(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

seem like alot of you uses california cream where can I get it ? Someone mention she got it via SMH ? Which thread ? Is it still available ? Also my hb just bought nuk Bottle and teats err the shape so odd which side shld face up when letting bb drink milk ?

Regarding yaolan, I'm also thinking of letting my no 2 go for it cos he has difficulty sleeping on bed during day as he is like a heat generator very hot at his back when he sleeps even though we on the fan. But i plan not to rock it. Just pat his butt if he needs help to sleep. My no 1 sleeps in it and he does sleeps better in it. Felt more secure as the yaolan mimics the womb, all wrapped up in it yet doesn't feel hot. I feel it's gd as babies needs alot of quality sleep to grow well and be healthy. I dun really believe people when they say yaolan no gd for babies cos in my family everyone grow up

with yaolan. And we are all doing well. This is just my opinion

lah. But the cons with yaolan is that bb will find it hard to sleep on bed during the day once they sleep in yaolan.

Another thing to add, dun have to worry abt kids weaning off the yaolan, my niece and my no 1 has no problem at all.both of them just wean off the yaolan like that. No fuss. Its the pacifier that I'm more worried abt now

Vallous, mine too. Wants to be carried all day long coz of my mil. Now I've half trained him to sleep on his own.

Jo, it was alright for him. He was happier to receive a new Thomas water bottle. ;) There were about 12-16 kids on the class + parents/caregivers/TAs then the kid sitting next to him kept crying, so it was a bit overwhelming for him. He was clinging on us at the tail end. Overall I think we are more excited for him. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vallous, forgot to add. Bb now is still v young n n easiest to train, for schedule I adapt from Gina Ford. for sleep training, marc weissbluth's healthy sleep habit, happy child.

baby rashes on the face

I guess this is beri common in babies. My gal hv it too and so did my son when he was a baby. Guess it is either their hormones changes or due to the milk esp BM as BM tend to contain some oil in it. I nv apply anything to it. But my boy recover after we put him at the nanny place. My nanny used the traditional method to clean off the rashes. tat is she used the nappy cloth which got abit of his pee, damp it with some water and clean his face. She do the same for my gal too, and the result was almost instant. Coz my gal was still having the rashes when we put her with the nanny on monday morning. Then in the night, her face was much clearer and smoother le....

Yaolan,

I was against yaolan during my son time. But when I alone take care of him after my MIL went back home after my confinement, I almost go crazy with him not napping at all during the day. So I know how difficult it is to handle bb so I gladly agreed to my nanny to use yaolan when she juz ask if I do used. Hahaha...and my boy automatically dun want yaolan when he was slightly after 2 yr old. So I think there is no issue on it too.

Btw, I think my gal is sleeping thru the night since monday night, coz she did not wake up for feed on monday and tuesday (last nite). Still monitoring and hopefully she really sleeping thru liao....heehee

PTB: I'm ordering somemore pdts from CB, u could check out the bulk purchase thread, there are a few pple selling CB pdts. I use NUK teats (latex & silicon), the wide base one. Both works well for my boy...I face the side w hole one down...so the milk flow will be faster..but is kind of challenging also. U n bb need to adjust it also.

Vallous: I faced the same prob before esp my CL placed bb on big bed to sleep instead his baby cot. So after she left I placed him back his cot, bb cldnt sleep n be cranky.... But I forced n coaxed him lor... Luckily he adjusted back fast too. Perhaps u could try that too...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good to hear all the comments regarding yaolan. At least now I can make an informed decision. Like Vallous's baby, mine is unable to sleep more than 30min during the day and besides being tiring on her caretakers, I'm also worried she may not develop well.

Jo: ur baby sleeps from 7pm to 7am?? How do u do that????

My bb always wakes up every 2 hrs for feed, sometimes even every one hour wake up crying, then have to carry him to sleep. Sometimes I carry him in sling and we both sleep like that, i'm on the couch, while he is inside the sling, he can last for 3 hours sleeping like that...

Btw mommies, who read Gina Ford book... is it really working? I feel like borrowing one to read thru. How about that Tracy something's book?

nelotte: my bb used to be fed 2-hrly, its really tiring! Due to my determination to change it to 3-hrly, my in-laws (I'm staying with them) helped me to change his timing. Try to do that, you'll have more time to yourself n bb gets to sleep longer too.

You can find ways to distract bb, like taking bath, go downstairs for a walk, do massage etc anything bb likes. The best of cos is to sleep longer which takes skill. If u need perhaps the mothers here can share how to make bb sleep longer. Only when mothers are relax can we give bb proper attention n patience.

