(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

i've finally given in to the temptations of coffee although hubby sure scold me is he knows. i haven't been sleeping well at night the past couple of weeks for some reason and today i'm particularly drained and tired. i am also feeling really warm most of the time! sometimes i like to cuddle hubby but lately he says that i am too warm, make him feel hot and wanna sweat. sigh...

even my room's air-con at 23 degrees is not cold enough. i will sweat underneath the comforter and wake up in the middle of the night. ppl complain cold in the office, but i'd feel air-con not cold enough.

Hey MTMs

Hope you all have enjoyed the New Year and are doing fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anybody using iPhone?? I have this website to recommend.. Selling iPhone accessories at reasonable prices.. Can visit http://theipaplace.blogspot.com for more info..

Here's wishing all of you good health & wealth in this TIGER year and most importantly give birth to a healthy & cheerful "baby tiger"!!! HUAT AH!!

LittleTiger

Hi ladies! I'm new in this thread but have been active in the TTC thread. I'm now 5 weeks pregnany and just had my first blood test (I'm seeing Dr Fong Yang @ Tiong Bahru). They told me my hormones level is 75nmol/l which is a bit low for pregnant ladies, and preferably be at least 80nmol/l. The nurse told me to increase my progesterone dosage. A bit worried now, cos 2 months back, I tested positive too and then bled 2 weeks after....

Anyone has similar experience?

congrats faithnhope,

what test did you take again? is that the beta-hcg test? if you want to be sure, you should take it again in 48 hours. the theory is, a good reading means the numbers should double up or more by 48 hours. otherwise, that's not a good sign. so just one HCG reading is useless. if that's your progesterone level, then it's a different case. i thought levels fluctuate.

i've also had history of miscarriages, 5 m/c back to back actually and after my 2nd girl is born, i went on to have 2 more miscarriages. this is my lucky strike. you simply can't prevent miscarriages. if it's meant to happen, no amount of progesterone, jabs are going to help. but Faith would [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Melissa! You are such a determined mum! "Pei fu"! As for what test ar... errr.. I don't know the clinical name.. except that it measures hormones level.. actually, I'm also confused.. is it hormones or progesterone that they are testing haha!! But I was given the beta-hcg jab just now after they drew my blood. I pray with the double dosage of progesterone pills, my hormones level will rise to at least "normal"..

Yah.. I guess I just do what I can and leave the rest to God's hands ;)

By the way, does anyone know how to convert nmol/l to ng/ml cos when I search on internet, most reading units are in ng/ml. If I read correctly, I can multiply the figure in nmol/l by 0.333 to get ng/ml. If so, 75nmol/l = approx. 25ng/ml. If this is correct, then this range seems alright, based on the following website?

http://www.justmommies.com/articles/progesterone-pregnancy.shtml

Progesterone during pregnancy

First Trimester 9-47

Second Trimester 17-147 ng/ml

Third Trimester 55-200 ng/ml

hi clare,

Glad that you have solved your problems...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffy,

Thanks for the remedies,just bought a bunch of old ginger and will try to make it later..

Starrymommy,

Mine looks more like hives..come and go..patches can be big and small but doesn't flakes when scratch..it grew so big it looks like a map..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]Some says dun sleep in an aircon room might help but i am turning my fan and aircon at the same time cos is so HOT!!heee....keep yourself moisturized maybe it might help...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffy,

Congrats again!Did you tears when you saw the lil heartbeats pumping?hee.....SO happy for you!

Vivian,

How was your check-up?Hmm....wheni was preggy with my fist child,i didn't attend a funeral,was asked to stay at home especially during the firt trimester..

Melissa,

thanks for sharing the list of symptoms to determined the gender..hmm....do you prefer a girl or boy?WHat's your symptoms like?care to share?I'm kinda curious too....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to share my first pregnancy with everyone...)

I was carrying low,not attractive,huge and ugly,not only my boobies grew,my nose and everywhere too!complexion was superb and craved for vegetables!VOmit all the time,everything goes in comes out within 20mins.MS starts 7 weeks..

This time,MS starts the moment i knew i was pregnant,extremely tired and craved for salty food and potatoes chips..oohh and also spicy food.Sometimes i did vomit but sometimes it's just the motion!GIddy all the time.

Can't tell whether im carrying low or not as it is still early!....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So interesting isn't it?

