(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

vernie: Isaias is also the same! haha....when I asked him what is his name, he will pat his own chest and say "name". Aiyo! haha. But when we asked him in Mandarin & give him hint (e.g say the surname), at times, he will reply us with his full Chinese name.

I think my boy pick up words quite fast and many are learnt through the iPhone or iPad apps (wonder if it's good or bad)...

I think he may be like my HB, very talkative one, haha.

Elisa, Junie: ya he's v active n sweat a lot, problem is he does not have the habit of drinking water, tts y I have to feed him on scheduled time, or could also be he's used to being fed on schedule. Haiz dunno wat to do.

Talking : I was not so worried, till when my pd ask if he's talking, then I say not yet, pd say to monitor till he's 2, if by then he's still not talking then hv to go see speech therapist. So I hv 3 more mths to encourage him to talk. Dunno how much is the speech therapist going to cost us again! It's really expensive to raise a child in SG lor!

Morning, all! This thread is alive again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kepsis: I guess every PD has his/her own view on speech development. My mom took H to another PD when she was about 20 mths. PD said not to worry if they couldn't talk yet. Most important is that they understand what we say. Actually our kiddos are talking, just that we can't understand their baby babble [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And about food and drink, H can also go without when she's playing, even sleep! So, we just ask her once in a while whether she wants to drink water or just shove her water cup to her. Haha.

Babycoco: Happy holidays! How did banana end up as bunkey? It's cute and funny at the same time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

H's name: First time she said it, she was with the PD. My mom was surprised when H answered 'Nana!' We corrected her, and she could say 'Hannah' until we went to Bangkok....there's a Nana train station and every time they announced the name of the station, she thought they were calling her and happily repeated! Now, when we try to correct her, to say 'Hannah', she'll shout 'Nana!'

But she's not calling 'Papa' yet. Not even 'por-por'. She'll call both 'Mama'! But she can call my sister 'yi-yi', without much prompting. Maybe H hasn't perfected the 'P' sound yet. Haha

She has learned to say 'cold'. It used to be 'hot-hot' for cold and 'hot' for hot! We had a hard time differentiating man! There was a phase when she labeled all food 'hot', even warm/cold food and refused to eat. Quite exasperating

She used to sign 'thank you' but has since replaced that with a verbal 'xie xie'. And she understand that also means the same in English [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She has learned to sign 'more' from Baby Babble. That's a very good series. Wish I had started her on it when much younger

Food: Can introduce more textured food to their diet. This will also help in their speech development

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/baby/caring-for-baby/why-chewing-is-important-for-speech-development-20110324-1c8of.html

haha jess, Hannah so cute! When its hot, Skyler will say "Hot" but when its cold, he will say "not hot". He simply refuse to say cold -_-"

Any of your kid is fussy eater here?

I'm so sad! This morning i finally burst out and shout at Joy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I wonder why nowadays she dislikes to eat home-cooked food. At 1st i thought it was my problem as hubby said i always cook the same porridge with same taste for her.

Thus i went to borrow recipe from library and try to cook something different for her.

But everytime after she took 1 or 2 spoons, she will just refuse to open her mouth to eat!!

Remember when i brought her to Batam trip, i purposely woke up at 4am just to cook for her and bring the porridge all the way to Batam, but she not even ate more than half bowl!!

These 2 days i start to prepare bread and hard boil egg for her breakfast, but she just split out all the food!! I was so angry this morning until i shout at her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so guilty but really very sad when she refused to eat my food.

Right now we not yet expose her to outside food, even go outing i will try to cook for her and bring along. I wonder why she becomes so fussy now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sun_tan: Is good that Skyler is using 2 words! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The start of using phrases will lead to sentences!

Carol: Is it food strike? Dun worry, nowadays I always scold my boy too cos he is throwing tantrums for no apparent reasons. Dun be sad.

Eliss' - What's yr Name?

Keila ' - Kei, Keida

Eliss' - 你叫什么名字?

Keila ' - 昭仪 (with a slang) hahaha

two weeks ago, she can prononced strawberry, now cannot liao. funny can regress one meh?

babycoco - you have to book the post weaning food in advance... do call up SQ now ... and the finely cut food can be a little dry, do give smaller mouthful to prevent gagging

G is also not talking much, must be my fault since im so lazy to teach him. However he babbles super alot so i'm not really worried. He also repeats after us, one of his first word was "GOAL!" which he learn from his dad

As for food, he eats well. Hes about 12.5kg now last measured 2 weeks ago. Nowadays its just soup and rice for him with fish and veges. Different kinds of soup we will boil for him everyday. But he does not eat western.. we tried pasta with him yesterday he dont want =\

Hehe! Our tots are so cute with the way they say things.