My bb recognises me ...

In the first month I used to look on helplessly as my in-laws take over the 'violently' crying bb from my hands n bb stops crying. Makes me wonder when I can have that magic touch. Now once at night (~7pm) when bb cries only I can pacify him. On one hand I'm glad bb is listening to me but on the other hand it means I have to think twice leaving bb at home at night,haiz ... ...

Hi alaska,

I am exclusively latching on.

day time, after feeding she is drowsy. so I put her in the cot.

but around 6pm+, although I feed her, once I put her down, she becomes awake. so although I try to let her sleep from 7pm, sometimes she drift 9pm, sometimes 11pm. so tiring.

after that she wake up frequently.

I tried FM (before she sleep during night time) about one week before she got diarrhea. she still frequently wake up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yes. I am taking care of her alone.

Just sharing some info here if you are looking for cookies for Baby Shower/Festive celebration etc.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4965598.jpg]

http://bakedwithlove.wordpress.com/

Thanks for viewing! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Have a wonderful day! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neolette: yes, my bb sleeps from 730-7. I start my feeding at 7, and by the time, he finishes his milk burp, he is already drowsy. I swaddle him, carry him a bit, talk and sing to him a bit, he's off to la la land already. He's into his 3rd week of sleeping through already. So far so good. At the end of 5th week, I started training him- I was ready, he was too. Milk feeds are 3 hourly and the last latch is at 4-5(within the hour)

then I kept him more awake. By 6 plus, he's already

exhausted so I wash him then by 645, he drinks ebm from the

bottle. By 720-730, I can put him in his cot already. Day time,

when he is awake, I stimulate him by going out, walks,

supermarket...both indoors and outdoors, it depends what can be done. If I go out I'll be back by 6 to prepare him to sleep. During the training, I have no distractions(cut out night activities) and do the routine till everything stabilizes. My last feed via bottle

mainly because I can rest my breast and my hb can help feed

also. When both my kids sleep, I do my stuffs and pump my

milk. Hope this helps.

Alaska: not advisable to fix a pattern for bb cos they go through different developments. Have a routine that is flexible enough to accommodate changes yet not compromise his routine. Like, during the festive occasions, late night activities can sabo my routine, so I either have to forgo them for now or the routine. I chose one to go and be back by 9, it didn't upset my routine. So I know things have stabilized. So when there are lots of new stuffs from bb, just continue to do the routine, and bb won't be confused and deviate from it.

Neolette: forget to add, if you are a structured person and needs a typical routine, use Gina ford. If you can't adhere to structure very well, use Tracy Hogg, more flexibility. Also if you really have no idea what a daily routine should look like, gina ford's the little contented bb and tracy hogg's the bb whisperer solves all your problem(by teaching you how to ask the right questions) sleeping, feeding and behavior- beyond basics from infancy through toddlerhood)

I referenced both and coupled with the what to expect book, i made a routine that suits my lifestyle. Hope this helps.

Hi isabelle, I use marc weissbluth's extinction method, which is basically cry it out method to let my baby learn to sleep on his own. Read many books (GF, Tracy Hoggs, Richard Ferber) in sleep training n i find MW's method is the most effective for me n the fastest. He advocates letting the baby find her own way/self sooth to sleep without patting, rocking n using of pacifier. My baby used to cry a lot n loudly to be carried to sleep. Now he cries softer n within 10mins he will fall asleep. There isnt much info on the description of this method (I lent my book to friend) so if u r interested, gotta buy or borrow to read it.

Yesterday was bad coz he has mucus in his nose n feels uncomfortable, so he cried more n kept waking up. I just have to deal with his crankiness coz it won't be the last time he gets mucus n he has to learn to cope.

Jo, we share the similar pattern to put bb to bed. I just started training him late last week but by now he is is more or less adjusted for his day naps as well. I like GF method coz I need to have a structure n I shld lead the baby's daily routine n not the other way round. With more than 1 child, timing is quite tight.

Alaricus (my no. 2) bed routine:

4pm-4:25pm: milk feed then awake time

5:45pm- wipe down

6:00pm-6:45pm: milk feed on both sides

Burp, sing, pat him, put him in cot n leave the room.

He still wakes up often at night, 2-5x, hopefully by 3rd month he can stretches longer.

