(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

so happy for u,poppyseed!I m also crossing my fingers~hopefully to see heartbeat this mon..really really excited and abit nervous...

can I ask ladies and mommies here.got anyone have their mil to accompany to their gyne visits anot? my husband wans his mother to come along,it is nice of him like to make her feel included in this whole family affair.but I m not really comfy with mil in the room while I ask my gyne abt some private health stuff and she staring at me doing a v scan leh..I m trying to tell my husband in a VERY nice way that I cant have her ard,but he asked her to come along already..how?!?!

poppyseed,I also love coffee..I must have one every morning!but now,I have totally cut off from it...not a sip..but my gyne says one day can have 2cups.I m not taking any chances though..

Clare,

I understand your awkwardness with mil accompanying for scans. Even when my own mom came with me, sh prefers to stay outside. If you could tell the truth to your hubby, that will be the best solution. Otherwise, you might want to keep the questions with your gynae offline by phone or email. I reckon that for the next scan onwards, you can request your gynae for an abdominal scan. At least you won't feel so weird. Or how abt asking hubby if you could bring ur own mom the next time around? By the way, why won't your hubby come along? My hubby is always excited abt accompanying me along. Even if this is for the third child.

My first visit to the gynae at abt 5 wks was from below as the doc wasn't able to see anything from abdominal scan. 2nd visit, he asked me to drink lots of water. When i told the assistant i drank 2 cups of water, they told me not enough and i had to drink about 7 cups of water at the clinic.. till i nearly vomit.. =6 Did any of you gals had the same request to drink lots of water?

Now i am thinking if i should drink more water again for my next visit as they didn't request for me this time...

For my past 2 visits, i went alone. My next visit about 2 wks later should be able to detect a heartbeat. I didnt' want to ask my hubby along coz i don't wish to see him disappointed, guess my fear due to my past MC stays on.

My morning sickness was only about couple of days when it all suddenly stopped. My nauseousness gone and i don't have any sore boobs or cramps as my habit of sleeping on my tummy didn't bother me at all.

Just have to wait till my next appt since there is really nothing much i can do now. Hope all goes well..

just operated on thurs to remove the infected tube. really drowsy n slept almost the whole day.

feeling painful, and emotionally i guess i am suppressing.. cos no tear til now. sigh. cant afford to cry infront of my 2 kids.

anyway its over.. will try again some time in may.

fast reading through today, saw some of u concern about fruits to avoid.. actually papaya is the best food to have apart from prune. it really helps to ease constipation. Just remember this key.. : everything which is too much is no good. so if u over consume papaya.. surely it will lead to bad effect. if everyday papaya... or orange fruit, it will make u turn orange too. best is to have 2-3 times per week will do and choose other fruits. Being pregnant can be very heaty.. i survived 2 pregnancy with watermelon juice, papapya milk shake , mango milk shake, etc. only thing u need to be careful is the vendor.. make sure they are using clean water to make the milk shake or juice.

i think i wont be coming in this thread anymore since i am no longer pregnant.. thanks all for being such an encouragement...

Hi tiger Lily,Cozie ,shirley and diveera

congrats all!Welcome to the thread!

Hi clare,

Understand your concerned adn your hubby's goodwill of asking your MIL to accompany you,however you may wanna asked her to stay outside the room and wait!I absolutely against this and i prohibit my MIL who wanted to tag along during one onf the visits thinking to see the sac.I understand her excitement but it is too personal,it's as good as having sex while she stares!You got what i mean?? So,learn to say No in a firm and polite way...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I am sure she will understand rather than you kept feeling awkward and upset over this matter..I m not even comfortable having my own mom what more MIL..???

Raindroops,

how's your MS so far?Hope you are well...the whole week was bad for me..trying to get myself busy so to avoid and forget about MS..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poppyseed,

Im a coffee drinker..every morning that cup of coffee boost my day,however i am trying hard not to have coffee/tea for this pregnancy.My gyane said that one cup a day is fine.I m trying so hard and dying for one cup every morning!Doubt i can go thru this pregnancy w/o "IT"!I WILL TRY!..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Paws68

Hey,stay positive...both my pregnancy was detected by Vscan during 4-5weeks however gynae didn't suggest to drink water..did you ask y?

maybe it is really still too early...will be waiting or your good news okie..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Take care all...

