(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Re: chix pox

babycoco, i think perhaps u shld qurantine from the baby now if there are other care givers. Maybe can get ur hb to take leave to help out? I had chicken pox just 2 weeks ago, took anti viral med so have to stop bf for that period, the med is not suitable for bf. Some mummies choose not to take the med and they continue to bf. So it ur personal choice, i took the med so i can control the spread od the virus , i just pump and throw during that 1 week period while i was away from my baby.

I spread to my hubby to so now he is qurantined from the kids but thank goodness its ending soon. As for my kids, so far they did not get from me even though i was in close contact w them during the infectious period when i had fever and blisters started to appear but now because of my hb still have to observe them for a while , by the next 2 days if they did not get it, shld be cleared.. it takes abt 1 -2 weeks for incubation. Ur bb n hb might not be infected. Most impt, qurantine from them k. Hope u recover soon, i got 4 big pockmarks on face.. super depressing.

Jus us, u pass to hopecg k cause i am still monitoring my boy for chix px.. by this weekend then can confirm he is ok. Hehe.. actually i also donated some clothes that my mum bought for my ger 2 yr ago.. never wear.. :p

Toilet training

Hopecg, u mean pee/ poo on demand or really go diaperless? My ger only went diaperless at 2 yrs old when she was ready. I tell u hor.. if they are not ready and u want them to go diaperless.. super frustrating.. a lot of cleaning up. But i fo hear parents training kids to pee/pp at certain timing, even though they still wear diapers but that part i cant advise.. haha.. i not very hardworking.. dun want to vomit blood.. :p. When my ger was ready.. can talk and can hold pee.. it was very easy, by 1 wk can go diaperless and u can avoid all the accidents that happen.

Dot

Wah.. terrible start.. but think +ve, its friday!!! And tmr is the PARTY!

dot

haha true I didnt think about the flipping over part... oppps

bebe

I saw this.....http://www.mumsandbabes.com.sg/

mamas&papas stroller at $19.90!! first 15 customers tomorrow! maybe you can consider.... what a steal!

Bliss

that's a lot! but it includes vaccinations or just purely bb got sick?

genice,

the scars take awhile to fade, don't worry. apply vitamin E, i was told.

i had some chicken pox scars on my face, chin below, my wrist. all thanks to my itchy hands!

On leave today was hoping can sleep later but no! My boy thinks his fun starts at 6am... Sian.

Seems like my boy also cutting his morning nap - only managed to zzz at 11am!

Dot,

Let yr hubby handle more n he will know Wat to do in due time.. Practice makes perfect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

genice, thanks for your reply. i think it's too late to quarantine myself. found a blister on bb's cheek. can you share what is the name of the anti-viral meds that you took? how long after you had chicken pox did your hubby get sick? is it right away?

i was given dermatix for my c-section wound. wonder if it'll work on chicken pox scars too?

Genice, Babycoco

Pearl powder works a miracle on chicken pox! Apply frequently and it will make the spots very small and falls off without scar. Can be quite ex but so worth it! Also since it is for application and not oral feed, can buy the lowest grade one.

babycoco.. its not too late.. i qurantined myself after the spots appeared.. if spots appear on ur baby, the only possibility is that u all got it during the same period.. cause it take abt 1 week to 10 days from u spreading to bb and for it to appear.

I took this:

Chicken Pox Treatment - Acyclovir

Acyclovir (Zovirax) is an anti-viral drug that may be used to treat chicken pox. In uncomplicated cases acyclovir taken 5 times a day has been shown to cause shorter periods of new lesion formation, fewer lesions, and more rapid healing but only if started within 24 to 48 hours of the onset of the rash. Acyclovir has not been shown to decrease the rate of complications in otherwise healthy children who get chicken pox. Oral acyclovir is more strongly recommended for children with underlying skin disease such as eczema, newborns, adults, and smokers since this group is at greater risk for complications. IV acyclovir is used for people with compromised immune systems.

Jenn.. i think too late liao.. my spots already dried off and left scars leh..sigh..

bluey.. still can fade somemore har.. i think must take birnest and take more collagen to fill up the hole.. actually i was thinking got fillers injection or not.. paiseh to snd vain but 1 of the hole is really big thats y i thot of filling it up next yr if there's even such a procedure.. its so big/deep that it looks like a dimple lor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

genice,

yup will fade de. cuz now still "new" ma, must give it time. or you try applying any cream to lighten the colours?

actually mine quite obvious if you look closely. but i bochap lah.

