(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Jenn

You are so cute...always checking out the WTS forum to find good bargains..haha...indeed some prices are very attractive - the playmat $150 (LG somemore..LG supposedly to be the premium one compared to Parklon) and the ERGO..I am tempted to buy, but hubby insisted that sling is good enough..sigh..

Carseat

My hubby and I are strong advocate of carseats..we buckled up our kids since young, and so now they are accustomed to wearing seat belts, even in taxi...and definitely no sitting on lap at the front seat..I have seen many parents do that (even my PILs did that to my niece). It is very dangerous, esp at the front seat with the airbag.

No car seat is especially dangerous in SG, because the drivers here are just not pro enough, forever jam brake - especially when an ERP is looming 10 metres ahead.

Seriously, just my 5 cents contribution, TRAINING is the key word - most things are NEW to them, even toys, after a while the baby will sit in the pram/car seat or play with the toys right?

There is no room for regret. Touch wood, but if something really happens on the road, its too late to blame anyone, and you will live with that regret for the rest of your life. This thought is more scary than enduring a screaming crying baby.

Oh Xiao xiin I don't hv e manual w me cos it's hand me down.. When u first put bb in he had to tip toe on one foot then can't rotate on his own.. Nw he grew taller so tip toe on both foot n rotate ard.. If I rem correctly he's 68cm at 4 months

Do you people remember that family of 4 who drove to Malaysia and all died except for the baby girl who was strapped in the car seat? Her older brother died together with their parents and grandma. She's now left alone, possibly with relatives, if she's not lucky then in the national orphanage now - so sad.

re:carseat

i agree w bebe75 tat kids shld start buckling whn they are young else they may neber wan to be in the car seats anymore...safety is far more impt than anything else...my #1, i started whn he was 4mths old and intially he will cry but i held my grounds and distract him and after a while he got used to it n til now, 3 yrs, on booster seat, he will still buckle and will tell daddy off if daddy did not buckle up as well. As for my #2, i started when he is 2 mths old...so far so gd....he slps whn he is in the car..wakes up..look ard bt no crying ....

re: milk intake

Does any mommies here hv prb w their bbs drinkin milk?? My bb used to drink quite a fair amt but these few wks..his intake seems to drop and his cough makes it worse. Each feed prb. ard 90 - 120ml bm with 4 - 5 hrs interval....wonder shld i start the rice cereals sooner or hold til he is 6mths...used to slp thru the nite bt now, will wake up for one feed..haiyoh....

Xiao Xiin

My baby also only grow 1 cm over the last month. So sad too. And like your hubby hor, my hubby also tall one leh but my baby is shortie leh, only 63cm at 4 months. His daddy's aspiration of his boys playing in NBA is smashed liao. Wahahaha!

As for your hubby, it takes time lah. I find my hubby's attitude better when I nag less. After my boy went for circumcision, he cried a lot and kept asking for daddy but daddy still went ahead to the pub after work, I cheng-sim. Told myself i will not nag at him anymore. Then hor, he gets better leh. Recently even turn down his golf trip without me asking him to.

Bebe

I pump milk for about 45min, nothing to do so surf my iPad lor. Hahaha... Ai, the LG mat is selling at $130, not $150. Hee.. Hee...

Jenn - If $130, then really a good buy leh. Too bad I already got my parklon earlier on.

Kelly - my baby is on milk strike for quite sometime..only wanna latch and no bottle. I only managed to coax him to take one bottle at night, and even then he took in only abt 100ml. He will wake up one time around 3-4am and I will just let him comfort suckling. I am still holding on to 6 mth guidelines..even though getting pressures from PILs to start him on cereal. I just have to learn to switch off my ears..but it seemed that my boy is very keen to eat solid ..will "beg" for food whenever he saw us eating. Dunno if I will give in or not..

jenn, i dun wan my boy to be shortie like me. sobs... probably last month he focused on increasing his head circumference which was below 50th percentile. hopefully this month he can focus on gaining length. i will pull his hands n legs n chant "脚长长,像爸爸”when i apply lotion for him. wahaha!! my hubby hor, not keen to have #2 leh. i also stop nagging at my hubby, bcos i've given up. he also not paiseh one, stone in front of the tv, watch soccer n drink beer while i slog till bedtime. when he rem, he will help me to empty the dustbin without replacing the trash bags. hahaha...

zinc, my boy 64cm at 4 months. so paiseh to say... anyway, once bb can stand on both feet flatly, gotta increase to the next higher level liao.

zinc, wad time do u let your bb watch barney?for how long? i scared i over stimulate my boy, not sure when is a good time for him to watch. my boy actually can smile n squeal in delight when he watches barney. dunno wad he thinking...

anyone knows where to get the baby einstein 26 set dvd box?

missbluey, I got voice out to my mother that she keep making baby sleep. I had asked her to monitor her when I am not around.

