(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

julie,

am interested.

my friend is interested too.

so we need to get another pax to join in .

me going for week 2, 9am class for what will we see

JP: ya, hehee. Maybe too early to buy & keep, cuz it'd be sometime still b4 i'll toilet train my boy.

BTW, anyone use those reusable cloth diaper from Babyland b4?

junie: i am also thinking of cloth diaper... but eventually i drop the idea as thinking, i will need the space to dry the inserts after washing which right now staying with ILs plus selfish SIL family, very tough for me...

need to fight for the washing machine and drying space cum my MIL/FIL loves to cook with the clothings hanging up on top... so whatever they cook your clothes smells like what they cook ...

very irritating family ...

my HB still tell me... "you dont know how much my family gives in to u ready, still complains"

But give in to me what... by talking softer and not shouting, by asking SIL n HB not to quarrel infront of my room door, by asking to keep the clothes out of kitchen when cooking... ???

all these considered give in to me....

What you mommies think ?

Give me feedback/opinions... If its my wrong I dont mind being given the pointers to brighten up my ideas to stop asking them to give in to me... really mommies... (no hard feelings, dont worry)

junie

i have some cloth diapers... while it is more environmentally friendly, don't think it is easier for us in terms of washing and soaking. maybe spend more $ on water and electricity bill? otherwise, quite a good product...

xbeanniex

i think, living w in-laws is hard enough yet, sorry to say that, ur hubby is not supportive of u... really no point staying with them.

r u getting ur own home soon? if you are, just hang in there for now.

all i can say is when u r staying at others' u hv to play by their rules... i stay w my parents - i hv 2 play by their rules... no choice...

oh hmm...tot it'd be more cost saving and better for BB's bottom if using cloth diapers.

thanks for the feedback.

ya, staying with ILs is a tricky issue. Now I have our own place but in time to come, I will also need to stay with my ILs considering my HB is the only child & son.

not exactly looking forward to it but no choice though :p

i'm also with hershey on using baby walker...though my son is in infant care during day time! nite time when i need to do my stuff, i had to put him in the walker for "safety reasons"!

cos my dear son likes to crawl around the house now and it is impossible to keep him within the parklon playmat at all. then he will grab hold of whatever things like chairs or tables and try to stand on his own..and obviously, he can't support himself on his own now!

so i rather not take the chance and both the husb and i thought it will be safer for him to be in the walker. at least when i call my son from the kitchen, i can hear his movement from the walker as he runs around...

xbeanniex, i'm also staying with my in laws and definitely, there are so many restrictions for sure! they commented that after my dear son was born, the utilities bills surged! cos i wash son's clothes everyday...but i only hand-wash ok? that saves alot of water liao! i have air-con in my room but MIL forbids us from on-ing it said electricity bills v high already..poor son every day perspire like mad even during sleep! and many other examples la! just don't want to mention one by one! what's so ironic is my MIL is a babysitter but she did not say she wan to look after my son..so ended up, i had to put dear son in infant care at 2 months when i had to go back to work! i never had a really good r/s with them...to think that i even give part of my bonus to them! what am i thinking seriously!!

anyway, am so happy that i will be able to move out next year when my punggol flat is ready..really can't wait! hope you have plans to get your own home soon too!

Beannie: I would Ki Siao if I were to stay with my PIL! I rem you are applying for a flat? when is it ready? In the meantime, really got to bear with them n their patterns. Think of your v cute bb C n you will be happy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

junie

it is not necessary better for bb's bottom for cloth diapering. actually, i change my bb quite often lah so day time i let him use cheapo ones lor, pet pet or drypers... nite, i use pampers or ultra on him....

julie

am also looking at week 2 or 3... i may sign my older one as well.

Beannie: My boy luvs to stand up now, so we just support him by holding his hands up or he puts his hands on our lap to steady himself... still need to learn how to take steps, haha, think will be a while before he learns how to cruise w the support of furniture. But likely he may skip crawling altogether! Am gonna try our your tip to teach him how to plomp down on his bum from standing position to help break his fall! Meanwhile, hang in there with your MIL/FIL/SIL!

