(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Hi Impulse,

I've transferred the funds. please check. thanks.

Mummies, I've shortlisted the cakes, can you guys please give comments?

1. Sweetest moments

Mini Cupcakes - 108 pcs @ $97.20, Delivery Charge $15

2. Bengawan Solo, No. 1 Cake - 2.5 kg @ $100, Delivery Charge $10

Phy

Jasmini , wah your boss so nice, give you such a good deal .

I am ok for Tuesday next week if you are free , my boy naps at 1130am and 430pm , so I can be at your place ard 130pm . If cannot swim also never mind , just let the babies play and we chit chat haha , cos early afternoon sun quite strong also , scared they get burnt

To WanderLeibe/mush/impulse/Cholemum,

Maple went to GP y'day early afternoon as the infant care teacher called me saying she has great difficulty to poo out. The gp insert gel, and she poo out - all are hard stool. she will be on medicine to soften her stool.

Any foods i can give her? I dun think should rely on the medicine.

Hi maplemummy,

hmm, my son has a hard time pooing during his 3-4month period. What i find out online, the stool will harden if they stay in the big intestine for a long time cas water will be extract out by the big intestine. The idea is not to let the poop stay inside the big intestine for long. So must train the little ones to poop everyday.

think some mummies suggested it before, try on a specfic time everyday, ask her to poo, make her sit there and do the ehhmmmm sound everyday. Slowly she will get use to the idea of pooing everyday.

Try feeding more water. But i read before that no matter how much water the little ones drink, as long as the poop is inside big intestine, it's the function of the big intestine to extract water. the shorter time, it stays in the intestine, the softer it will be.....

hmm, what a topic after lunch...haha

haven't logged in for awhile.

impulse: will do the transfer and update you thereafter. Thank you!

Maplemummy: I am starting to give Lucas lots of water. He likes it from spoon and directly from cup. Maybe u want to try different ways of giving her water?

you can try sweet potato and pumpkin as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chloemum: Chloe's so cute in the water! Such a brave girl!

How's schchida mummies doing?

Any mummy has any concern over the education system here in Singapore? I came across many mummies who told me about how difficult and different the syllabus has become. A tutor friend ever told me, while Singapore syllabus keeps on changing but Cambridge did not really change.

Also, I heard scary stories on parent volunteering for renown primary school when their children are at the age of 2/3yo! I thought it was super KIASU then came to realise many are doing the same! Someone please tell me this is not true! haha! This is how it really works, i think.

It puts me thinking of moving away from Singapore and sending him overseas. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I know I must be crazy.

Well, but I really do not agree on over studying. Boo!

Lucasmummy.. yes.. my colleagues here volunteered to get their kids into the primary school of their choice... or.. move within dunno how many km.... its the norm...scary isn't it...

and on top of that the poor kid has so many extra tuition.. i dun think ur way of thinkign is crazy.... i just hope my kid can cope with the stress and pressure from our education system..

considering i seriously detest studying.. i feel quite sorry for my kid too...

lucusmummy

i do wonder how will our kid's generation survive next time.

my sister has been volunteering (she needs to clock some 40hrs i think) in a neighbourhood school... just to ensure a place.

myself am not super academic.so is Ash decides not to study i hope at least she have an O levels - if she happen to like studyign and can go uni then lagi best lar.

hb grew up in aussie education system and he belives it all boils down to how u behave socailly thats impt. he feels that unless u have a professional degree (accounting / law etc) going to uni and having a general degree is mainly using the paper to gain entry to jobs...

people in my house (other than me) very smart one, study ALOT, have many many paper qualifications... but not socially adequate and perhaps not happy people also... cannot work well with others... cannot work in team etc...

so hb and me just feel if she can study good lor, if she dun like but like sports or cooking... then we will try to nurture her with her interest.

i mentioned cooking coz i just watched documentry on Nobu. hahahhaha... super impressed

my niece is 5 this year..

she is doing

mon - chinese

tue - free

wed - zoophonics

thur - piano

fri - swimming

sat - i think shes taking ballet...

shes even busier than me okie!!! thats how scary.

Lilstarz: Some customers told me their kids ask for tuitions nowadays. They understand that the need to be competitve! Gasp!

mrs teo: What?! Clock hours?!

I agree with your hubby lah.

Yesterday, I told Lucas in the car, so long it's not against the law or crimes, mummy will support you all the way. If you choose to become a car technician, you will have our support to become the best the technician that everyone goes to!! (Ma chiam he can understand. Hohoho! )

Mrs Teo, that's scar~~y.

My hubby sister also sending her 2 child to class/ activities Mon to Sun.

I told my hubby I will not do that. But I'm insisting my boy learn classical music (piano or violin).

For basic Japanese I can teach him if not I will send him to learn from his aunty, my SIL.

