(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

winnie, our little ones same pattern leh. Cos in same sch. My hubby even hear Kai Ting making the same sound as wx. Chaim, same sch, learned the same things.

Rachel, I give my boy eat the piggy in basket, 猪龙饼。 He love it. He eat on his own and finish 3/4 of it. Don think I will let him eat mooncake cos very sweet.

mooncakes has super high sugar contents..super high cholestrol too, i wouldnt recommend.

the snowskin is made of fried glutinous rice flour with shortening and colorings and ricing sugar!..its eaten fresh as it doesnt go thru the oven, i wouldnt recommend too!

Yah, mooncake too sweet and snow skin is uncooked. Try to avoid.

Those baked ones got egg glaze over it.

btw, those bb pasta stars, do you serve with puree or soup?

Also, for soup, do you feed by spoon or sippy cup?

Rachel,

haha we went to the mooncake fair in Bishan, my boy automatically say "ah"

and we take the samples to feed him, once he munch finish, he even ask for more so i just feed lor...

oh.. mooncake sounds very unhealthy hahaha..

bak

i bought baby capsicum, steam and pureed then use it as a sauce for the pasta stars. My boy likes it. Duno if ur boy likes capsicum, mine doesn't like to eat it like that, but with pasta he is ok.

bak

No, only the capsicum. Your boy tried tomato yet? I only recently fed him the organic vegetable broth which contains tomato. Haven't feed him pure tomato yet. Tomato also a good choice. You can melt some cheese in it too.

rachel,

u pureed the pasta stars? err xin or not?

i bought bellamy brand, cook damn long also cannot soften..my boy eat until wana choke.. if pureed already not err xin, i wana try pureed too..

Sunflower,

You have the pasta stars from bellamy? I put them in when water is boiling and it takes about 7-8 mins to be soft.

sunflower: the bellamy pasta star nd to v long over the fire, but if cook too long the pasta become nua nua.. v hard to cook. i give up..

mooncake, i give a small mouth to gen nia.ler her try abit

winnie, i got the bellamy pasta star oso, now still have a big pack left... need to cook very long, then very mushy oso... my ger dun like to eat them..

she loves the heinz baby spaghetti and the bellamy baby macaroni...

i cook my own bolognis sauce then pour over the the cooked pasta... she loves it... sometimes i add beef...

sometimes when we go out, i feed my ger rice oso... mixed with fish, steam eggs, etc...

sunday we went to Italian restaurant to eat, orders pasta & pizza, feed my ger some pizza oso.... she loves tomatoes...

now every time i cook her porridge a will add some chopped cherry tomatoes

cheese, only give once last sun. Jus very little bit. Abt half a teaspoon of salt. He also don want to eat loh.

Piglet shld be ok bah. Both my mum and MIL say ok leh. I know mooncake is a no no cos have the lotus paste in it. Very sweet.

sunflower

i didnt pureed the pasta stars. I pureed the capsicum. LOL. I gave him the heinz pasta stars not Bellamy. Seems like Bellamy pasta not as nice?

Winnie and Crescent, Rachel

ya ya.. i cooked bellamy under fire for 1hr still very hard for baby! cook until super nua and err xin till i cannot tahan.. i also give up..

Baka,

you sure 8mins? according to the instructions, its stated 8mins..but mine is 1 hr until the pot chao da still not that soft for baby..

Rice

my boy love chicken rice. can ate one small bowl with chicken breast..

sunflower, my boy love chicken too. But best not to give so much chicken leh. He aldy have it in ifc. So I nvr give chicken at home.

I cook the heiz pasta star. My boy can eat leh. If put his favourate pumkin, he will eat. If not he won't eat too. Haiz!

Want to try tomato puree on pasta star too.

i only give chk rice when i eat chk rice..at hm seldom give chk haha

i heard heinz pasta stars are soft and 'friendly' for baby.. very easy to cook

sunflower

some hawker put MSG and salt into the chicken rice.

