(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

smalldreams> lately, work is less demanding. probably will pick up again in a few weeks' time.

did u get some eyedrops for big A? YX's nanny would say he's getting smarter everytime that i complain about him getting naughtier. but it's only at this age that they can be naughty and adorable at the same time.

yesh.. KLCC has a very nice and big park. sadly, can't find many parks like that in KL. even trees also getting lesser these days.

megan> your kids are so cute. must be so endearing to see them interacting with each other. HW sounds like the big sis and RJ the baby brother.

lsntyl> oh.. perhaps you can try the link that andie gave? i didn't have the 5-in-1 certs when we took the jab at the PD, but it's listed in the link that andie provided.

Btw thanks Pauline for passing the loots didn't get chance to chat with u.

I didn't know need to have certs for jabs! I haven't brought my LO for any mmr jab I thought 18 mths can do both? Is mmr free at polyclinics? Think I shld wait till aft our holiday trip b4 taking any jabs!

Any mummies brought slow cooker to cook bb food when overseas? I'm still contemplating coz I dunno if can trust the food at Bali for bb there. Else feed cereal for most meals.

Congrats TYL on ur job offer! Think its a gd opportunity to go ! Btw think ur hubby only need take a test for driving no need lessons like in Sg coz my hubby got his liciense in US super lax.

Vanillaberry, sure no problem. Paiseh, 7pm is dinner time for us n my no. 1 so i had no time to chat. :p was admiring the Nike shoes u got for your boy, looks very nice. My gal loves her pink puma shoes too, wears it to school everyday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As for slow cooker for travel, i think now that our tots r quite big n doesn't need very soft food, a small rice cooker or travel stove (hot plate) will be better cos can cook porridge (grainy type) or macaroni or noodles very fast, the most 20 mins. Can start cooking once u wake up before you wake your boy up. By the time u get him ready, the food should be ready to be transferred to thermos jar. If u use a slow cooker, must wake up 2 hrs before to put in ingredients, to me, it's a bit more mafan. :p

vanillaberry>thanks. the driving regulations are different across the various US states. In NY, even if I have an existing licence, will need to take a written and driving test before I can get a local licence. In some other states, only need to take written test. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vanillaberry, u sort of reminded me about my china trip....gosh I dunno how n wat safe to feed my boy! I am going to bring a eletric flask, I am nt very keen to bring slow cooker etc leh..but worried abt the food there.

wow...working overseas? TYL > Congrats on your offer!

There's tax exemption but there will still be 401K plan adopted by most US companies. Or at least that's what I had previously. So read your contract over and over again ok? Which part of States? NY?

#2 there? NICE! There is still a community or a population of Chinese everywhere so no worries if you can't find any support.

Education is totally different there, from what I see my ex-colleagues'. It's more hands-on, interactive and engaging which targets to nurture the kids' intellectual through play. On a second thought, we or most of us also went through the rigid Pri & Sec education system in Singapore and survived, don't we?

My mum actually asked me before I leave for degree in AU if it's really good choiceto study abroad?

Ditch the $ part or any other kind of specialisation, at the end of the day it was merely for exploring and exposing to different culture, different people and different environment of learning which shaped who we are, no?

My uncle was posted to Germany when I was like 10. He has 1 girl, 3 then. And #2 was born there. After a decade, they were brought back to SG to study and I remembered my auntie was like home tutoring my cousins. They have to take some sorts of test before they are allowed to enrol into the equivalent peer level which is then Sec 1 and Pri 4. And now the elder one gone back to Germany for her PhD and the 2nd one decided to stay in SG.

What I'm trying to say is it's still their choice if they (next generation) want to stay rooted in the end.

Pauline> you taking ceHA?

I wish I am living overseas as well, at least I'm not bearing the headache for P1 registration. I can see what you are dealing with, Megan!!

My elder will be eligible next year! thinking of getting her to my old school...then realised ahve to be part of the alumni. Checked with school, have to pay annual $200 to be one. then it's not guaranteed somemore.

Vanillaberry> where would you be staying in Bali? most hotels/resorts there have local menus like porridge, fried rice, etc. you can tell them to omit the salt. they are very accomodating. or bring some jar food for backup. i find that YX likes the Organix jar food the best. in fact, that's probably the only jar food that he will eat. if you're staying in a villa, it's even easier. you can tell the in-house cook to prepare baby meals. since you're on holiday, try to relax... Bali is one of my favourite holiday destinations.

steph>still waiting for official offer leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but my future boss said I've been recommended for the post so should b ok bah. If not, its ok. Life goes on. Yes, the organisation has a pension plan that I've to take part in.

