(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

sweetkiss - my boy can sleep from 10pm to 7+am w/o milk...but when he wake up i will just latch him although he didn't cry for milk...then he will Zzzz again...will ask for milk around 10+/11+am... I'm also thinking whether he's getting enough or not...cos my ss not enough... then i ask my friend & was told that maybe bb got drink the hind milk therefore can keep them full for longer hours

Ann >> It's safe to go BKK, no issue. My HB just got bk from there on biz trip few weeks back.

I had also wanted to go on a short trip next month to either HK or BKK, before I go bk to work. But then Nov/Dec go HK abit "bo hua" cuz no summer sale. We love their summer sale!

Last time I also like to go to beach resorts but now tummy still not flat yet, so abit paisay to wear my 2pc swimwear still...so at the moment, beach resorts are out for me, hehehe.

Junie: Haha.. I can't stand HK summer.. too hot for me liao. I dun really shop much so i normally go there eat and eat nia. If I go HK now, I would most probably buy lots of baby stuff. Haha!!

Mdm Ida say you very thin lei.. can start wearing your 2pc swimwear le la.

Ann>> My HB & I love to shop, so when we went to HK last Aug/Sep, we really shop till we drop. We shop more than we eat le...haha.

aiyo...i may be thin but my tummy still hanging loose le. Need to tone it 1st. Even my HB jokingly commented I'm "fat"...and I always joked bk "I give birth to your son & this is how u treat me".

Irene : thanks for the link.. Hmm.. from wat u say, maybe i could buy 1 and try ba.. Will persuade my hubby.. heehee~~ Thanks alot.. heehee~~ Not yet buy a pump worz.. I seldom go out.. Hubby also don allow me to go out alone with bb.. He like abit scare i lost his precious son... >_<|||

ica : ohhh~ farts very smelly.. heehee~~ ever since after birth, my farts has been so smelly le.. if i take fenugreek, will i be like super duper stinko fart?? lol~~ Ohhh~ bb also will kena the same... lol~~ than my room gt 2 stinko farts lorz.. hahahah~~

sweetkiss : my boy can slp thru out the nite too.. but the 1st feed for him is usually 7 or 9am.. he can suck for like 5min or 15 min or 30min.. s long s he nv seen like hungry for milk can le.. and u may feel ur bb weight when he carry him ar.. LOL~~ my definately like a fat boy.. fats all over his thighs, arms, and cheeks.. lol~~ My FIL asked me to give him less milk.. lol~~

Junie: For me, I think beside swimsuit, i need to wear a huge tee over then i dare to step into swimming pool again ah. Haha!!

Boy clothing: Hey.. anyone know where to buy those 2 pcs clothing for boys.. mostly i see are rompers. Enough rompers liao.

keropi: ya.. my bb didnt cry for milk but she will be sucking her hands with eyes closed, so i give her my breast, scared she hungry!

hershey: haha.. yah my parents complaining hand ache after carrying baby!

by the way for those who are still nursing, can we wear back wired bras?? non-wired ones the support not so gd, and cannot go strapless.. scared my boobs become saggy!

ann, you mean like t-shirts & shorts? my girlfriend shops for her boy at zara, maybe you can check out what they have? and you know what, if you go hk, zara is about 15% cheaper there :)

sweetkiss, i think not advisable to wear bras with wire, can cause blocked ducts. my bb also sleeps thru the night, last feed at 8pm, she wakes up between 6-7am. but she'll be super hungry.

sweetkiss,

ya, not advisable if you're still nursing. but i've seen wired nursing bras at M&S. but non-wired bras really not enuf support lor, especially if you've big boobs. i've stopped BF so i'm back to wearing wired bras - feel so much better but needs some getting use to after a period of carefree days for my boobs. hehe! i'm wear cup E so can imagine if not enuf support...

Ann: I also thinking of bringing bb with family to go holiday when he’s bigger. Probably will go HK cos got Disneyland etc. My fren brought her 2 boys to HK and they enjoy it very much.

Valerie: oh the swimsuits r so cute!!! I like the bee one too =)

Keropi: I got this http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4084065.html?1285842367 from sgmambo. I think the tub n float looks better hee. And this one also totally don’t need to inflate. The other one you need to inflate the rim.