poppyseed, i love coffee and i have sworn off coffee too. my hubby even forbids me to eat any coffee porkribs, which is my fave cze char dish.

oh yah, i went to see the gynae today! saw the little embryo from the ultrasound scan. it was just a black dot and the doc said i am only at max 5 weeks. i also mentioned the rash on my face to him but he said there is no such thing as "pregnancy rash", whereas my mum thinks that the rash could have been caused by hormones. hmmm...

paws68, i was told to drink lots of water too. i hated that 'cos i also drank till i almost want to vomit.

i've started to feel some sort of MS today; not to the extent of puking but just felt really queasy. i'd think of something which i feel like eating, but when i actually see the food, the queasiness will hit me and i end up having no appetite. got a feeling it's gonna get worse...

joannelim,

i hope i'm not too late to say i'm sorry about your situation. as long as the other tube remains, you could still get pregnant. take care now. all the best. *hugs*

paws68, starrymommy,

usually gynae will ask you to drink lots of water for abdominal scan. that's because when your bladder is full of water, it will push up your uterus, making it clearer for imaging. if you don't want to drink that much water, opt for vaginal scan. you must empty your bladder for vaginal scan. it also depends on your gynae's ultrasound machine. my gynae's machine is very good, could do abdominal scan without drinking water and the images comes out clear. maybe gynaes with old machine charge cheaper? b'cos my gynae consultation fees and ultrasound charges cost a bomb!

princess diamond, thks, will stay positive, must not affect the bb too =P It's always encouraging to see the mtbs here sharing their good news and excitement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa, thks for the info. Now i know why we had to drink tons of water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Strange is that i always seemed to forget to ask qns at the gynae but when i left i will have 101 qns but then again luckily i get most answers from the experts here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey starrymommy,

how does your rash looks like?patchy?i got it too but on my buttocks and tummy!Was told that is hives ..come and go.

Paws68

you are most welcome,glad that you are going on the right path by thinking for the lil one!

Yea,me too always have lots of questions for gynae ended up went back with nothing?I will make it a point to write it down this time and bring my 555 notebook along on my next check ups...hehehehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yesterday was ok,not very sleepy,went visiting and was busy talking and eating until late night!This morning woke up with a heavy head and felt something stuck in my throat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]..

Do i guess i must really find something to do and keep myself busy all day to avoid my MS!It works!

BTW,mommies who mentioned before about drinking ginger tea..may i know what's the consumption like?Drink 1 cup or can go on with many cups throughout the day?Please advise,I'm keen on trying?

Take care all...Have a wonderful SUnday!

Hi Ladies! Wow not reading for 2 days and I've already missed a lot! Hope u gals are coping well with your pregnancy. And thank u for recommending Clarins oil, will get it soon. My bump is still there and I've lost 1/2 kg today.

A bit paiseh coz I'm planning to keep it a secret until 3 months. But how to with a bump? We've not even told our parents yet coz the last time I had a miscarriage, my mom blabed to a relative and this nosy fella went to spread the news. I found out when a distant relative suddenly asked me how I was coping with my miscarriage.. I was so shocked! I'm not telling anybody anything this time till it's confirmed.

poppyseed, I LOVE coffee! But I'm proud to say since BFP, I've only drank twice.. but very sleepy at work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ladies, can I ask if any of you have been very thirsty? I'm drinking like a camel and peeing a hundred times. I hope its normal..

joannelim:: Hi Joanne, take good care, and recuperate well! Hugs & best regards!

Princessdiamond:: Being busy can relieve MS abit!

Congrats starrymommy, im sure you are looking forward to your second meetup with your BB to see and hear him!

paws68:: for my first 2 gynae visits, i was instructed to be on full bladder, so that BB can be scanned and detected easily, just like what Melissa & 2 gals said. Dun worry okay? Stay happy and keep your faith! -hugs-

clare:: thanks! by the way, the preggie look is an immediate giveaway. Cos' im facing that too :p

Last night i was feeling so lousy, my migraine threatens to return with a vengeance. I was hoping it will not come back as i do not want to eat any panadols. I guess the possibility of my migraine must be due to my much toss and turns and dreams at night. My brain has been so busy. I started to befriend the toilet bowl more often too. The puking is .... urgh... but i always encourage myself that it's a good sign that my body is adjusting to the lil life.

princess diamond, clare and starrymommy:: i had my first cup of kopi just nw after 8 weeks longs of abstinence! It really feels so good...:p i didn't finish everything, but it makes my breakfast so enticing! I had the black carrot cake with the kopi. I guess, an occassional perk is necessary for me, keke.