I know the job is good. But in term of security, it is not there. And I worry that I will lose my skill if i continue working here and wont be able to go to the working society later. My hubby also wanted me to change as he feel that it is quite of weird that I am paid for doing nothing most of the time. As I know there will be a re-org soon, not sure whether it will affect me, so since this new job look for me, must as well take it as it is very near my hubby office and childcare(Just beside their block only)

Xiao_xin, how you train bb's head? Mine also under 50 percentile. Eh mine Bb also 64cm at 4mths leh. Consider short? 50 percentile wor. Hmm.

Gals

I'm at taka just now. They don hv mega splash exersaucer Liao. But Robinson have. At $199. Lamkins selling at $189. $10 difference.

Cherish n bliss

I'm closing shop lo but still buying the exersaucer cos it will keep bb entertained for a while , n caregiver can take a rest.

I think toys are mummy's best friends. Bliss u buy Liao can sell mah. I see 2nd hand value can fetch at least $120. That means u only spend around $70. Cheaper than rent.

Tiger

Yes yes tangs now selling the raycop at $349. I just did my market research now tt I'm at orchard. Private sale should be

next week. Which day don know yet.

Limbox

I think u hv ask urself if u r ready to be sahm if ur com really retrench. If u r ready to take on the new job n the pay is at least 30% higher than current. Environment seems not bad. Could be a good challenge. Why not?

Ur maid might not hv enuf toys to keep him entertained. How abt getting exersaucer ? Haha. I seems to be promoter for exersaucer. I hv a playgym that I put my little bb there for the morning around 20mins. If ur bb sleeps well at night is ok to sleep enuf in the day.

Re: Ergo Carrier

Bebe75 gave mi e webby bt selling at $68 bt forgot e webby le den e $60 1 u can search from Fb under tis name BebeJac bt think she close e pre-order of it le. Tis BebeJac was tellin mi its authentic n tat they get it direct from e orignated country.

Re: Hubby

Mine 1 i can't even b bothered to ask him help out coz say till mouth smelly le. Its true when we dun nag they will b more auto de. He's a gd entertainer esp to my #1 too till sometime too overstimulate.

LimBox-Ur maid lyk my MIL lo even my #2 juz wake up he will oso make him slp again bt without sarong lo. Urs is coz do housework, mine is coz wan go downstairs kpo or chat on phone.

Cath

I had a walker at my mother house, but did not really put him there often. Got buy some toys for him. Actually I noticed if he like the toy, he will play very long. If he dun like, he will just put it aside. At night, he still wake up once for milk and sleep around 10-11pm normally at night. If he sleep in the evening, will be quite difficult to make him sleep at that timing. Because I noticed that his sleeping pattern is different in weekend. He sleep much much lesser at our home as compare to weekday. That is because we do not have a yao lan so normally I will only make him sleep if he is tired. cos if i put him in the cot, he will not want to lie down there if he is not sleepy. He is more active during weekend and maybe he likes the accompany of us especially his big brother. When he is around, even he is lying on the bed, he wont cry and will lie there and listen to us and see us playing with big brother. Once he goes out of the room, he will start to pattern pattern and cry.

Today I try to monitor and control his sleeping. Only let him sleep when he is tired. Minimize the chances of shaking him in yaolan. I sometimes have to remind the maid not to shake him too hard. But once she saw me not around, she forgot already, especially if he is crying, she tends to shake even harder. Got one day, i went out to buy thing, I come back, i saw her shaking very hard. I quickly shouted at her and tell her so many times not to shake him so hard. There are so many incidents of baby died due to excessive shaking of baby. She just dun listen. As the maid is not employed by me, I cannot do anything but to teach her. My mother had already changed so many maids. she is the 7th maid so far. I predict this maid wont be long also as mother already start complaining on her liao.

bebe75,

mine for both latch n bottle so difficult...he will use both his hands to put inside his mouth...and will kick a fuss, keep kicking n throw temper until ard 5mins then will settle for milk..yrs so cute...will "beg" for food..how he "beg", i wonder?? hw many mths is yr bb?? Mine is comin to 5mths in 2 wks time...i did ask my pd...gif in onli if bb reali nt drinkin milk at all...then start on semi-solids...my #1, i started whn he is ard 5mths plus....bt i still mix w bm onli...