If in future his result is really that bad like "just pass", I will send him for tuition loh.

Um..and I'm got 100% not intention sending my boy to "famous school". I don't want my boy feel stress on studying. I want him enjoy studying.

Every Sunday heard my hubby sister and brother topic on "famous school" hor, I really can't stand it~~

Wow mummies... very stressed leh... our bb only just turning 1 yr!!! must talk abt school le...

Haha... now i just let him enjoy some gym classes.. swimming.... no academic yet leh

luckyone.. why must classical music??? i hv a piano at home but so far so lazy until never play for him... everytime say every wkend must play for him... but end up never loh.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Maggie Mee,

"a little Beethoven is good for the brain" and I like classical music it's very relaxing.

I also think that kid who's learned classical music, won't turn "bad" haha it my own logi lah.

Of course, if after my boy not interested on it, I won't force him lah.

ya luckyone... but i very lazy nowadays... where got energy....

i wanted to enrol him into kindermusik trail class.. but HB tiks not necessary... at such young age.. waste $$

Maplemummy, hope Maple will get better soon. after hard stuff comes out, she will be relieved, just monitor next few days and once it turns soft (er) like what other mummies say, it will be ok. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, you all so hardworking... haa i am so lazy not sending baby anyway to any classes or gym or even playdates (he burnt fingers at last outing & we were exhausted). We took our first swimming expedition only last week and he cried so hard - think scared & also water too cold. the only thing i do is cook for him.... :p

Jasmini, that's so cool!! it's great you can still stay in touch at office and be home with baby. Is this considered part-timer or temp? Benefits & pay? If i can do this I don't mind wokring only mornings take 50% paycut leh. Hehehe.

oh yah, reminds me of Tiger Mum article. What do you all think of that? I think I cannot cos I will be too softhearted. There is an article in Simply Her this month I think that reviewed the article and said her mum destroyed their relationship by being that way. I'd rather not.

Maggie mee, change to other IFC?

For me, I will stick on PAP one. But not sure the child care near my new house under PAP or not.

Paging mommies, FOC Photography offered

While asking for sponsors, a photographer offered his services for our event, 11am-3pm, and will provide all soft copies in a dvd.

In turn, he will use the pictures for his portfoilo.

I have not agreed to it. Do let me know how you feel about this.

maplemummy, hope that maple bb is better today. maybe you can stop giving her the known constipation for awhile, observe and see if her stool soften. once she's better then slowly intro those food back into her diet. for me if im giving sophie a constipating food like rice cereal, i will counter off with a LS food like papaya. sophie constipate fairly easily, therefore she had more LS food in her diet then constipating food. but still she get hard stool every now and then.

mrs teo, your niece so poor thing.. like no childhood liao. all her time spend in enrichment classes. actually im also very worry about the high expectation in the current education system. i rmb my 1st day in primary school, my english teacher read us a story but i dont know what was she saying. i was very sad and scare then, from then i nv like english lesson and it became my worst subject. so i believe that i should prepare sophie for school. not expecting her to be on the top but at least dont be at the bottom.

jasmini, your boss very nice leh. still can get pay and spend more time with bb.

Hi Sheryl,

I don't think there is any problem with him using the pictures for his portfolio but only for portfolio. He is not allow to use the pictures for commerical gains, like selling the pictures to milk powder company or diaper company as advertisement.

And he wont be the only photographer in the events. There will be many daddies with camera, and daddies who are professional photographer. Remember the Christmas party, think more than 30 camera flashing at one point. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

What do the rest of the mummies think?

impulse,

Ya, I don't know if controlling our photos is easy with a commercial photographer.

He did mention that it is for his portfolio.

I couldnt attend the xmas party, if there were 30 flashes then we dun need this guy?

I guess, depends on how the rest of the mommies feel.

WanderLeibe, Protein-based ah..

Pan cake. I also used pan cake mixture flour to steam cake, bake cake.

Sesame. I mash and add into rice.

Bread with cheese.

Mummies, any plan to take 1st year photo for your baby?

I will ask my friend help me to take pic for my boy at ZOO! Something special right (^^)

Sheryl , I am ok with the free photography then the families will also have a chance to take family portrait with a professional

Hi mummies , anyone has a portable mic or loudspeaker that we can borrow for the birthday bash , if not will be very difficult to shout for the whole 4 hours

WanderLeibe, mush,impulse: Thanks for your concern. Maple poo y'day morning before sending her to IFC, the whole day, she din poo but she is very happy.

I provide oatmeal cereal to IFC teacher early this mth, din use rice cereal quite long le. Maple always has this hard stool since newborn. I have been giving her pumpkin, sweet potatoes with porridge. Papaya, heinz fruit, yoghurt for her too. But sometime, the situation is not tat bad, this wk, is terrible. I will monitor her these few days.