Btw, when can our lo eat seafood? I'm so tempted to give him prawns haha.

rachel,

ya i know, already given him alot outside food, so nvm lar... anyway not everyday consume , so its ok.

sunflower,

somehow organic pasta like bellamys take a very long time to soften. heinz pasta stars and heinz short spaghetti cook very fast and my boy loves it.

i just let him try tomato few days back. i added some cherry tomato (remove skin and seeds) with pumpkin, broccoli and beef. so far no problem.

can check with you, is it confirmed your lo only take at most 3 prevnar jabs altogether?

My boy had taken 3 jabs, at 2mo, 4mo and 6mo. Now 12mo have to go for booster shot. I just check from drugs.com its true that babies are given at 2,4,6 and 12-15mo. But so far i read from here its either 2 shots or 3 shots, anyone going for the 4th shot?

jasmine,

ok will try Heinz.. i let L tried fresh tomato too..seems ok..by the way, where else can i buy baby mee sua besides tanglin mall? FB sellers ?

Crescent, Gen also love he heinz bb spag.. is much moer easier to cook then the bellamy de lol.

i bot the organic pasta sause for her too..

Rachel: im gg to stop at 3 shots. i tink is enuff.. hahaha.. v shiong leh..

hw come ur prevnar jab so near de?

mine is 3, 5 and 13 months?

bak: u follow 8 min then the pasta already soft? cannot be leh.. im and sunflower same cook for 1 hr till nua very er xin and gen dun like to eat.. i hate the pasta star..

chicken rice, when i eat then she will eat lol. hahaha..abit can lah...

winnie

my pd told me to give at 2mo if i decided to give him the prevnar vaccine. I didn't ask that much at that time. New mummy, everything also duno, and that time really got no time to surf intenet to find out more.

Can stop anytime meh? Will it make the previous shots useless?

Below is the link i found about prevnar.

http://www.drugs.com/prevnar.html

winnie, ya lor easy to cook, i just put in the spag in a bowl with hot water then into the steamer for 10 mins can alr...

pasta sauce i prefer to cook myself... so usually i will cook for all of us, then scoop up a bottle with lesser salt then freeze it... so if sometime rushing for time, need to make a fast meal for her then just take out and within 15mins she can eat liao... if cook porridge need to wait 1/2 hr...

oh the pasta star?

I throw away liaoz. So hard to cook and also not nice one.. if cook long too soggy..

JL dun like western food and especially the cheese melting..and become so long and he pek chek

when it stuck out of his mouth.. hahaha

Haa.. but he love laughing cow cheese!

JL very bad in chewing still leh...I dun dare to give soup+rice.

some bigger chunks of meat he will push out and show me... wanna take it out..

haiz... but for fruits he know how to chew..

Eh.. I got a qn ,

isnt Salt worse than light soya sauce? I mean if you need to do a comparision on this both.

Unless you use sea salt??

Salt is a No-NO for my PD and me

cheese,

actually both salt and light soya sauce are not good for baby.. till now i still insist on natural seasoning.. maybe a lil cheese in the pasta.. but that's all.. i don't want my boy to eat those strong flavor food.. if not he will become a picky eater, only eat food that are salty or sweet..

Jasmine, thats wat I guess loh. Cos we will give some of our food to my boy. He tasted all the good food liao so don wan my no taste porridge. But even I add a little salt, he also don wan leh. He only keep requesting for our food.

sunflower,

tagged u!

jascmy,

ya i must resist giving him our food if not he surely want flavored food.. maybe try to eat less salty food in front of him? so even if he wanna eat, not so unhealthy.

Jascmy, half a teaspoon is too much for 1yo isn't it? If u want, put 1-2 drops of soya sauce, or cook wif ikan bills?

My gal got new pattern while eating at home.. Can sit for first 5 mins.. Then after that demand to stand. Will eh eh eh till I give up n let her stand at e coffee table n play wif toys while I feed her porridge.. Creating new habit of eating but no choice leh coz she refuses to open her mouth when seated...

Sunflower, I use heinz pasta.. Ok leh.. I cook for a long long time but won't become mashy leh.. Juz soft.. But I felt that my gal dun like pasta, eat very little as compared to porridge..

