(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Sorry for the interruption.

Please be informed that Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) providing free 3D ultrasound scans for ex pectant mothers. All the slots have been taken up.

Thank you to all the mommies who have signed up and we see you on 04 Feb 10.

Sorry to interrupt

im Nov mum, like to sell items i received after birth (brand new, didnt use it)

* AVENT breast shells $20

* PIGEON natural-fit manual breast pump(BPA Free) S40

Interested please sms 90283209

Hi bbf / mtbs / ftbs,

I found this interesting place.

Barracks(or Camp) @ House at Dempsey Hill/House

http://www.dempseyhill.com/tenants_barrack.htm

http://www.dempseyhill.com/tenants_camp.htm

Or you can log into their website at

http://www.dempseyhouse.com/

They have a few types of private function room. See pdf brochure below.

http://www.dempseyhouse.com/pdfs/House%20Corporate%20Kit.pdf

Is a dining cum spa restaurant. Opened by Spa Esprit Group.

I gave them a call just now to check out their package(not in detail):

Price per person/pax/mtb/ftb:

$50++ per person. (Oops! I forgotten to ask them about kid)

Food:

Buffets for 30paxs and above

Ala carte for 30paxs and below.

*But the price will still be $50++ per pax

The rental for the room.

Example: Green House room(maximum no. of people - 25pax)

Rental: $1200

*But if we spend more than $1200 for the food, we don't have to pay the room rental.

Eg: 25pax(mtbs/ftbs) X $50 = $1250.

But if we have lesser mtbs/ftbs.

Eg: 20pax(mtbs/ftbs) X $50 = $1000.

*We have to pay $200 more to top up for the room rental.

They have bigger room like Wassily 1 room(max. 40pax) The rental will be $1700. We need at least 35 mtbs/ftbs.

Not cheap but is a nice and cosy place for us to gather together before our "Big day". They have spa service if any mtb are interested.

Just a suggestion [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am letting go my Avent Single Electronic Breast Pump. Bought at S$299, selling at S$180. In good condition. Throwing in Avent Breast Shield as well.

Warranty till Mid 2011

Interested, pls email : [email protected]

deby,

oh dear so sorry for the mix up ... but i simply cannot rem who offered the chalet already. my apologies.

Vivi, MTBs, FTBs

Dempsey is great but it's a lil over budget.

Ideally, we shouldn't be spending more than $20 per pax. Yes, we must save $$ for our major expense in May...

Can we confirm to do the bbshower at rantingbb's place? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She wrote to me that her place can easily host a group of 50+ to about 80 pax, including children. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] AND she's not charging us I suppose. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Please check out her lovely home photos @

http://jamesnivy.multiply.com/photos/album/3/James_and_Ivys_Lovenest

AR,

when do we need to give u the confirmed numbers for the bbshower food catering?

YOGA BUDDIES,

YOGA TOMORROW IS ONZ....

pls check ur SMS for special rate. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi MTBs n FTBs,

wow the baby shower event seems to b getting grander! Big cheers to the event planners.

Btw, anyone started on the bird nest yet or is it still early??

Loh, yes, can take bird's nest & chicken essence. I take them on weekly basis, same for coconut drink.

Im ONZ for rantingbaby's place at Centris....been wanted to "tour" that place for sometimes already. LOL.

I have started taking bird nests last week. Taking it every week from now.

Ktscn thanks

I will skip yoga tonite.

I am still so fguly.

Yday drove to pay ggwen but there's no one ard,

gave her a call and she says to pay on 3rd lesson.

I'll see u mummies net week then. Have fun!

Hi Loh, rantingbaby,

I have very mixed feelings when it comes to bird's nest. It's supposed to be a delicacy and so many people (especially TCM) stand by its medical benefits etc etc...

BUT somehow I am still not very convinced.. In fact I personally feel that it has not much nutritional value to start with. My in-laws bought the bottled ones from Brand's and Eu Yan Sang - not much bird's nest inside and very sweet, plus I'm sure got lots of preservatives too.