Junie: Isaias also calls himself “name”. Haha! Dunno whether Ian is difficult to pronounce or he just have not mastered the sound of “ee-yern” yet.

Babycoco: Ah-mee-mee…that’s so cute. And yes, how did banana ended up as bunkey? Cute and funny!

ica: Looks like our PDs have the same view – so long our tots can understand what we say and they can say a number of words themselves, they are OK in terms of speech development for now. The principal at Ian’s future school also said the same thing to me when I went there recently to pick up his uniform and told me they will encourage him to talk more when the time is right. By the way, Ian’s Nana = banana. ;)

Eliss: I think they can regress – sometimes Ian also forgot some words he has said before, those not so frequently used ones…

I find that they learn and pick up new words / skills when we least expect it. When I tried to teach Ian to recite ABC and 123, he simply refuse to repeat after me. A few days later when I tried again, he surprised me by giving me the phonetic sounds of more than half the alphabets. I think he picks them up from Leapfrog Letter Factory DVD (he loves that DVD and kept asking to watch it)…and probably the foundation in zoophonics when he used to attend GUG helps…

The same for self-feeding. About 1-2 mths back, he kept insisting to self-feed, so I finally let him try (coz me lazy mama, prefer to quickly feed him and clean up). After a few attempts, he is getting better and better at it but still messy and need to supervise. When we are outside, he can eat a bowl of rice on his own, we just need to supervise and guide him from time to time…

Carol: I know how it feels when they reject food, especially when we prepared it for them. H has spit food out, and even pushed the bowl onto the floor in protest! Maybe Joyce is teething? Or just no appetite lor

Tantrum: I just leave H to cry it out. But she'll cry only a short while. If you give in to them, they'll know they have a little control over you.

My horror story: We went to market. While my mom went grocery shopping, I took H to the slide - big mistake! It was getting hot and H refused to leave the slide. So I forcefully carried her away, telling her there're more things to see, etc. She cried murder and when I put her down, wah! She threw herself onto the floor! 2 old uncles sitting nearby helped by telling her (one in English, the other in Chinese): big girl already, cannot cry, going to school soon. Immediately H stopped and smiled at them. Even threw them flying kisses when we were leaving.

Aiyoh...with kids, can't help but be really thick skin. I was prepare to just let H cry it out. Hahaha. After that, no more such dramatic acts.

Eliss: yes, can regress. H could say 'rainbow'. Now it's just 'bo'

Jace: ooh! Skyler knows opposites already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Carol: actually i hv no patience in feeding my boy one cuz his mouth open so small when it comes mealtimes. Takes abt 45-60mins to finish his meal.

I can understand how u feel too cuz sometimes i will try to cook something new for Isaias to eat but he doesn't like it & refuses to eat. I will feel fedup cuz waste my time & effort.

Vernie: wow, great job Ian. He can self feed during meantime so well. My boy just self feed for awhile, play play only then.bk to his nonsense patterns.

hihi!!

haven been posting for a while!

howie's laosai finally recovered aft more than 2wks.

now his wt only 11+kg nia..

he's a picky eater too. prefers outside food than home cooked.

hence i gave up cooking porridge for him when we r out for a long time ago.

his fave food is chicky rice.

my mum also stopped cooking for him exclusively. he's eating normal adult home cooked @ home now.. 2x rice a day.

but still skinny.

speech wise, im not worried. he can express himself quite well & we understd wat he wants.

n he loves to call his frens names... like GARETF & ENZZO! lol!!

ica:

Hannah sound cute!! Gave the uncles flying kisses some more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I don't think Joy is teething because when she refused to eat bread with cheese, i gave her a bowl of puff, she could finish up whole bowl and even request for more!!

Mrslong:

Exactly agree with you!! That's why i really couldn't control myself this morning!

Sometimes i feel that nanny can take care of her better than me at least she will still eat proper meal in nanny's house.

carol: i tink our kids kno who they can bully/sai nai.

howie doesnt eat well at all @ my IL's hse (even if im the one feeding).

cuz he knos there'll be someone hanging ard to 'save' him or brg him go walkwalk if he doesnt wanna eat.

strange thg is wheneva my mum feeds him @ my mum's place (cuz she's helping me w him)he can finish his rice & can ask for more.

so conclusion for howie is tat this chao recruit behaves better in army camp than at his yeye/nainai hse!

DQ:

Ya,my girl is super hot temper when being with us. She will get frustrated over very small matter.

Nanny said she can finish her meal w/i 10 minutes, but at home, she needs to take about 1 hour to finish her meal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

They become little evil at this stage!!

