(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Fazzy: I think they are still too young to learn how to rinse their mouth?? Maybe a little older? I am still using tooth wipe for kayden. Bought too much so intend to change to toothpaste after I finish the wipes. Hehe!!

For relactation, it can be done but will take double or triple the effort.

Vernie: oh Ian is also on the waitlist? For the 9am-11am slot? Spoke to Serene. She said we are abt the 6 or 7 on the list and we wld probably need to wait till Mar 2012 for our turn le. Actually the facilities are so-so only & 1 of the PG teachers was there & she spoke to us briefly. She's an Indian & her Indian accent is quite strong though.

But since its only a 2hr PG, we thought just try it out 1st.

Mummies , recently so quiet on this thread!!!

Share your good news with us!

Others than call papa n mama, my boy start to call 奶奶, his grandma so happy to hear it!

Ya lately very quiet here.

My boy can call papa, mama, walk walk & the newest word he learnt to speak yesterday, 电梯 (elevator), Hehe.

He enjoys taking the elevator that my ILs & aunties will say to him repeatedly the word & he learns.

Junie: Yes, 9am to 11am slot. I asked for Mar 2012 enrolment coz first term got CNY break - don't want to let him go for 2-3 weeks then go for a week holiday and the re-adjust all over again after the CNY hols. Yeah, it is a very small centre but since it is only a 2hr PG and walking distance from both nanny's and my block, I will place Ian there for a year. Then in 2013, I will put him in a CC or kindy with better facilities. Looks like our boys gonna be classmates? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hihi mummies, ya forum is quiet these days....

Wah Mar2012 also got waitlist...so i need to find one PG for my baby as well? Pengz

my girl hits ppl all the time! i have taught her not to, by scolding her, explaining to her nicely it hurts and she must "love" people, smack her hand back, and lately new way is to confiscate her smelly bolster & let her cry for it the moment she hits me.. yet this doesnt stop her! she will hit ppl who tries to snatch her stuff, or if i were to stop her from playing something, she will hit me! same for strangers who try to touch her. so angry can.. any method to discipline her? she's becoming a naughty terror now.

SK,

my boy worse.. recently, he keeps using his hand to hit his head, then will start to cry.

He started doing this few weeks ago...he will do this when we ignore him. i think he just want to get attention.

dont know whether any mummies have this prob [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](

i was very happy few weeks ago when he stop throwing things... who know another bad habit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](

My friend is in need of Mamil Gold voucher applicable for Step 4 NewGen Pack (900g). Her girl rely heavily on milk instead of solid food. One month need 3 to 4 tins of milk powder. So quite heavy on their expenses.

Anyone has the voucher to giveaway?

Sk, my bb also very fierce. If she doesn't want to be carried, she'll try to hit the person when he/she reach out for her! So embarrassing. She doesn't hit family members though.

Hello mommies!

I would be going for a short HK trip during end of Oct taking Tiger Air. Its Skyler's first flight. The duration is only about 3.5hrs. Hopefully he doesn't get too cranky.

As for words, so far he can only say mama, papa, mum mum and no more.

Vernie: ya, that wld be fun! But we will only enrol him for 3 days a week PG. I was thinking of enrolling him to Paramount Kindergarten when he turns 2 or 3.

Junie: Me also enrolling for 3 days a week PG first. If he is OK, then maybe increase to 5 days a week after one term or so. You mean Marymount Kindergarten? I am considering that kindy for the year he turns 3.

Words: So far he can say mama, papa, car-car (his favourite), ball-ball, bye-bye (but sounds like "bah bah"), ber-ber (apple), air (means aircon) and "bah" (means bicycle - bicyle too long for him, so he says only the first syllable). How to teach them so that they don't repeat one syllable word twice? I taught him "car" but he kept saying car-car.

words: my boy wont say if you ask him...he will only talk if nobody ask him...his daily words: car, bus, ball, mama, dada (his daddy), kak (my maid). occasionally will say plane (if aeroplane pass by), star, ceet ceet (bird), og og (dog). but his fav word is car & mix up alot of items with car... he will point at the car & say car but flower, pacifier, bolster, water, remote control also car :D

mommies !

so nice to hear bb saying so many words right ?