From what I hear, the education system in SG is much more stressful than it was during our time. I rem learning hanyu pinyin in primary school. Now, they need to know it before they join primary school. If have option, I would like to give him something not as stressful so he will learn to love learning. But if not, will just have to tahan lor.

Doesn't matter to me if he chooses to stay in SG or wants to go other countries in future. As long as he believes that's the best decision for him, I'm happy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TYL,

if ur confirmed leaving to states,can look for u =p

steph,

My colleagues was telling me ytd abt P1 registration and etc...I'm like (*_*) wow...my girl is only 15mths lor..take it easy ! btw, have put her in 18mths toddler playgrp*neighbourhood area. Hmmm...MIL / me and her dress like hdb kampong pp for grocery shopping..eg our hair clip up and chasing after joey in e wet market.

is it easier to get into our old sch for P1 reg. cos hubby & me both frm pri under hokkien hwe kuan association ..but member fees is 500/yr..(*o*)

cocoMama

I'm so envious that YX takes jar food. Both my kids just refuse jar food no matter how delish they are.

I've never been to Bali. I'd love to!

So nice.

Megan & Firipy

Think our stuff are here. Postman delivered to my place yesterday but I was working. I'll contact you once I've collected the parcel [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Firipy

You can bring a travel pot. You can grind rice grains so that they cook faster. Otherwise you can always cook your own rice too? maybe can go to more reputable restaurants so that you have a peace of mind if you want to feed A? You can also consider pasta to boil & baby pasta sauce to bring along.

TYL

haiz our poor young children. Can't learning be at their own pace? What happened to going to school with just a lunchbox & pencil case? I guess that only happens in Australia.

Jessie, got the loots today. Thanks!

Melody, Melissa, Mel Gan, please PM me your contact number. Thanks! Ur taobao stuff are here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Very busy these days to chat here.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] can only read some posts on the move.. Will chat again when i've a bit more time. Miss u all here..

koonie

When I returned after my 1st maternity leave, one of my asst directors asked me about p1 registration. LOL. Crazy lah. But time will fly. I'm trying my best not to be sucked into this crazy rat race. It's hard to accept if my child gets into a Normal Academic or Normal technical stream (I think it's the peer influence that's risky) but I think somehow things will work out (trying my best to psycho myself here...hahaa)

I remember my first day of P1. My clueless mom, only bought my textbooks on that same day. I went to class with ALL the books in my bag, all without any names written on them. I figured, I'll definitely be more prepared than my mom, & that should be better already, heh.

smalldreams>ya lor. I totally agree. want him to learn at own pace, if possible.

ayden doesn't take jar food too.

koonie>sure. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my friend sent her daughter for chinese enrichment just before she was enrolled in primary school. I saw the syllabus and went wah... v cheem. they were learning ting xie on words like xiu xian. I don't even know how to write that lor. :p

steph>actually, think as long as you are ex student, can enrol under phase 2A2. not necc to b alumni. I tink chances for that is quite high compared to student volunteers, etc.

lisa>nt a shichida mommy but your bento is v nice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

smalldreams>the gripe I've about SG's education system is we stream the kids too soon. sometimes they just haven't appreciated learning for what it is and once streamed into a normal technical, it is much harder for them to 'climb' up. Peer influence is also v impt. anyway, we can't live our lifes for our children. Can only try to guide them and provide the most conducive environment for them that we afford

smalldream,

my 1st day in P1, both of my parent are wrking so only nanny brought me ter n disappeared and all the books are killing me.

lisa,

the bento look cute n yummy lei...hope i can prepare those lunchbox for joey =p

tyl,

my hubby is a x for chinese reading. the other day was rushing to clear my bowel b4 bedtimes so pass him a chn bedtimes storybook to read for joey, in the end he described the animal character (*_*) oooooooo Joey give him a blur look like how come no storylinesoooooo

TYL> That's true! eh..if Phase 2A2 a bit risky leh cos it's quite popular so was hoping for 2A1. Cannot do volunteering, can't take time off or not too many annual leaves.