DQ: ya same for me, with my helper ard K's more 'teh', will want her to do this n that, but when with me he's different, like more independent, cos I'm the 'bad' guy at home.

Carol: dun be sad, u r not alone, I too have similar problem, I tried a few times cooking for K but he refuse to eat, only keen on porridge that my helper cook, now I always need a lot of courage to cook for him again cos I am afraid he will reject my food, I feel like he's rejecting me like that.

Babycoco: maybe banana is linked to monkey so it became bunkey? Lol so cute!

Tantrum: K starting to throw tantrum already too... Now we just either let him cry it out or distract him with something else. Usually a video of himself will distract him.

Kayden recently super vain, he loves to look in to the mirror, like jumping or when we dress him up, even when he's throwing a tantrum crying, I notice he's also looking into the mirror when he's doing that. Buay tahan him! Lol!

Paiseh, I know these questions are quite out of point here, but I hope any of you who had experienced can advise me, cos my mar thread not very active n most of them having supply problem. The qns are:

1) currently I'm expressing BM for my no.2, one day she drinks ard 600ml but I'm producing ard 2000ml daily, I've been storing the excess but now I think it's too much already n my 2 freezer all full already. Now I've reduced to pumping 4 times a day. Will my supply drop? N if it does drop will my body think that I'm weaning n I end up not producing any milk? Or can I just pump 4 times n I limit the amount I pump out? Meaning I dont totally empty my breast?

2) And will babies overeat? Cos my no.2 been vomitting quite frequently, not everyday but like maybe 3 or 4 days once. I'm thinking did I overfeed her? Cos sometimes she seems like she still want more milk after I've fed her ard 100ml, but when I try to feed her again she uses her tongue to push out the teat (she does this very often even when she's really hungry so I'm also not sure if it's considered rejecting the teat) n when I persist a bit more, she starts to suck then shortly after she falls asleep. Most times it's ok, but sometimes she will wake up n then vomit.

3) how do I know if she does not like the teat? I'm currently using the nuk teat, I've tried pigeon ones before too, it's the same, I will always have to fight with her for awhile before she will start sucking. And I do not latch at all so by right there should not be nipple confusion right?

Thanks do much in advance!!!!

Wow Kepsis, your supply is so good!

I think the breast produces milk based on demand n supply. So if you pump more, body will think it need to produce more. Likewise if you skip a pump, it will also adjust likewise. So long as you don't totally stop, it will still produce milk accordingly..hope this helps. Agar agar from what I remembered from B's time.

Speech - B is very animated in his actions to describe things. think it's because I tend to do an action when I tell him a word..haha. He can link 2-3 words now like ' bear bear go out' when we go walk the dog, sometimes 'woo ee tere' when I'm on the phone.

His teachers say that boys usually start talking when they past the 2nd birthday so no need to worry about late talkers. Enjoy the peace now = )

i'm considering getting a twin stoller for my 2yo & 3yo. the front and back type.

anyone has used it before and care to share the pros and cons? which brand is better?

tia!

anyone planning toddler 2nd birthday alrdy? just wondering if anyone planning to get Ecreative cake... more than 10 pple can get 20% discount so wondering if anyone wants to join in to form a group?

ecreative? ex mah? haven seen their cake be4...i planning liao...i gt a cake design. but sourcing for a good n nt so ex cake shop to make it is cracking my head..

kepsis,

Luke also same, super vain like his daddy..wheneva we say go out gaigai, he will faster run to the room n wait to get change. n he will start to pick his clothes also..when i pass him something he don't want he will return n say don't want don't want. =.=!!

after dress up liao the first thing he do is run to the full length mirror n look at himself...then he will run around showing the people at home...now even the shoes he also wanna pick what to wear..

any babies start doing the self choosing already?

kepsis: ur ss so good u shd feed K the excess!

cuz during H's time i everyday throw away my excess bm. cuz H only 'drinks fresh'.

so this time rd im gg to feed H w my excess bm (if any). hope he'll drink. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

as for reduction in pumps, it'll reduce ur ss for sure. esp for ppl like us who pump exclusively, it'll affect for sure.

however, if ur #2 doesnt drink so much & u not feeding K, mite wanna consider cutting pumps. so our body wun b so 'hurt'. of cuz, u needa consider how long u plan to bf, as well as if u gg back to wk n pump.

u shd be gg back to wk soon i guess, so muz start to pump according to ur wk schedule le.

u pumping how many x a day now?

once back @ wk u plan to pump how many x?

oh ya, most impt is does ur #2 drinks frozen bm? i can still rem i was freezing happily tat time n end up H dun drink frozen ones. i threw / gave away all the frozen bm. wasted all my efforts of freezing earlier.

hope this time i can persevere bf for as long as poss..

kepsis: Your supply is so good! So envious! By the way which pump are u using? I was using Ameda last time, felt that it takes a long time to pump a reasonable amount. I am going to give the pump another chance when #2 arrives, if still not working well, will invest in another one (considering Medela Freestyle) and hope to bf longer this time round.

