(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

Hi Vic Ma,

Yah, I agree, the fishy smell has nothing to do with our diet per se. My freshly expressed milk no fishy smell also, only after putting in fridge the smell gets stronger.

I am a silent reader actually

Saw that some mummies mentioned abt bringing bb for the swimming spa.

Actually i have qualms abt doing that cos i did that for #1 and he tio some viral infection back then. It is a CMV virus and #1 was put to various tests back then in KK. We suspect he got it at the swimming spa cos that was the only outside exposure for him back then.

And he need to go back to KK for yearly routine checkup for his eyeslight and hearing test. It was quite a traumatic experience for us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Thot the water in thoes bath-tub are not re-usable, but it is nto exactly clean cos' they dun wash/scrub the bath-tub after each session.

That is my personal opinion loh.

Of coz, i have friends who brought their babies there din haf any problem too lo :p

Guess it is heng-sway kinda of ting oso lo

Hi Goldfish, Thanks for sharing...

Hmm.. now i'm thinkiing whether i should buy my own spa pool. The other time i saw a BP selling for $60 or $70 ..

celyn

i did 130am then just managed to wake u see la o terok. I cannot do fast pumps as i hoped. 15mins min. And if in a hurry 10 is must be higher suction power abit pain. So sian else not cleared feeling

Woof

get the medela 7.4g one ba. Its 12.90 i recall. Just a pea size rub with yr thumb and 1st index finger tip and apply for both nips enough. Too much can clog milk ducts. I was given the huge tube previously didnt evem finish 15% - then i needed cos soreness was a big prob for me then.

freestyle users

asking on behalf of a friend.

How to deal wiith membrane and back cup. Need to steralise? Cos she said the instruction seem to be just wash and warm water (i think)

morning everyone

vic ma,

i think we are all tired.

orangey,

if you are always 30mins late, then there is still some sort of routine mah. it should be fine. but not like us who are super late loh.

Anyone did baby signing with baby?? Thinking whether to start but wondering would it be difficult as i will be going to work in a month time and i'm very certain that my MIL wont be bothered to do it... Than by the time i pick up baby she will be asleep already.. So wonder if the baby will still learn..

Morning! Rainy day. So shiok to sleep in n happy no need to work yet.

When u all bring bb to swimming pool is it better to get disposable swim diaper or the reusable ones? Where to buy the head float thing? My bb turning 3 months soon then can bring go swimming pool. Thot of getting spa tub but only use short while. Anyone used bath before?

Ladies, need your advice again...

What is the best way to remove super old labels stuck to hand me down glass bottles? The labels show that the milk exp in 2005/2006?! Have been used multiple times by previous owner(s) and still can't come out. Obviously nothing happened to their kids but I see already feel so gau wek (don't know how to spell this).

Orangey,

don't fret... Half/one hour late not so bad. Me still berating myself for 14hour lapse followed by 7hour lapse in 24 hour window. Right side huge lump bb suck and suck still can't go away...

XLH,

I am using Lanisoh. Works well for me. I use only when real bad other times I use bm.

Jade & Celyn,

so tempted to bring bb down for a swim in the pool cos I want to soak myself :p but concerned about the chlorine on her skin.

Hi Syzygy6,

Soak the bottles in hot water w detergent overnight. Then buy the metal mesh type of scrub to scrub like mad. Hee....

Re: Swimming pool

Think when baby's neck firm liao then can go swimming pool? I also concerned about the dirty water and chlorine. My condo's swimming pool is very cold also, must wait until late afternoon then better.

Hi Lucida,

Yes, the BP selling $70 for the swimming tub.

Hi Maddie,

Kiddy palace sells the Huggies brand of waterproof diaper. Cost around $1.40/pc. One thing about the diaper is that it doesnt absorb water, so in other words, that means if bb poos and pee in the diaper, it just contains the stuff, so when taking out diaper, must be careful. Hee....

