(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Jolyn: i mash potato with a little carrot so far my girl likes it...tink u hv to get the nice potatoes not the type for curry...i tried the spuds usa potatoes frm ntuc inside they hv variety of potatoes...the red skin type very yummy imo...kind of sweet...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i oso add some water so that the mixture not so dry...

mummies, I used the Munchkin grinder for my steamed pear. It wasn;t easy to use. Like got to assemble the htings after washing then grind halfway sometimes it will come off and I need to assemble again. The pear after grinding I didn't feel was very soft like blended puree, so I put thru a sieve and it was much better. 1 pear made 2 portions of aorund 1oz each and my baby loves it. But yesterday when I tried to feed her, she gag and then threw up all her earlier milk like a merlion. I think I overfed her while she was sleeping......in the end, so much to clear up and wash..... Anyway, told nanny to feed her carrot these 3 days and I think maybe I buy a philips or braun handheld blender for nanny, easier for her and make finer food.

And my baby so well trained by nanny to poo in the potty that on week nights and weekends, she doesn't not poo....haha

Hi Bam,

For Little Gym

25th June:

1) Bam

2) Sheepysheeps

3) Evelyn (2nd trial lesson - signed at forum)

2nd July :

1) piggydog

Hi may I have a quick check with mommies how u all migrate baby's stage 1 milk to stage 2? I'm not sure is it I do it wrongly coz baby sick till hospitalised.

We change d milk by:

Opion 1 - If there are 5 feeding a day, new milk 1 time & old milk 4 times.

Opion 2 - If there are 3 scoopes of milk powder per feed, 1 new milk & 2 old milk.

Opion 3 - Others how is it done?

Many thanks

vt > i tink u r doin it rt. Bt option 2 only if its the same brand of milk. Eg enfala n enfapro. Wat happened to ur bb? Serious? Normally if bb nt used to the new milk, shld b able to shw b4 it gets too serious mah?

Hi mummies, sorry to disturb.

Hv the following to sell:

1) BN Nan Pro 2 (400gm) Expiry: Jul'12

2) Nan Pro 2 (900gm - 4scoops) Expiry: Jul'12

Going at $25 for both.

Hi VT,

Oh dear, hope that ur BB is ok. But u try to relax esp mentally must try to maintain a cool head... Its tough but u hv to hor.

I know exactly how u feel. My BB was hospatlised when she was 2+ mths old for fever and dehydration.

For BB milk powder, I just let her finished the old milk powder then for next feed, just give new powder.

Was giving Enfaplac, so direct switch to Enfapro. But BB seems to be playing with milk, so when Enfarpro finished, I just switched to Mamil.

But Mamil seems to make her constipated. SO now I switched back to Enfapro.

VT: actually option 1 and 2 is possible... Some pple i know also change directly with no problem.. if same brand, u can mix all in one bottle. If different brands of FM, then will be more of option 1. DID u ask PD why hospitalized?

Re: Little Gym

I cant decide which date as I need to discuss with my hubby.. when must confirm? BTw i heard one of the mummies here saying forum is under renovating ya?

sheepysheeps: You just switch like that? From Enfapro to Mamil and back to Enfapro? directly? your bb ok? I know some bb can change directly, some bb cannot (have to slowly transition)

Thanks Nolotte!

ya Leelee, I just switched like tat. So far *touchwood* she seems ok. But constipated for a few days when on Mamil. Switched her back to Enfapro and giving her lots of water + let her drink Heinz "apple + prune" juice. Managed to poop hard hard poo and mashy poo 2 days later.

So I think ok.

Bam : Haaha yup went for the 1st trial and they asked us to top up dunno how much to have a 2nd class too.. (Hubby paid so forgot how much) Supposed to go for the 2nd class the week after the 1st trial class then bb had fever after his jab so did not go. Then the person in charge say can just find another day and call if hv available slots then they will just slot me in.. So if hopefully can join u al together wld be btr.. Heeeee

Renting a toy:

Mummies who hav experience renting a toy, can share the experience? I m thinking of renting smthing quite expensive. I scare if bb mak it spoil, will thy ask mi to pay for the original retail price of the toy? To wat degree of damage will thy request for compensation? For delivery, do we choose our own timing, at any time of the day or hv to b only in the evening or wkends? Is ther additional cost in delivery? Hws the condition of the toy rented? Relative new? Sorry if I asked too many silly questions. Hopeful sm mummies cn share w mi. Thanks in advance!

