(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

On bed now, my darling so guai quiet in my Tum Tum, so few mins ago I just nudge a bit v gentle n she really kick back twice then now another few times. So cute, I say opps sorry to her n just want to find out how she is. Kekek so cute right. Can't help to tell u all. :p

apple,

yah, your bao bei is really cute! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i like the way they are more "fun" and responsive already.

Marrissa, mine look like a carbon copy of me. That is wat my Hb keep saying keke. :p

Whim:

Yes I bought my pumps from US myself and not through spree. Coz I have experience in shipping stuff from US. The difference is mainly consolidaton to save base rate. To me is not much coz I consider that have to go pick up from spree organiser.

RE:

Hot drinks/soup and sufficient water all help with milk supply. The most important is water coz BM is majority water. If you dun drink enuff water, can see the diff in your production for the day de.

fifi,

which website did u buy your breast pumps from? My boss is going USA soon and I'm thinking of sending to our office there and ask him to pick up for me. See whether can save a bit on shipping or not.

Pearlyn,

Kekeke I don't know the reason why can't drink water. If u ask those experience old folk, they will also said cannot drink plain water.

Shin,

Hehe ur grandma also don't know the reason but lucky she can confirm with u that can't drink water

I rem that time got 1 mummy from my class ask Mrs Wong abt whether can drink water instead of the red date drink. Mrs Wong did not reply no but she said just drink the red date drink...water has no nutrients, red dates drink has iron, vitamins etc...good for you and baby esp if you breastfeeding.

I have a brand new Medela Pump In Style® Advanced Backpack to let go at $550. Bought it last month. Warranty included.

Do contact me at [email protected]

Features and Benefits

Daily use · double pump · electric

What’s Included

Stylish backpack design

Battery pack (8AA batteries not included)

Removable cooler carrier

4 - 5 oz breastmilk bottles, lids & travel cap

Wide base slow-flow nipple

2 - 24 mm PersonalFit™ breastshields

2 valves

2 membranes

Contoured ice pack

Breastfeeding Information Guide

Hi Prin D

I’m 27 weeks by calculation using LMP, but 29 weeks if by scan according to bb’s growth. Doc forsee I may pop earlier than RDD. how about you?

I am halfway through packing, cos have not washed bb’s clothes yet… if I ask hubb to pack.. sure will forget things one..

Ian,

Did u see avent steraliser at the BHG bb fair? any disc?

Shin,

I intend to use a normal shawl as nursing cover.. cos most of the nursing cover I see have interesting prints. I think that’ll draw attention to me if I BF in public. I think a normal plain col shawl (mine is t-shirt material, and can button up on one side) will draw less attention.

Other things you need will be nursing bra and top. If you are also using a sling, I understand that some slings are also good in camouflaging you nursing. If I am not wrong… if you are using the side sling, then you will need nursing tops and bras that can flap up. If you are using things like sleepywrap, you will need tops and bras that can flip down. Ladies, pls correct me I’m wrong.

You may also need bra pads (can be disposable or washable) to manage leakage, if any.

Tiffy…

Really? How often do you experience it? So far only once for me..

Apple..

How many weeks are u at now?

Jac:

Mine was also from addalittlelove.

Babydes:

Just to clarify, by drinking sufficient water, I mean liquids. During confinement, Chinese believe that we shld not drink water but drink red dates tea instead. So drink sufficient amt of that for sufficient BM.

Irene:Regarding using shawl as nursing cover, do ensure that your shawl is big enough coz baby will not simply stay still. They tend to move their hands and feet around so whatever you use must be big enuff to cope with that. Material should not be too thick too as nursing can get quite "hot".

Re: Hospital stay

I delivered at NUH for no. 1 and she was pre-matured. Was warded at the delivery suite immediately upon admission and I had a room to myself, aircon with TV somemore and hb can stayed over. Bcos I got complications and they need to monitor me closely, I stayed in thr delivery ward for 2 nites. Quite shiok, just that no visitation except for hb.

Bcos my baby needed NICU, I opted for B2 ward and stayed for another miserable 2 nights. As B2 = subsidised ward, the total medical bill amounts to not much. So, teh advice is that if complication arises, go to givt hospital, A&E and opt for subsidised ward. It doesnt matter who helps you delivered, just go. KKH and NUH has the best NICU care. If I had delivered at TMC or any of the private hospital, the NICU charge is $1k per day and there is not much difference regardless of the no. of bed ward that I stay bcos it is a private hospital and their NICU care is not as good as compared to KKH and NUH. My baby stayed in NICU for 2 weeks, that would have been $14k as compared to my bill of $2+k in NUH, inclusive of delivery and NICU charges.