Hi Vic Ma,

I sterilize the back cup (hard transparent plastic) but the soft membrance (yellow colour), I wash liao, then I do a quick dip in hot water for around 30s to 1min. Both the soft membrance and the softshield not supposed to sterilize, but I kiasu, just dip in hot water to make myself feel that the item is clean even though some germs can survive up to 5mins of steam!!!

Morning mummies, boss called again. Sigh, wonder if maternity leave suppose to rest and no call for work. Don't care la, don't want to response as quick. Going to delay the slides till midnite tonite then send to him, else he think I very free at home and will call more to give me work. Rather buy something for my boy and girl in BP.

Mummies, do you want to get a leather shoe for your girl or boy? I'm aiming soft sole leather shoes for my girl, as need to attend a wedding dinner in Aug. By then, she will be 4.5 months and will be nice to dress up. (Muslim can't get this coz it made of pig skin, just reminder)

Noticed they have a closed BP as link below, offering Little Blue Lamb shoe at $23.00 per pair.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4062322.html?1276484381

Contacted KidsnGifts and they metnioned if we can get 5 pairs, it will be $22.00 and if 8 pairs, will be $21 per pair and if 10 pairs or more, it will be $20.00. Anyone want to join force to get this good bargain?

They are ok if you we want to get Squecky series too, but I think the size is big, more for 1 year to 2 years ++ and don't want to keep for so long. If you have #1 that need this, will be good bargain too. They let go at $20.00 per pair for squecky series. Squecky only left with only for girls.

http://kidsngifts.blogspot.com/ --> can see the measurement and design at this link.

Here is their stock list and i have chopped mine as below, and nice to get as a gift for my friend's baby too. If you want, can you copy the following and put your name aside? Negotiated with them so delivery will be to your door step / postage included on normal mail. So, even better, no need to wait for me to send out.

SSG01 - 6-12M

SSG02 - 6-12M

SSG02 - 6-12M - Brandedfans

SSG04 - 6-12M

SSG04 - 12M-18M

SSG05 - 6-12M

SSG05 - 6-12M - Brandedfans

SSG07 - 6-12M

SSB02 - 6-12M

SSB05 - 6-12M

SSG06 - 6-12M

SSG06 - 6-12M - Brandedfans

SQ01 - size 5

SQ01 - size 7

SQ06 - size 7

SQ07 - size 7

SQ08 - size 7

SQ10 - size 6

SQ10 - size 7

My boy tried it before, very good quality, comparable to pediapads, but much cheaper, so wanted to get for my girl too, be fair mah. Last time i got it from Dearbaby.

http://www.dearbaby.com.sg/component/virtuemart/category/43/little-feet/girls/soft-sole.html

Can see the price is $31.37 vs $23.00, or $20.00 if get combined forces. UP$36.90.

Let me know, else will confirm my order with them by next Friday. Thanks first lo... ;)

Sigh the things we encounter during the day....

As I was carrying my girl to her bathtub she pooped on me my bathroom floor and rug... Don't know whether to laugh or cry... But not angry... Only get angry when she screams her head off and make my ears ring.

Vic ma,

everything goes into sterilizer for me. Soft fit shields turned yellow as expected. Changed to personal fit. Membranes and backcaps seem all right. Wasn't the warning for soft fit only? Anyway I have an extra set of spares. Just in case.

syz,

hi 5. I was pumping n my boy cried (screamed), carried him over to do tandem pumping then boomz! a strong smell followed.. nay mind carry back to put on bed to change diaper then realised diaper one side came loose. my pj kena and the bed sheet plus bb's nice bodysuit fr my fren. Spent like one hr clearing up the mess and now waiting to pump again..

MOTHER'S MILK TEA

for mild stimulation of breast milk recommended from 2nd mth onwards preferably after milk ducts have opened.

http://www.iherb.com/Traditional-Medicinals-Organic-Mother-s-Milk-Caffeine-Free-Herbal-Tea-16-Wrapped-Tea-Bags/6800?at=0

anyone wants mother's milk tea? thinking of getting it to international mail to sg works out to around $6.70/box (shops around $9.90) before local postage to individuals.

local postage & envelop. (will flatten to post to save postage $7.20/unit)

1 unit postage $0.50

2 units postage $1

3 units postage $1.50

16 boxes to get max within US$80 FOC international mail to SG. 16 slots available.