Hope all mtb are doing fine,..take care all

princess diamond, are u having what the chinese wld call "feng mo"?? i am very amused how come the NOSE will grow! my nose is rounded and stubby, not nice at all.. can't imagine how horrible it will look like if it grows. ugh..

another bout of MS hit me after lunch. this time a little bit stronger and the sense of wanting to do the merlion is there. waiting to see if it will get worse tomorrow. i actually hope it does! so crazy.

starrymommy

yea,i think it's called "feng mo"!

Hahaha....I hated myself everytime i look in the mirror!Gosh..so ugly!So i am determined to breastfeed my baby as long as possible to attained y pre-pregnancy weight fast!

To date,

I ve already put on 3.5kg..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

No appetite to eat or drink,wonder where those kgs came from...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

thanks tiffy, will check again with the nurse 2 weeks later..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi princess diamond, me too, i have gained like 3-4 kg for the past 2 weeks.....

;S

no appetite too but i stopped doing exercises..

water + heavier ovary + more fats on boobies? hehe..

hi ann,

wow!at least i know i am not alone!3.5kg in 3 weeks is alot!I m surely to get some scolding from my gynae tmrw...;(

i am only 8 weeks now?looks like 4-5mths...sigh!

Just came back from the Doc ... scan only can see the Sac ... Doc predict to be 4-5 weeks only ... which is off my last period calculations... Doc say Two possibilities ... (1)pregnancy not developing well, or (2)my dates are off ... Doc say higher possibility that it's (2), since my MS just started ... Anyway ... was told to take the "an tai yao" that he gave me ... and go back in 2 weeks' time to confirm

I've already gained 1.5 KG ... but it could be due to the festivities also :p ...

hi vivian..

please rest well..we'll wait for your good news in 2 weeks k...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gosh..

clare,

Am sorry to hear that.. what happen actually?

We have not heard from u since yr gynae visit..

Am so worried now.. am goin for my 1st gynae visit tomorrow and am expecting to be 6-7wks this wk..

Till now.. i'havent got any MS..

Clare,

I'm so sorry to hear that?hope you rest well...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

puanSri,

me too going for my check up tmrw..expecting to b 8weeks...MS come n go!

Clare, I'm very sorry to hear that. Hope you will get well soon and do take care.

Puan Sri, I'm going for my gynae visit this Fri and also very worried. I should be in my 6 weeks, do you think I can hear the baby's heartbeat by 6 weeks? I'm so paranoid now coz of my prior MC.

Hi COzie,

am worried as well.. am imagining the worst..

am hoping for some MS at least .. i know my BB is doing good in there..

I'll be meeting Dr Adrian WOodworth at SK tomorrow.. Hope everything will be alright..

cozie> understand yr concern, I had a mc when i was ard wk9 last Aug. u can try asking yr gynae for an1 tia1 medicine. I took that from wk 4 to 6. Now I m wk10. Saw my bb heart beat on 3 visits to the gynae. 1st & 2nd ard wk 6. 3rd on wk8. All the best.

Clare I am sorry to hear that. Do take good care.

My next appt is in 2 wks time and i am also a bit worried too due to my previous MC and i don't experience much MS or other symptoms which u MTBs described. I didn't know MC can be so common till i came across this site. The people I knew seemed to be carrying theirs so well. I have a colleague who can still yell and walk fast during her 2 pregnancies. I guess there's really no way we can prevent.. if it meant to happen, it happen.. and it really sucks =(

clare,

do take care of ur health.

paws68,

some preggy woman are really strong, carry heavy things also nothing happen.

princess diamond,

no tear this time round cos maybe it's not my 1st pregnancy. I only feel glad to hear the heartbeat lor. But when i had my 1st gal, every check up have gd improvement, i will tear abit lor.

vivian, ann,

wow u 2 gain weight???? I lost abit of weight. eat little each meal n every 3 hrs i will eat again. This is what my gynea told me to do it so that i won't gain so much weight during my pregnancy. She only allow 10kg weight gain but my 1st preganacy i total gain 12kg.kekeke

those with MS pls take more fluid cos cannot let ourselves dehydrate if not have to be hospitalise n put on drip

I am new here, This is my first pregnancy and by end of this week should be 6 weeks will only see my gynae next week. hope tat every thing is ok.

