(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

Hi, anyone let baby use sarong (automatic 1)?

Is it okie to let newborn use sarong? My gal wants carry all the time so no choice let her sleep in sarong with auto YAO....

Will it affect her brain development?

elmO,

My boy also slp in yaolan manual 1. I didn't yao onli let him slp inside hav a feel of being hug by the cloth. N if got noise won't get frighten.

Elmoo

I use manual Yao LAN for my #1.

I dun like the motor for the Auto one. I pAronoid worried that the motor will drop on baby.

I finally have time to come in here.

Yasmin, my condolences to you and your family for the loss of your dad.

Lynn, yups, I got my baby-soothing tips from the book you mentioned. They worked very well for my older girl.

GBH, realized no one answered you on your qn. GH is short for SGH.

Celyn/Vicma

GNC selling fenugreek at about $29 (UP). They having promo now at about $26, if I didn't remember wrongly.

My EBM is running low and ss is maintained but insufficient for BB G. Night yield w/o latch is about 60mls; day yield w/o latch is about 50mls & day yield with latch is about 30mls.

Just went to buy a 400g tin of similac. Decided to give her one feed every night for the next few days until stash increases.

I am just glad that I have been able to tbf for at least a month before offering her FM. Now she is settled and has gone to sleep by herself.

Re: Diaper

I used up all the Drypers and was pleasantly surprised by the quality. But agree that the stick-ons are quite stiff. Now using Huggies cos my girl has small butt. Hopefully she will move onto the Pampers that Daddy bought earlier, or I have to sell them off again.

Re: strollers

I bought a Mac Quest just before birth of BB G. Mainly for shopping use, especially when older girl is tired. I have MIM's Baby pouch and sarong sling for BB G.

Re: Hubbies

I guess all hubbies are quite the same. They will not be able to understand why the house can still be messy since wife is at home the whole day. Cos our work as mums is 24/7. Our attention is solely focused on our children.

moo moo time.

finally my girl wake up to drink milk herself.

celia,

can can, can sleep on tummy. #1 had been sleeping on tummy since 2 weeks old. people say can't cos scare they get suffocated.

Re: Hubbies

Guess they belongs to the same flock. My Dh at times really melt my heart by helping me with taking care of my boy but at times, I so feel like he's still need to improve - Cause he can play games till wee hrs (though during this period, he still helps to look after bb). Maybe my expectations too high for him, but he is not too bad la just that he's a super heavy sleeper!

Re: Weight Loss

I've 10kg on me needed to shed and it's 5 weeks after birth of my boy! I wonder if these weight can go off? Thought breastfeeding helps to lose weight but my weight like stagnant and frankly speaking, I don't eat a lot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I still have some water retention though.. how to get rid? Plus, realised my face fatter!

ming,

i did ask pd b4 reg the wheezing sound that my gal makes at times... he said thats bcoz bb has narrow nasal passage... not necessarily its asthmatic or got prob...

rurucat,

hahaha! u so funny... washing machine explode... i that time gek kiang... wanna be super mummy... bought bumwear 2 diff package... we bought one with the size from newborn to 2 yrs old then realised still too big for my riny gal so bought another package of petite size... in the end only use few times... bcoz no time to change/wash/ put inserts.. i rather spend time pumping or sleeping.. just did a normal pump.. wah lau ss drop to 30ml.. just a day before i managed to get 65ml with pp... so happy then... now im carrying my gal in the pouch.. waiting for her to go into deep slp then put her down...

re weight loss,

u got do massage? i was having a big tummy after delivery then my mother n mil kept saying i look like still 4-5 mths preg... kept asking me to go do massage... i think i did the massage at abt 2 weeks.. can see drastic results after 5th day... my tummy was much much flatter...so i quite happy... u can try going for massage to get rid of the tummy...

jasda,

u can buy the bib nursing cover at mums n babes... buy those with a wire around the top one... so u can just look down n see ur baby... i bought mine at this shop in city sq mall.. think its called rainbow something... its a shop tt sells lotsa cute cute colorful knick knacks... doesnt look like one tt sells nursing bib... think its either at 2nd/3rd floor... i quite like my bib.. its the wired type n comes with a matching small pillow tt u can strap to ur arm n use that to support bb head.. n also got a matching pouch to keep pillow n bib... i think i got the whole set for like $32? so its really a good buy... plus i like the colourful cute cute print...

Woken up earlier than expected by BB G, but it was a lapse of 4hrs for her since I gave her 90mls FM as last feed of the day.