Keropi, is there an infant centre at blk 5?

That's good, so near. I was still thinking where to find. How much does it cost and what is the name ? Have u been there to check on their programmes and facilities? Ratio 1:5?

We are going to be future neighbors[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have you sourced for ID yet? Which floor you staying?

suntan >> my boy also can't really sleep thru the nite yet. The longest he could sleep without a feed was for abt 4 -4.5hrs. Me trying to cut down on one of his night feed from 3 night feeds to 2.

Sometimes I'll succeed, sometime no...hehee.

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I am rather new to this forum and came in to seek help, upon my friend, Sophia's suggestion. She was an avid member here and has actually help me seek successful help from here before and thus, here i am myself!

Allow me to intro abt myself..

I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of

breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are

comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from

you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 4 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed or obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!

Irene: For Disneyland, i told hubby wait for kayden much bigger, then we save more money & fly to tokyo. Hehe!! Then Kayden can accompany daddy to sit the kiddy rides. My hubby is scared of height and those adrenalin pumping rides. I think I will give HK Disneyland a miss. Hehe!!

Sun_tan: My boy also like that. I DF him at 11pm. Then he will try to wake up at 3am.. I will quickly put pacifier for him, then he will sleep till 4.45am to 5am like that then I got to feed him le. Hai.. just have to wait till he is ready to drop his night feed lo.

But since I now started working le, I enjoy my time more with night feeding my boy. Can hold him close and look at him sleep in my arms. Although next day work, quite tiring. Haha!!!

Night feed: ya my boy also waking up in e night, I tried to give him pacifier den fall asleep but will wake up in another hour, so I also dun dare sleep, n i feel even more tired, in e end I just feed him when he wake up, so tt at least I can slp peacefully for another 3 hrs. Dunno when is he gg to drop his night feed, I'm gg back work le, dunno how to last the whole day at work!

Hi mommies! I bought a swim tub + neck float + waverider (float for swimming pool next time) all for only $70. Bought from BP here.

I also bought a deep freezer for $269 at mustafa today .. Tecno brand! Haha today is a shopping day !

Jaclyn,

i oso intends to get a deep freezer, mind to share a pic of the freezer u bought....i'm still deciding

can see here: http://www.audiohouse.com.sg/index.aspx?uc=products_prodlist&CateID=91&Alpha=T

the model is TCF-148. w563 x d527 x h838mm Ya i found mustafa to be cheapest even though i didnt really scout around. however i know the retail price for this is 328 and some places selling 299. Mustafa i found it at 269 with agent delivery to house (in fact i bought yesterday, they delivered today liao quite fast).

Its the smallest one i could find that does deep freezing at -18degrees.

Can I know once we stop breastfeeding,will be we put on weight easily ? I planned to stop breastfeeding when bb is 6 months old coz there's a blocked cyst in my left breast, need to go for another review

sito,

when u abt to stop BFing, juz watch ur food intake then u wun put on weight easily....coz when we BF we tends to eat more

Hi everyone... who still using S size mummypoko?

I overstock 2 packets 72pcs, any takers?collect @ admiralty link ok...tat time NTUC offer 20.65, think now offer ended le, I can sell $20 each packet, buy 2 a bit more offer, sms me at 93621700 for fast deal please...

Im feeling so gulity to stock so much.. sob!

Ann - Sorry, I couldn't make it to the gathering on 10th.. But would love to meet all of you North mummies, perhaps another day... Enjoy!!!

Seems like a lot of mummies are talking about holidays now... Yeah, we should all plan an overseas gathering... Hee.. For me, I'm also planning for a holiday now.. But not sure where to go as I will be bringing bb along as there is no one to help me look after him.. HK is not so child friendly although I would love to shop n eat there.. In fact, I think Taiwan too.. It will be diff to find a place to just change bb diapers.. Haiz.. Still thinking where else to go...