I would still try to take one or two bottles weekly - but I'm still skeptical about it's 'special powers' of enhancing the baby's immune system, giving the baby smooth and fair skin etc.

I only want the best for my baby... I wonder if it's weird that I feel this way =\

Hey gals, started on birds nest weekly....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BBF: Ranthingbaby's plc in jurong is definitely very far for me. I live in Sengkang and dont think i would be able to make it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anne Raj,

I stay in Sengkang too! I dont mind driving you there... my parents stay in Jurong =) But yah, it's going to take like 1.5 hrs each way if you travel by MRT!

Hi Loh..I also started bird nest since a month ago..but not so frequent as ratingbaby & SK..

Yes, bb-bao..I heard bird nest is not really help to give bb fair skin..u can buy the bird nest in pc one, as u can control d sweetness n also no preservative cum lot of bird nest..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

did u guys tk soy protein or white fungus? they r good to mummies n bbs too..As for the coconut milk, my mum told me to tk only at 3rd trimester or near to edd otherwise is bit too "liang" for us..

bb-bao, thanks for the offer, if thats the case, i dont mind [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

agreed wif bbf, we shouldnt spend more than $20 per pax as we need to save $$ for May..I m ok w/ ratingbaby's place..

Hi Ranthingbaby - I think we are staying at the same block n unit from the view of your balcony... but is my parent's pl, now staying with them..

Baby Shower - no preference

Regarding Birdnest, some of them say if the feather nvr pick thoroughly, it is also not for the baby.. Some can't take too "liang" tonic, will cause baby to hv asthma but some say is very gd. Duno which is true.. I have bought 2 bottles of those concentrated but still haven eat...

Anne Raj,

Don't mention it.. it's going to be so fun with a house filled with pregnant women.. hahaha..

Ok, when the venue is confirmed, I will contact you!

Morning ladies.....

Have not been having a good start for this week..... Really feel like screaming at them.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Regarding the baby shower, I'm fine with anywhere as long everyone is ok with it. Oh ya, can we bring our hbs' along?

About bird nest, try not to take those bottled ones, especially those diluted ones cos I personally find them not really effective in terms of the qty of bird nest in them. There are concentrated ones which I think are better but they have about 2 weeks of lifespan once you open the bottle. But then again, I have a friend who told me not to take too much bird nest cos it will cause bb to have phlegm. [Why does everyone likes to tell me about phlegm problem instead of other issues?] My mum cook the bird nest for me, she dare not add too much sugar cos she is afraid of phlegm [again!]. But I enjoy eating it lah, home cooked with love from her! LOL!

Hi ladies...

Bird nest - My mum and mil bought bird nest in pieces to cook. I take it once a week. They says the btl bird nest is not as good ( very dilute). But whether bird nest works or not... I really dunno. However, my sis gynea told her Apple is equally good as compared to bird nest and its much much cheaper. Just take an apple a day and ur bb skin will be very nice.

My mum also told me to start taking coconuts drinks nearer to my edd. Same theory as Pinnky's mum.

As for the bb shower at Centris, I think I can make it on 6 Mar. =) Just confirm that my sis not celebrating her bdae. Anyway, are we catering? I can prepare ice jelly for dessert if your want. =) Let me know again.

Btw, yoga buddies... I am having disturbing discomfort at my stomach area. Its been there for days and its affecting my movement and sleep. Will be seeing my gynea ltr on. So might be skipping class tonight if it still doesnt get any better.

BBF - Can help me tell Gwen I will pay for the classes next week if I don't make it today? I forget to bring my hp today. Thanks so much...

hihis and goooood morning mtbs!

chloie!

what happened?

hon

hihis..will relay ur msg to bbf/gwen later...

hope ur stomach pain is a harmless one and u'll feel better soon..

mrs teo

hope ur bug bites go away asap! meanwhile, happie resting at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

about bird's nest

according to the shop owner whom i buy the birds' nest (by pieces/nest) by, he told me that the house nests are more liang/causes phlegm, cold coughs, but the cave nests are more bu.

for cave nests, the red ones (nests beside the sea) are not much different in nutritional value from the white (mountain cave ones)

dunno true or not...