This time, if I have no complications, I am gg to pamper myself and check into TMC luxurious one bedder ward. Hohoho. If complications (choy), I will go back to NUH, A&E. Now hoping that my BP remains stable.

wow... today you all so active abt pumps and BF ah...

Erh... how come suddenly all want to get medela liao har? Where are my Ameda kakis?? haha... Just kidding...

As for promoting bm, drink hot soup and milo does work. But hor, ladies, dun be too gan jong now and buy everything hor. Things like fenugeek and nursing cover, dun need to buy now.

Coz usually mummies took fenugeek when they are low in supply and trying out different things to help with their supply. And they are not guaranteed hor. I have lots of frens who dun even need that and they can bf for mths or even years. And not everytime it will work. For me, it doesn't and I simply hate the smell! eeek...

Plus there are reports on fenugeek overdose and cautions as it is in fact still a herb. Something abt low blood sugar i think. So still, do be careful. Not all herbs will work the same way for all ppl.

For nursing cover, you can always buy after you have stablised your bfing at home during 1st mth... coz for my case, in the end, I din latch and only express, so dun even need any nursing covers.

Dun buy on impulse. Sorry to being a wet blanket har... pls dun get offended in any way hor...

Irene, I am at 29 week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffy

Yah... i think its like passed down from generations to generations and have been practised but she doesnt know why.. hahaha

Irene

thanks for sharing! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yah.. most prob will get the nursing cover or poncho.. but I think poncho can cover the back also.. so its better... will look out for nursing bras as well... I have yet to invest in a sling.. cos my MIL says she wanna make one for me.. and I don't dare ask her how it's like.. haha.. I think its the sarong type...

Vivian

Yah.. good point there.. so i will just keep a lookout and not buy first... just like what you said... later end up expressing only and not using the cover.. a bit wasted [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha... it's good to share.. cos we can help save some money here and there!!! Lol

Morning Mummies,

Looking for a great and entertaining toy for your little ones? We have a few brand new sets of bright starts pdts for sale..

This is a great swing for new born

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274331.jpg]

The InGenuity™ Portable Swing features the innovative TrueSpeed™ Technology, which provides sustained swinging speeds even as baby grows and gets heavier. The swing automatically recognizes baby’s weight and adjusts the swing speed to maintain a consistent swinging motion. With innovative solutions like TrueSpeed™ and on-trend fashion combined with the quick fold-and-go mechanism, this portable swing is the ideal travel companion.

Features and Benefits:

.TrueSpeed™ Technology that maintains 6 swing speeds even as baby grows

.Whisper Quiet™ operation for peaceful swinging

.Comfort Recline™ seat with 2 positions to suit baby’s needs

.Swing Timer has 3 settings: 15, 30, and 45 minutes

.Removable head rest

.Cushioned foot pad and side supports for ultimate comfort

.Removable Toy Bar – pivots back for easy access to baby

.6 Melodies to soothe baby with volume control and auto shut-off

.Machine Washable seat pad and head rest

.5 point Harness keeps baby secure

Weight/Height: Up to 25 lbs

The rest of the pdts as followed

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274332.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274333.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4274334.jpg]

For more pdt details, pls refer to http://shop.ebay.com.sg/mave003/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25

Fifi...

thanks for sounding me out.. then maybe I should also look at alternatives, cos my shawl can go around my shoulder but its abit short.

apple...

so in a way, we are about the same...

Shin...

sarong type is good... material suited for our weather... i wish someone can make for me too... haa... anyway, i bot the MIM sling already, the one with 2 rings, dunno whether i can get used to it or not...

Tiffy

thanks, looking forward to experience it again... was quite a unique experience for me.

Apple, so lucky baby look like u! I dun mind if my baby looks like hubby. Actually all i wanted to noe is dat she looks fine, healthy, no deformaties, partly coz i din do e down symdrom test.

