(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Chris, for avocado, first few times I just mash then add in milk. Nowadays, I just scrap using spoon (scrap till v fine) and feed directly coz v lazy. Avocado no need to buy organic, the shell v hard, unlikely pesticide wil polute the flesh. Normally I feed half in the morning then put another half in the fridge and wrap using clingwrap to feed at nite.

Diana Goh: hi hi!!! Am ok to meet on 1 July. Let me know what time and where? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sure, bring him! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] that's youth day right? I think my girl also should have no school.

Chris: i heard no need to blend... spoon the avocado and mash it.. add milk.. water i not v sure.. lets wait for other mummies' advice.. btw, how u chose avocado? mummies here say cannot chose to hard nor to soft.. how much u buy ar?

Dam: wow.. so good... how i wish im clearing my mat leave.. all finished..

Leelee, u can press the avocado to feel whether it is soft (ripe), normally those in brown colour are ripen. But dont choose the one too soft, it means spoil liao. Now shop and save having promotion on avocado, normally 1 avocado cost 1.75, but now 3 for 2.95. I just bought 3, 2 not so ripe to use for the next few days.

Oh ya, avocado will become brown colour if put too long. I guess it is still fine to be consumed. Put in fridge and wrap it still not so bad, didn't turn brown badly if I wrap it.

leelee: I am not too sure also whether to give milk or cereal first. but because I am just starting out (just introduced cereal form last weekend), so I want milk to be the main source, instead of her cereal replacing her milk. My girl is very active, so perhaps my EBM will be digested very quickly then half an hour later, she can take the cereal. What nanny will do is, first feed 150ml of EBM, and as usual, this girl will drink and play and finish only like 90ml-120ml, then got a lot of pattern...play with teat, want to pang sai, want to play and reject milk. Nanny will bring her to potty, she pee or poo, play a while, then nanny will feed the balance milk. These days, nanny will just use the balance milk to make cereal for her to eat and she can eat happily and finish up. Its around 4-5 teaspoon cereal mixed with milk.

She is taking 3 cereal feed a day. This Thursday, I will let her try sweet potato for maybe her afternoon feed, without the cereal. And if she is ok, going forward, her afternoon feed can be a veg or fruits, and still after her milk. Morning still cereal, afternoon veg/fruit, dinner eventually will be porridge (which I plan to start only 7-8th months onwards).

i did blend avocado with milk, w/o milk abit dry, so add milk to it. i scrap but feel still not fine engf.

I use 1 avocado for 2 days. the next day willl hv some brown stains, i remove the outer think flesh, then use the rest to feed baby again.

he loves avocado..

Ytr Mrs Lee said.. ripe ones are those w brown spots outside.

Leelee, Nana > Ya, I bgt 3 for $2plus at NTUC too. Err...nt sure hw to choose. Bt I personally feel those w smoother skin r better. Bt difficult to find. Avocado mus tak chance wan lar. Smtimes I cn only eat half of wat I bgt. Haha. Nana, wah, cn giv whole avocado arh? I was thinking jus giv ~1 flat tablespoonful. The rest keep for my mum to mix w cereal, to fd during the wkdays. Asked her to mak egg yolk mix w cereal, she also nvr mak. I think she is too busy. So I thot mayb I prepare the avocado by per serving n she jus mak warm n mix w cereal to feed. Oh, do we hv to steam it? If don't steam, I scare will hv trace of tap water leh. May upset bb stomach? So mus warm b4 feeding if I freeze? Or cannot freeze? Ok, I m blur liao. :p

organic veg/fruits are so ex.. only spinach & broccoli i get organice.. like nana said..those w skins to be removed, i juz buy norm.. haa else my pocket will hv lotsa holes..

hpc, for me i gv milk first (3/4 of usual feed), then 2 hr later i gv cereal. Last time i gv cereals first, but i think my boy was too hungry n fussed..make me gancheong n wat a mess! So far my mthd, doing fine w him, he happy i happy hahaa..

1st Jul... hmm ..my boy's CC closed on 17thJune.. not same ..cant get to meet u all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Shan > Thks. If I wan2 prepare by per serving for my mum to feed during the wkdays, cn I freeze the pureed avocado (w/o milk)? Cn keep for hw many days? After avocado, next new food, I wil like to intro brocolli. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chris, i oso got tat question, but seeing some recipes, never find anyone mentioned abt freezing avocado, hence i only prepare fresh, i dunno freezing / warming will cause it to spoil or taste weird or nt. i kiasee.. hahaha

so far, my boy tried sweet potato, spinach, pumpkin, avocado, apple.. he likes them

gg to try broccoli, potato, carrot, papaya soon.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw where to get sweet peas? i cant find at NTUC nor cold storage leh. Sweet corn ok?

For avocado, banana no need to steam. Can feed fresh. I'm not sure about whether can freeze them since never cook/steam/boil. Normally what I do is feed half then store the other half in fridge for nite or tomorrow (consume within 24hrs). 1 hr before I feed I will get out the avocado from fridge and let it warm down slowly, don't want to feed cold fruit.

