(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

astro_gal

u too, keep on keeping on... u will be okie de.. hv faith... sometimes, our little one is stronger than we think they are...jia you!

I went for my checkup last week and I was given more folic acid (about 50 days supply!) and 3 bottles of Obimin. I forgot if I was told to finish the folic before Obimin. That would mean taking it during my 2nd trimester... Is it right? Anyway the Obimin tablets are quite big to me... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Also I have been having bad constipation, only manage to clear bowels once a week! And everytime it ends with a lot of bleeding... What shall I do? Doc asked me to eat more fruits but I don't know if it is safe, I only eat kiwis and bananas... Must we avoid bananas? I am eating those small ones used to make goreng pisang.

Gal

if u all need folic acid can get from unity pharmancy at $3 for about 100 tablets...

same as wat gyane give us...

The gyane i saw to confirm my pregnant chgs more.. abt 30 tablets for $8

Sweetkiss

My mum told me not all type of banana can eat.. i dont know y... only particular...

Sweetkiss, I think fruits like apples, pears, grapes should be all right. Just dun take those "cooling" fruits like pineapples, starfruits.

sweetkiss

u can finish ur folic and take them with obimin too, no harm...

as for ur constipation... welcome to prgnancy! the only way is either u increase ur intake of fruit and veges, if not, take fibregel! but why are u concern about saftey? if u r concern then buy organic fruits, but they will cost u alot of money....'

best part about bananas, they can help u relief consitpation or caused constipation... so if u think bananas maybe a culprit, stop eating it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yvonne

if you are "pantang" about fruits, u dun take delmote type... they say bb will hv a lot of phlegm after delivery... my mom always tells me not to take soya milk for example, bb will hv lotsa wind and phlegm... and true enough, my #1 had quite abit! so now, i stay away but not completely

sun_tan

i see what u mean by safety to sweetkiss... cham, i am a bo chap mommy... i eat quite a lot of stuff, including lamb, which my mom forbids the most

sweetkiss,

you may wish to ask for the fibre sachets from ur gynae or GP, ot is completely safe or just drink prune juice. Most fruits are fine actually, maybe except those big bananas (older folkd's saying).

I get very easily agitated nowadays, and flare up easily over the slightest things. I feel very tired too, I really have not muchh energy to keep up with my girl, and she still asks me to carry her, she is 15 kg now, only give in once in a while.

Read somewhere in the thread about breastfeeding in the night during confinement, it is recommended that u feed on demand, even that means latching on or pumping milk at night. the trick is sleep when the baby sleeps. I managed to breastfeed for 3 yrs and the bonding between my girl and I is really very strong.

Hey, am thinking, should we start a list stating what can eat and what cannot? Me a 1st time mum here thus there are alot of things which i do not know, eg i didnt know that soya milk will cause wind and phlegm so that is very good information! Thus with the list, at least can use as a precaution [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

autumn

wow! i hope to bf if not pump exclusively for my #2 for a year, which i need discipline... only managed to bf my #1 for 5mths bcos she is such a fussy bb... hard to feed and i hard sore nipples so bad it bled everyday... so i scared....

yvonne

ya, soya milk is good... but then again, the older folks hv all sorts of theory... so can listen and then u decide if u wanna eat or drink something

1) coffee

2) tea

3) cold drink

4) watermelon

5) pineapple

6) lamb

7) particular type of banana

8) raw food

9) seafood

9) particular fish (cos might contain mecury)

alright mommies

chat again. time to knock off to my #1. hv a great evening [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually I feel we need not be too paranoid about what is to be eaten or not? eat in moderation is the key. everyone told me not to take cold drinks when I had my no 1. and all I had were ice kacang and iced drinks and my girl is fine! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my MIL told me not to sew, cut on the bed, which I did, and my girl proved her wrong. My MIL also insisted that I must supplement with formula milk even before I gave birth as she claimed that I won't have enough milk, and once again I proved her wrong by breastfeeding for 3 years. so just relax, take what you hear with a pinch of salt, sometimes ur gut feel is a lot more accurate than what u think.

Food that i don touch are coffee, pineapple, lamb, oranges, cold drinks (occasionally still drink a bit la..:p), half boiled egg, raw food, sharksfin soup.

Other than the above i eat almost everything but end of the day as long as we eat in moderation then there shouldnt be any probs.I drink soya milk during my 1st pregnancy too but again as long as i don drink everyday that its fine.

