(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

seperation anxiety

I think my case is more than seperation anxiety. I said to HB smtg like 'everyone wants to play w BB but I get to do the feeding/washing… I also wanna do the easy tasks only.’

HB tot my comments were v selfish… and we had an arguement. I think I'm feeling depressed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

xin

I have a brand new lucky baby stroller cover to let go.. it's translucent, not sure it can shield from the sun? If u're keen can PM me so I can give you more details.

Hi mommies, so strange, can have postings go missing.

Anyway, I kaypo, had just sent the administrator a note about the missing postings and ask them check what happened ;) hope this makes it easier for the mommies who are coordinating the spree!

May

HB does help out.. I was kinda referring to MIL. Maybe what I said sounded like I'm being ungrateful & blaming the whole world.. cos MIL likes to put BB to slp in yao lan which I dislike. I actually got BB to fall aslp on her own in the cot few days back but since I came back to work, BB has gotten used to yao lan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lin> think it's v hard to follow our rules when someone else is e main caregiver... try to kan kai yi dian if u can ba... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...

i know i can't, tt's y i insist either hb or i tk care... my mil will follow our ways instd... :p

sometimes i do think like u abt y my hb always play with him n make him happy... then i do e mundane tasks... but sometimes i think since he's better @ playg, then let him lor... ask him chg diapers can also become playtime... :p....

i wan to shade frm sun too... mayb may will b interested... they're universal right?

Lin, no choice have to close both eyes if u let u mil look after ur bb. Nothing u can do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] they prefer their own style!!

Lin, Michelle: yah lor. Sometimes must close eye and make do. My mil also taking care and she's got funny ideas also. Want to feed my baby Jing feng San. Dunno what is that. Can anyone enlighten me?

Xin, ya.. I m looking for it. Saw smth similar at OG but they only have for twin prams. the single one oos, think price range is abt 20+

may> e one @ robinsons has single one... is it called rayshade?

tried to use forum's search function to look for 'shade' but it's quite lousy... don't even return the posts tt we just posted... :p...

sueann> think e mummies here mentioned it before. to whet appetite if i'm not wrong...

Sueann

LOL, my MIL wanted to give my bb jing feng san too!!! I think it's some chinese medicine/supplement supposed to calm bb down (so they not easily startled) or improve appetite. I smiled and said thank you, brought the med home and NEVER touch it since. I am lucky cos my mom is the one looking after bb... I am not against chinese med, but i dun understand why there is a need for med when bb not ill???

Sueann, tat is when bb get shock n scare by loud noise, let bb eat tat will comfort him. No scientific prove but it works. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I do let Keagan had tat when he nv sleep well n keep moving his hands. Like a bit shiver.

Part of the reasons why i decide to be a WAHM is becoz I dun wanna have conflicts with MIL about how to look after my baby (if I work FT, likely my hubby will want his mom take care of our son).

I always think she has poor hygiene standard, so can't imagine if i leave my son to her care. Plus she also has lots of funny ideas. I remember with my nephew, she will say things like cannot let baby see his own reflection in mirror, or just a few mths ago, when we were eating claypot rice, she told my BIL cannot let his kid eat the burnt rice at the bottom or else he will be a naughty boy or smthg like that *faint* I won't want my boy to learn strange beliefs from her.

My mil coming back mid June to help me out taking of Keagan for 3 mths. Hope everything will go well between us!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] usual mil n dil will have little conflict..ha ha

Been reading posts on iPhone while pumping. That's why not posting much. Btw can I over pump one ah? Recently nipple sore lei. Latch oso nv like dat.

yeocouple: Thanks in advance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yeah sure! we can org a gathering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Being SAHM or FTWM, we all wear many hats and made sacrifices for our LOs. I'm at dilemma all the time;to quit or to work.

To quit: have to be self-sustain mum else taxing on hubby.

To work: Lost the vibes to strive, stay stagnant.

Have I reach my mid-career life crisis??

xin

about the thermos, I saw a Shop and Save flyer for these few days, like got one selling at $19.90 for 2.5lit. I may get for my bb's porridge at 6mths onwards. Intend to ask maid cook once in the morning and keep warm, and can last the whole day, no need to cook so many times. And if want to go out, can just ta bao for bb.

I know this is lazy way lah, but good is that can see bb's reaction to food for that day.

smalldreams

oh, I rarely bath my bb, my maid does it lor....maid also feed bb bottles when i am at work, so maybe bb now close to maid? I don't know lah...also, not sure how much bb sleeps. Ask maid, she just say "sleep sleep, play play, drink milk" can't tell me properly. Nebermind, as long as bb look happy.

my mil's been coming over to my house to take care of baby for a few hours a day. She asked for a set of keys (but I'm sooooo reluctant!) Just went to the key-duplicating shop and the guy wasn't around!! I stood there for like 5 mins and no one there at all! I think the universe is telling me 'NO!'