Dot - I transferred via internet banking from POSB on 9/dec.

Amount S$16.00

Transaction Reference 5366837646

Let me know if you have received

I pump more this two day. Like every 3-4 hrs. But not as much. Used to pump around 130-150ml. Now only 60-80. This morning I pump only 180 after 8 hrs of sleep. Used to be 300ml. Maybe I shd start eating fenugreek again. I just give it away. I start work the week after. By then I can't pump so often . Hope by then I can build up my supply. My husband say just nice that I can consider stop bf but I still want cont as long as possible

i need to rant BIG TIME!!!

My boy, Josh, started infant care 3 days ago. This infant care was not my ideal choice cos its pretty old but because it's near my place and workplace so I just took it la. I seriously cringe at the quality of toys and frankly speaking, the place is not engaging at all.. not much space to let babies move ard freely and safely but I thought never mind la, cos its near. I dont find the teachers v fantastic either.

But today, I couldnt take it. One of the teacher who is also the supervisor was carrying Josh in her arms and let him hold some rattles. He wanted to mouth one of the rattle till I stopped him cos I saw that ALL the bells on the rattle were very rusty!!!!!! My goodness, how can they have this kind of toys in the centre!!! I told the teacher and she just said 'oh, rusty meh?' I seriously want to ask her to have her eyes checked man!! and she just nonchalantly asked another teacher to put it at the back, didnt even ask her to throw away or apologise to me. If i were not there, my boy would have just put the whole rusty thing into his mouth! Anyway, I was too shocked to take pics etc.. but when I left the place while he was napping, the more I thought about it, the more angry I was.

I went to check out another branch which is further away but very new. I fell in love with that place immediately. Lotsa new toys and engaging learning corners, there is segregation of babies and toddlers.. and I am now asking for a transfer but the principal has yet to get back to me.

Though I will have to cab to the school and to my workplace, incurring of an additional cost of $200+ a month, I think its worth it for a piece of mind man...in that one hour that i left while my boy was napping, I was so worried that he may not be in good hands.. so $200 to buy a piece of mind is okay right?

Arggghhhhhhhh.. okie finish ranting!

Zoie

change!!!

dont stay at tat ifc. No sense of safety! If we are talking abt hygiene, like no wipe after baby tries to bite the toy, mayb not so deadly. Rusty toys and still keep it. What is this!!!! I will be hopping mad. I think you ought to demand your deposit back too!

Zoie

Complain to MCYS. Seriously, for the sake of the other infants/ toddlers.

Also, they don't segregate infants with toddlers? That's dangerous cos the toddler might accidentally step on the babies!

My Jeph's IFC have 3 sections - infants (non-mobile i.e. cannot walk), mobile infants (can cruise/ walk) and above 18 months.

Toilet train

#1 start late.. He officially started when he was abt 2.5yrs too.

Xmas party

Any mummies has 1cent coins?? I need abt $30 - $50 of them. Can bring along tml??

jenn

haha!.. i dunno when is appropriate eh! so was wondering when lo.. then now missybluey says can start putting him at potty to show action action only.. then i also dun mind.. i set up the potty stuff alr, waiting for him to b ready to use =))

genice

dun intend to go diaperless yet.. but perhaps more like a regular routine.. abit like bedtime routine? i dunno if such a routine works for toileting too.. mum was saying to do the act after he wakes up everytime..

jus'us

sure tks!! hmm i hope to cya there tho!

zoie

aiyoh! how can that even pass MCYS test!!

hopecg: precisely! i also dont know why! my friend who used to work in MCYS and regulated child care centres also found it weird cos usually even if MCYS dont do a check, the HQ checks once every 3 months and toys are one of the licensing criteria.

Zoie

You should highlight this to the principal of the IFC so that they can act on it immediately since your baby still there mah. As for the MCYS, can also complain at the same time cos better they clamp down on this sooner rather than later since you are not certain if you get a spot at the new IFC.

zoie,

OMG!!!!!