Hmm... in fact my hubby and were consiering buying a bigger place and having my in-laws move in with us. That will prob be better for my boy, but I am worried also that it will be diff to revert back to just our own nuclear family if things dun turn out well...

Seriously I dun understand why the old folks are so stubborn.

I have said countless times I don’t want my baby to sit on a walker. But, they still don’t listen and buy one for her.

Their fav defense “Last time u all also sit inside, now got problem walking meh?”

My MIL, knowing I am against it still put my gal inside and said “faster go sit inside, I want to watch you perform!”

Because of this, I quarrel with hubby as I tried to sell it off once.

He said it’s a gift from his family & he rather let it collect dust than me selling -> cos very unfilial of me to do that.

In the end I decided to let bb use. Starting I put stopper so she cant “walk”. But now she is growing taller & I have to remove it.

The thing is my gal enjoys being in it and she will squeal and “run” away if crawl and play catching with her.

And we always play hide and seek with her in the walker, she gets very, very happy when she can find me. Haha.

Checkups: My girl has 9 mth checkup too. She just went for hers last weekend.

All is well, her weight in the 90th percentile.

She is starting to accept solids again (I guess she is teething).. ytd gave her the biscuit to eat, she cried like mad when she tried to bite, I think her gums hurt? I had to chop her biscuits into small pieces and feed.

re: gathering

is there one cmg up? is it at babycoco's house? i maybe able to join all of u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I took leave today cause was having migraine in the morning. Was sleeping in the guest room bed with Kayden last night.. really not good to sleep on. Daddy on aircon in the master bedroom and he did housework till 12midnite then bathe.. seeing him so poor thing, I decided to let him have a good night rest with no baby to disturb, a nice bed to sleep in and with air conditioning.

Sleeping: Kayden was sleeping badly at the beginning. Place him to sleep in his yao lan, awhile later he woke up, insist that I carry him to sleep. Carry him to sleep le then put him back in his yao lan.. awhile later woke up again. Carry him to sleep again and this time I let him sleep on the guest bed. When I was putting him down, he grab my hair very tightly and started to cry. I quickly give him his pacifier and his smelly pillow and cuddle him close on the bed and pat him. Slowly he went back to sleep again. So decided to sleep with him on the guest bed. Really dunno what's wrong with him.

Walker: I have never use walker except those standing walker and not sit in walker. My mum told me not to use that cause it will hinder baby's development. She ask me to let baby crawl on the floor as much as possible. So I will put him inside the play area surrounded by playyard. But if no one is in it with him, he will hold the play yard and stand up to look ard and scream for attention. Hai...

Stand up and sit down: My boy has learn on his own on how to sit down from standing position. Never teach him at all. You will see him slowly and cautiously going into sitting position when he is in the cot. But at the play yard hoh, he doesn't do that lei.. dunno why. He will scream for help. Then he get you to hold his hands and he will slowly sit down.

beanniex: Maybe you can do a comparison of what your in-law used to do and now have stopped to see if there are any changes at all. If the changes are alot, then maybe you might have to give them some credit for it. Staying with in law is never easy. My hubby's sister getting married soon too. She is choosing her own flat with hubby. But now she is very angry with her hubby and in law. Hubby is a mother's boy. MIL is a traditional woman. So a combination of these 2 make things worse. Hai..

Thanks mommies reading your postings ! Indeed, seeing C smiling at me and "eh eh" at me for attention makes me smile for the tireness I have all spent on her...

I am thinking if I am really the difficult one having many ppl to give in to me.

I know myself that I used to be the pampered princess back at home doing whatever I want. Used to have noisy family with my mum always the one talking/shouting at home like a crazy woman, thats y i left home at 17 to be on my own.

Now I am facing all those noise again which i dont know how to handle at all only keep going out as early as the moment BB C wakes up, shower, pack her bag, and off the house... I rather go here n there then to stay at that home.