I agreed with Tiffy we muz take in more water to prevent from dehydrate cos I have a very bad MS last friday and went to see my gp she nearly want to send mi to KK A&E for drip cos she did a urine test for mi and say that i am highly dehydrate but later she ask mi would i like to try on medication first i say yes but she still give mi A&E letter just incase i need it so scarley.

Now juz pray that everything is okay.

gd morning mummies! i have a qn. does your MS come and go? yesterday afternoon till evening, i had MS, but when i woke up this morning, i felt perfectly fine! is there anything to be concerned about?

Clare,

Am I missing something? What happened? Your last post said your MS went away suddenly. I wasn't feeling good about it. But MS does come and go. Anyway I'm sorry for the m/c. Take care and don't give up. You'll do better the next time around. *hugs*

princess diamond,

hmm for my first and second pregnancy, both girls, i crave for sweets. i have different aversion and craving for both but they're generally sweet. i have early ms (around 5 weeks). my skin is clear. i put on weight on the bum and thighs. i look radiant. i have water retention towards the end of my pregnancy with big nose and elephant ankles! my MS was worse the 2nd time around and i crave for everything that my hubby likes that i normally don't eat. my 2nd girl was born looking and behaving just like daddy. same blood type. hehehe.. i really have no idea if i'm having another girl or boy. i dun have any instincts!

weight increase,

ah..just like all my pregnancies, i will experience weight loss during my first trimester and it's happening again. that's because i hardly touch any rice since MS strike. i'm not so fond of carbo this time around.

vivian,

what's your LMP? i always measured late but they turned out ok. that's because i have long period cycles. the medical wheel measurement is completely useless to me.

puan sri,

like i mentioned previously, some girls can be lucky not to have MS. i hope you're one and you get to see a fetal pole on your scan. keep us updated on your scan. best of luck!

paws68,

i'm sorry you had to learn the truth about miscarriages. it is a lot common than we thought. its' just that people don't talk about it. i think the best way to handle is to acknowledge that it could happen to anyone and that it cannot be prevented and that pregnancy itself is a divine process. no amount of science can ever correct this mistake.

tiffy,

yeah i agree with Tiffy, if you can't eat much at least drink as much water or any fluid you can. i find that if i can't take plain water, i drop in a few drops of lemon inside, it tastes better. it's even better with honey, but i can't stand sweet stuff at the moment.

belinda tan,

welcome!! hope you're here to stay [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

belinda,

welcome. wow, u better drink more water if u find water too bland, add abit of ribena in it.

starrymommy,

hard to say abt MS leh. maybe for u is come n go. My 1st pregnancy i had MS whole day for 1.5mth till i lost 6kg in 1 mth.

Good morning ladies!!!

Hello Belinda,welcome![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starrymommy,

My MS come and go!Some day was bad and some can be just as normal days but overall i do feels tired all the time whether MS strike or not.

Melissa,

I think i should go slow with those carbo's as well!I put on so much since last 3weeks but then,i hardly eat as i don't have much appetite![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

really wondering where those extra kgs came from?

I am visiting my gynae later,hope everything goes well.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Take care all...;)

princess diamond,

jia you!! best of luck to you! pls report back your updates! btw, the extra kg could come from water retention and the boobs? hehee..

tiffy,

tell me about it. yesterday my hubby bought me a Roti Mum bun, which was my favorite. i merlioned it all out. worse, when i merlion it, it still felt sweet in my throat, so as one can guessed, i left no traces of the sweet bread behind. i don't dare to tell him, else he thinks it's wasting money buying for me! :\

Starry Nite, thanks will ask my gynae. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am going to see him and my baby soon 1st time for this pregnancy. I wan to see my baby's heartbeat and growing well.

melissa,

yah yah yah, almost same as u lor. if i eat something sweet, i feel weird lor especially my tongue. then i quickly drink some ribena water to get rid of the sweet taste on my tongue. u can also quickly eat 1 pc of plain biscuits to get rid of the sweet taste in ur throat. think biscuit is quite useful.

if u all cannot take in carbo(rice), then switch to kueh teow soup w/o oil. I cook it myself n eat it while it is v hot, i feel much better lor.

Welcome belinda!

Clare, so sorry to hear about your sudden loss. What happened exactly?