BUT i've been making my own weekly (concentrated form - add less water), and taking 1 tablespoon / nite & morning, and so far, it's been giving me a good complexion.. no phlegm, and no cooling coughs ...

will only know the impact on my bb girl come may ... so mmm she's the experimental bb lor... :p

Sue>Well, who else... The great bil is back with his war. Now even my sil is trying to find fault with my hb. Why must all these happen when cny is nearing? Really don't look forward to this year's cny lor. And also don't know why, every time I go home, I feel very irritated and angry. I think I really got to change my house the paint away. Sometimes I dread going home to make myself feel angry.

Had a leg cramp yesterday night while I was still at my parents place. I was trying to shift my position using my right leg then who know the cramp came! Lucky hb was standing in front of me. But surprisingly, the cramp was not as painful as the previous time and it cleared in a while.

I agree with you. Eating bird nest gave me better complexion. My mum gave me a bowl of 3/4 full with 1/2 filled with bird nest lor! Eat till abit scare though. LOL!

Oh ya, there is a stemcord event this Saturday right? Anyone going? Think of going already cos initially I had gyne appt but I changed it so thought of going to listen to what it can offer.

Yes Hon..apple is good..I eat one apple per day since i pregnant..strawberry n kiwi r good too..

Chloe, phlegm is a big issue for bb..as is not easy to cure..so we must tk cr n control wat we eat..try to avoid "liang" stuffs..fruits like pineapple, watermelon, honeydew, orange, pear try to avoid. According my hb's sis, her son got lot of phlegm since born due to uncontrol of her diet during pregnancy and now she needs to bring her son to see doc very often..

Chloie..dun angry..no good to u n bb..think of ur bb, u will feel warm n happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tk cr..

Good morning...

Mrs Teo:

Has the redness subsided? Take care n get well soon. hugss

Baby shower:

im also fine w rantingbb's pl.

Chloie:

regarding the stemcord talk, im gg. so is anlin and AR i think..

Birdnest/Chicken essence:

me meeting my mum tmr at chinatown. thinking of getting birdnest n chicken essence there. any recommendations or brands?? im thinking of the concentrated ones. not so diluted...

hi mtbs,

just some info on the food:

1. Birdnest

Always take a small qty first before you start taking regularly. Got a few preg frens having allergies after taking. If you try abit and monitor for a week, nothing unusual, then should be ok to continue. But i tink the limit is once a week. Too much is too cooling (aka "liang")

2. Barley

Good to drink regularly to prevent urinary infection. But make sure it is not those big chinese barley, too cooling as well

3. Ice

Cold drinks are ok but do be careful of the amount of ice cubes. Ice do trap some forms of baterial depending on the place that serves them. PLus too much ice might give cramps. Best is to have no ice when drinking any cold stuffs

4. Chicken Essence

Havent tried nor given any advice on this. But I guess if you have not been taking this before, always 'test water' by taking a small qty.

However I am curious about those DOM/Yomeishu after delivery.. any of the 2nd time MTBs drink them during your 1st preg?

Btw I am planning for a holiday trip before delivery around this few weeks...just wondering anyone know which travel insurance to buy that will cover pregnant ladies? Esp if *touchwood* needs any medical attention?

Blurangel, yes, I took DOM after my 1st delivery, but I din take it regularly cos dun like the taste. My cousin is an insurance agent, would ask her and update u tonight.

Sue, any tips on how to make your own concentrated bird nest?

Take care, Mrs Teo and BB Hon. See ya next week.

I'm ok to attend the baby shower @ Centris too. Saw the pics of Rantingbaby's home sweet home. Nice place (",)

blurangel..yes, is good to tk DOM after delivery..maybe twice per day..knew it from my sis & friends..I started to stock up d liquor for confinement..