Yup... apply my flat ready... hopefully by this year end can get the keys then simple renov. then move it to stop all those rubbish...

bdmum: i think u can try that method out... my BB C now still free fall any directions she wanted too... but I think another week or so, she can do the trick herself firmly ... as these past week, she has been falling so many times and knock her head at times by the cot... hahaha! think that's the learning process.

SK : K has teething as in 2 toothies coming out together ?

C is having her 5th & 6th toothie out at the same time now... previously was 1 at a time.

C is crying over the weekend over her sore gums... had fever on thurs night till sunday...

Been applying the teething gel for her everytime she screams...

Ann: I tried to look in that way ... but always revert back to Original within days ... and always give me the face of theirs telling me I am troublesome...

But frankly speaking... when u talk to each other so near, don't need to shout right ?

But they are shouting at each other...

my parents,especially my mum, she talks pretty loud actually(on the phone is worst) but when C is there for the weekend, my mum will AUTO talk softly and my dad will just keep quiet... my mum was once a baby sitter for 22 yrs ( i think more then that) and she doesnt do things the way she did back then ...

True that we used walkers last time, but i guess if there are developments that shows walkers no longer help babies walk, not wrong to follow the new research too... haha, my boy has follow-up for at least 2 yrs at KKH coz he is preemie, so I always tell my parents or in-laws that the doctor / nurse / physiotherapist / dietician / or my thick baby book says blah blah blah... then they follow and never disagree! (haha, not I say one leh...)

Check-ups: My boy's check-up was at 8mths and next appt is at 12 months. I was given a checklist to answer, and the pd at KKH totals up the scores for each section to assess how he is on motor skills, problem solving, communication etc. Got another checklist at 12 mths too.

Babycoco: Gathering at your place confirmed? Can I join, just me and bb Ev... think will give my hubby the afternoon to chill out! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm not putting baby in a walker. I too feel that it will cause her to over-estimate her ability to walk. Anyway, I'm still more keen for my baby to move around by crawling before walking. I vaguely read that crawling is good for speech development, though I can't remember what's the link!

For now, she loves to stand up by holding onto us. But she doesn't dare to pull herself up to standing with furniture.

I feel that an exersaucer is safer and she doesn't mind that. She hates to be stuck in the jumperoo now. She doesn't mind being on the floor and loves to crawl after the most unlikely objects - bedroom slippers, remote control, newspapers. No use buying toys. haiz.

julie

u r right! crawling does alot of good to babies. i had even read that babies who crawl alot coordinates better in terms of how they move...

btw, when do i need to let you know abt JG? any mommies keen to sign their babies up for playnest?

Wah, ann, your mum so advanced. ask your son to crawl more. i think most mums of our generation don't really think that way. my personal view.

Hi gals!

Havent checked in for so long. March was a super duper busy month.

BabyCoco >> Count us in for playdate on 24th!

Julie, VuVi >> I'd like to try the Julia Gabriel classes. Count me in. Do they have a trial class?

pris

JG has trial classes. can call to check. B should be attending playnest...

julie

my dad thinks if bb sits in walker, bb will walk earlier - total myth!

Crawling:

Agree with Julie and JP, but some said that since it is not a developmental milestone, it is ok for them to skip crawling and go straight to walking. I also feel that it is better for bb to crawl first. But my bb is still not crawling yet! He is always on playmat now, but he is just learning to flip from tummy to back now. Not keen to crawl at all. Seeing how well bbs have progressed, I am starting to get worried about my bb..haha.