Marissa:: Yup, don't feel pressurise to announce your pregnancy, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wear baggy tops? But i cant say so for the preggie look. The latter is abit hard to conceal. :p BTW i drink alot of water too! I have a tumbler with me wherever i go..

poppyseed...

Guess i am not gonna hold long for that urge to have a cuppa!!!!!

Feeling lousy this morning and felt so bad..just scolded my gal for being clingy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]!ARrrggggghhhh!!

Marrissa,i drank lots of water too..feeling thirsty all the time,maybe i have been vomiting?

Take care all....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi princess diamond, my rash is patchy, dry and rough type. It's better but the skin's like flaky and peeling off wheni scratch.

Hi all been reading this thread, had 2 early mc both cannot detect heartbeat. I Noe sunflower, clare, Irene, Marrissa etc aso have similar. Experience before. Been trying for two yrs since marriage. previously see gynae v early at week four like tt.... So now even thou I Noe I was pregnant like one or two day after ovulation, I been waiting anxiously to wait for abt week 7 going week 8 or week 8 going to week 9 to see my gynae. Will be seeing him soon next weekend. Really quite worried. Paisei, typing thru phone. Anyway with previous bad experience, now every time I go toliet I check for any stain of course pray hope dun want to see. Been eating Maggie mee which is quite bad but a bit hard to avoid eating sometimes. Sometimes I have nauseous feeling, but I just dunno how to vomit. My mum can vomit on command but I can't . Can someone teach me how to vomit. Still a little paranoid at times since got two bad history.... I really want to hold my bundle of joy this oct 2010.

So hard to edit when typing thru phone. My last mc started with a brown staining abt six to ten hrs before my gynae visit.... Anyway now I can only try to think positive. So anyway experience those wan to vomit yet can't feeling? My stomach this time round keep growling v loudly too. Dunno y. I really pray I have MS so that I Noe my baby is good.

hi mummies sorry to interrupt. i have delivered in dec n is staying in woodlands. i have intend to sell away some of my maternity clothes at a cheap price... interested pls pm me. thank u

Yar forget to add, yesterday after I pass motion, wanted to wipe saw a bit of fresh blood so scary shouted for hb... Then I think n told him cld b fr ass so wipe again n really were. Felt slightly relieve. Then after that keep checking my panty cos I feel wet. I guess I really paranoid. Anyway I think I not engh fibre.

Thanks Melissa and Princess Diamond!spoke to my husband.He will be coming with me to the gyne(he always does).We also spoke to mil last nite..(luckily we did,coz we wanted to see me doing the V scan!!)we said no firmly.*whew*luckily my husband knows how I feel and we told my mil as can come with us,but not the scan..

Thanks for all the advise (^_^)feeling soo much relieved now..

Joanne,take care yah?do mini confinement.

BabyTiger2010,I also have that quite a few times,but I think it is coz the shxx is too hard?or too dry?try to eat more fruits and veg..which I do but for me nothing works..haiz...

I also feel nausea but dun vomit.same feeling as u..I just leave it as it is..I think trying to force urself to vomit,it gets worse?feel worse I mean.

BabyTiger2010, the blood that came during your bowel movement could be due to piles.

If it continued, it's better to see a doc so that he can prescribe some medication for you to apply coz if not treated well, it can come back and can be quite uncomfortable. I heard that piles is quite common for preggies.

Best treatment now is to drink lots of water and eat food with fibre.

This was an eventful weekend. I had spotting for the first time. I was lucky not to get during my #1 but started spotting yesterday. Luckily its not fresh blood colour but brownish, else I prob would panic. Anyway, went to KK 24H clinic and was told to rest more. Finally got to see the foetus on the scan and dr says bb is ok. Anyone taking hormorne pills? They gave me these to stabilise the pregnancy.

Hi fifi, thank god bb is doing ok. How far along are u?