Jaclyn - I also just bought my chest freezer on thurs from Carrefour.. But delivery can only be done on next Tues wor.. Wow.. Mustafa is cool.. Haiz.. I should have go there instead.. Would have been able to freeze my milk earlier.. My current freezer is already too packed.. I bought the upright freezer instead of the deep freezer as I find it easier to sort & pack the milks but I think the deep freezer can freeze at lower temperature as compare to the chest one.. Mine is Farfalla brand, selling at $299 with delivery..

Hi all - Would like to ask some questions for storage of breastmilk.. If I had freezed my milk earlier on our normal fridge freezer which can only last 3-6mths.. By swopping them to the chest freezer later, will the life span of the milk last longer since chest freezer can store milk for 6-12 month?

keer13,

i oso juz bought the chest freezer....went yest to Giant but they can oni deliver on wed earliest....frozen BM can oni be kept for max 6mths

Those interested in getting the freezer can go Giant buy, price at $299 but they giving out $8 voucher for every $50 purchase....till today oni...the vouchers can be used till end of oct....every $50 purchase can offset 1voucher...so meaning if u buying alot u just bill $50 each n u can use all the vouchers u hv liao

Just curious, for those mommies who is gg on holiday n not bringing bb along, so u would bring ur pump along?

Holiday for me seems impossible for now cos I need to pump every 4hrly. So can't possibly be finding places to pump when overseas n storage gg to be a big headache too.

Today am caught my maid sleeping in the toilet for 30 mins, actually I knew all along every am when she wake up at 6.30pm she would hide in the toilet and sleep for min 20mins to 30mins.Today can't stand her anymore and I exposed her after knowing for 2 months! Thought of giving her a chance to change but never!

I waited her outside the toilet and confronted her,she deny den I told her I saw her sleeping in the toilet she just said Sorry Mdm!

I am waiting for another new maid,meanwhile should I just bring her back to her agency or wait for the new maid to come? Anyone also have maid giving problems?

sun-tan: for sure must bring pump along. I going usa in January, I intend to pump and dump. Because we are pure pumping, we must be really diligent and pump regularly. I try n slack abit, night time stretch to 5-6 hours pump instead of usual 3-4, then really can see a dip in supply after few days. Now panic must pump more often to get it back!

Sito: if you have confronted her, do u sense her unhappy with u? If so better send back. Don't take any chances as she is taking care of your baby. Better not let her know she is going to get sent back, that will be worse.

Keer: yes tecno also have the upright freezer with compartments for easier sorting, however sales man told me the temperature will dip more everytime we open it as compared to those open from the top. So I bought those white styrofoam boxes to store according to month

Irene - U had received the swimming tub liao? is it good? any bad/good remark on the tub u bought? Yah i saw this BP too but my hubby wanted to get the blue one... personally I also prefer this...cos it look better...haha... haven't place my order yet...will do so after your reply...thanks

Valerie - The infant care centre is called - creative starkids campus.. Both of us find the environment quite clean & tidy lah.. is $750 after MCYS deduction.. I'm staying at 28 floor - how about you?

By the way, anyone got their nursing bras from Mum Indulgence BP? the material ok? Still thinking whether to buy wired nursing bra or not? anyone wearing it - any feedbacks? I actually tried once wearing back wired normal bra but it isn't comfortable but scare the breast will become saggy.... women - so many things to worry about...

Keer: the freezer u bought is the open fr top one like those put ice cream one or open front with drawers one? Mustafa selling techno brand open front one cheapest is 300+ near 400. But is techno brand. If carefour cheaper then I'll buy fr there too.

Bra:

I have been wearing normal wired bra ever since delivery. I will just flip the cup inwards when I want to nurse. :D I tried using nursing bra, dun really like the design and also the clipping.

Baby Swimming:

I went north point today to let my bb swim!!! She seems to enjoy it!!!! I planning to get a pool to let her swim at home once or twice a week. I plan to get my tub from here:

http://yourbabycanswim.blogspot.com/

So far only valerie bought from there right? Is it good? Which tub you bought?

The tub is big enough for adult to go in! So I can foresee myself soaking in it since my house got no bathtub :p Can also use for my next bb. *haha*

Hwa Xia Baby Spa:

The people there very friendly and helpful. Northpoint branch got 1 big pool and 4 small pool only.