Batch 7 (ordered)

1) Violetme

2) Violetme

3) Violetme

4) Mrsheng (May 2010)

5) Mrsheng

6) Mrsheng

7) Crayon See (pearlytea)

8) Crayon See (pearlytea)

9) Blesses(scattermum)

10) Blesses(scattermum)

11) Blesses(scattermum)

12) Blesses(scattermum)

13) charismama (cherishbebe)

14) charismama (cherishbebe)

15) sgsc

16) sgsc

Batch 8 (ordered) - last batch fbefore price goes up for shipping - no more foc shipping from July onwards US$4 more per batch.

1)

5)

6)

7)

8)

9)

10)

11)

12)

13)

14)

15)

16)

thanks bb dust, ruru & chlosper for your freestyle feedback. i let my friend know. she popping next mth.

kdd

in moments like this "shit happens" will pop up in my mind.

yday i kena also on my lap as i transfer my boy to my hb - his hand all shit my pants abit.

last time my girl vomited also on the bed - it was hell!

To add to the drama... After bath fed her she fussed cos she pooped again. Had to change her after her feed cos it was a big load and almost leaked. While changing she vomited and it got all over her ear and hair... Had to clean her up. Poop on floor still not cleared. And because she vomited she wants more milk so now feeding again.

Syz, soak milk bottles in hot water then the paper label can be peeled off. My maid likes to use a spoon to scrape the glue off. Can also wipe cooking oil for remaining sticky stuff.

Ruru thanks. Will go n buy when I dare to bring my bb go swimming pool. Nowadays rainy also cannot go.

Today so tired.

My baby girl refused to go to sleep after her feed from yesterday night 9pm until today morning 4pm.

She kept asking for milk every 1.5hours and drank too much split out all the milk. Changed diaper not happy. Carried her also not happy. Really dunno what to do about her. Going to 2 months old still dun have regular milk feed. Really hard to look after. Come back home still need to do work and no one helps to look after. Cannot depend on hb as he needs to look after #1 and he also needs to study (evening) so very tired.

Parents-in-laws staying with us but they dun help. Very fed up.

Feel like scolding them.

angela maybe when u hv a boy then they help! My fil is like that last time my girl cried scream for us to come and attn to the bb when he is free and just watching tv.

Now boy he evey bring out to sun for me in morning cos he had jaundice and cover his eyes also so dont hurt the bb. Arrgh

for the freq feeding. Do u think she is cold and fussing abt something else and not hungry?

Hi Angela,

Gosh.... All I can tell you is that things will get better once your baby goes into her 3rd month. It may sounds unbelieveable at this moment of time for you as u face a angry and cranky baby who keep screaming and crying and you reach the end of your wits. My gal has colic, and it is unimaginable the crying and screaming once the sun set. But suddenly around the 9th week, she sleeps better and her colic episodes are now not so frequent, although still have it on/off. Now I keep telling myself, must tahan until the 4th month, then colic will go off. REN......

Practical advice now - Try to swaddle your bb, and dip her pacifier in BM or FM and give to your gal.

syz

yah lo, I cut my usual spa routine to fill tub, take towels and grab bb and go. Today very cold my bath water was around rm temp only. So scare bb cry but he brave boy. Guai guai enjoy his speed bath. But sneezed once when we came out of bath rm..he seem ok now so i think not that bad..

vicma, haha,yah shitz happen...

Angela, maybe can try asking them to help?

ruru_cat: how do u know ur bb has colic? u visited the pd? i suspect my boy got colic cos he always fusses and cries from 7 to 10pm. my hb bought ridwind and we have been adding that into his fm.

