(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

monkie: can say is more absorbent.. i ried using pamper pull up during my tw trip leaks leh.. i tink only for 3-4 hours nia.. this is wat i feel..

sunflower, he is wearing Xl now, same size as diaper. I think baby L should be wearing xxl cos the huggies xl was too big for my boy.

baka,

ok thks.. my fren passed me XXXL for mamy poko diaper..haha can wear leh! just need to tighten more..think i will just buy XXL lar..big is good, wont leak..haha

bakaholic, i know... kaka and mama also not difficult to pronounce what ...

hahaha self console.. so sian to go back to work to receive complain from fellow colleagues.

my girl is using the mamy poko pants (yellow packaging) for day wear..

its the cheaper/value pack..

change every 2-3 hrs unless she's taking nap..

at night, she uses the mamy poko diaper..

til now only leak once..

hi Aug mummies, I'm Sept mummy. Have been reading your thread on-off. I remembered some time back you guys were organising some home-based montessori lessons... can i know more about it please?

I'm currently looking for a preschool for my boy when he turns 18 mths... he's very active... not sure which play school is good?

alsoi stay in clementi, so prefer somewhere near. So far, my choices are kinderland @ SP, agape @ clementi central, learning vision @ biopolis

any comments is appreciated. Thanks! (or pls advise if this topic has been discussed, will go back to search)

mummies who give prevnar to your lo, do they still get fever after the booster jab? Yesterday mine went for his last dose but still got fever. I wonder if he has any resistance to the virus at all.

Yesterday PD told me that we, Chinese, always make soup base and assume all nutrients are in the soup, so called "essence". He said we are all wrong, our children need to eat the meat.He specifically said must eat the fish meat and the pork or chicken meat. The next thing he said, our lo no need to drink so much milk now. There's a lot of calories in the milk but it is not a well-balanced diet. A well-balanced diet comes from the 3 meals for our children. So, we can't replace their meals with milk now. To think that last time i so lazy, whenever we have an outing, lazy to bring his porridge out, just give him milk.

Rachel

Mine no fever leh. Ya I don't brew any essence/stock.. I dump all the ingredients into the porridge and make sure he ate all up. I try to bring porridge out or give him cereal if I have no time to cook. But cereal is very rare now cos usually thats his breakfast. Else I will feed him porridge before we go out and make sure we came back on time to cook dinner for him. My life is all around him, Everytime so stress about his meals. My mum even worse , when I ask her out.. She will tell me timing not right, not gg out , later he has no porridge to eat .. I told her we got cereal, she says cereal not filling. She always end up not gg out bcos L needs to eat and Slp.

Rachel,

fever is only 5% but my son also always gt it but recover within 2 days so is ok as for porridge what normally i do, u rmb the veg puree tat we make when our baby is 6mth old i still make puree veg and i keep 1 wk supply in the refidge. early in the morning i will cook the porridge w brown rice and throw in fish and meat, some sliver fish blended type and with the veg puree sometime cut veg in the thermal pot. just need to cook for 1/2 hr or more u prefer then u put bk into the thermal warmer when need it just heat it up abit. tat potion will serve for lunch and dinner. IS quite easy for working mummy like me and my son only drink milk in e morning, late afternoon and before sleep which i think milk is important too.

Rachel,

No wonder my boy so chubby. Cause my helper already cook porridge and store in Termal container and bring out for him to eat

I was talking to my colleague from other dept whereby our babies are a few weeks apart.

I was telling her I made puree & freeze it. She was telling me that not healthy; not nutrients etc. Wat worst is this statement "U not guilty in giving ur girl frozen foods??" I was like so embarrassed.

I was trying to tell her I'm just weekends mummy. i can be buy a bunch a veg every week & gave her same foods on her sat & sun??

This statement had been bothered me so now i dun made puree [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Rachel, my gal din have fever for her last prevnar jab.