I am thinking very soon they will know how to bargain with us and worst talk back to us !

hahaha!

my notti gal knows how to say common words but mainly still uses action to communicate to me.

but telling her to bring this and that and to do this and that, she is responding very well.

her best trick these few weeks are:-

u ask her "who is baobao?" - she will pat her chest

u ask her "baobao close your eyes and slp" - she will close her eyes for 2 seconds then smile at you

u ask her "bao bao smelly, how?" - she pull her top and try to remove her diapers, meaning go shower

u ask her "go gai gai ready" - she will take her shoes and try to wear herself

seeing her so many actions, my brother can't stop laughing at her. (my bro left SGP for 3 months for work, when he left C still cant walk)

Vernie: oh yes, Marymount kindy. Auto spell check by the phone & I didn't notice, Hehe. Wah, if both our boys go to Marymount Kindy too, then will be class/school mates again, haha!

Oh ya, my boy also says ball & buhbye (bye-bye). Very funny, my boy keeps on patting his hands on his chest & calls himself "papa" cuz my hubby patted his own chest & taught my boy to say papa (e.g. to show him my hubby is papa & me, mama). So now when we asked him "where's papa?", he will pat his chest & says "papa". Haha.

Seems like alot of baby has learned quite a number of words. Kayden still quite limited.

Words he know:

Mum Mum - Eat

Nei Nei - milk

Papa - Hubby or every other things.. LOL!!

Birrrrd - Bird

Pooh - Winnie the pooh

But he knows how to express himself more in action.

junie: hahaha ! ur boy learnt fast !

sometimes i oso headache how to tell my gal something or teach her to link this person to 1 action etc.

duck duck is link to her rubber duck

over last weekend she oso just learnt brown bear by recognising flash cards.

this morning she tell me "hsssh hsssh" I thought what is that ! she went to take her "hsssh hsssh" so it's actually her toy fish! lolx !

Oh.. my CL is in newspaper lei but for the wrong reasons. Mummies complained that she take deposits, never work for them, also never return deposits, stole abalones, work sloppily so that she can get fired and get paid too. Sound so scary.. she was so good when she is working for me. At that time she was working for agency.. now she is doing freelance, she shows all her dark side.

xbeanniex: Haha!! Ya lo.. we are their interpreters... my mum always say "Only you then know what he wants by the sounds he make".. I told my mum "Cause I am his mummy. You always say mummy knows a child best when we were young" LOL!!

Ya.. if I have #2, I also need a CL but scared of having a monster CL.. I think I will still try to engage from agencies instead of taking freelance.

Actually agencies cheaper and they also help us to do permit for our CL but we have to pay CL tax la. The last time I paid $1900 (inclusive of doing CL permit for me). CL tax was about $168. That time market rate for freelance is $2200 to $2400 like that.

Ann: my #1 my mum helped me.

#2 if if if come would be at my new flat rdy.

i would be happy my mum would be able to help me again but but but but i dont want my MIL to help out at all becos #1 i told her i BF-ing dont put any ginger into my food or soup (she want to prepare for me ma - i dont mind extra soup as i need the soup anyway) but she just keep her ears shut up and my HB also another dumb ass didnt tell her! then #1 reject my milk till i so stress then within 1 night my milk supply drop till almost 0.

Then i carry on stress stress stress till i have no more milk to feed #1.

thats y i die die if #2 comes i will want to have CL then my MIL can forget abt cooking anything ! all she can do is supply ingredients will do.

my mum is bo chap person, if dont need her help she lagi happy to do her own things. and appear only when she feels like it. (invite her out for dinner now also difficult lo)

now we r only approaching the terrible 2...now we know y...whent hey start to learn n express themselves to us...

mine will get angry n start to throw things if things don't go his way. Normally i will just put him there n let him cry. no 1 else is to touch him unless he stop making a fuse.

he will use actions with eh eh or eng eng to express what he whats more then talking still.

words he know,

dog, duck, bird, mama, papa, popo, ball ball, mum mum, nai nai, neh neh 'milk' , ye ye, jie jie, No, nah 'singlish expression of give you', not = "cannot" n at times he happy he will call kor..

items he reconigse are mainly his toys, fruits, family members...trying hard to get him to remember numbers now...hahaha..<--kiasu mama..

he understand most of the things we tell him but he love to do it the opp way when i tell him NO or cannot.

and if we get angry n scold him, he will go take a toy n give you after tt smile at you. =.=!! duno wanna scold him or take tt toy n can't scold.