Times fly, our bb going to turn to 1 soon... can't imagine.

Maplemummy, maybe she too hearty? Due to the hot weather too.

My boy also has been taking a lot of fruits and vegetables but sometimes also constipation.

I guess IFC don't give babies drink much water, that why caused them constipation.

Hi Sheryl,

it's not that bad, just verbal agreement and the clause i mentioned will sound familiar to photographer who start out in their photography business. anyway, even if he breach it, nothing much we can do.

I believe he will make us sign an agreement to allow him to use the photographs for his portfolio.

Hi maplemummy, great to know that your girl is feeling better.

Morning mummies... its thursday .... a day nearer to weekend!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sat im bringing my boi to walkaton... at hortpark![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will be a challenge but shd be fun!

Luckyone, yes, she is heaty. I bring her to TCM, still need to tune her...

The prb is maple don't like to drink water, now even gulcose still alright, depend on her mood. IFC teacher will try to give her as much as possible. Any way to train her?

Maplemummy, haha me also headache my boy doesn't like water~~normally I will soak the fruits in water or feed him 1 spoon solid food and 1 spoon water.

Mummies.... i think you have to trial n error to find ways to entice them to drink water....

recently i bought the straw cup for my boi n he is soo interested in the sucking that he finishes all the water in the cup ( whatever i've filled )

So i will keep using the straw cup to entice him to drink water...

Maybe you can experiment with diff cups... to see which one attracts him??

Maplemummy, try this 雪梨南北杏 for your girl? I'm going to boil tonite for my boy.

Good for heatyness and clear phlegm.

Mash 1/2 of 雪梨, 1 table spoon of 南北杏, 2 cups of water boil for 30 mins to 1/2 cup.

Hey mommies! Long time no see!

I have not plan the 1st b-day party yet, gosh. So late already!

It's really tiring to be 5-mths preggy and handling a active boy. He tends to hurt himself every other day =\

Anyone planning the next baby already? hehehe...

hi bb-bao,

hows u.. still as lively as before.

birthday party

not having.. but will bring the birthday girl to birdpark. then evening cut cake among ourself

mummies still having tummy??

i realised my flabby tummy has become stubborn fats. How huh?

Michelle/Impulse,

The mini cupcakes comes in a few designs.

http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/cc_birthday.aspx

We can have maybe the Garden or Animal Theme. then get them to arrange some cupcakes to read HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAY 2010 BABIES

The no. 1 cake is also a generic design, balloons..

http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/prod_kids.aspx?id=60

Or what do you think about ecreative cakes? the pricing similar to Bengawan solo, but the delivery timing is a 4 hrs stretch as compared to Bengawan which is 3hrs.

allu allu mummies...

havent read thread for the longest time.

games - urmmm.. simon says? simon says wave bye2, give flying kiss, says mama etc.

$ - will trf tom.

cakes/personal details/photo taking approval - im ok with all.

tummy - yup, still looking like 4mths preggy even though am not preggy.

birthday - just a cake, balloons and wrapped presents (hopefully he can unwrap), and some pizzas with my and his parents.

toothless - zaidan at his current 10mths+ is still toothless.. haiz..

one. more. day. to. weekend. yay!! ,p

Hi mums of 2010 babies,

Excuse me for posting here but I'm doing my Phd thesis(with NTU) on the effectiveness of teachers' interactions in infant care centres, my research is under the MCYS family grant and I'm given a budget to ask any of you mums who have children in infant care centres about your end-user experience with the centre and teachers.

If you don't mind participating in a focus group (joining an email discussion giving your opinion on 5 questions relating to your experience placing your child in infant care) in return for a token of $10 Popular Book store voucher, please pm me. It shouldn't much of your time as I know most of you are busy women.

No worries, this is not a hoax as I'm a long-time member of SMH and won't risk my reputation by misleading people. I'm a 2006 mum.

Hi Phy, I'm ez with whatever cake. Just maybe skip ecreative. Read many bad reviews posted by other moms on smh. Cake disappear, no show ,etc.

Luckyone, thanks... the pear drink you feed with sippy cup or spoon? My boy also doesn't like water (IFC didn't give much i think!) and will play with it when i spoon to feed him -- dribble down his chin and he laughs & gurgles. *pengz*

Maplemummy, hope Maple will be better. You can monitor her over weekend.

BB-Bao... wow you good!!! Do you know if #2 is boy or girl? Hee hee with small age gap the kids have good company.

Lin... me me me. Flapping my tummy around everywhere. *sob sob*

Maplemummy, yeap brown skin and white meat.

WanderLeibe, I feed with spoon. hahaha that's very headache hor. One thing good about my boy is even he doesn’t likes water, he will still swallow but later he will make nosy and complain hahaha that's why I say he never waste my foods.