There are a lot of sayings from older folks so its just up to us whetehr we chose to believe a not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]of coz prevention is always betetr.

Hi Mummies, today thread is sooo long! Just came back from my scan today. Is ard 8weeks3days. My bb is abt 7.5mm. Is so cute when my gynae pointed out to me where is the head and the little legs n hands. My whole body melted. Hahhaa!!

Ann, I am so sorry to hear abt ur dad. But i believe ur dad will bless u wif a healthy bb! Staying happy is what he wanted u to be right now. So be strong!

Pardon me for not replying individually as i lazy to scroll up who ask me what.

For my spotting, I am still having it. But is not red blood. Mine is more of light brown, sometimes dark brown to even greyish colour. Whenever I poo, surely will have it. Currently on 3X Dusphanston and 3X Progynova daily with a weekly injection too. My gynae mention that base on my scan, everything is very fine. So ask me not to worry abt it as some woman will experience spotting through their pregnancy. But I guess for first tri, just try to lie down more n rest. Especially those with spotting, do not carry heavy things. I was also given this Obimin but I did not take it. I vomitted out the first time I took it and thus decided to give up. Haha.. For those mummies who are taking, remember not to take after milk. This is what my nurse told me.

As for food, I personally feel that other than raw food, the rest can just eat but moderately. Try to take more fruits if you are having constipation. For me, I set myself a routine. Everyday after breakast i drink a glass of plain water and go to the toilet bowl and wait. Train myself. Hahahha...

Cheers to all mama and lets jia you together!!

Jo_lyn, I have been so worried about my spotting. Currently I am having more than usual. Usually is just one time on the toilet paper, but in the afternoon I discovered that I had stained my pantiliner, and discharge is still coming out... =(

Will monitor and if by tomorrow still like that, will go have a scan and see how the inside is doing. Sigh.

wow Jo_Lyn!! u must be trilled to see your baby! glad to hear that everything is fine for both you and baby..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kat - if ur spotting is more than usual then better see ur gynae soon to check and make sure everything is alright.

Hi all! I'm new! My first scan!

Rough EDD is 25 Jul or earlier.

Checked last week and BB is 6wks 1D old.

CRL is 0.48cm and it shows one figure 7.5cm.

What is that? I dun noe how big is the Sac.. the pictures doesnt shows anymore figures...

Pardon me.. is MS comes only in the morning? LOL, these few days i just feel like throwing up even in the evening, throat is dry and feel like puking as and when..

My next scan is on 23 Dec.. I hope everything turns out well! So happy to hear bb heartbeat!

Jo Lyn,

Seeing the little one forming is really cute right? I also remember when I first saw my scan for #1, really touched and happy.

Oh ladies, if your doctor allows, do arm yourself with your camera with video function during scanning. I managed to film/catch my #1 yawning in my womb when I was 30wks preggie. So cute then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrates to all the mummies who went for a scan and saw bb inside you! Don't you just wish that the gynae can scan a little longer and not to ask you going down so fast!!?!

Ong, MS doesn't just come in the morning, it can attack you anytime. For me, sometimes i felt nausea but i wasn't sure whether it's psychological or it's really my body acting up. Cuz when a person knows that she is pregnant, maybe she will think she she is supposed to feel nausea, so that she will feel pregnant? Then when you want your body to react that way then the brain will really make your tummy uncomfortable? Arrrgghh i am thinking too much haha! So i think, sometimes i do feel nausea, but i control myself not to vomit out, not even "orrrhh". But i think i am feeling more nausea nowadays i can no longer say it is psychological. I get hungry easily, like every 2 hours, i MUST eat sth else i will feel like puking, that is MS right? Sometimes i could just wake up in the middle of the night because i was soooooo hungry. Anybody is like this too? you must eat when you are hungry else you will feel like vomitting? Now i even have to prepare bread beside my bed so that i can eat when i am hungry.

Also must have sth in my bag too.

Is Obimin a good supplement? I saw it on KKH pharmacy as i was looking at prenatal vitamins. wah out of stock eh......

I did a list of what to eat and what not to eat for the April thread mummies after I had m/c in august. I will share it here too, but then like some mummies here were saying, EAT IN MODERATION, everything is fine. Don't become FUSSY about food ok? not good either. So here it goes..

Hi Jo_Lyn,

can i check with you? did your doc mention that 7.5mm at 8 wk 3 days is a little small?

coz mine is at 12.3mm at 8 wks 5 days and my doc said its too small and not getting enough nutrient.