TQ very much for the feedback appreciated that.

I also dt know wat happen I change bb's milk powder from stage 1 to 2 on Sunday (same brand and change immeditely, never mix) Monday bb dt looks right, Tuesday fever, afternoon fever goes up to 38 degree, whole body shaking, lip turns black, breathing also turn weak, can't wake her up so faster rush her to KKH, was there for nearly a week. So much blood and urine test (bb not toilet train yet so d urine test is done via insert a tube) she cry and cry and my heart broken. Stay in hospital 24 hours with bb, after that she so afraid of ppl touch her.

Sob! Sob! because of this shock till now I dare not change her milk powder.

Chris - I hv rented an exp toys once. D delivery & collection time is we neg de to get the best timing for both parites. They did mentioned if spoil must compensate them, it depends on wat is spoil, k it be replace (d amt different) D toy I gt is in good condition, I dt hv to pay any delivery charge coz d monthly rental abv $50, if below $50 there is a delivery charge.

VT > Oh dear. It mus b devastating fr u. *Hugs* Did the doc explain wat mayb the cause? Any results fr the tests yet? Hopefully ur bb is alrdy on the way to recovery. Mayb for the time being jus stick to the usual milk 1st till the doc find out the cause? N also don't intro new fd to her 1st bah. Jus to b safe. Take care, ok?

VT > Thks VT for sharing. Oh, I forget to add tat u cn also give ur bb more hugs n kisses. Cuddles her more during this period to mak her feel better n regain her trust. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jun > Wah! Tats a really gd deal! Err...does she has anthr one for mi to rent. :p Haha..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jolyn: steam the potato longer. On it's own it's very fragrant actually. Can add a little pepper(ya, bb cam take the spice from pepper), unsalted butter, mix with broccoli, spinach, carrot... Milk also can. Emmental or cheddar chz also can.

sheepysheeps: glad that ur bb is ok with the transition [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

VT: Hope your kiddo gets well soon... jiayou ok!! What did the doc say and diagnose?

junjun: $20 for 6 months??!!! sooo cheap?

RE: Little Gym

Btw, whats the activities like? My boy only knows how to flip.. dunno how to crawl and sit.. He's 6.5months.. is it too young for this?

VT,

Oh dear, hope baby is feeling better liao. Really heartpain to see our kiddo sick. Don't think it's related to changing of formula. Likely viral fever or UTI ?

Do take care of yourself too and try get as much rest as possible as baby needs your support.

Sheepy,

Hope you'd managed to feed baby milk better over the weekend although baby might need a bit time to get used to the feeding schedule.

Anyone used a hipseat b4? I m thinking of getting one. Ever since a wk ago, my hubby had 8 stitches on his hand and I had to carry bb all by myself. I m feeling the strain on my back n my arms r getting weak. I aldo find conventional bb carrier too troublesome to use. Seems like the hipseat will the next alternative. Anyone use it b4?

Leelee, ya... Thank Goodness for that!

Jovialz... not really lei. Still the same la. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But like u say, hv to continue to try!

Thanks for encouragement!!

According to the report baby is sick due to E-colli (not sure is it same as wat Euro is having now) cause UTI a lots of technical terms, they know me but I dt know them.

Ya! baby already recovered, during this critical period I stay beside her, give her a lots of hugs & kiss as morale support so I got difficulties to go back to work now(she will cry when I leave home) another problem is my boss not very happy about my 2 weeks leave, not sure whether I need to prepare myself by get another job. Sigh!

Ohhhh VT, it's UTI ar...

My BB had that at 2+ mths too.

Alot of blood test, urine tests and urine culture to go thru. Then x-rays also to chk if the pee shoots upwards?