Angela, there are good days and bad days. Today my day full of shit. After earlier episode of poop on the way to her bath, she pooped 2 more shit loads that leaked and again on to her clothes and me. This I still can tahan. In fact happy cos yesterday didn't poop at all. What drove me up the wall was her screaming (the kind that leaves your eardrums traumatized) since 10plus this morning. She stops crying when I latch. Now one hand carrying her and walking around the house... Hopefully it will get her into deep sleep and can put her down so I can clear all the mess. Needless to say no time to pump. But cos she kept wanting to latch so no prob.

Hi Violet,

Hmmm... the symptoms that u mention sound v like colic. I asked the PD when I brought my gal to see him when she ganna constipation. He said as long got wind, can eat the medicine, not necessary must be colic then eat.

U try ridwind 1st, see whether got improvement, if not, maybe go PD to buy better medicine. I used a bottle of ridwind also not v effective, then PD gave me Dentinox, my gal eat liao, straightaway will fart and poo poo more.

For my gal hor, when she ganna a 'wind' attack, she will fuss during her meal and keep crying for no good reason during the day, and then once the sun set, she will cry and fuss even longer than the daytime fussing. V jialat one. She was better but this week start again. Sigh..... I just went to PD to get a new bottle of Dentinox to standby.

i am still thinking whether to buy the tub or not ... wondering if waste alot of water ...

RuRu ,,, how's the non transparent tub? good? btw u got into st james already?

Hi HJ,

Delivery this sat, the lady boss will bring the neck float various size for testing to see which one suits my gal better, she also will bring the reusable waterproof diaper for testing.

Then this morning drama lor, I left hse at 11.10am, should reach Dempsey there around 11.45am latest. But ganna stuck in jam along Holland road, so made u-turn and left. Sigh.... then went home log on then realized it is the flash flood at Orchard road that is causing the massive traffic jam. Will take an alternative road tomorrow. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Ai yo... Sleep 10mins wake up. 2 hours since her last feed so nursing her now.

Thanks Rurucat & Maddie,

will try your methods.

KDD,

wah what spa routine do you have with your boy?

Re: Swimming

I bought the huggies swim pants for her... Now just waiting for her to grow bigger then bring to the pool.

Ruru,

do you have the other link u bought from?

Can help ask the lady boss what is the preferred temp n how to mix water. what are the things we need to notice.. etc.. thks lei .. maybe when u knw u email me [email protected] I scare I miss when u reply here

HJ,

that is also my worry waste of water.. but then I was thinking can use the water to mop floor wash toilet, water plant, wash car, but of cos of all not for cooKing la hahaa... then not tat bad hor..not every day swimming mah

RuRu ... ya the floods at Orchard was really bad saw the pics on facebook lol ... think tmr should be able to get a slot still ...

yeah celia ... thanks for ur pm the last time ... eh really alot of water haha .. maybe can use to wash bedsheets after he swim in it ... haha ... my hubby say waste water ... wait till he bigger den go swimming pool ... are u on facebook? i posted my boy pics when i brought him to hwa xia to swim ....

syz,

u dun use pacifier huh? I use when my eardrum going to burst leh

my 'spa routine' = TLC wipe eyes and face, slowly do everything and enjoying every moment of the bath. including slowly clean his bum before heading off to bathrm then after bath apply body lotion etc..

today: remove leaky diaper, run out grab towel, take new cloth and wash cloth, run back to rm with wailing bb, remove his shitty bodysuit, grab him up chiong to toilet and discover water cold cold but no hand to add hot water, anyhow wash hair, put bb into tub come out wear clothes and then shove u know wat to quiet him. (Shit still on my pj)

Vic ma - nt sure if u had emailed me anot coz my inbox was full but now cleared already. Wondering if u had received my payment for my order?

Ruru cat,

Can help ask the lady boss wat is the preferred temp for the water in tub and for a beginning how long wil it b best for bb to start with ( mins )

HJ,

Tat is also my concern wastage of water then I think think hmmm can use the water to mop floor, wash toilet, wash car, water plants... shouldnt be tat wastage if we hardworking a bit to drain it in pails.. hor..