Vitamins have soluble n insoluble types. Soluble vitamins will go to the water (soup) n if we drink e soup, we eat up e soluble vitamins too! But insoluble vitamins stay in e meat itself, hence need to eat the meat to get the vitamins. So good to eat the meat n drink the soup!

Some vitamins in veg are more difficult to be digest by our body, so good to give meat that offers the same vitamins as our body absorb meat vitamins readily..

Sheric,

I dun think frozen veg puree has no nutrients. There are websites that teaches us to make purees for babies. It's very common in western countries. Only ignorant ppl and old folks think frozen food is not good. I think over cooking food is worst!

Of course, fresh is always better but not everyone is lucky to have time to cook them. So dun worry, me also one of those "pro frozen baby cubes" mommy.

My boy didn't take the prenevar booster. He took the hep A jab when he was 1 yr old. Very strange loh.. and next jab is the mmrv. Did my pd forget?

i am also guilty that i dun cook for my girl..

very hard to buy ingredients when i dun cook for my hb and myself..

most of the time, i will throw away the vege and meat cos can't finish at all..

very wasteful..

but seeing that my girl's weight dun increase much, i'm telling myself i have to cook for her starting from this weekend..

if i buy meat from market and cut it into small slices, how long can i keep it in the freezer?

Sorry to interrupt.

Oh, what a noisy zoo tickets.

=============================

May I know if any Mummy has 4 tickets on 23 Oct, Sunday, 11am that you are willing to exchange with me? I'll be most grateful for that. Or else I will just have to sell these 4 tickets and my kids won't get to watch the play. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm willing to meet you anywhere to do the exchange. THANK YOU!

Please PM me for my hp.

sunflower, mvh

so good that bb L and bb A don't have fever. My boy has fever till last night. At one stage even hit 38.9. This morning mild fever at 37.4. The area that he has the injection is swollen and hard. Poor boy, he cried during the injection till he didn't even struggle. Like frozen with pain.

sunflower,

your mummy is such a great helper. Told my mil no need to make the "essence" for him, he needs to eat the meat, but I can tell she is not listening. Keep saying, taste nice lah.

I'm trying to go out after my boy has his porridge and come back home for his dinner too. Sometimes only go out after he has dinner...

Angel,

I keep about 1 mth cos too long will have smell.

Also, you can buy pork fillet and use a spoon to scrap the meat into fine,tiny pieces and throw into the porridge when it's almost done. This way, the child can eat the meat.

I dun use minced pork cos alot of unknown meat inside and sometimes there are even bones!

I also buy those frozen angmoh spinach cubes which i will throw into the porridge as well.

i put into slowcooker n eventually my porkchop is already mashed n veri tasty,then i wil put "yao rou" or fish or both into the porridge for jl.at gd times he can eat 1.5bowl of it. Bt i find the porkchop meat is too tough for him.at times wil jus try n remove for him.tat time tried making healthy fried rice for him n he only manage to finish 3/4 of it with a steamed egg. daddy says he is nt that ready to eat rice yet so nid to put egg for the texture

bakaholic, i think i will just buy a small pc, den ask my hb to cut into a few pcs and keep it into the freezer..

wanna cook den de-froze 1 pc and ask him to cut into small pcs and throw into the porridge..

i dun dare to use the knife..

phobia.. that's y i dun like to cook..

baka,

u dont have to buy minced pork..what u can do is to cook the pork with the porridge..30mins before serving the porridge, remove the pork and minced yourself..i dont trust the minced pork too, cos those are not washed and handle probably..not sure whether the grinder machine is clean or not too.. so usually i minced myself..

i think i put too much some time till my boy can get choke, give me the wana puke face..

Good morning.

I have been a silent reader since a yr plus ago.

I am also an aug mum

Would like to find out is there any gd PD to recommend me?

Currently I am with Dr Ang Ai Tin.