Jo, ive tried ur method since last week.. Like what u advise, I've modify e schedule to mine.. So Bb will have her last feed via bottle for 90-120ml at around 11 or 1 n she will sleep till 5-6am for next feed. Day time I latch her thru out, haha.. This way I dun have to clean those bottles jus clean myself will do. ;p

Tbf mummies,

Other den alcohol any food or drinks we need to avoid when we're breast feedin Bb?

Wound,

Any mother experience pain on their wound? Mine hurts quite bad this week, dunno what happen..

Arghhhhhhhhhh!!! I really would like to smack my MIL face when she come so close when bb is latching!!!!! So super irritating!!!!!! It was. It was damn close lor!!!!

Mrs Lee, I read that Broccoli, Chocolate, Diary and Soy products for Breast fed baby might cos colic.. but I still eat chocolate! I guess has to becareful with nuts which might be easily allergy to ?

OrangeBB, haha i think our MIL can hold hands be good friends, everyday got new things to irritate us!! hahahhahaha

Now my BB is on his growth spurt I guess, been crying for milk every 1-2 hours since yesterday..

after his growth spurt I gonna do up a routine for him..

Overnight diapers,

May I know what u mummies using now? can last thru the night? I wanna use Huggies Ultra but smallest size is M and thats still a little big for my BB.. any other smaller size diapers can last thru the night? like 10pm to 7am? thanks

Jo & Alaska, i would loveeeeee to have a routine for my baby. Dunno how to start though. He is 1.5 months now.

Btw, anyone wanna give away or sell the Gina ford's the little contented bb and Tracy hogg's the bb whisperer for small token?

Hi Michele & PTB: Im also interested in the CB cream, heard raves about it.. However i went into the BP thread, i cant seem to post.. It mentions tt only registered users can post, why is it like tt huh?

Agree with jo on the routine. I read up GF and tracy hoggs and coupled it to a routine that suit my lifestyle. One of the factors for the routine is to feed bb more during daytime (7 - 7pm) such that bb can stretch thru during night.

Last time BB could woke abt 3 to 4 times after midnight, after training her, these few days she woke up 1 time. I hoping that she can sleep thru the night soon. It took me lots of effort n at least a wk to train her.

Jo:

Currently my bb is on the following routine:

7am : milk - burps - talks to her for a while and she sleeps.

9- 9.30 : wakes up. bathes.

10: milk - burps sleeps.

12.30 - 1pm : milk - burps - sleeps. (but from here she takes very short naps)

4-4.30pm milk. then play time

5.30pm shower down and change to jumper

if she shows signs that she is sleepy.. i let her sleep. else she is on the musical chair.

7pm - 7.30pm : milk

then i have to coax her sleep cos she is very cranky at this hour.

By 10plus another feed.. and she sleep thru till the next day liao..

I'm actually quite comfy only have to endure the 8pm - 10pm part..

what i need to know is. do we usually play by the ear? Cos now, my baby really sleeps alot..

not much activity. is it not healthy?

nelotte, u could try to borrow from the library first on the 2 books or preview the books from google. After that, then u see which one more suits u. This was what i did.

Bam, i read from tracy hoggs that changing diaper, bathing are oso consider as activities. I think ur routine is just fine. my bb oso dun wan to sleep during 7 to 10pm timing too, happen just recently.

im thinkin of trying say 7pm feed.. then 8pm feed another 100ml see if she is cranky and sleeps or not.. now she is drinking 140ml with sometime times leftovers. but usually i will keep the left overs in warm water for later feed. (usually half an hour later).

Angelkkk: my typical day is:

7-8: feed within the hour then dozes off. I get #1 ready for school.

8-9: send #1 to school, bb still napping.

9-10: shower bb and get ready for 2nd feed.

10-11: 2nd feed within the hour. Bb awake and put him on his gym mat.

11-12: bring bb out to supermarket then fetch #1.

12-1300: give #1 a quick rinse then prepare her to nap while I feed bb simultaneously.

1300-1500: nap for all of us. Bb naps longest at this time. So #1 and I wake up first and have tea.

1600-1700: last feed via latch.

1700-1800: feed #1 dinner, bb free-play. Then we stroll around the estate, do some light outdoor activities.

1800-1900: shower for #1 and bb dozes off(I let him sleep about 15 mins but not deep sleep. #1 occupies herself while I wipe down bb. Feed both milk and send both to sleep. #1 will lie on bed till I'm done with bb, then she'll go to sleep.

So far so good, hope this will help.

My sleep cues: bottle feed, swaddle, air con, music, prayer, quiet time, story, pep talk then good night!