Blurangel, my cousin just get back to me regarding the travel insurance. It would be as per the normal travel insurance type. But most importantly is to get a letter from the gynae to indicate you are in a good condition to travel. Do let me know if you need any help in buying the travel insurance, can ask my cousin to help u

Thanks KTSC & Pinnky. Prob will stock up on DOM as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

KTSC, Will let you know if I need further help on the travel insurance. Now just pray that I can get to travel before delivery. hee

Hey Ladies!

Just came back to office from external audit... still not done! arghh!!

Was reading thru the mng conversations. Many to read! Hahah!

Anyway, so place and time for bb shower fixed right? Can we confirm the headcount for the catering?

I thought of catering from Kriston Catering. They are pretty well known and they do catering for SIM (I was a former student there) :p They have wonderful food! Their high tea is nice and price is reasonable. Could we confirm headcount via the doodle poll again?

hey Chloie! I know its easier said than done but its for the baby's best. you must control ur negative energy. Do some mediation. If you are going for the yoga class, they wud teach u some simple mediation exercises.

And I am going for the AM session for the stemcord session! Those going kindly PM me ur numbers so can 'buddy' with u kind souls. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm a Dec'09 mummy. saw u all toking abt the cheap clothes shop at bugis.

I have the following to let go.

1) Covered Pants with booties, brand new, bot from the bugis shop. I dont need so many so letting go at cost price $2.50 ea including normal postage.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3562590.jpg]

2) Klorane Dry Shampoo for confinement, letting go at $10,used once.

interested, pls PM me.tks.

hihis ktsc

mmm me use the 1 cave yan zhan (literally whole bird's nest) each time and cook 1x a week.

1) soak them in warm water for 1.5hrs.

2) Use this same water and cut out the thicker edges. (the thicker edges look ugly and some pple avoid buying them, but in fact, they have the most potential for expansion, and from my observation, they expand to ~4x compared to dried form, so we get much more volume and birds nest upon boiling)

3) Just barely cover the thick edges with the soaked water, in a small ceramic container to keep it concentrated. Add 1-2 pieces of American ginseng if u want.

4) Double boil the thicker edges for ~40mins while keeping the remaining soaked in water (outside the pot).

5) Check after 40mins and increase soak time if needed. Once the double boiled thicker edges have the same texture as the un-boiled thinner edges, add the thinner edges to the ceramic contained and continue double boil it for ~2hrs or until the texture turns into a transparent colour.

6) Then add sugar to taste, let the birds nest cool before refrigerating.

7) Use a dry tablespoon and take it every night / day.

For me, 1 piece of cave nest can last me 8-10tablespoons for 6 days.

We can keep it for ~1 week in the fridge w/o spoiling..

Btw, the soak and double time is only applicable for cave nest.

If use house nest, soaking time is ~20mins, cooking time is only 1hr max cos of difference in composition.

I stopped using house nest since it's supposed to be more liang, but my info is only from 1 source and experience.

if other mtbs have different experience, pls let me know..

i definitely wanna know if i kena smoked by the owner of my usual chinese medicine hall shop (which i buy it from)

hope u dun find me lor so... :p

SK

My place is not in Centris. It's the HDB opposite. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Paiseh... Wanted to buy Centris, but no money. hahaha... Now they finish building realised that no money can be a good thing too. *Wink*

KTSC

Those are old photos taken in the first 2 years of moving in. The day bed is now children's play-area, so stuffed with many many many many toys...

So many posts today... Read until I blur...

RE: BB Shower

I am ok with hubbies joining in. From the current list, how many people do we have? Will get my maid to move the furniture around a bit, so we can have more space.

BBF, no charges lar... that's the best thing about using own place... But if it's condo, will be better hor? kekeke...

RE: Tonics

The Bird's Nest I have is bought by hubby from China... Supposedly to be the top-grade kind bah... I don't study herbatology, so just eat lar...

I only drink coconut water when I see it available in hawker centres and restaurants.

As for chicken essence, I only drink in the morning to ti shen. If not I keep sleeping like my toddler girl like that.

RE: Stemcord

AR, I'll PM you my contact later. I am also going for the morning session only.