My gal still can only eat max 1 bowl of porridge ( green pigeon bowl).. My nephew who is 2 months younger than my gal, eats 1.5 bowls of adult bowl ( those rooster bowl) !! So my gal is consider a small eater...

Cheese, sea salt, the salt content is even higher than normal salt leh.. I also dun recommend salt.. Even I cook for my elder gal till now I din put salt nor soya sauce.. All from natural ingredients..

The bellamy pasta star after cooking for 8 mins will be a bit chewy texture. It will never be like macaroni type cos it's made from brown rice. I always kenna a few times of failed cooking till i figure out the way to cook it. Very hard to mash cos it will clump together and end up worst. So, i just give a small spoonful each time and let me boy chew slowly.

Cheese,

Your boy so smart, will still spit out the big chunks. Mine try to swallow and sometimes have the gagging expression. Always scare us loh..

Jascmy,

Maybe can try not to give adult food anymore,esp. while you are eating and taking them from your plate. It;s becomes a bad habit that they always will expect food when we eat.

yap mvh, I'm just curious. both are equally not good for them.I totally reject both of them.

JL is really testing my patience and EQ for each porridge feed and milk feed!!! Argh!!! milk cant drink at a shot, must wait then finish! getting worse lor..

Porridge very fustrated, must have things to distract him then eat.. but on good days he can finish 1 1/2 bowl ..

He finish his bowl liao as usual, wanna eat ours, then I will only give like rice, not much taste one. or burger etc.something light still.

Not really "adorable & innocent" liaoz... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

MVH, in the end my boy also nvr eat the porridge. He only take 2 spoon ad stop liao. So consider ok lah. I'm trying not to put but my PIL keep wanting me to put. I suspect they add salt last weekend when they cook for him cos they very surprise when I told them I nvr add. FAINT!!!!

Jasmine and bakaholic, my hubby is the one keep giving our food loh. My PIL also give. I have no rights to stop them loh. Wat is this hor, I'm the mummy and I hav no rights. Somemore they all eat very salty and sweet leh. Traditional teochew taste bugs! I'm the only one eating low salt and sugar cos I love the natural taste of the food. So hubby always complained the food I cook hav no taste.

Really don knw wat I shld do leh. Will try hard again this weekend. Planning to cook tomatoes and mince pork pasta star. And pork bone soup with rice.

cheese, I hate to feed my boy. I have no more patience leh. I wan to give up liao. If he don wan eat then don eat lah. When my mum at home I can ask my mum to feed. Now she not at home its me loh. Why they so many pattern. Tabuleh tahan liao!!!

How come my boy no problem in sch?

Tot of throwing him to sch on sat morning then bring him back after he have his porridge cos I really hav no more patience to feed him liao.

My MIL also have a lot of patience de..

she also notice JL is very bored when eating. cant just sit there quietly for meal one.. have to give him something to concentrate on.

Jas, what I feel is IFC wont really care if they got really finish a not..and they feed super fast and their food is very watery.very easy to swallow and feed? That's what I notice once only.

He is really testing my patience. at times I need to give him his teether and he will put it on and when he took it out and i will feed very fast! haa.. that's the tricky part.

Everyday have to crack my brain to make him sit still for a while to finish his porridge. If he is good mood, can finish real fast.

Jascmy,

I tot your boy in ifc? Is your pil staying with you? Just tell them pd say cannot eat salt cos bad for kidneys.

When it comes to my own child, i very persistent and stubborn. And everyone knows so they dun dare to interfere.. and thus i have arguements with my own folks about it. Sigh..

So, do you put your boy in high chair while feeding? maybe can change a location of the chair in the house?

Does your boy eat your mum's porridge? you want to try other cooking mtd? like slow cooker porridge, or add othe grains to the porridge?

I know it frustrating cos my boy like to stick his fingers into mouth and rub his face with it.. and you can see porridge on his face and hair. i will have to stop feeding and quickly wipe him. This will happen a few times.. but well, they are just young for a short period and in no time, they dun even want us to feed them anymore.