I think $200 for peace of mind is very worth it. When you go back and pick you boy up, remember to take pictures.

Zoie

Ya i think $200 for a peace of mind is worth it.

btw mummies, are your babies sitting up already?

cos my boy is not able to sit yet but wants to start crawling and is on all fours...find it abit strange cos i remember my gal started with sitting then she proceeded to crawl.

my gal can't sit well, needs support.. will ding-dong ding-dong. when in stroller, she likes to sit n lean forward to play with her stroller toys. as for crawling, she is going backwards oni.. very funny one lor.. see liao want to laugh

Jenn, above 18 months still in IFC? Not in cc?

I need to buy food jar for Baby's porridge. Which is good huh?

My boy also likes to cry in his sleep. Nowadays he likes to use me as human bumper n suck my pyjamas till he sleep. I'm going to move his cot to his room tonight! I bet hubby will comment y I change pattern again.

mezzo,

sitting as in sitting unassisted? not really, can stay up quite long if supported by his arms. If sitting in high chair, can. but my boy does not seem interested in crawling yet.

Dot can i have your contact no. ? Because Jenn Tan email me that she is not sure abt the venue. Can i pass your no. to her, so that she can contact you if she cant find your place. You can pm me via FB. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

**** Xmas Party Attendants as on 10th Dec, 3.30pm ***

1) Jennifer with #1, #2, hubby & maid (Paid)

2) Rabbit & bb (Paid)

3) Agnes & bb (Paid)

4) Jolene with #1, #2 & hubby or mum (Paid)

5) Natelie with bb & hubby (Paid)

6) Raleigh & bb (Paid)

7) Jolynn Teo with bb & hubby (Paid)

8) Zoie & bb (Paid)

9) Sheryl with #1, #2 & hubby (Paid)

10) Julie with #1, #2 & hubby (Paid)

11) Jocelyn with bb & mum (Paid)

12) Chiou Fong with #1, #2, #3 & hubby

13) Cindy Guo & bb (Paid)

14) Cath Lim with #1, #2 & hubby (Paid)

15) Lisa Logam Tan with hubby & bb (Paid)

16) Barbara Lok with #1, #2, #3, #4 (Paid)

17) Bliss with #1, #2 & Mom (Paid)

18) Doo Lee with #1, #2 & maid (Paid)

19) Elise Chow with bb & hubby (Paid)

20) Grace Thio with bb & hubby (Paid)

21) Amy with bb & hubby (Paid)

22) Kathleen Lee with #1 & #2 (Paid)

23) Ang hui jia with bb & hubby (Paid)

24) Mei Keen & bb (Paid)

25) Vanessa Wong with bb & hubby or maid (Paid)

26) Joelle with bb & hubby (Transfered)

27) Heng Shi Ling with #1, #2 & hubby (paid)

28) Kerry Leow with bb & hubby (paid)

29) Cynthia Lee with #1, #2 & maid (paid)

30) Cheralyn Chew with bb & hubby (Transfered, POSB)

31) Juliiana Lee with bb & hubby (Paid)

32) Jenn Tan Weiling with bb & hubby (Paid)

33) Monsterlim with bb & hubby (Paid)

Please inform, if you are bring spouse, maid or additional kids.

Let me know if i am missing out any information thanks.

Please transfer the $16 (Per Family) to:

OCBC 508-822012-001 (Dot's acct)

The first three numbers (508) is the branch number(fyi).

OCBC's Bank Code is 7339

Still got 1 mummy have not paid yet.

2 more slots.. any last min mummies wanna to join us??

Xiao Xiin

For Pat's Schoolhouse, CC starts in the calendar that the child turns 3. Below that is still under IFC. So I guess depends on your school?

mi still tinking whether to take MRT or cab tml to Jenn's place.. not confident abt bringing bb alone in the MRT, esp nw she is screaming as n when she like now (yesterday almost screamed whole day!!). might ask my mum to come along with me first then my sis pick us up later when she is on the way to my aunt's place nearby to Jenn's.

stupid, i have already posted but my post is gone, again! grrrr....

mezzo,

my bb can only sit for few secs with help from pillows/bolsters.

i think he wants to crawl le.

zoie,

$200 for many peace of mind & health (away from those rusty toys!).