I also went to kkh 24hr clinic when i had spotting at 5 weeks. But could only see waterbag and was prescribed hormone pills to stabilise pregnancy. I've stopped spotting ever since.

hi mummies, i am having better appetite today and my boobs feel less sore... is this common? worried that if pregnancy symptoms get less obvious it means that baby not growing well..

i too, have been paranoid lately. when i feel a bit of wetness down under, i will go check to see if there is spotting. i will also check when i wipe. now i'd rather wish that i have real full MS so that i know baby is safe.

princess diamond,

for ginger tea my fren told me she drink it whole day but since i don't quite like ginger tea, i can only force myself to finish 1 satchet per day n only pour abit in a cup n mix with 1/4 hot water n quickly gulp it down as fast as i could. But yest aft my gynea check up, i was given pulin to help solve my bloated feeling and i only take it b4 i sleep at nite cos it really immediately drowsy for me.

so happy when i go for gynea check up yest, can hear bb heartbeat n see the foetus on the scan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, may i know how does spotting looks like? like one small pool? I had some brownish discharge at times.. are these considered spotting?

As for ginger tea, i read that some teas labeled as one herb may have traces of others so i guess 1st tri better avoid all sorts of caffeine ya... unless i guess you use small amount of fresh ginger that probably ok.

hi paws68, brown discharge are considered spotting. But if it doesn't turn fresh red blood means u're doing fine. But u might wanna see a gynae to check, just in case.

paws68,

yah brown discharge also consider spotting. hmm, thanks for ur info on the ginger tea, i will try to less intake on ginger tea. too much i don't think can find old ginger at supermarket near my area and i too lazy to boil it myself.

Thanks Clare and Cozie. I been taking water, trying to increase fibre intake too. Went to goggle and search on it, so might be due to piles too, but I hope not.

Starrymommy, yar been checking pantry every time I visit the toliet.......really cant help it sia...

oh Yar Clare, yar lor, but now the feeling not here nor there. actually I rather vomit out, so that I noe I am really having MS....cos now seem like have MS yet dun have MS. I really pray hope that I can vomit, even thou maybe I suffer, I also dun mind.

Hi fellow mums-to-be... I was pretty glad to not have MS. But just "merlion" my morning MILO drink.... Hate the Nauseas feeling, but after puking... will feel much better...

having MS doesn't mean that you have to vomit. it's the icky, pukey feeling. the kind where you just feel sick. no second guesses for that. sometimes certain smell bothers you. certain food taste also bothers you. i have tried inducing vomit when MS gets so bad but half the time, it doesn't make me feel better.

piles,

no joke man. i had piles during the 3rd tri of my 1st pregnancy it was very painful. gynae gave me mc and prescribe some high fibre pills that does the trick. it's important to eat fruit full of fiber during pregnancy.

ginger tea,

yeeee i tried it and i hate it. i drank that Kili brand type i think, with green packaging. makes my MS worse. maybe i should stick to orange juice. somehow i can only drink orange juice and sour yoghurt drink to survive my nights (where my MS is worst). toasts works well too!

Marissa,

don't mind me being kaypoh here, how much is the total charges for showing up suddenly in the KKH 24 hour clinic? i just want to be financially prepared, just in case u know.

melissa,

yoghurt is gd for preggy. Orange consider citrus fruit so don't take too often. Really hate the taste of the ginger tea hor but i still force myself to drink abit now if i feel v bloated in daytime. If it make ur MS worse, u don't drink it.

gd morning mummies. my mild MS seems to be back after my good appetite yesterday. came to work on an empty stomach and have this queasy (not yet nauseous) feeling in the pit of my stomach. i am having a mild cough so whenever i cough, i will want to gag. actually i don't mind having any MS since it will mean the hormone level is there and little beanie is healthy! lol!

yes, I use to be able to take the pasta I cooked. But today, I dun feel good after taking.....

Yar I think piles no joke. So I intend to try to take fiber fiber and more fiber.

I think KKH is 24hrs clinic, so charge the same price regardless of day? not sure. That is y instead of paying $300 bucks, Marissa went to KKH?

Good Morning ladies!

Hi Tiffy!!Soo happy for u!!must be glad to see heartbeat...

going to see gyne this afternoon..crossing my fingers to see heatbeat also..7weeks should be able to see heartbeat rite?*hopefully*

the weirdest thing happen today!I have no MS!!soo happy!!and my boobs are not sore anymore!hope MS dun come back leh...