Don't eat:

(1) Orange

(2) Bittergourd

(3) Brinjal

(4) Spinach

(5) Lychee

(6) Mango

(7) Big fish

(8) Crab

(9) Shellfish

(10) Watercress soup (xi yang cai tang)

(11) Lamb

(12) Carbonated drink

(13) Alcohol

(14) Instant Noodles

(15) Avoid MSG

(16) Pineapple

(17) Coconut

EAT!! (not that you can only eat these food, all pregnant ladies should eat a variety of food, have a balanced diet, don't 挑食! I have done a little research, hope it helps)

(1) Oily fish - Salmon/ White fish/ small fish

(2) Whole grain bread/ brown rice/ whole grain cereal ( Try SELECT - whole grain cereal, very good! have walnut raisins inside, good for your baby, good for brain dev. you can get it in supermarket, saw it in sheng siong)

(3) Avocado juice

(4) Birdnest ( nice baby skin and fair, but not too much now, cuz it's quite liang, baby might have asthma if you drink too much, moderate amount is fine, or in your later trimester)

(5) Egg ( Please take more protein at this stage, as your baby's cell is made up of protein.)

(6) Fruits (Apple is good! It's a neutral fruit)

(7) Drink lots of water, keep yourself hydrated.

(8) A variety of green leaves vegetable.

(9) For those who has constipation, try drinking PRUNE JUICE! can get it from supermarket, get the 100% prune juice.

(10)Drink Milk

(11)紫菜汤

(12)Fruit juice, please order fruit juice if you are having meal in hawker centre/ food court. Cut down on ice lemon tea, green tea, whatever soft drink even without gas. Fruit juice is still the best for you!

Please feel free to add more details k!

I still have some other posts in the april thread.

Why must pregnant women take milk? It's because you all need to have enough intake of Calcium for the growth of your baby. Milk is not the only way to get Calcium, it's fine if you can't take milk, there are always other ways:

(1) Try other dairy product - cheese, yoghurt.

(2) Eggs

(3) Calcium-fortified Products

(4) Salmon

(5) Sardines

(6) TOFU, but it's still a processed food, so in moderation k..it has solidifier in it.

(7) Almonds

(8) Beans and Peas

(9) Broccoli - also rich in Folic Acid, very good for pregnant women.

(10) Green vegetables

• Calcium is not the only nutrient milk provides; milk is a major source of vitamin D. If you are not drinking your milk, you will need to try other methods to get this nutrient. A few minutes each day in the sun will help; stay away from the sun during peak hours since your pregnant skin is more sensitive now. Take a supplement that contains vitamin D, eat enriched cereals and breads and vitamin D-enriched soy milk and juice.

• If you are not getting adequate calcium through your diet, ask your doctor to prescribe a calcium supplement that won't be upsetting to your pregnant tummy.

To counter your MS, (provided by lynny5051)->citation haha!

1. ginger candy

2. lemon ginger tea (no caffeine)

3. peppermint tea (no caffeine)

4. lemon candy

5. mints

6. meiji plain crackers

7. H20 isotonic drink

shann yeng

yr list is helful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but it made me feel so guilty bec i ate crabs every week for about last 3 weeks bec of craving! then also i have one can coke a day. cold some more ... ai yah .. must prob go cold turkey. coke drinkin was really to counter the MS which makes me feel nauseous but looks like have to find stg else ..

actually i do find that cold drink is fine, any food that can counter your MS you can go ahead with it (Gyane told me before, but he said no pineapple) Then for crab, i think better stop la, cuz it's cooling. Big no in a lot of websites.

Shann Yheng, same as you, i feel like puking when i am hungry and i didnt eat. Also felt hungry easily nowadays. Previously i dun have the habit of taking breakfast. Now, every morning when i reached office, i sure dig for biscuits. I also carry some sweets with me in my bag. I tends to get car sick nowadays, thus the sweet is for me when i feel like puking in a bus (not allowed to eat food in bus right). And thanks for the comprehensive list! Very informative. Will take note on the list which shows cant eat (and will eat in moderation). Been taking bird nest too, but thats for my wedding in sept. Stopped in Oct and started taking in nov..hopefully the essence is still there. lol..

