(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

edie, NB diaper it depend your BB size. My gynae said my BB will be big size so I guess he will grow quite fast. I only bought 2 packet (24pcs x 2). My SIL said 1 day will use about 6 to 8 pcs during day time.

phy - i think there are a few brand in the market. Some are so stiff n its uncomfortable using it. Last week, my friend recommended me Futuro Brand and she told me its so comfortable. I got it at guardian Pharmacy

Wow seems some of MTBs start having tummy ache???

I just hv very tight tummy esp after dinner at nite... also not sure if its contraction onot leh...

luckyone

ya lor... n got pooing sensation thruout the nite lor... budden the symptoms subside after i went to slp... so i quickly finish up backing my hospital bag lor... n i'm back to work today to do some handover stuffs... coz i scared i will go into labour this weekend leh... now still crampy...

AR

i think we could be anytime liao lor... i also can understand ur feeling...

Btw, for those who need to buy Kotex Maternity adhesive pads, its only $3.50 at sheng siong.

I bgt 2 packs during the Taka baby fair at $6 each! Regret!

I have also bgt the next best comfortable(compared to Marks n Spencer) nursing bra from mothercare. And these r the ones in black , and do not look so obiang! The back of the bra is also not super thick like "ah-mah" bra.

For newborn diapers, u guys recommend huggies or Pampers? I think i btr buy 1 or 2 packs before giving birth.

Rantingbaby: Good to know yr delivery wld be delayed so that u can have yr hubby arnd!

Me too wonder how is Chloie doing.

Hi ladies! Wanna share my two cents on the pads. The maternity pads tho fat n thick, really help to cushion the painful wound n stitches. Right after delivery, the nurses put three pieces of the kotex loop for me!! To soak the bleeding n really cushion wound cos despite all that, still painful to sit up :p normal pads if u choose, pls get cottony cover, but still not as soft as those grandma ones. Haha that's my experience fr tue till now...

tinospora, Thanks for the infor. Then I need to store up the thick one loh. Anyway if can't buy in time, hospoital will provide hor.

Hee...u gals pop then can share with me on feeding n stuff! I haven't slept properly since popping on tue... Last nite was baby's first nite home n it was v v tiring... Sorry just grousing u gals jia you!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tinospora, thx for ur sharing..r u having heavy discharge right after delivery? How abt now? Do tk more rest n hv a good sleep..dun be too tired as u need plenty of sleep now..

Maggie Mee: I also have the tight feeling at times. no idea if it's contractions or braxton hicks. but since they don't really cause any pain or bad uncomfort, i'm just living with it. hehe... what i heard was that if the uncomfort and pain goes away when u change you lying down or sitting position, most likely it's not real labour pains. Real labour pains don't go away and are a lot more regular. That's why need to take timing.

Mine are pretty random and definitely i get relief when i change position, so shouldn't be labour pains ba.

tinospora: i never understand how these loop maternity pads work. only know must wear with belt. u wear 3 pc of loop pads at the same time? ehhh... wah! sounds like wearing diapers leh.

tummy binder> think can check with gynae what's the purpose of the binder. mine says recommended for mummies who went thro c-section.

nb diapers> i'm also wondering how long can bb last in NB diapers. cos most nb diapers can use until bb is about 4kg i think whereas S size is for 3 to 7kg. maybe i just buy 2 packs of S to standby. if bb smaller, then go buy the NB size.

Tinaspora, thanks for your share on the pad stuff. Have not bought those thick thick kind cos #1 delivery was C-sect so only experience heavy discharge, not pain at downunder. Heard somewhere before, if feel painful to sit after the stitch, can sit on those swimming float (like a donut shape those kind) to avoid/ reduce the pain, but dun know true a not.

Yes, due to BF, mummies please be prepared to have sleepless nights. Only can catch sleep when BB is asleep as the 3 hourly latch on or EBM can be very taxing.

Tinaspora, 1 que always slip my preggy brain. Your delivery was natural without epidural, and you experience tear downunder during the delivery. Do you feel the pain when it tear or cannot feel any pain of the tear? As I understand the contraction pain is even more painful.