Actually for me, I'm quite conservative to serve broccoli and spinach, carrot now. Coz of the nitrate level found in these vege. I'll try to delay till 7/8mths.

Shan, I bought snow peas at NTUC finest last week, 1 pack 7.80, faintz... I tot need to remove the shell and scoop out the peas inside, whole pack only got a few peas and I can't blend smooth, and I asked a mummy here she said no need to remove the shell, I end up eat the peas puree myself.. Coz not smooth and scare bb can't digest.

Shan > so after feeding cereal, hw long do u wait to feed his next feed? In this way, will ur bb reduce 1 milk feed for the day? My bb gets only 1 scoop of cereal feed per day. I m using the enfalac milk scoop. With this, I cn barely squeeze in 6 feeds of 140-160 ml of milk per day. My schedule as follow:

5-7am Milk feed

9-11am Milk feed

If bb slp for 2 hrs...

11am-1pm Cereal

1pm-3pm Milk feed

4-6pm Milk feed

8-10pm Milk feed

11pm-1am Milk feed

Wonder wher hv I gone wrong? The problem is tat I hv to time my bb's milk feed closely with his sleeping time, cos he cn only b dreamfed. any advise?

Oh, I also kiasee...thn better don't freeze n prepare for my mum liao. Huh? Thn I also don't intro spinach n brocolli 1st bah. Any recommendation on wat cn I pre-prepare for my bb's wkdays feed? Prefer smthing nt so sweet. Cos I scare after feeding sweet stuffs, his milk strike may get worse. :p

So far, I fed sweet potato, pumpkin, potato for vege, for fruit I gave apple, banana, Peach, avocado. Next vege wil be green peas/ green beans. If u worry too sweet to be fed individually, can mix with cereal, this is what i did.

I fed spinach once, then kiasee also aft learning about the nitrate thingy. So I don feed spinach Liao, wait till later ba

Chris: my bb feeding schedule is exactly likd urs. Gotta feed my bb milk close to his sleep time so that he can b dreamfeed. Currently he only takes 2teaspoon of cereal + 30ml FM ard 11.30am. He likes it watery.

Me working mum not at home v hard to monitor my baby feeding. Told maid to feed fruits ard 4.30pm or 5pm, sometimes feed sometimes no feed. W mil in ard worse, bb a bit not interested only say dun feed. But he show disinterest most of the time one lei. Haiz! I highly doubt he had much solid food everyday.

Chris: there's a lot of bb first book that teaches u wat to feed n how to feed. I think its a good investments.

shan,

i am currently feeding him Watties frozen baby peas. i used to give him snow peas n i blend it wo removing shells but he finishes 1 packet per feed so i changed to frozen peas, more economical. i gave him sweet corn too, blend it together w the skin n he's ok. i started to give more textured food when he turned 7 mths so that he can slowly learnt to chew w his gums. good for them. he is taking pasta now n he loves it!

Nana: thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will drop by tomrw to buy then sat can eat already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] then I will scoop All out n freeze.. Else put in the fridge will spoil right?

UPC: wow good that ur girl is active and digested quickly.. Means can drink more. Sometimes my son have milk strike.. But now better Again.. Think it's gg thru some phase..Y my boy also easily distracted.. Must stop must burp then make hot then feed again..

Shan: but avocado skin already v dark skin.. Can see the brown spots?

Chris: I think freeze better right? Then just thaw and steam to serve?

Jo / Bam,

Good! let see who else can meet.

Date : 1st July 2011 (Friday)

Venue : TBA

Time : 12.30pm

1) Diana (with son)

2) Jo (with daughter and son)

3) Bam

i am looking to sell some of my gals prewalker shoes. some preloved and some brandnew.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572626.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572627.jpg]

Preloved mothercare (bought in stores) white prewalker shoes size 2. up to 9mths, 11cm insole

Retail:$25. Selling $14. Wore 1-2x only. bought for occasion wear. (in excellent condition)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572628.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572629.jpg]

Preloved mothercare(bought in stores) pink prewalker shoes size 3. up to 12mths, 12cm insole

Retail:$25. Selling $14. Wore 1-2x only. bought for occasion wear. (in excellent condition)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572630.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572631.jpg]

Brandnew Carters prewalker size 9-12mths. Bought from SMH BP. but size too small. 12cm insole.

Bought at $9. selling at $6

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572632.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5572633.jpg]

Brandnew mothercare prewalker red minnie mouse shoes. size 4. up to 18mths. 13cm insole

bought from SMH BP at $9. Selling at $6.

pls PM me if interested. giving FOC postage with every $10 purchase. thanks

Shan, Chris: avocado on its own no need to freeze cos it can be fed immediately and should be too. If you want to freeze, then pair with apple or pear. On it's own, no.