When I went there, there's not much people, so my bb can swim right away. Just need to wait for them to prepare the pool. After which the lady will help bb massage or "warm up" a while before putting the float on. Oh, not forgetting swimming diapers.

The lady is very helpful, after putting my girl into the pool, she will still hold onto her to help her move. Then slowly my girl is on her own!

There's no time limit, and my girl seems to enjoy it, so we just let her swim swim swim. But the lady say first time dun swim too long so we took her out at about 20min.

It was really an enjoyable experience for my bb, me, hubby and the grandparents. :D *keke* took videos of my girl, will try to upload it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jastine, seems like its fun eh!

Ann also sms me say she took the package~! lol

I wanna bring my son also....

will it be too early since they are still young ah? hmm.. the water cold a not?

cheese: Water not cold one, they will use warm water. :D My girl only 2.5 months and she really enjoy it. ;D

The people there quite pushy with the package. I didn't sign up cause I know I will get a tub online. So much cheaper. $75 a tub and can swim as many time as you like and at the convenient of your home. :p

today my son had his first swim at home! Must say its really fun and entertaining for everyone. He also really enjoyed it and all of us (the adults) were laughing as well. BUT just a warning.. it takes up ALOT of water! We did a calculation based on the dimension ... it was close to 300litres of water to fill the tub up. Feel so wasted!!

Jaclyn: Ya! Grandparents really enjoy watching bb swim!! We kept laughing at bb's expression etc. Damn Cute!!

The Babyspa do sell the tub and the lady told me that the water dun need to throw away, can keep for next use since it's home use. :p But I think not safe hor?

Can use it to wash toilet/flush toilet! :D Wash corridor. Clean the house? *haha*

Keropi,

I also find it uncomfy wearing wired bras after almost 9 mths of wearing non-wired bras but hv to get used to it lor. Really, nursing bras not enuf support- it's like all over the place, if u get what I mean

Re: Baby swimming

I took my baby to swim, too but went to the Plaza Sg outlet. We reached there about 10.40am and one baby had already finished his swim. Such an early bird!

Anyway, she cried when she was being massaged but once in the water, she went all quiet, then slowly started kicking her legs and moving her arms. After 5mins, she started crying. The lady tried to calm her down but couldn't - she cried even louder! I think she didn't really like the float around her neck and the tub felt bottomless...but she likes her baths at home...hmmm... But hubby still took their package for 10x. They offered our session for free if we took up the package. Initially he wanted to take 20! I said "nooooo!" he told the person-in-charge "she's the boss" made me looked bad

Jaclyn,

Ya lor, a lot of water, that's why I decided not to buy the tub though it's nice to set it up at home, and so much cheaper. Wash entire house also dun need so much water lor

Jastine,

Even if it's for home use, I'd throw the water away lor

Was your baby tired after the swim? Mine was super tired, just slept in the car and even at my cousin's place. She din finish her milk - too tired to make the effort. Haha! Got home she also slept for a while but she was very happy today, like she has many things to tell us

Brought baby Kayden to Hwa Xia at Northpoint for his first swim today. He was so happy.. keep splashing the water.. the water hit my face and his own face. Luckily I use his towel to cover my front. Or else sure wet one. Daddy say better to sign package cos usage of water too heavy and most likely we will be too lazy to prepare the water at home. So we sign for 10 session and given 1 more session free cause we dun wan their free gift of photoshoot. Maybe next time try massage also.

Oh.. i also saw Lynn & Enzo today. Kayden finish swimming le then they came.

Jastine: Were you the mummy I spoken to just now at the centre? Commenting that your girl is chubbier? Wasn't too sure.

Jonas: Go la.. the water not cold at all. Quite warm one. I still got the $10 discount voucher for first trial lei.

Ann: OH! That's ME!! *hahaha* my girl really very chubby ma! I see ur boy so small and cute...that's why I ask how old ma! I thought only 2 months! Then when u say 3 months I was like "oh man..my girl so fat!" :D

ica: My girl not tired at all wo! Drink a bit milk then sleep awhile when we eat dinner at Northpoint then come back home wake up le. But she drink a lot when reach home.