How about the stitching part of the tear? Painful?

Orange/blue turtle... i tik its just normal contractions bah... not really painful but very uncomfy...

Luckyone.. im always so hungry i cant stop gobbling up my food.. haha...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good day moms!

NB Diapers: According to the statistic provided by Huggy(i think) a few months back, we prob need about 3-4 packs of newborn diapers.

I bought 2 Pampers NB (24pcs) each. Gf and sales promoter said it may not be enough.

Was told BF BB will change up to 8 times per day... so prob 1 pkt of NB diapers will last at most 3-4 days...

BB also will tend to lose a bit of weight for the first few days.

Thus, if not enough.. will get my hubby to buy another 1/2 packs of NB.

Also, at the expo bb fair, I stocked up 3 pkt of size s pampers (48pcs each) I bought them according to the statistic provided as well... and I bought lesser... will only replenish more if needed.

Orange1: That's good to hear that NB diapers can be used, think if I have leftover will pass over to those MTB.

Mummies... are you all going to wash those bedsheets that are new from packaging?

thanx tinospora. i only bought 1 pack of madame maternity pads and 1 thin ones from mothercare. thk i better stock up on the thicker ones. yah, havent get diapers and fomula milk. just in case. was thking of pediasure. anybody got nithg to rec? thanx.

hmm... just sharing the statistic which is provided one of the mummies here during their #1. Sorry but I can't recall who. Is it you Huggy?

I use it as a guideline when I purchase the diapers..

NB: 1 pkt ftrom TMC + 1 x 52pcs

1-2mth: 5 x size s (48pcs)

3-4mth: 6 x size m (36pcs)

Of cos, it depends on individual bb size...

And if i remember correctly, the guideline is also according to mamy poko diapers...

tinospora,

thks for sharing info on maternity pads. though they r giants, but if can cushion painful area.. wat the heck. lolz

edie,

yup i washed the bedsheet already. all newly bought bb clothes, towels, hankies, blankets, bedsheet etc must wash before use hor. i wash w bb detergent [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

edie --> yah, im going to wash. just dump in washing machine. no hands wash for me. khehehee..

my baby has always been active. within half hour, sometimes a few mins, can have ten movements... so i read up from my early childhhood books - found that

"In the first formal study of fetal temperament in 1996, DiPietro and her colleagues recorded the heart rate and movements of 31 fetuses six times before birth and compared them to readings taken twice after birth. (They've since extended their study to include 100 more fetuses.) Their findings:

fetuses that are very active in the womb tend to be more irritable infants.

Those with irregular sleep/wake patterns in the womb sleep more poorly as young infants. And fetuses with high heart rates become unpredictable, inactive babies. "

waaaaaaahhhhhh.. scared oredi..

just returned from gynae's. Baby is still in breeched position. Gynae says unlikely bb will turn so need to be prepared for C section. (coz less water and bb getting bigger)

Tentative C section on first week of May lor.

Mrs Teo,

I just realised your EDD is 2 days before me... my appointment tmrw i also got to see whether breech but i suspect she still is.

wha if thats the case maybe we might see each other at the hospital!! maybe u should try your luck ask gynae whether can choose 1st may... labour day... then baby's bday always on public holiday! ;p

lilstarz29,

my EDD is 15th May. Gynae says earliest c section also abt 10days average.. (means 5th) but i am not sure yet.

He says some bb do turn down then still can be natural. but at this point is quite fixed that thats the position.

My gynae told me its norm for fetus to hv higher heart beat rates n my bb oso beri active...omg..hopefully the study is nt dat accurate =P

i've gained 2kg in 2 weeks... the clinic asst says need to control. Next appt is end April... will check bb weight and position.

Mrs Teo, is your blood pressure ok?

Cos I ever gained 4kg in 4 weeks and last was 3kg in 3 weeks... total weight gained 14kg...

Maybe cos bb small size... my gynae never asked me to watch my weight... but very happy with my weight gained... zzzz.....

Mrs Teo,

oh my EDD is 17 may.. hmm i also got to see what my gynae says.. my colleague who just gave birth in Dec said her baby didn't turn until about 36th week...but maybe smaller baby i forgot to ask the weight...