For you second question, perhaps you want to bring your gal to the PD for a check. She could be having reflux issue. Last time my boy was a reflux baby, every few days will just merlion out his entire feed...he was on medication and after every feed, we had to hold him upright for at least 15 to 25 mins before putting him down. He outgrew this issue by about 5 mths old, thank goodness.

lasery: mine like to choose his shoes! not clothes yet coz i never give him a choice...haha...just take out from drawer and dress him up...

Hi vernie, for medela pumps, the best to me is still PISA. Even though it is not as portable and it does not come with the handsfree attachment, its suction is the best and even mdm wong boiboi told us pisa is the best (when i went to see a lactation consultant last time) =)

Hi mummies ,

I'm going to register for my boy in child care AGAPE on next year and pay for first month fee of $1k , but, this $1k not refund to us if we decide not take up the place later on . Do this apply to other child care centre?

I also call some Montessori centre nearby my home area., just put my boy name in the waiting list without make payment and no guarantee by when any place available for my boy , guess this is popular demand centre.

I need you all advise whelter is my own problem to worry too much on the decision made. So much uncertainty , either my boy not get used child care life or I not satistfy on the centre operation or else

lasery2k

not too expensive for getting their big cakes when comparing with others avail in market i think [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

u know of any good contacts for bouncy castle, balloonists, face painters?

tek koh,

nope, his first yr party items i all get from the wholesale balloon shop at beach rd there...

i rented a balloon tank also..

think this year will also get from them.

but this year doing at home..i super lazi to book chalet..hahaha

Mrs.C,

luke know where his shoes are kept n he will go open the door n find his own shoes..as for clothes..most of the time is i take for them also..but he will comment on it..point point n don't want don't want...=.=!!..if i force him wear it he will make a fuse n cry..haiz..

lasery: Mine likes to choose his shoes too, but for clothes, cap, I will choose for him. haha. save time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yeah, most of the time he will say dont want,dont want. :S

For 2 year old birthday, I think will keep to a small family affair and eat out. Cos theres a celebration at hokey pokey [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and I will have a small celebration for him in school too.

Lai: My boy's school has a 2 weeks' trial period. So after 2 weeks there if you dun like and want to withdraw, the school will refund you the remaining 2 weeks' fees.

Anyone bought traveller cooking pot before?

I saw 1 model in Best Denki last week, if not mistaken it was Sona brand. But looked like low quality to me.

Any mummy can share with me what brand to buy?

have anyone encounter your little babies like to be a naked...everytime mine after bathe by me he will strip off the towel n run around the hse naked like a mad boy...

(only me bathe will like tt coz i will wrap him up n let him walk out of the bathe room. if the maid bathe him she will carry him into the room n put him on a high bed)

charlie,

talking abt cap..mine will geh siao say wanna put on his head, but after go out the cap he don't want to wear liao.

carol,

i nv buy cooking pot be4...duno how to cook ar..usually i bring luke oversea i will go the japanese supermarket at liang court to get instant porridge.

the next trip going there to buy instant rice also...hahaha...just bring along a microwavable tupperware can liao..

lasery: LOL! ur boy so cheeky!! For me, after bathing I will carry him with his towel wrapped and bring him to his bed. If not he will sure run ard and fall.

Mine likes cap now and abit hiao, last time he removed it but now, he likes it. Boys nothing much to doll up with, so cap is one of those "decorations". haha!

Toddler's bed: have any of you trained your toddler to sleep on a toddler's bed? Mine is still sleeping on his cot, but he likes to put his leg over and attempt to climb out! V scary cos he may fall over if he pushes himself up and further. And they are v strong.

toddler bed : erm...i put his cot to the lowest liao n also remove the side bar. put a mini side reel for him too...howeva, i make him sleep on my bed n carry him over to his own bed..in the middle of the night he will ownself climb dwn his bed n climb up our bed n snuggle in between us...(argh!!!)

charlie,

ya his bed is next to ours, but there's a gap big enough for walking...bo pian staying with in laws..no room liao..must wait til he's slightly older then move him to the maid rm..

now the maid will face black black if i let my son sleep in her room. plus nt i employ de..also bo pian loh..

ya, i got a side reel those attached on de.. then clip on his cot loh.

even he manage to sleep in his own cot for 1 night, in the morning when i wake up. i will see all his bolster, barney, blanket n even pillows on the floor..duno he sleeping or fighting ...

n he will be alone in the bed with nth in a "BIG" word position. =.=!!

tek_koh: for bouncy castle, you can check otu Singapore Toy Rental.