Jo Lyn

you can see ur bb so good..

excited ba...

as at now i cant even see my bb form yet..

only a oval egg size thing when i had my 1st scan on 24 nov.. and doc roughly say I am abt 4 week pregnant..

my next appt 15 dec hope can see bb and heartbeat..

morning ladies..

my gynae told me cold stuffs are find too.. when i told him i no appetite, he told me can take coke, ice cream, glucose drinks, juices.. anything that can makes me feels better..

i dont know why cannot eat orange and mango lah.. those are heaty fruits.. i still continue to eat though.. those are my fav food.. i do crave for instant noodles at times..

MODERATION is the key..

morn mommies

re: food

actually, old folks say dun take lamb bcos it may cos fits in bbs... but there is no scientific prove lah... i still take, small pc.... cos the smell of roasted lamb is oh so good!

i eat in moderation too and i will not avoid as long as i dun hv aversion to the smell of food..., which i am experiencing now.

re: scan

hope to see a fetal heartbeat tmr... am so anxious to see my little fellow... hee

Jellypurin, my apptm also tmr! Hopefully nothing corks up last min again. Excited. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Hi

I am so dreamy this few days....

i start having nightmare... am I having too much imagination !!!

saw brown discharge and i start thinking is this normal or

sun_tan

wow! tmr will b an exciting day for u too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yvonne

they say that pregger moms dream alot more... so u could be one of them

My Mother-in-law has instructed me not to take Del Monte bananas (too cooling), pineapples (well-known fact), crabs and shellfish (may cause allergies to bb), cabbages and other light coloured veg (too cooling), citrus fruits like oranges ( may cause phlegm in bb), mutton ( make cause bb to have epilepsy). 4 months into the pregnancy, take pine nuts and walnuts so that baby will be intelligent. Last trimester take bird nest andclose to delivery coconut drink so that baby will have nice and smooth skin.

Morning ladies!!!

I'm gg for my scan tomm too!!! excited + worried.. hope everything gg fine..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me too.. keep dreaming at night.. but cant remember what i dreamt of once wake up.. haha.. just dont really sleep well at night.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hmm.. but my gynae asked me not to take coke le.. cos got caffeine.. even im a coffee addict.. now already quit coffee..

nowaday.. i also feel very tired.. cant walk too much.. back pain.. having MS... will vomit out whatever i eat straightaway.. so sickening.. ahhh....

hihi Red bb..

jus read the earlier postg fr u.. yor gynae is Dr Dolly Wee ar? Same same leh ;)

is this your 1st kid?

i oso tested positive last wk bt nt yet visit her. i fully understand hw u feel as i been thru b4...

dont worry u wil b fine as u r having MS mah..

heard tat if got MS, meaning bb is growing well..

Do let us noe the gd results ya ...

Congrat Inuovi gal!!.. yeah.. mine is Dr Dolly Wee.. and yes.. this is my first baby.. so very excited.. haha.. ya.. Dr say the more MS meaning the healthier is our bb.. so i dont mind having the MS.. at least i feel more safe.. haha..

btw.. sounds like this is ur 2nd bb? how's Dr Wee ar? she is strongly recommended by my hubby's fren.. so. i also nvr look/ask ard for others.. i like her clinic and services.. dont need to wait, clean and very quiet... normally my visit will only take like 30min.. hehe..

thanks Red BB ;)

when is yor EDD?

erm.. my boy was delivered by Dr Wee 5 yrs ago ;)

i shall say this time round is my 3rd pregnancy..

as my 2nd one was nt a successful case...

well i reali hope this pregnancy wil b a smooth n successful one..

anyway im so happy to know someone here gg to the same gynae leh..

i shld say Dr Wee is an experienced gynae lo,all my SILs' babies were delivered by her leh. the oldest is 18 yrs old liao ;)

wat time your appt tomrw?

Megane: My gynae din mention that my bb is small wor. He just mention that he will measure fr the head to the buttock. That's all. Maybe my next scan i check with him again and update u!

hey ladies, do you all feel hungry easily? i now in 9th weeks, keep feeling hungry, if i dont eat to keep myself full, i will feel very pukey.

Hi Rabbit, I am like this too. Whenever I am hungry and dont get to eat immediately, i can feel my tummy calling so hard. Then will start to feel pukey. I guess u put some biscuit with you all the times. SO once u get hungry, u can just bite some biscuit first.

I dont feel hungry easily.. i still take normal 3 meal but my body is like a alarm clock if going to lunch time I will feel pukey