Haiz sometimes cannot blame her also, as she need to take care of my niece, my baby and do housework for them. My mother will help out a bit , but now her hand injured and so most of the thing is done by her. Hope things will improve after my mother hand is well again. I will have to ask my mother to monitor and control her if i really start work in the new company.

Cath,

i believe starts as early as u can...else they will grow fast and be very aware of their environment...the initial period may be tough bt stick by the rules and u will hv the bb sittin in the car seat..u so gd...still can go shoppin uh....hahahha...

limbox,

u tinkin of becomin a sahm?? go for the new job and try it out 1st..nothing to lose since pay is more also and nearer to yr hb and bb infant care aso...i am in dilemma...gt a few choices, quit my job and be a sahm in spore, bring whole family to shanghai for 3 yrs and be a sahm there, find a new job bt i lazy to find and go for interviews...anyone gt gd recruitment agencies contact to share?? Being appraised today by my boss, want me to commit more time in work now (entertain custs, so wkends gg to be burnt) tat i am back..bt i am a more family person....aso dun knw which is a better way out for me....i wld prefer to work still though...bt current job is sooo near my hse...how uh..

so fast our baby coming 5 months liao. time really flies.

rabbit, i din train my boy's head to grow bigger la. just that his head circumference did improve compared to 3rd month measurement. now it's 50th percentile liao. phew... gal babies r smaller if u refer to the growth chart. so actually your bb is taller than mine leh. my hubby is over 180, so pray hard my boy will take after him.

Xiao Xiin

My hubby is tall and I am tall too but my baby dunno why only 63cm at 4 months leh. But my #1 is quite tall. 105cm at 3yo.

Pd assessment

Can I ask if your PD, GP assess your baby every time you visit for jabs? Cos my PD will not leh. They do 't measure head circumference as well. Only the weight and height. When we see doc, he will usually make some comment about my baby's weight, ask about my #1 and then jab liao. Usually I will have some questions like can baby swim with ezema etc. My PD doesn't go ether those questions in the Health booklet leh. Is that your case as well? Am I expecting too much???

Xiao_xin, my Hubby also tall one. Abt 179cm. I hope my gal also grow tall tall. Hehe.

Ya man, our babies going to 5mth soon. That day I am discussing my gal 1 yr party with my dad! Haha!

jenn, i go to dr ivan ong. he is very detailed, take weight, height n head circumference. do the red ball, ring-a-bell assessment. check if my boy can flip, sit n stand. that's all i remember. he even has a chart that he plots the growth measurement of my boy.

i think u dun have to worry ba. i read from somewhere that usually our kids' size will be the average of both parents. maybe he will catch up later.

So many post!!!! I don't know where to start replying!!

Zinc,

Exchange rate is 1.4. Very GOOD BUY! I always spree there and thickets cost like $5 only lor!!

Tywong,

The one who dead is the brother in the carseat. The baby girl survive cuz the grandma hug her really tight n protect her. Whereby the brother died in the car seat and somemore the carseat was hanging at the door or booth! Very scary incident!

Cath,

My hb won't agree one! Haha!! I'll look ar for second hand instead since I don't know how long he will stay in there..

Anyone watch the news?

A couply did IVF and gave birth to a baby but TMC made a mistake n used someone sperm instead! Is OMG!! They are sueing the doc n hospital and wen considering adoption!

Kelly

Hah not shopping. Is market research. I work in retail. So is needed to do mkt research to understand market trends. Haha. Wat a reason.

kelly..my bb will be 5 month old in 3 days' time, he will look at yr food with his droopy eyes..then at you..then back to the food..and with his mouth drooling and tongue sticking out..then look at you..and start to whine..and whine before he starts to sulk and wail.

It must be a torture to tempt him with food which he can't eat..hee hee

My #1 started semi solid when she was 5.5 mth old..but for #3, my current PD asked me to hold on as long as possible cos of our family history of allergies, eczema, skin sensitive..

Elise: Thanks, will be more careful. Yah, I am staying at a low level.