Vivian Ann, I too put on weight initially.. about 2 kg. A bit wierd coz I didn't eat much but yet I put on. But I guess that's just guess water retention, I've lost the 2 kg.. but my tummy is growing bigger and firmer by the day

And ladies, I have my 1st wave of nausea this morning.. erm, actually I had once last week.. but it was fast, come n go. This morning I started puking at 4am right up till 10am. I'm feeling slightly better now after sucking on sweet sour prunes.

Hello Ladies, Good Morning. I got 2 things to ask.

1) Every Since I know I am pregnant, I been having weird dreams everyday, in the past have dreams la, not everyday also.

Do your experience that?

2) What flavor of bird nest do your take when pregnant huh? Cos I go to Brands website see, now got so many flavor, those with Rock Sugar, with American Ginseng, Sugar free, etc, wait I paste the flavor here. Let me know what your think is the best for to take during pregnancy.

-BRAND’S® Royal Superior Bird’s Nest

-BRAND'S® Bird's Nest Sugar Free

-BRAND'S® Bird's Nest with Rock Sugar

-BRAND'S® Bird's Nest with American Ginseng & Rock Sugar

-BRAND'S® Bird's Nest with Collagen

I think the collagen one is for those ai mei la, not really suitable for mtb?

i have been reading this thread since it started but din join until now.

I went to the gynae yesterday and i am 6 weeks and 3 days pregnant. heart beat detected. Edd to be 15/10/10. This is my #3

I hope to join you guys in this journey to bundle of joy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa, can I check, sorry to bring up again, ur 5mc is in a span of how long? How many yrs? from wat age to wat age. Paisei really ask so much. I been tryin to tell myself this time I will really be a mother in Oct 2010. Abt 3 weeks ago, u noe wat I got a little scare and just wan to prepare, I went to goggle after 2mcs got successful stories or not. And Way before that, I know of 2 friends whom mc 4 times. and 1 5 times too.

Haiz. I am just scared and worries sometimes, but trying hard to tell myself to be positive, say that this time round I will be lucky, and this baby is a keeper for me.

faithnhope,

i nv take at all. but if u want, don't take 1 a day lah. too much liao. is it u are clearing stock pf ur mandarin orange at hm? kekeke

Hi tiffy

yeah this pregnancy is my #3 and yes i am a SAHM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually I read in 1 website, of a mum whom has 5mcs, that mcs can be prevented with certain intervention. But most gynae dun have the knowledge or dun bothers to like help unless maybe the history of mcs is alot for that person.

I done blood tests Gynae also say everything is fine for me........... And I read that not much research been done on MC, y? Becos IVF can earn more $$$$$$ for Gynaes....so therefore....

etelle,

welcome! hope you're here to stay [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] like yourself, i made an appearance only after a confirmed heartbeat.

babytiger,

nevermind, your questions are valid. my first "set" of 5 m/c were experienced within a span of 3 years. i got knocked up just 3 weeks after my wedding but it wasn't meant to be. then the series of m/c begins. so for 3 years, i wasn't myself, i was a spiteful, bitter bitch and hating everyone. i hated my SIL who smoked heavily during her pregnancies and went on to have 2 healthy children. it's just not fair. BUT! i'm glad those dark years are over. i know that even when someone has experienced just ONE miscarriage, their thoughts about pregnancy will never be the same again. but u have to believe that nothing can prevent it, however it helps to make you strong enough to accept two possible outcomes of your pregnancy, whether it works or it doesn't. Believe that eventually, you WILL have the baby after all. Maybe not as soon as we expected but eventually you will. Keep the faith and stay open-minded. Of course, I hope that everyone is here to stay. I'll be praying for all Oct mommies okies? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

faithnhope,

one a day, but not everyday is ok i think. try to take something heaty to counteract that. tried Milo kosong? hmm nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffy, thanks for ur advice, but inconvenient for me to dun. So which flavor do u think is suitable huh?

BabyTiger, i've also been having weird dreams at night these couple of weeks. i keep tossing and turning in bed and feel like i am not having much sleep even though i can be in bed by 11pm and wake up at 8am.

Melissa

you are also pregnant with #3? Haha i made appearance after gng to the gynae cuz though the test kit shows positive but i want pro to confirmed. Lol

yeah i be praying for all Oct mummies as well that we pregnants will have our babies to keep and have a smooth and safe pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Let's stay positive together