My girl has urine reflux, grade 2, after X-ray. So till now, still on antibiotics (Osmosin (i not sure of spelling) + lactofort) daily. I feel quite reluctant to give her the antibiotics but if it helps to keep her pee 'clean' and to keep her well, I continue to give.

Now, she's ok. But to be on the safe side, PD advise that the moment she has any unexplained fever (eg. not teething, no cough, no flu but fever!!!) best to do a urine culture immediately.

I have a few empty pee collection bottles at home for this purpose.

Hai..... So now, everytime I feel she a bit warmer than usual, I on "code red" already.

Chris, yes, me me! I using a hig hugger! LOVE IT la! I have very very weak shoulders and neck even before having BB. With BB, worse! I can hardly even turn my head side to side.

I bought the hip hugger and begin to use it. BEST! Now can carry Bb for a much longer time w/o feeling the strain!

VT - Glad to hear bb is better now.. Hugs hugs..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Dun worry bb will get well soon...

My son fever 37.9 so i give him cooler pad and his fever up to 38 at mid night..i am very worry..feed him medicine..the fever still no drop down but he still can keep playing n kicking so i decide just bring him go to c PD on early morning..when we reach clinic doctor say he is no fever , 37.5 if over 37.8 then consider fever..strange ler....but his whole body is hot lor...how come no fever? any mummy encounter this before? can u share with me ...thanks...

baby2010, my boy was like this the last 2 weekends. Whole body very warm, but when measure for temp, it is about 37.5C. But temp did go up the next day to 38C. Gave him cooling pad and medi, temp drop but will go up again. Brought him to GP and temp is 38.4C.

Initially suspected my inlaws pass him the virus, but then realised that he is actually teething. And now, the teeth finally sprout!

Not too sure if its the same case as yours. Try touching his gum to feel

Jun Jun: Ya..i oso suspect is teething but last time only fever for one day..this time more longer.make me very worry...but yrs son's fever is stay for how many days?

baby2010 weather is hot hence bb body temp aso feel hot. for me I will ignore and gave loose clothes and drink more water unless ear themo show fever temp.

Woah you ladies are good mummy making all those food for bb where u find time to do that. I buy off the shelves purée [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I rented jumperoo for $50 . And lucky I did cos my son got tired of it fast haha

VT take care of yourself too

Mommies, sorry to disturb. I have some mamex gold step 2 vouchers to give away. Expires this month. If u r interested, pls pm me. Meet up at tpy mrt station weekdays lunch hours for pick up. One per mommy. Tnx!

sheepysheeps - same here.. my boy was on enfarlac ha.. then i switched to mamil gold.. he can't poo for 2 days.. so i switched to fiscro.. seems better.. but likely to switch back to enfapro as the dha seems the highest...

VT hope ur bb is better.. Just directly switched in my case..

Hmm best to double check w the PD seeing ur bb at the hospital.. Guess that's the best person to advise you further.

God bless.

Baby2010 (baby20101204) – My baby having d same situation recently, I can’t figure out y too, but according to d hospital staff bb temperature is higher than an adult therefore 38 degree and abv then k consider as fever. D worse part is I feel bb’s body is hot but nurse tested said no fever, when I thought bb is ok they told me bb fever!!!!

junjun (junvis) – At 1st I thought it’s teething too, bb gt 1 tooth liao another 1 k feel but can’t really see but doc told me is nt, I’m lost.

PTB7476 (ptb7476) – Ya! After bb discharge from hospital I also give her thin clothing not like last time hb said nite time cold must put on long sleeve n long pants, now I dt care I let bb put on thin clothing n long pants only. No worries I also nvr buy off the shelve puree for my bb although I’m a bit worried it’s artificial but no choice also. Hug hug I rent jumperoo for my bb too, she only play once then refused to play liao! But the 1st time she really likes it, dt nd to teach just put her in she start to jump. Too bad she is too smart, we over look that our floor is very hard too much contact with d floor she rubbed her toes after that she insist nt to play any more even we put a rubber mat for her. (lucky I nvr buy)

sheepysheeps (sheepysheeps) - Ya! my bb is on long term antibiotic too but it's Co-trim OXazole, I'm a bit reluctant to give long term antibiotic too but like no solution leh!