Haha!! Ya.. getting a CL will be good but only if you get a good one. If you get a bad one then also stress like hell. I told hubby maybe if #2 come, I think of don't get CL cause expensive. Hubby say cannot... must get cause he think I will need more rest. I think it is more for him than me. Haha!!

Now getting my mum out of house also very tough.. she will say she wanna watch tv.. then I will say "keep watching tv.. that is so bad".. this is what she says to us when we are young. LOL!!

Ann: what interests ur mum other then TV?

my dad retired for 6mths plus now, other then basic house chores he did at home, i actually "made" him walk my old dog 3 times a day. in order to give him "chance" to step out of the house. Otherwise he either watch tv till he doze off else enjoy sleeping nap thru the day. (so unhealthy)

my old dog also very "cooperative" with my dad ! hahaha! (nvr listen to him most times) he will keep walking n marking n smelling till he is happy - leading my dad - stop at intervals to make sure my dad follows him walking. hahaha ! only when he is happy with smelling n marking, he will lead my dad home. hahaha! so indirectly my dad is actually doing some slow walking as exercise.

my this old dog dont do that to anyone else accept my dad!

Ann: I think it's good to have a CL too. haha as i c-section one, 1st 2 weeks cant do much action accept feeding. so i will do only feeding for all times and the rest i m not going to touch should #2 comes

oh ya, been waiting to ask did any grandparents of your bbs speak to them in dialect?

I wanted mine to learn cantonese and hokkien. So i insisted my MIL, FIL n mum to speak to him in cantonese. Due to his young age, he would be able to learn faster.

Me n hubby would be mainly chinese n english to him.

xbeanniex: Oh.. my mum is still working. So during weekend, she like to watch those dramas at evening time. Sometime wanna ask her out to dinner also tough.. she rather we buy and then eat at her house, then she can watch tv.

Oh, I also have C-section for Kayden. But I was up and about on 2nd day.. when I go home, I was quite mobile. Even went NTUC on the first day of discharge with kayden and papa to shop for grocery before going home and wait for CL to come. Haha!!

Sandy: No lei... my grandparents, mum, in-laws all speak to him in english or chinese. Hardly speak dialect. Hubby will once awhile suddenly speak cantonese to him and that's about it. Nothing else le.

beannie,

ya i really insisted it on them to talk to him in dialect. if not he will really become potato. i don't want tt to happen. he must learn his dialects too..

ann,

erm...it' really depends on if u want him to learn or not liao. coz i felt it would be better for him to communicate with elderly with the extra lang he knows.

tot of sending him to CS Montessori Learning Centre at serangoon for playgroup. but they haven get back to me on the pricing. most prob need to pop by and see the enviroment n ask price liao. it's pay by term de. hopefully won't be too ex.

Ann: hahaha ! after ops 1st 8hrs i very tired only. 2nd day was up and keep going to toilet pee becos gynea wants me to drinks lots of soup n water.

hahaha i oso very cheeky, went NTUC on every weekend with my parents after breakfast. But was wearing long sleeves lar..

Sandy: To me, I am fine on whether he wanna learn dialect or not. But he must at least know his Mandarin and Ennglish.

For hubby, he also wan Kayden to learn Cantonese and Hokkien.