How heavy is your baby by the way?

Lucasmummy,

wow! 4kg in 4weeks! regarding bb's weight, my gynae say bb shd gain 0.5kg a week. i also gained 14kg so far n im totally not happy w it! hmmppp! nvm we must work hard at bf bb n lost all the pregnancy weight!

been a long while since I last posted. Something to share regarding CL... I called my CL last night as I understand from her previously when I booked her that she will be in Sin in March to do confinement for another lady. I asked her then if it is convenient for us to meet up for a while when she comes to Sin in March and she said ok. I didn't hear from her at all and called her yday. I asked her when will she finish her current assignment and she kept asking me why after telling me end Apr. I told her my concern that I am afraid that in case I deliver early in Apr. she then said that they can only do confinement for me from 1 or 2 May earliest and if I can find another person to do confinement for me, she is ok if I dun want her. My blood really boil when I heard this, I mean it's like she is telling me she's not hard up for the job. She then asked me what I need her to do, I told her cooking for me, taking care of baby and some light housework like cleaning the floor cos I do not have a maid at home. Actually I hv already told her all these duties when we first spoken and she said since I do not hv a maid, she is ok with helping me with the housework. But y'day, she went on saying that she will only do housework if she has time and this are "extra" work for her. her attitude really pissed me off and I'm now considering looking for another CL.

so ladies, you may wish to contact your CL again to see if she is available to start work early just in case you deliver early. at least you can hv some contingency plan in place rather than a rude shock when you contact her when you hv delivered

maggie mee - maybe you can call the gynae/nurse n tell her your condition. I dont know how contraction is like cos my #1 is through c-sect. i only feel my tummy very tight after meal (during my 3rd tri)

Aiyo! you dont globble up your food. me too but i control myself.

Hi Petals..nice hearing from u..ya, I did call my CL and she is confirmed to do for me but she wil go holidays tis month..hopefully bb will only pop out on May..

Ya..we should call CL to confirm again cox I happened to read April mtbs thread..and got one mummy also hving the same prob as Petals..

As for cleaning part and cooking for my hubby, my CL is agreed but she asking for extra 100 which I fine too as long as she can do a good job for me..

Why are these CLs so unethical? Dun they understand the seriousness of their commitments? really very upsetting to hear abt these black sheep..

I have been having needle prickling type of stings down there when i was walking to have my lunch. sudden stings here and there.. Whao!! really scary! And painful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

orange... no worries lah... my appt wif gynae in 2 wks time at wk 37. Guess its just tight contractions...mainly occur nite time.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

everyday tell bb to stay inside for 4 more wks.. haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]cuz planning to start ML 3 May..at 39wks..

Hello ladies....

I'm done with the delivery. Everything happened soooooo fast. My gyne broke my water bag at about 8.50am and bb was out at 10.45am. She left peacefully at 10.51am.

Will update more later on. Let me catch up on my sleep first.

Pinnky/AR,

ya, and she is charging me $2.2k which is higher than the market rate of $1.8 - $2k but she was recommended by my friend so I thought if she is really good, I dun mind spending a bit more since it's a one-off thing. but now, no matter how good she is, I dun feel too good about her now. looks like my instincts are correct, after I hv confirmed my booking with her, I kept having this strange feeling that she will play me out last min.... it seems to be somewhat true now....

Petals..2.2k is expensive..mine is 2k..after wat u hv told, I think u better to find someone else..otherwise last min she got any changes, u got no time to find..u got any contacts?

petals

nice hearing frm u again... erm... ur CL like very unethical leh... my CL calls quite often to ask abt my status... coz employing her for the 2nd time liao... n after the scare last nite... i will call her tonite to warn her that i might deliver early... n i think she not taking any jobs this mth... thks for the warning...

maggie mee

my tight contractions yesterday started after lunch all the way to midnite lor... was me & HB like pretty excited lor... and this morning still got cramps so i think very soon liao... n i'm having on off tight contractions now as i type...

chloie

u rest well 1st okie?? update us when u can... *hugz*