heehee~~ I guess most mummy here are against the walker thingy.. but i don feel the matter.. As long as bb is growing healthy can le.. Plus i really got no choice so have to place him in his walker.. lol~~ neverthless, he nv walks.. he runs like hell.. chasing my family members around.. and my poor dog, forever kena corner or roll over it paws... >_<||| guess the walker cannot hold my boy for long.. as he use his walker to bang the wall, the table, the door & my hse gate... gosh~~ soon the walker going to spilt into 2.. hahahah~~

my boy learn to stand on his own.. than squatting position.. than he learn to crawl on four and back on sitting position.. now he is crab crawling now... hai~~ and is not the slow crab crawling, is those fast fast crab crawling.. gosh~~ and he is forever up and down position, then fall down.. and beside this, he is learning to climb onto the sofa and coffee table... gosh~~ NOW my daily life is getting busier & busier... >_<|||

charliebrown

oh, pls don't worry so much. yesterday i witness my niece pull to stand and walk a few steps on her own. then i realise bb S is v slow... haha... they are 8 days apart and she can sit v well, crawl on all fours and can pull to stand and cruise... bb s is still on leopard crawl most of the time even though he can crawl on all 4s... he sit like an old man and only started to pull to stand just yesterday... but i am not so worried... i think he will match his milestones [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco: can check the time for the playdate? thanks.

SK: is it rare for 1 up 1 down tog? I tot normally is bottom two first, then top 2.

JP: Hahaha!! Sits like an old man? hunching ah? My bb's legs like nua nua type. Legs are only very energetic when he is lying on his back kicking vigourously, or when bathing.

Julia Gabriel >> I'll only be able to make it for week 3 though. Have a wedding in KL on 5th June.

Lemme know k. Thanks!

pris

i may join u for week 3 cos i am probably going to sign my #1 up for week 2.

julie

i guess does not matter which week we sign up for as long as we get 4 to sign up?

beannie, charliebrown.. yup 1 up and 1 down. i was so looking forward for her to grow 2 at the bottom. babies look so cute at this stage lor! mine is just like an old woman! haha

babycoco, is easter?? lol~~ i dono worz.. my gal cc celebrates this coming friday.. make me so confusing... lol~~

So is a potluck thingy again?? every mummy prepares some thing over ur place??

SK: hmmm no wonder K is cranky... my C is very cranky over weekend... i have to wake up more then I used to DF her ! ~~ weekend is like no weekend...

bdmummy: Kindermusik - they have various activities - eg: banging on drums, parent & bb dancing together, shaking on eggs, all to the tune of popular nursery rhymes. There is a video on their website - you can check it out. We did those stuff during the trial class. However, i don't think i will sign up for it. Will probably start bb on formal music classes later, maybe at 4/5 yrs old.

Walker: I never let bb use and not intending to buy one. He spends a lot of time on the floor, thus crawling very well now. But this keeps us very busy watching over him. Coz after he get bored with his toys, he start to go for floor mats, slippers, magazines & dvds that we placed on open shelves (now all removed and placed on higher places), etc. Very busy chasing him around the house!

Birthday Bash Announcement

dear all, we are facing an unexpected change of event pertaining to the birthday bash venue. We are in the midst of sourcing a new venue. The birthday bash will still go on but timing and venue would probably be different.

Those who have made their payment, rest assured will refund you the money if the new venue and timing is out of reach for you. For those who have not made payment, please KIV until further notice.

If you have recommendations of a venue that can hold a min no of 30 babies and maybe 30-70 adults at minimal cost, please let me know.

PlayDate - 24th April @ BabyCoco's, 2pm

1. Babycoco

2. Pris

3. Geri

4. hershey

5. Eliss+hubby+Keila - fruits again?

6. Lynn & Hubby & Enzo - Shepherd pie again? lol

I'm keen for the playdate on 24th! But where is the venue? Need to know the venue b4 deciding, in case my HB complains it's too far.

Eliss>> U guys wanna try The Little Gym @ Marina Square? Not sure if it's cheap though.

My friend booked the Little Gym @ $750 for venue only and 3hrs I think. excluding food.

Another alternative is A Little Pinch of Salt restaurant @ Tj Katong. My friend has booked it for her girl's upcoming 1yr old BD.

It's min. spending of $1200 for a Sat slot (from 4.30pm to 7pm). Price is inclusive of food and venue. No decor.