Didn't log in today[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] coz went out with DS n DH the whole day![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Went to peek a boo at kallang! My DS was a bit moody today n wasn't very receptive to the environment.. A bit timid of the balls n all. But oki la.. Didn start wailing![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's FOC till 11 months so maybe we can bring our littles ones there when we have a smaller meet up?

For feeds :

I give him mixture.. Sometimes dunno what I'm doing also..

Cereal w purée veg n fruit or porridge with veg n fruit

Veg include pumpkin, sweet corn, spinach, broccoli, carrot , peas, cauliflower

Fruits: banana, apple, pear

I still give him desserts from heinZ n rafferty garden as bonus or when we go out..

I love rafferty garden fruit range! So yummy![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

N A big thank u to BAM(Jan) for organizing! That too in such a short notice.. VERY MUCH APPRECIATED!( I believe by every mummy who attended)

Ueno:thnks for taking n uploading d pics!Will be sooo helpful in remembering!!think mummies new to the gathering had a tough time trying to register!

Li yen: thnks for the lift home.. So sweet of u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Looking forward to d next gathering[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nana: this is how you can prepare peas:-

1) cook it the way you want- boil or steamed

2) immerse peas into a bowl of ice water(stops any further cooking and keeps the colour fresh)

3) drain and blend with the food processor to a desired consistency.

4) drain the mixture to have the skin removed.

Hope it helps.

Shan: u good haha... my mum dun care simi organic de... jsut grab the fresh ones from market.. me also just buy normal brocoli leh.. btw let me know when u wanna meet up to pick up from me..

Hi all mommies

To those mommies who were asing abt the organic happy puffs, vitakids in united sq, paragon sell them also tink it's $7.90 if I dun remember wrongly. Online spree selling abt $4.90

Sorry who is the organizer for 1st July lunch?

I'm be attending with bb, tks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow, so envious abt e gathering. I want to go to e next one too! But not on leave on 1st jul leh.

For avocado, I buy e ones which are still green, put them in e open in e kitchen and wait for them to ripe. Usually takes abt 3 days.

So far have fed my girl quite a few things. She doesn't seem to like avocado and brown rice porridge but I ll introduce them to her diet again later on. She s on 3 meals but all v little, just to let her get used to d idea of 3 meals a day.

Feeding her sweet corn Tom which I steamed then cut off and pureed. Dunno if she ll like it. my own guideline is that I try to make sure she eats diff colors of veg or fruit in a day coz diff colors mean diff vitamins.

Cant join on 1st Jul too, have got a team building event.

My nanny fed bb "zhen zhu dou" I duno what tat call in english. Anyone know?... Something that I dun even eat :|

re:gathering

I'm a working mum.. i cant join too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jewel: sounds like pearl powder.. did you ask whats that for?

Date : 1st July 2011 (Friday)

Venue : TBA

Time : 12.30pm

1) Diana (with son)

2) Jo (with daughter and son)

3) Bam (with daughter)

4) Tris mom (with daugther)

Dimple : Dun mention... It has been a while since i last meet up with the rest of the mummies. It was really a good catch up..

but i think it wasn't spacious enough for us to move ard, hence probably didn't have the oppurtunity to talk to mummies from the other tables.

thks jo! Think i cant pre prepare avocado for my mum to fd my boy , for the wkday liao.

Orangebb > i m nt so keen on buyin these books initially as sm hv vry strange recipes which i m nt so adventurous to try yet.

long time didn't post here..

check with you all any of you gv bb Similac 2? Issit heaty? Recently my bb hv difficulty of poo poo, everytime cry when poo coz too hard and hv blood...Dr advise everyday gv her fruit, banana, papaya etc.. So far got a bit of improvement but still not everyday poo.. Previously take Similac 1 dun hv such problem.

thinking of change FM, Enfapro A+ or others brand? Any advise?

Jewel,

Dun mention, coz tat time when my nanny told me zhen zhu dou, there was so many ?? in my head too, thus I google the chinese name and translate lor....muahahaa...and if I am nt wrong, these beans is nt easy available in the market de...tat is nt alway hv de, and it is nt very cheap either.

For me, I learn alot from my kid's nanny. She know what is good to cook for them. So she is the one who tell me wat other food I can use to cook my boy porridge last time.

Thanks Bam for the last gathering on Tues! Hello Mummies, Been so busy with BB, training & settling my new maid, gg back to work and adjusting to new schedules so less often here tho I do read from time to time.

Trismom: Are you talking about Happy Baby's Organic Apple Puffs selling @ $4.90 in Vitakids? Agape Babies selling at $6.80... Finally gave my BB his first biscuit last night and he looves it :D So happy to see him chew and chew :D

Chris: What are haenim big blocks?

Jo, may I ask why we need to drain the peas mixture to remove the skin? My gf steams the NTUC frozen ones and then blend it and feed the whole thing. So I am not sure yet how I will do it when it comes to my turn.

Tenderheart

I meant I bought the organic happy puffs from online spree at $4.90. Vitakids sells them at $7.90 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]