Jac, will try to upload on mon. I tried taking e scan pic using iphone. V blur partly coz e pic is glossy

vivian, gd to noe hot milo is sufficient to help produce bm. Will get fenugreek as last resort

hello all!

spent more than 1 hr waiting at gynae yest... thankfully my next appt wld be at their opening time. At least shorten the wait.

jac, the scan pic is a little blur. so no uploading. Quite happy to see him still.

sob sob...before i even ask, gynae told me not to eat any durian cos she say my sugar level is borderline high. And durian is going to make the baby big like my first one! :p

Irene

haha.. I am not sure if she will really do it leh.. cos i havent asked her about it... lol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Emmie

How's your baby now?

I think safer and better to watch the sugar level or there will be further implications... I make sure I force myself to drink a lot of plain water everyday too! Don't know if it helps.. haha

Hi ladies..haiz...just got bk fr gynea visit n he said bb size is smaller than average [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so wondering wat can I do/eat for bb to grow bigger or how do I ensure dat bb is getting e nutrients she needs le???

Re: Hospital Stay

Agree with Zuen that if there are signs of any complications, go to KKH or NUH. The rest of the hospitals do not have the equipment and expertise to deal with severe complications and if your baby will have to be transferred to KKH or NUH. And transfer babies (i.e. not born in KKH or NUH) will not be able to be put in the NICU in KKH/NUH for fear of contamination. They will go to another nursery. Admission is also subject to availability.

Re: Nursing Cover

Dun have to buy too fast. If you are good in sewing, choose a cloth that you like and make one also can. Take your time. You won’t need it so fast anyway.

Re: Fenugreek

Basically I took less than ¼ of a bottle of fenugreek and took it as a supplement on the first week back to work only. More of a precaution to help supply drop less, partly coz I went back to work when supply is not even stable due to work requirements (9 weeks after delivery). Stopped after 1 week coz I dun really see any difference. I find pumping often and regularly, knowledge of your breast and supply, etc much more important and effective. But I do have friends who say fenugreek helped them. Dun worry. Fenugreek can be bought easily at any GNC, just that from US is cheaper… but the diff is like $20+ and not $200+ so dun stress.

Shirlz:

Dun worry too much. My #1 was below average during all the scans but came out 3.335kg. Similarly for some friends. What you can take is more protein foods. A bit of durian can also help. But dun overdo durian for fear of gestational diabetes.

If anyone would like to get home made red rice wine (or Hong Zhao Jiu) for cooking your confinement food, do PM me.

The rice wine that I am selling is red rice wine together with the paste (or "za"2). Red rice wine is made by fermentation of glutinous rice with a special type of red yeast. The end product is a fermented rice paste and rice wine (both are red in colour).

Cooking with both the rice paste and the rice wine will bring out the best flavour. I provide a recipe as well and it's very simple to cook with it. If your CL does not have Hong Zhao Jiu, you can also get some and ask her to cook for you.

The next batch of rice wine will be ready in mid-Sept.

Feel free to PM me if you need more info! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello y'all

i been busy with work and so much other stuff. couldn't keep up with the posts but quickly read through.

fenugreek and BM

ok i swear by this. the best thing is to boil it like tea and drink the water. if you want some taste, just add honey to it. remember to stir it with a non-metal spoon. actually i don't use fenugreek much. my supply was ok. water is very important (after confinment) and i did take a lot of milo during confinement without knowing that it's actually good for supply. i just love milo. it's my daily drink. so far no problem with milk supply. you must be confident that you're capable of producing enough for the baby and don't stress yourself.

vivian,

no worries i'm your Ameda kaki!! don't know why it's underrated. it's a damn good double electric pump!

princess d,

wow read about your travel saga. glad you have safely reached KL and enjoying your shopping now! budget flights are all like that. i took air asia, it was really bad in the beginning but now they have slowly improved so i'd take air asia again. i would avoid tiger and jetstar, seems more problematic than air asia.

poncho,

i had one of those pupsik studio poncho too. very convenient, liked it but didnt' use it much b'cos i had the luxury of breastfeeding in someone's home or my car or a nursing room in shopping centres.

shirlz,

if both of you are small baby will be small too. all weights are estimates at this moment. don't worry. or you could try durian "to cheat". however, most of it would go to your weight and it has high sugar content so be careful with that. how about taking formula for pregnant mums? like anmum maternal or similac maternity if you're not lactose intolerant?

apple,

so good ah, by black and white scan you already know who your baby will take after? kekeke.. sometimes baby's face can change during the first year. one moment she looks like you, another moment like daddy niaaa.. it happens.