Bluberi: If you have just taken your 5-in-1 jab today, the pneumoccoal jab can only be taken one month after today.. they need 28 days if u are taking it separately. Thats what my GP told me

Sigh.. my c-sect wound feels weird.. abit itchy, abit tingling, abit pain.. don't know how to describe..especially when i carry baby..(maybe he is too fat) going to see gynae tmr.. hopefully all is well

Zoie

Mine too! My wound has been hurting abit. Like those dull pain. I think my baby too heavy and kept sitting on my lap and inadvertently on my wound. Wonder if I should go see the gynae cos long wait and all. Damn sian. Can share what your gynae says after you see him/ her?

Pneumoccoal/ 5in1.

My PD clinic said after 5in1 only need to wait 2 weeks then take pneumoccoal. Then another 2-3 weeks for 5in1 again cos I wanna split it up instead of 2 jabs in the same day. Ai, why different advice ah?

Height

Speaking of height, I once read it somewhere that your child's adult height is 2x the height at 2yo. My #1 was about 90-91cm at 2yo so will be able 182cm? Still shorter than Daddy but like Xiao Xiin said it is slightly above the average of hubby and me as I am 170cm and hubby 185cm. Guess it is similar to the your heart is the same size as your clenched fist, your foot is the same length of your forearm, and your waist 2x the circumfernce of your neck. So interesting hor? hahaha... all this useless trivals that I read about.

Speaking of accidents, there was 1 accident to Malaysia as well, not sure if the same as the one Ty mentioned, the child was thrown out of the car. Forensics mentioned that it's cos the child was not belt down properly. With the speeding, as with most people when driving to Malaysia, the force was so great that the child was thrown like meters out of the car. Scary.... But hor, I also like to drive fast. I will even honk at those people who drives slowly but at the extreme rioght lane. I always have to remind myself to slow down abit...

hearing you ladies talk about exersaucer... I also very gian. Which one do you all recommend?

Hmmm... but I will be sending baby to IFC soon.. maybe I should rent instead hor?

Jenn high five. Once I had to shamelessly plead with uncle Sam on wheels to let me off. So embarrassing. And our dear fellow citizens as usual very busybody, slow down to stare. I felt like pointing my middle finger.

bliss, i also watched the news just now. it must be so traumatic for the mother to carry the child for 9 months only to found that the sperm doesn't belong to the hubby! walau, that hosp. getting lousier leh.

Zoie/Jenn: my wound also itchy and weird. but my gynae currently also on maternity leh, and i have to wait until next month to see her. i wonder anything wrong or not?

Ty, speaking of pointing my middle finger, I did that today. This stupid weekend car was behind me and kept honking at me leh. Twice. Once when I was slowing down to turn left, the 2nd time at the traffic light and I was slightly slower to move off when the traffic turns green. I was so fed-up I point my middle finger at him. Guess what? My Jeph asked me "Mommy, what you doing???" *slap forehead*

Jenn, I re-read the part abt children's height. It says mid point of daddy plus mummy. Boys usu a bit taller n gals usu a bit short than the mid point. I guess it still depends on wad kinda genes they inherit. My hubby n his brother r all taller than both parents. So the mid point thingy doesn't apply to them. But midpoint for my boy is not good enuf. Meanwhile, all I can do is continue to pull my boy's limbs. I think jeph will be a tall boy!

Traumatizing... The bb must look very different from expected that's y they go test DNA right? Poor thing parents n poor poor thing baby.

Lol to jenn! Jeph! Oh dear!

I can also be very ah lian with my adult language at times so all my friends bet that my son will pick up all the nonsense from me.

I read in today's papers abt the gang attack on this poly student who died. Scary how the kids are nowadays.

oops xiao xiin.. wrong info.. my bb is 64cm at 4mths.. same as urs.. sigh.. lousy mummy cant remember..

e tmc case they putting e bb up for adoption????

The ivf case damm drama lor. Poor couple. Already not easy to bring through so much for ivf and pregnancy. How can they make such mistake?

Re: Middle finger

Jenn, Ty, same lo sometime i get so pek chek when they r slow dun keep left n roadhog. Will juz wind down my window n point at them. Remember when I was in labour for my #2, hubby gt so pissed off when hubby go to which lane den tat idot oso switch to our lane n drive slowly in front of us juz becoz my hubby high beam him to buzz off. Few times we point our middle finger, my #1 oso follow lo.

Juz to rant: Hubby juz gt notice from co. tat he will n posted to ShenZhen for 3mths n flying off on next Tuesday. Feeling so sad now coz so sudden n tat mi n hubby birthday comin soon coz different 5days so we plan to celebrate together now everything burn even our vacation oso gone. Really feel lyk crying when I think of it n if there's market there, they will ask him to stay on. Worse is this is his uncle co. He told his uncle he dun wan to go bt he threaten to sack him.