Clare, update us after ur appointment later k? i am also anxiously waiting for my next scan 2 weeks from now. now at 5 weeks, doctor only found a black dot in the uterus. hopefully 2 weeks later can see heartbeat too!

Hi hi, Me visting the gynae this evening also. Hopefully can skip the "from below" scan .. and do it from the stomach ... hoping to hear the baby's heartbeat also .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehehehe

BTW ... is there any pantang about going for funerals during pregnancy?

Clare,

7 weeks can hear heartbeat, this is what my gynea told me and scan from tummy no need fr below. yes, i am v happy lor to hear the heartbeat. Now just hope 1st tri quickly over n then come to 5mth detail scan, bb is normal n fine and can know the gender. kekeke

melissa,

last time i did wrote down preggy don't take too much citrus but not becos of cooling think is of other reasons behind. Just don't take too often shld be fine.

vivian,

If the funeral wake is 1 of ur friend, perhap don't go lor. Try to avoid all these during preggy period

melissa babytiger, I ran down to KKH 24hr clinic after TMC wanted to charge me $300 surcharge should they call up their on-call gynae since it was CNY. KKH charged me $60 for gynae's consultation, $28 for ultrascan and another $24 for the hormone pills.. which was the same amount I paid when I went there 2 years ago (ie. the one where I had a miscarriage). I hope none u gals would need to walk in this emergency clinic.. choi.

Hubby thought I should just continue seeing this KKH gynae... since her charges are very resonable... young female gynae and shes quite nice too.

I found this hanging in the net somewhere. Just a fun fact!!! No claimed truth here!

It's a boy if:

* You didn't experience morning sickness in early pregnancy

* Your baby's heart rate is less than 140 beats per minute

* You are carrying the extra weight out front

* Your belly looks like a basketball

* Your areolas have darkened considerably

* You are carrying low

* You are craving salty or sour foods

* You are craving protein -- meats and cheese

* Your feet are colder than they were before pregnancy

* The hair on your legs has grown faster during pregnancy

* Your hands are very dry

* Your pillow faces north when you sleep

* Dad-to-be is gaining weight, right along with you

* Pregnancy has you looking better than ever

* Your urine is bright yellow in color

* Your nose is spreading

* You hang your wedding ring over your belly and it moves in circles

* You are having headaches

* You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived and the sum is an even number

It's a girl if:

* You had morning sickness early in pregnancy

* Your baby's heart rate is at least 140 beats per minute

* You are carrying the weight in your hips and rear

* Your left breast is larger than your right breast

* Your hair develops red highlights

* You are carrying high

* Your belly looks like a watermelon

* You are craving sweets

* You are craving fruit

* You crave orange juice

* You don't look quite as good as normal during pregnancy

* You are moodier than usual during pregnancy

* Your face breaks out more than usual

* You refuse to eat the heel of a loaf of bread

* Your breasts have really blossomed!

* Your pillow faces south when you sleep

* Your urine is a dull yellow color

* You hang your wedding ring over your belly and it moves from side to side

* You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived and the sum is an odd number

Marissa,

thanks for the breakdown!! so i guess for emergencies, it's best to go to KKH yeah. since they're well equipped and charge cheaper too. of course i hope i don't have to go there, and none of our Oct mommies too! choi!! touch wood!

Melissa, that's an interesting gender checklist you have there! should come in useful during our 2nd tri. the part about hanging the wedding ring over the belly and see how it moves reminds me of what i heard from the elders when i was a kid.

Hi Babytiger,

i'm in my 8th week and also have blood after big business. My gynae told me it could be piles and gave me some stool softener. Maybe you can highlight to your gynae on your next visit. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Melissa! From your list, i think mine would be a girl but then again considering my hubby's weight gain these days..might be a boy! LOL

hi girls,

i think citrus is good but too much of it could cause constipation..

what's best is to alternate between fruits each day..

do u know like how often we would visit the doctor after our 12 week??

is it like bi-weekly or monthly, or up to us? what's the best schedule?

planning to set some money aside, but must see whether to go for package in my doctor or just pay as per visit...

ann,

if i'm not wrong aft 12weeks n our bb is fine inside, gynea will only see us monthly. i think package will be slightly cheaper. U can ask the nurse for the price to compare.