babydes,

my ML said about the same thing. other than drinking water, it's better to drink those red dates tea or jamu water.. stuff like that, due to the nutritional content.

ok ladies. i had an ultrasound and routine checkup yesterday and at 30 weeks, bub is already 1.53kg. guess how much weight i have put on so far??... it's only 1kg!! i asked gynae if that's normal, she said it's ok don't worry about it since bub is gaining weight just fine. again, i am not concerned about my weight gain but this is the most incredible pregnancy that i ever had. i do have a big tummy for my built and bub is taking in all my nutrients/fat! and still no stretchmarks..kekeke.. i'll be seeing her again in one month. i have already booked a double bedder in Gleneagles and it's going to cost me around 1.5k for 2 days stay.

shin, baby was normal and growing well according to my gynae. She's just concerned about my sugar level and my anaemia. So I'm told to up my iron intake as well as to watch my sugar level. Sigh... i know it's for my own good... but hard to resist durian leh especially since I have been away.

Shirlz,

How heavy is ur baby n how far are u? My baby is also a little on e low side. Abt 1 kg at 26/ 27 weeks. But dun have to b overly concern. If baby is not growing well in tummy, they will gain weight when they r out. Our gynae will advise. My dd is out at 34 + 5 at 1.9kg but gain weigh quickly after tat. Jia you.

Fernugreek dun really work for me but I continue taking fir fear tat stopping will further hurt ss.

Re: new maid

I just return my maid n collected e new maid on fri. She's much slower n needs lots of guidance. Only 2 days with me n i needed to make so many corrections. I hope she dun make my blood boil too often. Lol.

Hi ladies..thanx for ur replies n advice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zuen: my bb is only 890g at supposedly 28wks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] she has been doing well earlier but dunno y these 2 wks slowed down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] wondering if itz coz I missed taking my iron every other day..e time I take my supplements?? Or coz I only take two main meals a day..maybe I shld try small meals instead n up my protein intake..I'm taking Anmum le..but coz of it I forget to take my iron tablets [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

durians I heard will put on weight thus I avoid eating loh..just hope bb will be alrite by my next visit..I just hope dat by being small does not affect her organs or well-being developments loh..haizzzz..worries..worries..n more worries...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

shirlz

babe... Dun worry too much! You should be eating wat yoh should n moderately ... What suggested is only a guess n not proven ! But i believe that the most importantly bb is healthy! You must know, some how bb follows some genes fyim the parents... Like me n HB.... Both were born 8 pounds > so our kids are no surprise on tbd bigger size!

Like war Zuen mentioned! They will Do alright after birth with all the milk !!

If you have enough calcium n iron n other supplements from docs... Maybe just increased a lil more of your usual milk intake n monitor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no worries unless your doc advised you to take note n do something about it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sleep n rest more! You ll be surprised how much can a bb grow if the mommy is well rested![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

meantime take care..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm eating non stop ! Eating junks! All the clothes I brought seems to be tight!! Time to buy buy buy...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shirlz,

Is ur bp alright? Last pregnancy, there was restricted blood flow to bb thus leading to my high bp. Duno how to explain e linkage. I saw my old records n found tat my dd was also at 800+g at 27 weeks. No amount of food will help cos it has nothing to do with food intake. I tried beef n durian too but all e weight went to me. I put on 19kg but bb was only 1.9kg at birth! E gynea initially aim to c section me at 34 weeks bcos baby not growing well, but delayed to 36 weeks bcos bb was growing though slowly but bb decided to come out on her own at 34 + 5.

Dd is very much alright now n was a chubby baby by e time she was 2+ months old. Now she's 75 percentile in terms of weight n caught up wif her development milestone by e time she's 12months old. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi zuen.. My Bp ok le..gynea din say anything except dat bb is smaller than average [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] furthermore both my hb n I not say small size le..so nw I try to up my protein,iron n calcium intake n c how..maybe coz I eat too 'little' for bb n myself liao..think 2 main meals really not enuff [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] funky thing is 2day I changed my diet n it seems dat I'm never full like dat le..let's hope for e best [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d: hey sista [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope u r having a great time in KL ..do be careful ah.. N thanx for ur advice n concern too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning ladies and ian...

wat a wet start to the week! Last nite's thunderstorm was so sudden. Wonder if any area flooded? Hope the rain will stop. Bringing my boy to Orchard and again no fun to walk in rain. Regret not bringing back his rain boots.

Good morning mommies and Ian!