Would like to seek a 2nd opinon on my gal condition. She has been very "bao Li". Like to scratch herself and pull her hair whenever she gets angry and this has been hurting her.

Sunflower,

Which type of the pork you buy? how do you minced the meat?

i use pork loin to cook together for the flavour and then take out. Will add in the scraped pork fillet (mei rou) to the porridge when it's almost done.

Have anyone of you start giving chix meat?

baka,

my mum will prepare all the grocery.. i think its lean meat..cos i dont see any fat in it.. i will cook together and then take out to minced them.. i use chopper to mince until superfine..cos the quantity is too small for the blender.. but if too much, the porridge is not smooth, they can get choke..so portion of the minced pork very impt.

pekkle, good idea..

haha.. but i very clumsy.. i nearly peel off my own skin when i use the peeler to peel the potato skin..

from then onwards, i ask my hb to help..

haha.. even i look at him cutting or chopping food, i feel scare..

very jialat.. next time hb not at home, how to cook??

Just do it slowly, Angel.

Me also kenna a few times thus i dun get knives that are too sharp.

After a while, it's ok cos i am the only one who cooks so i have to learn.

Sunflower,

Cooked meat quite hard to mince.. how long do you take to do it?

I dun put too much meat in the porridge as my boy also will gag..

chamber_galz

what did your PD say about your girl? I think they are still young, so probably do not know how to control their motor skills. It may appear "bao li" to us, but may not be so.

My boy likes to scratch us too. Especially when his nails are longer. Sometimes he scratch on our new leather sofa, so heart pain.

baka,

hard meh? ok leh..chopper very fast one leh..about 5mins? i chop meat and vege ..haha..potato, carrot and pumkin all use grater..

Sheric,

I believe if you made purees, immediately store them in the freezer after fast cooling, the nutrients are still intact in it.. Agreed with bakaholic that overcooking has much lesser nutrients than frozen purees..

Bakaholic,

I also used pork loin.. I will mince it myself cos I also don't trust the ready minced meat.. Don't know which part of the meat they used.. I will also mince beef and chicken..

Angel,

I think practice makes perfect.. I used to be like you, even peeling potato can cut my skin.. Countless time of bleeding.. But now I'm okay with cutting and chopping.. Not very pro but still ok.. I hate touching raw meat/fish.. So I will use disposable glove every time I cut them..

Sunflower, potato and pumpkin no need grate. Jus cook in porridge till its soft then I mash with the spoon while I stir the porridge. Pumpkin is the most easy to prepare cos jus cut into big piece and throw into porridge to cook.

Baka, 2-2.5hrs..

Jascmy,

yup i know..if i cut into small cubes, faster to soften..but then takes me a while to mash each of them completely in the porridge..there was once i didnt mash totally, still got small chunky ones..my boy almsot get choke.... so i play safe to grate.

think i have no choice but to practice more..

cannot always rely on hb..

actually i feel very guilty cos my hb does most of the things at home..

sometimes i fall asleep first and he will take care of my girl..

end up now my girl prefers him more..

she will go n kiss him and ask him to carry..

he so happy abt it..

Halo everyone,

Big big headache here... My girl has been rejecting milk for 2 weeks. Donna why! And she refuses to eat her meat, no matter how small the meat is cut, she will spit them out. Not that she doesn't know how to swallow... Give her fishcake n fishball she can chew and swallow!

Damn sianz... I'm going crazy soon

My gal suddenly refuse to drink her last feed before bed. Not a single sip! Started yesterday, today happened again. I also dunno why she's like that.

wl, maybe u try purée the meat so that she can't spit it out?

wl,

give her fish? Fishcake and fishball got seasoning thus taste better. Maybe can puree the meat and dun put too much so that she can't feel it in the porridge.

btw, the prenavar jab is 2 jabs + 1 booster for 6-in-1?

My boy took 2 and last one at 9 mths but the cards says should be 12 mths. Getting confused.