I want a day-time CL for my #2, only to take care of my usual needs in the day. cos for my gal right after she was born i was taking care of her by myself at night because she was TBF. nth much a CL could do i think. yes it was tiring but because of my stubborness, i didnt want any help as i just cant sleep in peace knowing that my bb is not with me!

actually, our babies are more expressive now....

my boy also shows his temper/throw tantrums by screaming and/or crying when we take away his toys or pacifier!

my boy used to give us his pacifier when we asked for it when he wakes up from his sleep/nap cuz I only allow him to take paci when he sleeps...but cuz last week he was down with stomach flu and was so unwell, we gave him paci even it's not his nap time.

So this week, when we tried to take his paci from him, he refuses to! And when I take it out from his mouth, he will cry buckets!

Then best part, my ILs will say aiyo..just give him lah (cuz they see him cry, they heartpain). I refused too and told them multiple times...DO NOT GIVE in to him. Let him cry and after awhile, distract him and he'll be ok liao. Then, got once after this, when I was out of the house and my boy cried for his paci after his nap, my FIL just give it to him.

I hate it when my ILs (who are my boy's main caregiver) give in to my boy easily and spoil him. That makes things difficult next time to discipline him or wean him off the paci.

Very angry le!

I told my HB....your PILs can help to take care of our boy, but when it comes to discipline, pls don't let them tell me how to do it!

junie: that's the problem that's y i didnt want let my ILs take care bb. for my own parents, they themselves scare of trouble... plus my mum is famous for her discipline in the household. so my mum wouldnt give in to bb too much thou is her grand daughter.

Junie: Kayden also like your boy. He was having high fever for 3 days so we gave him the pacifier to soothe him even when not sleeping time. Then after that, also had a hard time getting to get him not to take pacifier when not sleeping. But after perserverance for a few days, he is revert back to old self le.

I do agree in-law who are main caregivers had to work with us parents when come to discipline. Of course we understand that it is natural for grandparents to dote on grandchildren but cannot spoil them.

Luckily my MIL is willing to work with us. When we dictate what can or cannot do, she is more firm with kayden. But maid and FIL are different stories. They tend to give in easily to Kayden so now Kayden know who to look for when he throw tantrum to get what he wanted.

Sometimes quite envious of those who have reliable ILs to help take care of the bb. Mine treats my boy like a plaything- always asks him to entertain them. Then after one hr of fun, they pai pi gu n say bye bye. But also gd that I don't let them take care of my boy. My FIL was happily playing wif my boy that he shouted "wah lan!!" ( a hokkien vulgarity to me). So I will not want my boy to learn hokkien from them. Pick up gd Eng n Mandarin first.

Junie: i am also facing the same problem. M was down with flu & fever 3 weeks ago. we just give in to him & let him have his pacifier even not nap/sleeping time. after he recovered, MIL keep passing pacifier to him. i told my MiL to stop giving him pacifier but her response was just give him, nothing wrong for kids sucking pacifier for whole day. she even give pacifier when M having his porridge..complain to hb...hb told his mum but still does not work bcs MIL is the kind of empress Wu... only last friday i threaten to resign & look after M, then she scared & listen to us...

he screamed & cry everytime i pull out his pacifier bcs he has been sucking pacifier for almost 24 hours for almost 2 weeks. he only start to forget about his pacifier few days ago...

Lasery: i've asked my frd abt terrible two- cos her boy is 2.5yrs old. She said is terrible cos they will become v expressive and assertive. My frd does not believe in caning, she set up a reflection corner for her boy. When he does wrong- stay there for 5 mins n later both mum n child talk abt what went wrong. I like this method alot.

But really lah, now 14mths old also quite terrible, but plus cute loh! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Pillow... me! me! my boy likes to point (haha, sometimes with both hands at the same object) but does not like to talk at all! He can say mama, mum mum, ball-ball - we know coz he said before, but simply refuse to says these words on a regular basis. He is still at caveman stage - eh eh eh and point. But he understands most of what we say, such as identify body parts and many objects, hug/sayang etc.

Prevanar and chicken pox vaccine: My boy will be taking these jabs soon at 15M. Any idea if there may cause fever?

i know every kid's development is different. but just can't help but wonder why my girl not speaking since there are few other kids at home to "teach her".

apart from the early "mum mum" for eat, she hasn't been interested to speak . not even mama or papa. aargghh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]