MY #2 oso suddenly havin high fever of 39.2. Y so sway?

thanks for the info.. i tink the 2mths apart policy shd be polyclinic one.. if bb took 3-in-1 today, shd be ok to take pneumococcal next week. my family GP told me 1wk apart can liao.. just dun take together just in case if fever we dunno it is caused by which vaccination.

I have the following items for sale:-

1. Similac Stage 2 400g selling at $15 (expiry 15/03/2012)

2. Desitin 40Oz - selling $10

3. Lansinoh breast milk bag 50pcs - $18

Self collect at Bukit Panjang, Clementi, Buona Vista, CCK by appointment.

Kindly pm me if keen.

Zoie, thanks! Your bb watching baby einstein too?

Oh dear... I was asking hubby if the couple can "return" the wrong " goods" or not. They really wanna return ar? Half of the baby still comes from mummy's egg leh. Poor n innocent child. 9 months in mummy's womb somemore.

Tywong,

Yea... The baby girl flew with her grandmother who hold her tightly so she wasn't really hurt and the impact wasn't huge as her grandmother was protecting her. But her brother flew out together with the car seat and the carseat was hanging at the door or something. Ppl even comment that if the boy wasn't in the carseat he might not die.

I remember very clearly cuz that time my son was a little older than the baby girl and I feel she is so poor thing! And her uncle adopted her... LOL! Seems like I memorise the accident!

Jolene,

39.2 is very high for bb leh... Keep sponging him... Sponge his groin area which brings down temp faster. Cannot give bufen ok... With #1 we tends to give bufen but bb below 6 mths cannot take bufen. If temp don't come down must go n see PD..

Xiaoxin,

The bb really very ke Lian... I was surprise that they wanna consider adoption leh... Somehow is fated lor.. My mom say of they dun wan give to the real father of the child. Haha!

But TMC can really make such mistake!!

Bliss, yalor. Maybe the biological father is also an ivf patient. That's y tmc can have his sperm, I guess. If his ivf is not successful, really can consider adopting the child lor. Provided his wife can accept lar. Sigh... Actually in no position to comment bcos I am not the victim. I just think the child is very very ke lian. If the child is healthy n well, i hope the couple will accept. They r the child's parents for 9 good months already actually.

Blender

was reading archives and on topic of Blender..

for #1 i actually survived w/o a Blender!!

You can buy the Tolly joy or Pigeon's Food Maker

http://www.pigeon.com.sg/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=117&category_id=28&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=52 . i think the former is cheaper.

So i will steam fruits like apple, pear or sweet potato then use the wooden stick to smash it.

if you don't wanna steam .. can just grate it

it may takes abit more effort but at least not a hassle to wash up.

but if you got helper at home to wash up then of coz Blending is faster

IMO, i think a steamer is a better investment. i still use it now when i need to steam my #1 rice which i will add stuffs like chopped carrots/cauli/sweet potatoes etc. coz steaming is much healthier and no need to watch the fire (if you are cooking porridge)

I gt e info wrong. its come back every 3mths n duno haf to station there how long. Really feel lyk crying. Y muz all these shiity stuff happen times n times again. i think his uncle oso aka his boss is venting on him coz of all those evil things my ils did to him. He was suppose to go australia next wk bt den suddenly cancel n posted to china. His uncle noe my kids always sick n tat he tok to us bout our kids n yet he wan to seperate my kids n their dad. So evil! Really feel lyk killing them. I hate my ILs for doin all e evild things n getting my hubby to suffer all of their retribution. Hubby dun feel lyk quitting coz scared can't find job bt den tis type of shitty job nt for human de. He didn't take any leave tis yr except when i gib birth n paternal leave. Tat day he wanted to take 3-4days leave bt kana reject n get scolding. His leave all kana forfeited lo, wat f*ck ed up co. is tis? Sorry for ranting coz i really vr frustrated n confused. My heart lyk kana stabbed lyk tat.

I oso juz gt to noe tat my bitchy MIL has been goin ard backstabbing n talking behind my back to everybody. Till e extend tat day 1 stupid fatty neighbour noe tat i'm goin back to my mum's place tat day went to tell my boy 'Today u going back to hell huh?' WTH!!! I really goin crazy le.