But then again, if get in, big headache too cos i have to move house else Charlotte will always be the first one to pick up to sch and last to reach home. 1 thing led by another...sigh

Koonie> Back to old school is like 2nd priority after those with elder siblings already in the school. I mean if the school not bad, why not? my friend once told me, children spent 50% of their time in school and friends once they started school thus it played an inevitable part in shaping them nurturing them so what we can do is to provide them a good sch foundation. Not saying neighbourhood sch is no good but is the probability of cream of the crops? $500?? eh...so my $200/annual is ok hor?

heehee...back then when Charlotte was 15mths...i was also like u..thinking relax lah..then so fast now to think of it.

smalldreams> hahaha...hi~5 i remembered my mother helping me to lug my big bag to school too on 1st day. Talking abt school bag, I see my nephew's school recommended those trolley bags (like flight steward) saying more ergonomic...how come back then we all the 'gong gong' ones...

lsntyl> i share your view that learning should be made enjoyable. i'm not concerned about whether YX will be a top student, rather i prefer to let him grow at his own pace and enjoy the process. the only thing that make me really worried is he might be classified as 'cannot make it' in school. just because a child is a late bloomer doesn't mean that he/she should be made to feel inadequate. i get all the more worried at the thought of him being a December child.

smalldreams> Organix is the only jar food that he takes. that also must warm up nicely. anything else, he will reject. i find that they look and smell better than most other brands. maybe u can give Organix a try at your next holiday.

oh.. Bali is a very nice place. the people there are courteous and try their best to accomodate your request. i go there almost every year.

steph...my PV job finally finishing by end of this mth...tomoro going to clock in another 3 hours...thank God my hb take turns to do wt me...mine will be under phrase 2B...i think alumni quite ok lah...

ya K2's syallabus is also more difficult, my son's spelling like not one word liao more like in a sentence...dictation...every week hv spelling and ting xie. ting xie also not 1 word but in sentence too...every nite after work, i hv to teach ting xie, spelling...the hv to find time to go thru assessement books wt him like chinese strokes, grammer and maths...after work i feel even more tired...haha

Are u sure Megan? oh dear, Charlotte can still spell wrongly for her name and in school like play plat everyday! I wonder if she really learns.

Volunteer clocked time can be shared? Lagi worst, even if I want, my hubby don't want, i think it's like that marrying a military man who fly out often. Sianz.

P1 registration really change the whole set of decision making. Find school, prep the kid, move house for some!

Volunteer time can be shared, total clocked in 40 hours can liao...but some school vy jialat need to clocked in more...Pei CHun needs 60 hours...I hv a fren who do PV for both school, so hv a choice to choose...

cocomama, ya HW sometimes really act like big sister bully her brother...vy demanding. both of them hv the love hate relationship...when kor kor is at school she will stand at the door waiting for kor to come back, keep calling kor...but when kor comes back will push kor kor when he wants to hug his sis...tat boy of mine vy affectionate, everytime hug n kiss his mei mei

agree that pri 1 process can b v stress cos peers really do make a difference. N sadly, teachers too. My family moved house when I was in pri 5 so I was assigned a not so good class at the new primary school. My teacher actually asked me if my parents did my homework for me cos the standard was higher than that of my new classmates so he believed I didn't do it myself. N with peers who weren't v on about studying, there was a time when I just heck care and anyhow do my homework cos teacher thinks I didn't do it myself and my friends said it was not impt. lucky I decided to buck up n study hard b4 psle :eek:

I also know some brilliant people who didn't do well in the school system becos they were just bored in school and didn't see the relevance. Ended up they didn't do well in the major exams so had to take a more roundabout route to get where they are now.

That saying, our educational system also has its plus points. Its not 100% bad lah

smalldreams, no worries, let text me when its at ur plc, I most prob can only pick it up fr u on weekends. I wanna get a travel cooker but it was sold on WTS, sad!

steph, megan>

really so serious muz clocked 40hrs of our time for pri sch ... Hubby is forever busy +++ siao alredi, i gotta do divide my time into pie chart.Do proposal etc..get $$$ frm hubby

I feel so drowned by the edu system.

lisa,

i bo eng...joey now so active ..aiyoyo

megan: the most I've heard is 80hrs, nanyang pri. The annoying thing about PV is, you can clock enough hours but don't get picked. It's like looking at the gaming screen, "game over, thank you for playing."

If, for some reason, Emma wants to come back to SG, we'll definitely move near the school.