What a great weather for sleeping! Late for work today because my girls are not awake yet and like every Mondays, it actually hurts to leave them behind after a long weekend together!

Zuen

Just curious when your girl was born weighing under 2kg, did she need to be admitted to NICU? I'm glad she caught up and turned chubby now. On the other hand, my #2 was born with good weight but now she's so under weight. However I'm not that concerned since she's growing and reaching milestones as she should.

Morning mummies and Ian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cherry neo,

Saw ur question posted at 07' Oct thread. I belong to that thread too. That's mean ur son is 1 mth younger than my gal.kekeke

Let me share with u on the question u ask.

Potty train: I tried potty trained on my gal when she almost 2 yr old that time but seem v hard cos she still does not know how to express well, in the end i clear the mess like hell. Then aft few day i stopped. And recently 2 weeks ago, her childcare start to potty train her everyday on half day basis cos only afternoon, her teacher in-charge is more free to train her and can see some result. Now even at hm, result shown is better than last time i trained her. So i feel it depend whether our kid is ready to potty train or not lor.

As for dentel check, I nv bring my gal to any dental check yet cos firstly my gal is v timid, scare she will be frighten when inside the dentist rm. Since now i am unable to assist her in brushing her teeth, my hb is the one assisting her. My gal can brush her teeth on her own but still need stand beside her to confirm she brush all her teeth well. In fact, i feel there shouldn't have any prob in her teeth yet since i start brushing her gum when she is 3 mth old.

As for speech, my gal also can't express in long full sentence but she can express it in short sentence. She learn to express more words to us after she attend childcare full day. If u are worried abt this point, u can bring ur son to seek opinion from speech therapist

morning mummies & Ian,

My mom told me that I was born 2.5 kg on the 36th week.. My elder sister was born 2.6 kg on the 38th week.. Younger brother born 3.4 kg on the 41st week.

She said it's very easy when giving birth to me becoz I am small.. And she keep saying don't drink too much ice, syrup, ice cream as it can make the baby too big, difficult to give birth..

Now I'm hoping my baby don't grow too big becoz of them. hehe..

hi mummies and Ian. Having a lousy start to the week. Had very bad abdominal pains since 4am and wanted to act hero try to go to work but couldn't take the pain and u-turned back halfway through train journey. Now at gynae's clinic waiting to see him. Dunno what's wrong leh.. The pain like coming from uterus but also like intestines and stomach. Pain till feeling weak in the knees. Hope nothing's wrong. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Morning all ...

Reached office super early this morning cos got to make a presentation to a meeting at 8.30am!! Feeling so so tired now and seem like there are 2 more meetings to go this afternoon & tom *faintz*

morning tiffy,groovy,lilac & jac~

jac> dun worry too much..things will turn out fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning Mummies & Ian.

Jac,hope you are okay ya. Dun worry too much ya.

It's really a wet Monday n blue day to start.. grrr..

Shirlz:

Dun worry about the weight estimate. Its really only an estimate and the error rate is very very very high. My daughter is one fantastic example. Always scan to be underweight but after delivery is 3.335kg which is big for a girl. And though she's born quite heavy, she's on the small side now. My PD keeps assuring us that its fine coz both hubs and I are underweight so we cannot expect her to be big sized. In addition, development wise, she's doing perfectly well, able to do most of the things which are expected of kids older than her. So dun worry. Weight/Size is not everything and what's more, what you are looking at now is a very very very inaccurate estimate.

Jac ...

Should be fine ba ... at least you are are the clinic now so should be in safe hands.

Apple ...

The item usually will reach Sg within 1-2 weeks =) when are your frens sending the stuff to you?

good morning ladies n Ian

whao! Seems like some of you are not getting the Monday rite! Relax, hope it will gets better later[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me still waiting for the King n princess tp get up before I can get started!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

melissa, shirlz

thanks, yah having a blast here... Everything was great but not the traffic! Was horrid over the weekend n plus the rain.... Fwahhhh.... It was terrible!

Shirlz,

you take care... Dun worry too much... Bb will catch up soon after you reach week 30, hopefully..., where bb will grow fast ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HB scolded me for not resting much n order me to stay in till lunch time.. Booo.......

Yesterday I had problem walking n getting up from

a seat..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] just felt there was a suddened weight that I'm carrying n just simply too heavy to walk about![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starry

hope you are alright ! Rest well n dun move about.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]