(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

Hi Gbh,

My #2 got the cough from his sister who got the cough from me. He has been on neubulizer since Friday. Me even worse, saw a respiratory specialist twice on last friday and yesterday due to my worsening cough/cold/sore throat. Spent alot of $$ and have to pump and throw away my BM for 10 days as all 3 types of bm-friendly antibiotics don't work on me!!!! Haiz...

Ruru, have u tried tcm before? I took 止咳汤 when I was coughing quite badly few months back and it works for me. No harm trying that too

Hi All! Went to the zoo yesterday and the water play area was madly crowded!

GBH, HJ: E has always been fussy about food so I am still waiting for her "passing phase" to pass. I read somewhere that toddlers take 20 times or so of being offered the same new food before some will consent to trying it. So keep trying. It's worrying I know but so long as they still eat something, I try to kan kai.

Yes he's becoming a fussy eater .. Gets full with any food that doesn't interest him ..

Regarding fresh milk vs those marigold packet milk .. Which ones do u mummies give? Currently todS only takes fresh milk ..

Ming: I Kan Kai Liao ... Even with his miserable FM intake I just let him go ... Just hope he gets his appetite soon with the passing phase .. N he hates dha supplement too tried many brands .. And even gummies he picks and chooses ( cannot be hard from the fridge!!)

Everyday I think hard what to give for breakfast lunch and dinner!!

wah i want to share something.

I was at NTUC the only place i shop anyway, promotor trying to sell me this Helmig's cutcumin tablet u chuck in water & drink. she was saying loudly in general to all passer bys - can ease your cough in one day i was thinking - zhen de ma??

i been plauged with this LUNGFUL kind of cough & its awful in aircon room - for nearly 2 weeks!!!! i was also so scared to pass it back to the kids & all, then i bot la - good for cholestrol (siao TU nan lol well lets see) & helps with constipation - with recent piles removal op done - i sure need help in that department.

anti oxidants anyway.

anyway here is my review. Cough's gone within 1 day. I bot bot the put in water & the other tablets 60 for $38 & the cheaper simplier alternatives one sachet each 10 in a box 4 boxes for $16.80.

they gve me some simple bottled birds nest free.

anyway the fizzy one i dont think is very good as it as aspatame - she was telling me take 9 packets immed tomorrow go toilet lose 2 kg omg its the aspartame la! not that it helps so much.

thge tablets are better - & 1 tablet = 10 pcs of the fizzy one - i will repurchase the tablet one if i see more good results within the 1st box.

ming

i was trying to avoid but anyway hb last min got called to work! so we went home #2 napped & #1 whined away - i cleaned & packed. once hb was done -it was quite late already but he still brought us out the kids had a crazy time at the play ground while i went to test out 10 hairdryers in the nearby store.

what an exciting PH for me

HJ

they say fresh like HL - those from the chiller is safer just after my friend told me about this - i bot SMOO 6 pc for #1 back then - yet to give her, milk taint problems all blew out like crazy in the media. so i didnt give & later i found out smoo also was under target.

my friend was saying she dunno why her son took always fell sick lor.

I guess OLDER we give once a while its so so ok ba.

cos i was looking for alternatives on the go say i didnt bring FM out & the kiddo needs the taste of milk then can sleep.

Morn mummies ..

Ming: did u mention that taxis in Sydney will refuse to drive u without a car seat? I don't intend to rent the car yet till midway when going to hunter valley. And I'm definitely not bringing a car seat with me.. I'm wondering how I'm going to get from airport to city centre hotel if the cab refuse to drive without car seat? Sounds strange. Any ideas?

car seat

that is a headache ya?

wonder that Rachael Hue selling that convertable luggage bag into car seat they allow or not lor. but then once u reach one place of attraction u still need a place to store it how silly.

Talk abt FM, does ur darling still drink as much as ever? My gal is inconsistent in her milk demand, sometimes can go without her afternoon round of milk b4 her nap. She is at her terrible 2 stage where she will even fight w u over the milk. Every morning say don't want milk when she wakes up, I just ignored her and put the milk bottle beside her then her hand will automatically go and take to drink.

Hi HJ,

That is a v good question! The taxi driver refused, then what r we going to do??!!

HJ: It didn't happen to us but I understand from Sydney friends that taxi drivers can and often will refuse to take passengers with children but without car seats.

Taxis

Taxi drivers must ensure:

All passengers younger than 12 months must be secured in a child restraint. 

All passengers aged over 12 months and under 16 years must: 

occupy a seating position that is fitted with a suitable seatbelt, and

not occupy the same seating position as another passenger (whether or not the other passenger is exempt from wearing a seatbelt under rule 267), and

wear the seatbelt properly adjusted and fastened.

No passenger under four years old is in the front seat and a child four years or older but under seven years may only sit in the front row if all of the other seats in the row or rows behind the front row are occupied by passengers who are also under seven years old.

Extracted from rta site.

So the onus is on the taxi driver, so it's quite likely for them to reject passengers.

Spoke to some friends. The best way is to call a cab. There's no additional charge. Or if at airport, ask for such cabs. They should lead you to one (thought it may take a while)

Ya cos I'm renting the car from Sydney city cos in the city having a car is extra ..

So I need to get from the airport to hotel in Sydney city .. Looks like I need to do more research on this ...

If the cabs are so strict then I guess they have safety seats to loan?

If not take bus/train into city? Hmm headache

Morning

Ruru: no, my gal refuses food but never refuses milk. She will dictate which bottle she will drink her milk from and where she drinks it. Min she takes now is 240ml in morning, 180ml after lunch and 240ml after dinner. Occ she can trick us into giving her an extra bottle.

HJ: me too, going sydney city, then renting car to go Hunter Valley. I just assumed the airport will have child friendly taxis. Have you booked your accomodations? I’m going for apartments so can cook food for them (and probably us too). My uncle who lives there said they only allow Made in Aust car seats so if you lug one around, need to make sure it is an approved one.

Maddie: yes I have just booked our apartments called the 150 apartments just off Hyde park in darlinghurst. We are getting a 2 bedroom apartment..

Actually I was not worried abt child seat at all until I read Ming post haha ... I usually assume from airport they will have cabs to take us... Milk powder unopened tins shd be ok to bring along right?

Ok in that case I'll bring a small tin up the plane that is unopened. I'm worried they will throw the pre packed ones away which they did to my cousin once ... So I don't fumble in case the luggage doesn't come out fast enough and we require milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AH HUAT PTE LTD – opks & Hpts

Pm me or [email protected] for transaction details.

Opks only

20 pcs $13.70

30 pcs $19.00

Hope PACKS $3.80 – available

5 hpts

MINI HUAT PACKS (UK) $13.70 – available

15 opks

5 hpts

HUAT PACKS (UK) $19 – available

25 opks

5 hpts

*opks - Ovulation strips.

hpts-Home Pregnancy test strips.

Where not mentioned Opks are 20 miu = High sensitivity opks. Hpts are 10 miu ultra high sensitivity.

Prices include local postage within Singapore.

Those transferring from non POSB/DBS banks please contact me earlier as the interbank transfer will take longer – I do prefer to mail out only upon receipt of payment unless you are a regular.

Unfortunately no meet-ups please. Courier can be arrange from $6-8+ depending on your location for urgent deliveries.

( purchases are confidential - your privacy is respected )

Brought my darlings to Bird Park yesterday to play with water. V happy as the waterplay area is very new and not very crowded (thus the water seem clean, not like the zoo, looks grayish!!!!), the toilets are just 3m away, so more convenient while changing clothes and there are sheltered area for people to sit around while waiting for the kids to finish splashing around. There is even a playground just beside the playarea, so can play both wet and dry. Happy happy!!!

Morning Mommies!

How's everyone? Miss chatting with all of you. I've been very busy at work and had no time to come in here.

Today is different cos it's the first day in my new "job" as SAHM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning all.

My son sick wor.. already 8 day of his jabs MMR/chickenpox n flu. I thought should be sick within 5 days.

Yesterday I got woke up with his hot feet on me.. then I realised he is having fever.

Morn!

Maddie: I'm thinking of picking the grange hermitage too! So ciao!

I stayed in thistle hill hermitage before but unfortunately they te full in August already!!

Syzygy: Hello! Long time to see. So you have finally decided to be a SAHM? All the best with C [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HJ: Unopened tin of milk powder is definitely fine. We packed all of E's food in a separate cabin bag and just opened that bag at Customs. They only took a cursory look and waved us on.

Hi Ming!

My husband's job made the decision for me. We're leaving for France at the end of this month.

Ah just saw your reply to HJ. E's food meaning off the shelf baby food?

Hi Syzygy6,

Woah, France leh! Yah, bring rice cooker, rice, pampers etc to last u for at least 2-3 days while u settle down in your new place and find out where is your nearest grocery store etc. Perhaps pack some cereal/cornflakes/snack/pasterised milk for your gal in case really bz w unpacking and no time to cook lunch?

Hi Syzygy6,

The scissors is good. Cannot bring abroad the plane, put in checked-in luggage.

Hi chips,

Yah, my gal got fever on the 9th day post-jab. May have some red spots also.

Thanks Ruru!

I usually cook her porridge in a tiny slow cooker. So no issue packing electrical appliances into our luggage? Or would you pack into the hand carry cabin bag? You brought rice in an unopened package in your check-in luggage? Wonder if France would be so particular about foodstuff e.g. rice being brought in.

syzygy6 (syzygy6)

I got the same scissors thinking wil use but nv open it up til now cos usually food can b cut/chop with spoon/fork

Syz: France sounds great! Enjoy the adventure and keep in touch! I would bring my rice cooker to France - assuming you can ship it in the relocation container? I will also bring my chinese wok and LOTS of Prima Taste Packs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We brought biscuits, bread etc on board for E and packed it all into a cabin bag so we just blithely told the customs people this bag contains the only food we are bringing in and it's all for the little girl.

Tiny Bites scissors: I bought them too. They are good but mine started to rust because the helper kept them when they were still wet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ok thanks everyone. Will check-in my tiny slow cooker for her porridge and rice. Groceries go to supermarket to buy. Other kitchen stuff will be shipped over. The shipping co sent a rep down this morning and he said the last one they did to be same location took 2 - 2.5 months to arrive *faint*. By then I would have bought temporary cookware etc already!

Vic Ma, will be there for two years.

Hi Szy,

I brought instant noodles/milk/biscuit to France before. Hmm... U want to hand-carry the small slow-cooker on board the plane just in case the claypot inside crack due to rough handling of check-in luggage? Hard to find this type of cooker there leh.

Wah, can bring your gal to euro Disney. Sure v fun as not very crowded but it is abit run-down as compared to the other disneyland parks I visited. Can almost covered all the rides in 1 day as q short short. Hah!!!!

Syzygy6

my friend came abck from France hb'soverseas posting for also around 2 yrs came back to pop. she lived in more outback areas & most of the time cooked,baked & mahjonged with fellow sg wives there. its very ex to eat out there so bring things to make your hb lunch box maybe a thermos lunch box that can keep food warm/separated will be a good option. I was told back then 3 + yrs back le lunch at canteen was like 10-15 euros. & one of the wives very enterprising - she set up shop selling lunch to the asians - for also around Euro 10-15.

ifyou are in city i supposed might be diff.

Ruru, yes can bring her to visit lots of places in Europe.

Vic Ma, I think I might be going to the same place your fiend went. Ulu part... Not in the city.

My hubby cooks waaaay better than me.... I think he'll rather pack a sandwich than eat my cooking. Anyway I hope to brush up my cooking skills. Told hubby whatever I cook for dinner must finish :p