RE: Travel Insurance

blurangel, I check if I still have the travel agent's contact number. I contacted this guy (a contact from an ex-colleague) when I went to China during my first pregnancy.

Speaking of travel, hubby is going on a work trip to Tokyo and I can go tag along! Yeah! Only prob is I have my #1 in tow... But looking forward to bringing her to Tokyo Disney...

RE: Swimming

I went for a swim with my hubby in tow today. So happy that he's on leave. Even ran over to have my aching back massaged by jets of water at the jaccuzzi area. I stay there only for about 3 mins, cos I only wanted to relieve the aches...

Mrs Teo, take care leh... My recent trip to a JB coastal restaurant was also fraught with 'danger'. We were having our dinner and after dinner, I got 6 sandfly bites. Whereas my girl has got 1 gigantic one on her ankle. Every night, she'll remind us that 'bite pain pain'.

ranting baby,

thanks. the aftermath is horrible. I've like perhaps 20 bite marks on my neck and collarbone area. hope they all vanish soooooon.....

hon and impulse41, thanks for your advice!

i took the yellow tablet till i could see my GP the next day. he gave a stronger medicine, better now but not fully recovered yet. however, i thought there were more movement in my womb after taking the medicine...kinda worried..

pigkitty

Don't worry, just remember that whatever drugs that were prescribed to us during our pregnancy would be safe for baby. And if you are breast-feeding, you can take the same kind of drugs that were prescribed during pregnancy.

That said, if you are concerned of the drug effects on your baby, just give your gynae a call to double-check.

AR, you don't accept PM, so I leave my number here... just call me to link up - 8two51 two647.

hey Hey!

thank rantingbaby. I just realised I dunno how the PM thing works. heheheh! :p Got your number already.

SK,

Could I request for u to do that doodle thing again, this time for no. of guests?

blurangel,

Dom and YMS is very "bu" especially when you are having confinement.

I think daily recommended dosage is not much but if you are planning to BF, alcohol is not advised as it gets into the blood stream and into the BM.

It can also affect milk supply so I didn't take it at all.

I also stopped taking danggui after I realised it affects my milk supply.

Instead, I used it to cook all my dishes during confinement, the herbs get absorbed and cooking dissipates the alcohol so you still get essence of what you need from them.

I drank lots of YMS after I stopped BF though. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Besides, its a common gift after delivery so maybe you don't have to worry abt stocking up so early.

rantingbb,

no offense but my initial intention is minimize the inconvenience to someone's home by holding it in a more public location, like a condo function room.

Baby Shower >

So where is the confirmed venue for having it? We have a tentative attendees' list and confirmed date already.

2nd doodle should be deciding on venue already yah?

Hey SK,

The current confirmed venue is at Rantingbaby's place which is at Jurong (its near the MRT).

We have tenative attendees' list but dunno how many bringing their kids and hbs.. so need a new one for that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi morning, anyone plan for normal birth?

Maybe you will need raspberry leaf tea?

I'm planning to start drink it at 32 weeks.

Read below for raspberry leaf tea information or you can just type raspberry leaf tea at yahoo.

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/raspberryteaeaselabourexpert/

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/tea4two.html

I will ask my friend from Japan buy the organic raspberry tea leave.

If anyone interested to get, you can e-mail me at: [email protected] (^^)

Raspberry leaf tea also helps to produce milk and get your body in shape back fast. Start drink it after birth. I think you can get the tablet type from GNC or shops that selling organic shop.

Anyone plan to buy milk pump? Is Pigeon brand good?

I'm thinking of getting the Pigeon brand Milk Pump, Milk Bottle Steamer (+ 1 milk & food steamer selling at $169).

Yeap FYI, now Takashimaya is having 10% discount for all Pigeon products.

Good morning mummies..

Thanks Luckyone for ur sharing..I hv studied thru and it really a good product..u can find alot of good comments from below link:

http://www.askbaby.com/raspberry-leaf-tea.htm

Is it easy for us to get an organic raspberry leaf tea in Sgp? When will ur Japan's friend bk to Sgp? I m interested to try tis product too..