But like some mommies have said, our kids will be spending so much time in school, sending them to a good school is no longer a privilege, but rather an advantage. Peers really play a part. Last time it was 7.30am-1pm for primary sch, nowadays kids clock longer hours.

We're gonna check out the school I enrolled Emma in UK this oct. Hopefully it's as good as I know it to be. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya steph for both school...both parents working...so hv to apply a lot of leave lor...as parents always big sacrifice

qatar airlines is having a offer. 2 tickets for the price of 1.

andie>hope the school is great![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello mummies! so today's topic is Primary one, stress leh! I jus got a call fr St James Kindergarten n they confimred Chris is number 65 on the waiting for pre-nursery play group next yr. Can't imagine volunteer work for P1 in my 'routine' soon..

Lisa, your bento is so pretty! Haha, think my boy will mess up the bento before eating it. How old is your kiddo?

Megan, I really love the sibling relationship btw HW and RJ. So sweet and innocent!

Pauline-Ha the Nike shoes were sooo big for him think must wait till a long time b4 he can wear.Regretted not ordering more the Stride Rite shoes coz it fits very well!

I bought this cute duckie swim suit for him and when i open up realised it is for girl coz there's some frills at the bottom! super blur me! my hubby say he can juz wear the top with swim diaper. Come to think of it now boys dun wear 2 pc swim suit right??

Firpy/ Pauline- where to get travel stove/ small rice cooker? actually im really not keen to wk up so early to cook. Haha. Possible to cook pasta/rice with Tiger Jar? I rem some mummies shared abt cooking porridge with the jar. but still need get fresh ingredients leh ceh.

Cocomama- I'll be staying at Novotel Nusa Dua. Recommended by my frens supposedly very kids friendly. I was also actually thinking can get the hotel cook porridge/ pasta n put in my Tiger Jar. Will let him start trying some food jars coz I never let him try b4.

Do u have any recommended driver in Bali? we have 2 1 yrs old travelling together so just want to b as stress free as possible ahha.

Guardian promotion: Buy 1 pack of Pampers Active and get 2nd pack at 50%.

So 2 packs of L size is selling at $37.65, abt $0.313 per pc. Pay by Citibank card has further 2% rebate Gd deal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yuki: my DH was from St. James Kindy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yl: hopefully so! I started looking at schools when she was 6mths old, then finally enrolled her in January. I did think of enrolling her into 2 schools, but DH said I'm too kiasu, they confirm know we're Singaporeans. Haha.

Megan: I love the way you taught RJ on being a korkor. HW is really blessed to have him as a big brother [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Megan>your 2 kids are so cute. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yuki>how many pcs in the L pack. Pampers active good? Never tried b4...

where are u planning to go in Q4? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Andie,

Really! Haha, so we made a gd choice yah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Looking at our number, not too hopeful to get a place for pre-nursery. Aiming for nursery, if not K1/K2.

YL, L pack has 60 pcs, from 9-14kg. I use either Pampers Active or Huggies Ultra for the night, can last for a gd 10-12hrs. Day time my mum still using nappy for Chris. I can't believe her determination and guess Chris is most prob the only todd here still using nappy.

Steph, haha, hope so lor. The RES course alone almost $1k. :p

Berry, such a coincidence, Raelynn loves her stride rite shoes too, she will make noise for us to wear for her then walk all over the house with them. It came in a different size though. I wanted 6.5W for her wide feet but I got 6.5M. Think she will outgrow them soon. :p aiya, wasted hor, I bought the duck towel, also very cute. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

megan> they truly have a love-hate relationship. HW so young already knows how to tarik harga and big bro is so loving.

Vanillaberry> i usually leave it to the dive shop / resort to arrange. so far, no complaint.

lisa> you make very nice looking bento.

andie> you r so well prepared. when will you move to UK?

andie, yl and cocomama...ya vy funny to see this pair of sibling...every nite I make sure that kor kor must say a prayer for mei mei before she sleeps...which kor kor is vy happy to do so for his sister

yuki> whoa, ur mum is good. maybe my 2nd child i'll go the nappy way. i chanced upon elimination communication when researching on potty training. does your mum do that?

my potty training progress is showing abit of progress. now he'll sign potty while or right aft he pee or poo. hope he'll learn soon.

my initial target was to finish the diapers at hime then tt's it. but now looks like not possible. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]