I had initially wanted to rent bouncy castle for my boy's BD @ a function room of a condo and sourced around. S'pore Toy Rental one is the most value for $. Abt $198 (for 3hrs) + $30 transport.

U can also check out Toys4Rent.

Another one I had enquired was Rent Kiddy Toy. They don't hv bouncy castles, but they have Anpanman or Thomas the Train train tracks, etc.

Anyhow, as I've already found another venue for my boy's BD, in the end didn't rent the bouncy castle.

Woah.. thread moving super fast.

Talking & Listening: Kayden can understand almost all the instructions I gave but of course willingly follow them is another matter. Haha!! Talking wise, he is also learning more and more to express himself verbally. Example when bathing, he will tell Papa "hot" or "cold. If the water temp is ok, he will nod his head and say "Hm". Actually teacher did say that Kayden is able to manipulate pple into doing things for him. That sound so scary when I hear it. His english is much better than his mandarin. Trying to brush him up on that.

Eating: Kayden at times will also eat two mouth of the food we offer him and put it on the table and ask for other food. After 2 or 3 times, I told him if you don't finish your food, I will not give you other snack anymore. Then he will take the remaining food which he left on the table and finish them.

Dressing: Kayden don't like papa to undress him or dress him or change his diaper. Dunno why. If papa try to do that, he will scream and cry like he got skin alive. But papa had always been the one bathing him so dunno why suddenly like that.

Sleeping: Kayden sleeps on a mattress on the floor now. We find it safer and he has a wider space to roll around too. Think we will start to train him to sleep on his own soon.

our kids are really getting cuter (and more pesky) by the day! Isabelle can say her name, speak in short sentences, and tell us what she wants. now we're working on how to get her to say please haha. we can really have short conversations with her now and she will tell us about her friends in the playground who blow bubbles with her. so fun.

only problem is that we don't speak to her in chinese (coz my chinese cannot make it), so i hope she will pick up proper chinese from CC when she goes later this month. occasionally i try to teach her a few words like "chong liang" (bathe), but she will repeat it with an ang moh accent. makes me worry what i sound like when i speak chinese hahah!

eating wise, i just plonk the bowl and spoon on her highchair tray and she will feed herself. usually she will eat most of it then tell us when she's done. i think so far we're quite blessed in this. i used to fight with her during mealtimes when i fed her porridge. now that she feeds herself, it's much much easier.

sleeping, she's still in the cot and not trying to climb out - yet. we bought a toddler bed and placed it in her room next to her cot so she's used to the bed, but we'll probably start training after she's settled into CC. now we tell her that's her bed and she will sleep there soon. like how mummy and daddy have a bed, she will have a bed too.

she always says she wants to "choose clothes" but i always choose for her haha! her shoes - she has specific pairs for certain activities - church, playground, shopping. we tell her to "wear church shoes" and she will take out and wear - usually no fighting on which shoes to wear. sometimes she will put the shoes on the wrong feet, then i will tell her "wrong way" and she will change. really so cute.

anyone's girl hates to tie hair? i feel like cutting her hair so it's not so messy but her ponytails (when she lets me tie) are so adorable. how to make her want to tie hair?? i tell her "so pretty" also dont want. only when i tell her cannot take out the rubber bands, must show your hair to grandma/uncle/aunty then she's ok. argh most of the time she looks like a street urchin with unruly hair.

peanut,

comb or put hair band or clip with cute items on it?

i so wanted a girl so i can tie her hair n doll her up..

But i have a little boy with so little hair ...even until now coming 2 years liao..i only cut his hair like 2 times...

n the recent hair cut make me so angry..told the hair dresser nt to cut his side burns n she shave them off infront of me..i literally make a fuse in the salon..

n she cut his hair until like put a bowl n just snap..so so so freaking ugly....nv going bk tt salon again...

lasery2k,

Thanks for yr info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

What's the taste of instant porridge? will it be too salty for them?

I remembered one of the mummy here posted traveller cooking pot before right? If not mistaken, should be Tefal brand.

Charliebrown, Amelie is also into wearing hats now. Took her to pd yesterday & she insisted on wearing her straw hat!

Lasery2k, I have a baby girl with lots of hair, but she refuses to let me tie her hair up (long enough to tie into pony tail) or put hairclip. Drives me crazy.