Mrs lee: glad to hear it works for you also. It worked for my #1 also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clover: my #1 enjoyed school today! She was on her own I just stood around! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya, quite same routine. Better lah I feel, have some time for myself to rest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Michele,

My boi is abt 6 weeks plus drinking abt 120-130ml every feed also. Day time abt 2.5-3 hours. Night feed abt once or twice lor. Can stretch to abt 4-5 hrs.

Bam: Same issue. BB cranky from 11 to 12 plus... put down wake up again... i am praying real hard colic gets over soon.

Looking at all the routine.. My bb half on routine haha

7+ wake up for milk..then nap again after feed

9+ - 10 wake up for feed

10-11 after feed with let bb settle for sometime while u prepare to bath bb

11+ to 12+ bb will stay awake..

1+ will pat him to nap

Then from 1+ onwards I will just let him sleep..

Till 9+ when hubby come back we will wash bb n change to PJ for bb

10pm last feed then put bb in cot let him sleep on his own(tried 2 night n he cried for 15mins then yesterday he was drowsy since 7+)

12+ dream feed before I go to bed

He will wake up twice 2 & 5am for feed..

All this not fixed as I just started like 2-3 days n he's having growth spurt..

Jo, play gym got use for ur bb? Cos my bb like no interest

In it, maybe he's still too young? Sometime he will entertain himself but not always..

Jo, my no 1 will take his own sweet time to eat but he eats v fast at school. U do housework at night or weekend?

I'm wasting time here trying to embroider no 1 towel he needs for school. No talent in sewing.

Bam: your routine is good and you might want to consider sticking to it cos if you start work, you may want to spend some time with her before she sleeps? If you want to change then I suggest your wipedown at 530 to be just before her milk? If she can take that as a sleep cue(including changing into jumper) she may be able to knock out by 730? You can try, at most she will sleep at 8. They will adjust themselves as they grow cos eventually they will sleep lesser and drop naps. If they eat well and sleep well during the day, night time won't be a problem.

Jo, I agree with u. BB needs routine not schedule.

My last feed is usually a split feed. And the split feed may be one hr or 1.5hr apart, for this I need to listen to bb's cue.

Clover: ha ha ha... Same here! You can ask me to cook a few more dishes or bake cakes, pies or bread... But sewing out of question! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I have a domestic help that comes 2xs a week to do major cleaning, I only wash up whatever crockery and utensils used during meal and cook times; Magicmop the house and wash pumps and bottles. Ya, peer pressure, they like doing things together. My #1 is a foodie, she will finish everything in pretty short time. Cranky only when she is tired at meal times!

jo: which means.. eventually bb will cut the hour of sleep by themselves? cos i try to let her be awake more in the day... but seems quite difficult. so i just let it be..

yeah... actually i was also thinkin of that.. cos when i return work... i will only be home to entertain her about 7pm. which means i left with a few hours to play with her only...

Jo, how nice. My no 1 like his father, picky in eating. No 2 more like me, can eat anytime! Next time they can fight for food. Lol. I have a helper but I aim to be self reliant. She is here to do housework n be my extra pair of hands when I need help, like when no 2 poos all over me n he has the tendency. Lol!

Bam: yes, he amuses himself with the play gym, now he even coos and talks with the hanging toys. I let the fan spin and those hanging mobiles spin and my bb probably thinks they are responding to him! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alaska: yes, taking cues from bb is very important too. What works for others may not work for another. I always believe in helping a child walk his path and not create a path and make him walk. Parenthood is a journey, not easy at all, let's not give up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bam: yes, they will drop naps and stay awake longer. That's why those enrichment classes always start from 6 months onwards. Usually by 3rd or 4th month, you can see them stay awake more. Mine also sleeps quite a bit, his awake time seems to be after the first feed and before the last feed. In between he sleeps quite long stretch of time.

thanks Jo for sharing what you do! i'm impressed your baby can sleep from 7-7! I still cannot fix a time for him to sleep coz there are just so many things to do, and almost everyday i will go my mum's house for dinner and by the time we reach home is close to 9pm or later. But yday me and hubby got so frustrated with his crying we let him cry out himself and to our surprised after about 15 mins he went quiet and slept himself.... maybe have to harden our hearts to do it again today.

its my #1 first day at school this week too... not too good first 2 days coz he cried alot for me... dunno if its a good idea for him to see me coz he kept running out to me and when the teacher pull him back he cried even louder. today worst he cried even before stepping in the class. but i had to leave him with the teachers, took a peak later and apparently he was ok after they took him to the playground ha