I think better be cautious with chinese medicine. Coz sometimes the authority will find that certain dosage of herbs is too strong and will recall the medicine. Esp worse if it's manufactured in China.... you may not know there's something wrong with it till years later but by then the damage is done (like the milk powder incident). Even baojiwang, something I took since young, had issues a few months back.

sueann> haha... i wld think thrice abt giving keys to anyone... :p...

furby> i bought the shuttle cook... just boil awhile and leave e food inside to selfcook type... haven bought e keep food warm type... asked my hb but he say dont nd... he super stingy lah... ask him buy training cup for bb to drink milk so that next time don't need to wean off bottle... he say, alr got bottle then just use... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]...

steph> it'sa constant struggle... for now is to stay hm and try and stay alfoat for our finances...

SH> maybe ur pump too strong...

MIL

like us, MIL have habits/beliefs too, just different. If can close one eye and laugh it off or let it be, then the situation will be in harmony. Next time, we become MIL, our thinking/belief also different as different generation, so try to be understanding lor.

Sueann: Is ur MIL the kind that will drop by without informing? If yes, I wld be reluctant to give her the keys.

Steph: not mid life crisis but a change of priorities maybe? Hm.. did you use to love what u do? If not, then maybe it's a sign that it's time to explore other options?

chameleon - Yah, my gal is very generous with her smiles in the morning and i love being woken up by her chatter in the morning. :D

may - Jiayou! I am also trying to give her BM for as long as I can. Though I really have no idea how much she's drinking all the time!

xin - I once asked a few SAHM friends ... how come their kids enjoy school so much and dun wanna come home. They explained to me that's coz' they see their mommies all the time. Finally, going to school is something new to them. They're assured that they can see their mommies when they come home, so that's why they can enjoy school. I think it's kinda true coz' I recalled when I was working, I had colleagues who had kids who were very attached to their moms and had to call them several times a day. And my colleagues always have to rush home. So I guess in some ways ... being a SAHM does train your child to be independent.

sueann... I agree with cheerieheart, if she is the kind that lives near and very free, like to pop by as n when... u better dun give the keys... my hubby gave his mum the key w/o telling me.. I was so pissed one day when she just open the door, even though she knew that we are at home (cos she coming to join us for dinner)... Wah, from then on, all hell break loose, quarrel with hubby a lot of times... I just managed to get back the keys... Some things once given, cannot take back easily one...Think thrice!!

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline (1 set of Sophie soft toy n teether)

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

9. cheerihearts (2 teethers)

10. koolduh (bath and pool toy)

11. Liverpool (3 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

14. Febie (1 Sophie Teether & 1 Sophie Bath Toy)

15. Josie

16. Cami ( 1 Blue Chan Pie Gnon and 1 Pink Chan Pie Gnon)

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

18. Gardenia (2 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

25. Melody (1 Cool-It-Soother)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

35. jazxin (bath toy + teether)

36. Yeocouple

37. Steph

38. Dolphin (1 teether)

cheerieheart - Poh Chai pills had problems?! Oh no!!! I ate a lot of that when I was young and had stomachache leh.

sueann79 - I share your concerns about giving keys. Are you SAHM? If so, no need to give her keys. I know easier said than done. Once keys are given, you'll never be able to take them back. Trust me.

Yingz: you really going to homeschool your child? I had thought of that in the past, but think now that I’m WAHM, I’ll pass it to professional educators to do the job. My job is to choose a good school and supplement with additional learning at home :p hee.. coz I do love what I do and I wld hate to forego that. If I do, I’m sure there will come a day where I’ll blame my son for it :p

Melissa: wanna be a rich tai tai? It’s not impossible, you know. Just have to find the way.. I’m searching also!

AA&A: I’m a WAHM/ SAHM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little lamb: my boy also smiles at me very brightly every morning. In fact, when he wakes up from his naps, he also sweet megawatt smiles at me.. really melt my heart!

Btww, administrator said the missing posts are in archive. I replied saying that they are not there. Hope they can find out what happened. I'm so curious what's the technical glitch.

michelle seow,

Usually MIL and DIL will have little conflict? You gotta be kidding me!!! Even if there was no conflict before ... the moment grandchildren are in the picture ... there'll definitely be one! Simply because grandparents sometimes dun understand that grandchildren are meant to be enjoyed ... not looked after. Sometimes, grandparents just want to interfere with the way we look after our kids thinking their ways are the best, coz' they've been tried and tested. But they dun understand that they're adding more stress than good to us as moms.

Being first time moms, we need encouragements and not, "Hey, don't do this, it's not right." or "No wonder she's not growing well, you're not giving her enough." etc etc Why can't they just understand the concept of just playing and enjoying their grandkids? I mean, haven't they had enough of disciplining and training their OWN kids when they were parents?

sueann, clarissa

i won't want to give keys to MIL but she has keys, because, we're staying at her place...lol...

but i dunno why leh, i don't mind tho she has dropped by our place a few times. a few times w/o us at home, a few times with us at home. my only worry is, she'd catch the house in a mess, or there's not enough food for her to lunch with us...hehehe..

anyway i'm moving to our own place. i don't think she'll be having the keys. perhaps i'll consider giving it to my mom, more for emergency purposes since she is the main caregiver for both my kids, and live just across the street.

little lamb: yes, there's problem with the capsule kind of baojiwang. Thank God it's not those tiny tiny small black ones, which I ate since young whenever have stomachache. But anyway, just be careful abt chinese med we buy off the shelf.