Now waiting for her to finish drinking 80mls EBM before I start pumping.

elmo,

personally i dun advocate yao lan.. i think its dangerous for nb plus it creates a bad habit next time... when ur bb gets used to it, next time u go pple hse no yao lan then cham liao...

celia,

ya... most docs n pple will tell u not to let bb slp on tummy.. its link to SIDS... Sudden Infant Death Syndrome... dunno y also... probably due to suffocatn.. i dun dare let bb slp on tummy but i got let her slp on her tummy on my tummy... i.e. her tummy on my tummy while i lay on my back... then when she aslp then i flip her over to let her slp on her back...

moo moo time. this time, my girl wake up earlier to drink milk. hardly sleep from 1 am till now cos she cry on and off while #1 came over, toss around my bed. disturb by these 2 babies, hopefully i can sleep better after pump.

rantingbaby,

thanks for ans my qn... in fact i almost forgot i askedf wats GH... hahaha... too tired liao...

going to try putting gal down.. my left arm numb liao,.. though she is inside the pouch... think its the weight on my shoulder... thne going to zzz... happy pumping! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jade / syzygy6 : Does your baby spit out a bit of milk or a (few) mouthful? My baby girl can spit out a big mouthful after burp. Even then, I can sense that she is still feeling uncomfortable after burp; as though there's milk stuck at her throat. That is why sometimes she still regurgitate after we put her down. Not sure if this requires PD attention.

syzygy6 / ruru cat: I will try your method to put her in more upright position after feed. Hope this will help in reducing the frequency. Thanks for the advice.

Cham lar!!!

My pump only yield 45mls after 15mins pumping... It seems to have halved... Dunno what I did wrongly... First time like this... *Sigh* will stop thinking and go zzz...

GHLK, my bb also has throw up fair amounts of milk after feeds. Maybe she has reflux. Can google to find out more. Need to keep upright 30min after feeds. Also when burp sometimes she squirm n look very uncomfortable. After that maybe throw up milk. Can be a bit to kana ppl clothes, bed/sofa/floor. At first I very worried. Now I think if she gaining weight then shd be ok.

Gbh, why u don't like the bumwear? I bought a starter set n find it very good. Want to get more but inertia. I use in daytime n diapers at night. If got offer will go n buy more bumwear to use round the clock. Put in washing machine very easy one ma.

Re: hb. I must really be thankful for mine. He is really very hands on. From when I was pregnant he won't let me do housework. When I do he will take over. And during confinement he did all the laundry n cleaning too. Now I got maid he very happy.

Glhk,

I'm facing the same problem as you. My bb will vomit out lots of milk after each feeding.. My pd said it's reflux, gastric muscle not fully develop.. I understand how u feel, I feel so gek sim whenever he vomits milk. Sigh! Hope they will grow out of it soon.

moo moo time.

i was complaining that my girl sleep a lot yesterday. now she wake up regularly to drink milk. she just finished her milk and me moo moo. maybe cos i didn't let her sleep on tummy that's why she wake up regularly? i shall do a test on it.

Hi Elmoo,

Yaolan won't affect bb's brain development as the cloth 'yao' the whole body, not just the head. Bb may get brain damage only when he/she is violently shaken like a ragged doll. So not to worry lah.

GBH,

The bb poach that u r using got size anot? U got 2 right? 1 is MIM sling, the other is bb poach? Feels like getting 1 also (I hv MIM sling liao).

Rurucat

yes, the MIM baby pouch got size (not adjustable), but the sling no size cos adjustable. I use the baby pouch myself and got the sling for my helper.

Re:vomit milk

my boi off n on will do the same...at times he drink milk too fast n swallow too much air..at times its juz the stomach refluz thing..i usually prop him up n try to burp him when this happens.

Re:weight loss

does anyone notice the weight loss sorta stopped liao??? my boi is now 6wk old +...i realised im not losing any weight in terms of numbers aldy...but i started on my massage...after like 5 sessions...the kakak noticed my tum sorta become firmer n not so flabby ..but my thighs are horrible though.

rantingbaby

dun stress..me also bm ss drop which got me stressed..drink more fluids esp water.

gbh

my boi also has this sorta wheezing noise when he zz..bt its from the nose...duno isit got a abit of cold or wat.

XLH, same about weight, tummy n thighs. Have 6-7 kg left that just can't go off.

My bb also has noisy breathing n can 'snore' louder than hb n me. Prob combi of pisai n narrow canal. Will ask pd next visit abt it.

Ranting, seems like ss dips around 4th week or so fr my experience n what I notice among ppl here. Maybe stress cos CL left or natural, I dunno. But mine increased on it's own after that too. Try to relax!!

Thanks all mummies, now I feel better for letting her sleep sarong. I also dun wana intro her to sarong at 1st but my mum keep nagging me then the little ones also keep crying want carry.

I cant be carrying her the whole day so no choice let her sleep sarong, she tends to sleep longer in sarong in the afternoon which is good so I can do my own stuff. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi april mommies,

Re: Confinement Lady - Siew Ling Jie

i am a mtb in june..but jus like to chk if anyone has engaged Siew Ling Jie(Siew Zhen Jie sister) in your confinement....jus want to enquire how was she during the period??

Tks a million..

Glhk: can be a big mouthful at times. Sometimes put in sitting position also can vomit out. I see also gek sim as don't know if she is drinking enough. Hopefully like what cottagefry say will grow out of it soon when the muscles develop.

Gbh: we are not on talking terms with the smoking neighbours anymore. They insists they have the right to smoke though they are aware they are harming their neighbours. Tell them nicely also no use.

I'm a Aug MTB. Now, having problem trying to find a confinement lady in early August. Do you have anyone to recommend? Please help. Thanks!

Gbh

Wa…. If that is the case, don’t tink I wanna get any sling already, just put my bb either on the 2 strappy thing, or just put her on the stroller already….. hopefully she will get used to the stroller, else super tiring to keep carrying her and still need to push the stroller.

Celynlee

Now even I put her on the stroller, and when she’s awake, she wouldn’t wanna stay in the stroller. Instead, she wants me to carry her. Else she will go on crying until I carry her one leh.

Brandedfans

Wow… thanks for the link, I will take a look at their website. Hopefully can get some good bargains…. So you don’t mind me quoting your nick? The lady will gimme discount like additional 10% izit?

glhk

reflux, overfeeding all can cause vomitting though small amt of vomit is normal to come out with burps.

Now i don't feed my boy all the milk at one time, it take a long time but i break it down to 30ml, 30ml etc and after every 30ml, i burp him and after each full feed, i let him sit up straight for 10 mins before putting him down to sleep. now he only vomit out milk when he is overfed.

is it true that we cant take cold drinks, cockles and those liang stuff as we are bfing?

was told it no gd for bb...

hi ladies.....

do any of you have problems tuning the bb to sleep at night??

I let my gal sleep as little as possible in the daytime, and hope to get her to sleep at night... but unsuccessful.... even though she has little sleep during the day, she will also sleep only at like 3am in the morning no matter how I tune her leh.... haiz.. super tired like tat.... at night, i have keep the environment as quiet and dark as possible liao, but to no avail leh... even though singing and playing goodnight songs to her doesnt help at all leh... really at a loss ... dunno wat to do....

i pump until my left side cos no latch on my left - nipple too hard & too big still for bb to latch wo causing alot of pain & chucks of flesh droping off the next day.

i pump until the valve was flapping in ebm. whole bottle filled up!

vic ma,

good job. i also feel like going to robinsons but person holding the card is not at home. i go also useless. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm letting go a Brand New Pelangi Story books - Hello Animals.

http://www.pelangibooks.com/module/series/series.aspx?seriesid=SBSGSE20

Brand new. Only one book was open (Busy Little Bees ) by my son once - but condition is still new. Let me know if anyone is keen. Too greedy.. I bought alot of books when i was pregnant with 2nd child. Now realise that i will never have time to read with my son as everyday he's only home at about 8:30pm from my MIL place. Than after going back to work I will have even lesser time to do things with him .. Slowly going through my collection of untouched books and see which one to sell.. haiz.. all good books but have to clear as no place to put the books already!!!

Letting go whole set of 10 books at - S$28.

Collection at Yishun.

juski22,

you can take some cold drinks but not too many. As for cockles and too liang stuffs, best to avoid if possible. My CL asks me to cut down on banana as it will cause bb to have winds in tummy if I consume many as I am bfeeding. So it seems our diet is sorta restricted if we want to bfeed.

mommies,

saw on papers that robinson having sales. Is it the GSS liao? Any idea when this sales ending?

For mommies whose bb sleeps in cot, what mattress didi you get? latex, foam or coconut husks one?

Not sure if my girl gaining weight well. For mums who fully breast feed, how much weight your baby gain?? Now my girl in her 7th weeks and so far gain about 1.5kg ..