Rabbit

No need lah. I'll email Jenn Tan my number. She sent me email today telling me she is looking forward to the event but didn't mentioned she might be lost! Wahahaha....

Cath

Pls don't say that. Not Atas or not. When looking for IFC, my only criteria was near home (must be walking distance) so that my maid can bring him home at noon cos I was working. Pat's was the only one and since he has been there since 6.5 months, we just continue lor. He's still there but in the CC now. Not sure the pricing when compared to the others cos I did not check any other IFC at all when I know they were not walking distance from my place.

I used to pay $1084, including gst after subsidy for half day program. But I was very happy with Pat's IFC. Will be sending my #2 there when he turns 18 months.

Bluey

Ya i put him to sit at the corner of the sofa and within a few seconds he will slip down.

Now he's like a little frog prop up his backside and leap in front..

everynite wake up in the middle of the nite to play...aiyoh headache...there goes my beauty sleep

Stroller

Thanks tigerbaby and Jus'us for the advices..I am also thinking abt Maclaren Quest sport series..I think it is better that I try out the actual stroller with the baby..cos my sis warns me that not all baby can take stroller well, esp babies like mine who cannot sit still type. Meanwhile I am keeping a lookout for 2nd hand one..so that if bb really not keen..I will not feel the pinch..

The mums n babes warehouse sales - Toh Guan is so far..hubby is away overseas..doubt I can make it there on my own..ha ha

Potty train

I am considering potty train my boy liao leh..I mean everyday bring him to sit on the potty to let him get used to the potty. Currently his poo is not regular..does his biz once in 4-5 days..but when he wants to poo..he will make the sound "ummm ummmm" and he likes to poo in the wee hour like 4-5am..yesterday, he woke me up with "umm ummm" and really poo...after pooing, he was so alert and started to "talk"..i ignored him and I think he slept on his own subsequently..

Sitting up right

My boy can sit up right on his own for quite a long time..but he needs someone to be by his side..if I step out of the playmat, he will start to feel insecure and start to wail..

Now he knows how to crawl, I cannot leave him alone for a minute...feel like getting a play pen to keep him inside..

mezzo,

haha, same lah. he will slide down or sway to one side when he wants to lean forward.

sometimes my bb also want to play @ night. what i do is push his pacifier into his mouth, throw his mini bolster @ him & i quickly turn my back towards him & sleep. hehe.

bliss, when menses come ss will drop? this is the 2nd mth my menses come.. ss drop lei.. in office i used to be able to pump 300ml each time, now ard 200-250ml onli.. then in the mornings i can get 300ml, now onli ard 180ml..

nowadys my bb also waking up more at nite though he used to slp thru.. then even if dun fully wake up, he'll be "grumbling" away in his sleep.. so noisy..

starting rice cereal for bbR tml!! so excited..!! though it'll just be 1 tiny spoon.. haha...

zoie, i tink $200 is definite worth it for ur bb's well-being.. change change!!!

mezzo, my bb can sit le but will abit humpty dumpty, sway here n there.. he haven start crawling but loves to "walk" ard the hse with us supportin him at armpit.. he'll be so happy, walk walk bounce bounce.. my mil say he haven even can sit properly, haven crawl, wan to walk liao.. lol.. he can flip back and forth le, but he still hates tummy time..

xiao xiin, my bb also like to suck my pj.. haha..

genice, thanks. that's the meds that my gp gave me too. hopefully i won't get too sick.

jenn, do i buy the pearl powder from those chinese medicine shops?

Bebe, I have playpen but I think it is too small for bb to crawl in. Get play yard better. Parents can go in n play with bb too. But then playpen is the safest I feel. No matter how bb knock also not painful. Cot is the most worrying, even with thick bumper, I still dun feel safe as my bb can pull the bumpers downwards.

Jojo, your menses come liao? Me still no signs leh. But I'm

not pregnant huh. Finally u also ren bu zhu, going to start solids. Haha!

Which type of food jar n potty r u ladies using huh?

Genice, if u wanna buy vit e oil to apply, get the capsule one. Puncture the capsule, squeeze out the oil n apply. N hor, vit e oil got two types, one is synthetic one is natural. Natural is better.

My boy only nap 1hr-30mins-30mins today. So cranky!!