Lil Lamb

if I read what Michelle typed correctly, i think she probably meant, there's bound to be conflict, somehow between DIL & MIL. hehe. Aiyah it's like that between women lah, just that daughter n mother still can compromise... my MIL means well and has been advising me to put cereal in A's milk. Hehe, once i'm out of her house, advice also out of my ears.

smalldreams, that is what my hubby say when I found out that he gave the keys to his mum.. for emergency. Just in case we nv bring the key etc. Seriously, if it is my mum, then I won't mind that much cos it is easier to talk to our own mums... Mil.. how to talk? Only boil blood inside and burst our own blood vessels.. Frankly, if I really nv bring the keys, I rather sit at the void deck and wait or go shopping than to have a spare set of keys with mil...

cheerieheart - Yeah, they're really happy usually after their naps. I think this missing posts thing has happened before. A technical glitch due to server maintenance I suppose.

Adding in my order, which is missing in the new list.

1. melissa

2. ET

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

36. Yeocouple

37. Steph

38. Dolphin (1 teether)

39. esterlla

clarissa

if yr MIL is not really a main caregiver for your baby, i don't see why she shud have a set of keys. Ya, MIL & DIL will always have this "thing". Anyway it has already been done rite...just hope yr MIL will be more sensitive before she pops by.

I recall when I was preggy, my MIL dropped by and she had a good laugh coz I was washing baby's clothes and hung them all over the windows (napkins, newborn clothes). LOL. I felt embarrased lah but just put on 'plaster face' and told her i was doing laundry to prepare for baby's arrival... kekeke..

chill k...

btw, saw on FB yr hubby has returned home earlier...that's great..

smalldreams - HHaha, then I misinterpreted. Yeah, one ear in and one ear out, that's the best way to manage the old folks. In some ways, I am glad that I'm all the way here in SH. True, there are moments where I wished I had a little bit more help but when I think long-term, it's still better to be managing my gal alone. At least you gals still have a choice on whether to give keys to in-laws or not. For my case, it's ASSUMED that they have the keys ... not a question of asking or not. Probably coz' they want to help us look after the house. So we have no reason to not give them keys.

Thanks smalldreams.. yar, now that I got it back... I am ok le.. Hubby told me not to take this issue out to talk already.. but he nv say I can't rant on the forum.. Lol.. Took me 2years to get it back... 2years...

xin/cheerieheart: honestly, wasn't happy staying at this current but lamenting to start everything all over again...send resume, gg for interview etc..

Btw, how many % discount are we having for this spree? 25%?

Lil lamb

then like that, they're doing your a favor by helping you look after the house...hehehe..

Clarissa

you very nice already. still can tahan for 2 yrs. if it was me, i'd quietly change the locks. kekeke...

steph

I hate starting afresh too...but i also hate the rat race. so i told myself, nehmind, middle of the month, get salary, pay the bills, give my parents, spend on some necessities, can liao. promotion not in my cards. do so little, how to get promoted...in my dreams...hahaha

smalldreams, i got think of changing the locks.. but super troublesome.. n not cheap oso... n no guarantee that hubby wont give the new key to her... so got to keep chanting n quarreling to have the keys back... Now, I am holding on to 2sets of keys... haha...

steph, think it is 28+% off...

smalldreams - You really can see things very positively. If only I saw things like you did, then I'd quarrel lesser with DH over issues. :p

clarissa

no need to change all. padlock enough, lol.

steph

^5!

Lil Lamb

U sure i can see things positively? my hubby would disagree vehemently. A lot of times he can't understand the way i reason things out. And I also can't understand what logic he is using most of the times. so we're even. But i will do what i feel is rite, too bad for him, lol...

Cheerieheart> Yup.. Aaden will be homeschooled. Its more like we guide him n the rest will be him learning by himself with the guided materials.. Quite a no. of families in my church have done that, n somehow their kids are more disciplined n well-behaved also. Although most ppl will say that homeschooled kids are like "locked in prison" =)

Re: House keys

My HB gave my mum & his mum a set of our hse keys. After my delivery when i arrived home, we were sleeping in our room when my mil opened our room door. I jumped up man !! Was tinking, how come she nv even bothered to call or at least ring the door bell 1st before opening our main door, or even our bedroom door. That day i was so MAD man...

So think 3X before you give your keys to the in-laws...=)

Lin, My bb also. Got used to yao lan. Both my mum n mil like to put her in yao lan. Easier for them. Sigh.So each and every time when i see it, i will transfer her from yao lan to bed. But she will not sleep as long as she sleeps in yao lan.

I woke u from a nap and realise my name is not in the list. It may have been "lost" together with the posts from last night. So here is my order again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1. melissa

2. ET

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

36. Yeocouple

37. Steph

38. Dolphin (1 teether)

39. esterlla

40. 2As

1. melissa

2. ET

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama