I have also made our first appointment with a Gynae, recommended by my sis-in-law, this coming Wednesday. Cannot wait till 2 weeks later.

As of today, the spotting has reduced and remained at brown colour. Hope it will cease by tomorrow.

my dr left KKH and now i have no idea which dr to go to. I have to go kkh cos my husb's company don't pay for delivery in pte hosp. anyone has any recommendation? stress liao.

anyway, going home now!

hi EonEon & bubbly,

i had actualli booked my honeymoon to europe in may... was looking forward to shopping at all the outlet stores with the euros exchange rate down now... but den... well... i had to learn to sacrifice for my little one...

i'm asking my hubby to go cruise to hongkong instead... haha....

Congrats!! Kidznmumz09, cindy and J star.

milo66: i hope our ZZ monster will go away soon.

And my nauseaness just not getting any better..

Monring sickness like not only morning then will Kana.. sigh...

My Edd 6 Dec, Dr Loke East shore

Hi and welcome to all new mummies joining our thread..

I also feel more at ease to see some mummies feeling or experiencing the same things as i am...

Hi Milo: R you doing ok? Do you only feel very nauseous in the morning? I only feel nauseous when i smell strong garlic smell and when eat too much (less than half of my previous appetite) so seems like i'm not full at all... I ever heard from some mummies that having some morning sickness (as long not too jia lat) is good, means the BB is strong in your body... Hehe

My update as below

Gynae: Dr Adrian Woodworth

EDD: tin around 11 Dec but need to confirm with Dr Adrian cos 11 Dec is given to the first GP... hee

Hospital: Thomson Medical Centre

No of Children: One upcoming

Hi Eoneon: Thanks ya.. await for your news... I really wonder whats the difference between the costs of delivering at the two hospital, if difference reali big, i may want to change to a gynae at KKH.

Hi Asilmil: Thanks for the advice, what you said is absolutely rite especially about some mummies who dunnoe till late stage but also deliver healthy BB but maybe this is my first time, so i cant help worrying cos i dun have a good health too... So can we really eat filet-o-fish? What about other sandwiches that got mayo or other sauces? Feeling confused now... hee

Hi kidznmumz09: How did you hear the heartbeat? Izzit tru the scan? I'll be seeing the gynae tml, hopefully can see the heartbeat too but probably still abit early, not sure too cos i kinda got confused by the gynae about how big my BB is now... hehe... sounds like i very blur sia but will ask him tml...

Hi ladies, am new here.

Baby is due sometime in december, actual date not sure yet as my menses are irregular.

My gynae is Adelina Wong at TMC.

At the moment I have not experienced much morning sickness but am putting on a lot of weight. Was overweight before pregnancy (in fact I looked pregnant as I tend to accumulate fats around my waist) Now am just at 7 weeks but not able to fix in most of my outfit. Think it's too early to wear maternity clothes?

Hi Milo: Hw do u feel nw??better?? i was MC todae cos dw wif flu, sore throat & cough.

Hi EonEon: Regarding yr outbreak, wat my doc recommend is try nt to apply too many cosmestics on our face...if gt to apply den no choice, gt to wash vy throughy.

Hi Ling: i feel vy tried tis few days aso...feel like slping e whole day...but prblm is i cant realli fall aslp...

Hi Asilmil: So drink meiji milk aso can?? i dun like formula milk.

Do any mummies cant slp @ nite...i feel my body quite hot in e mid of e nite..not sure izzit bcos i'm sick or smting else. i realli hope i can gt a gd slp 2nite.

psh: I cant go without makeup, cause I am used to putting on makeup to work le.

oh, so I am not the only one facing this tired yet cant sleep problem arh. I keep thinking I am so abnormal. How come everyone is sleeping so soundly and sleeping so much. I just cant sleep. At least I know that I am not alone.

Asilmil: I get hungry very fast, I can finish a normal pack of rice during lunch n before 5pm, my stomach rumbling...my col look @ me n luff...cannot belief it...hahaha...

PSH: I get very tire easily n if sit down too long, will doze off...normally if I morning shift, on sun, I will nt take a nap, I scare @ nite can't sleep becos I hv to wake up 5am...but surprisingly, I dozed off ytd n yet last nite, I sleep b4 11pm...tats very unusual of me.... ;p

Eoneon: ooh...den no choice le...i did ask to my doc abt e outbreak, he say if realli nd to apply anyting on e face, we can try to apply in 2nd tri which is safer...

ooh...i thot i m abnormal aso...hehe...juz drink cough syrup which will make me slpy so tat later can slp well...gt to gt well soon cos stl nd to do OTs...arrghh...

Uhoo mummies!!And to all new discovered mums to be!!Congratulations and a very big hello with a smile!!

Lena dearest, I went for my first visit with Dr Adrian today! Boy is he fast but i find he very genuine and patient with any questions you might pose to him..I took up the package immediately cos i work out that it is so much cheaper since there are no limit to the no of time you can go to him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Expected to see an angmoh because of his name but very suprise to find a chinese man..haha..Before I went to Dr Adrian I have already decided on TMC, they are slightly more expensive than KK since KK is government but its not much my dear girl..But the service and perks at TMC greatly outweighs the little bit more of cost..If you like, try to go for a hospital tour at TMC, you not only get to see the facilities and I heard you get some freebies too!! I thinking of going for it one of these days too!!haha..

Dear Milo, I had to quit because it was part of my contract.I fly for a living you see..And continue flying means i'm placing my baby in danger because of what we do onboard.. So I have no choice but to tender in my resignation..I was sad but bbs well being is far more important.. OhOh, went to the gynae and it seems I gave a EDD too early Milo..Heres my info for the table, EDD: 13DEC

DOC: Dr Adrian Woodworth

HOS: TMC

Dear mummies, I been on dumex mama,i kinda like the taste tho..Vanilla..Quite pleasant..haha..But instead of 6 scoops I start with 3 scoops,and less water...Cos I dont like drink so much at one shot.. I think milk of any sort is good for you and the baby but going on the formula meant for mothers may prep you up on the specific nutrients you need more at this time.. I bought my at NTUC, $11 for a small tin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Try going to www.dumex.com.sg and ask for sample if you are not so sure first my friends.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but i think the formula milk is worth a try to help build up the baby and milk intended for breastfeeding in the future..

Dear PSH, I am also finding it hard to sleep well these days..I feel very hot and I ask abt it, heard its normal because our body temperature has started picking up because of the bb..but I also go to the toilet often these days la so I wake up in the middle of the night too..hehe..

COPING WITH MORNING SICKNESS...Ladies, i got this off this book by Dr Simon Atkins, so Im typing wholesale from the book...Here goes:

-Eat lil and often to keep blood levels steady

-Camomile Tea can help and it certainly wont hurt

-drink plenty fluids to avoid dehydration

-avoid fatty foods as it will cause you to nauseate more

-have dry biscuits and toast

-(one of the mom mention ginger tea) it helps!!

Feimei!!If my gynae was right,my EDD is on 13 dec too!!

Dear Crown, the heighten heartbeat rate is normal too because our heart now needs to pump larger volumes of blood each minute to keep up with the extra demand on our body [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now I have a question..hehe..going on hormone pills will cause skin to break out?? I just started on hormone pills today..will it cause me to break out???please say no... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Asilmil: I get hungry very fast, I can finish a normal pack of rice during lunch n before 5pm, my stomach rumbling...my col look @ me n luff...cannot belief it...hahaha...

PSH: I get very tire easily n if sit down too long, will doze off...normally if I morning shift, on sun, I will nt take a nap, I scare @ nite can't sleep becos I hv to wake up 5am...but surprisingly, I dozed off ytd n yet last nite, I sleep b4 11pm...tats very unusual of me.... ;p

Eon: yayaya....one more new member join in the new yr count down for 2011....hahaha ;D

serina: ya...I m 5wks as of today. Booked my 1st appt today.

This coming 27th April, KKH, Dr Shamini Nair (strongly recom by two best frenxs, they used her for their two kids)

PSH: hmmm, no makeup is definitely no no. hehe, i must meet a lot of people some days de. but my makeup is light. i only apply mild sunblock, compact powder, mascara and blusher.

hope we can start to sleep well soon.

Serina: Wow! so you were an air stewardess? but i thought they have changed the policy to allow stewardess to return to work after birth.

i dont know what my doc said applies to me only or for mummies on the hormone pills. did the rest of the mummies who are on the pills have this side effects?