(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

A&A -- I know what u mean. Sometimes I feel guilty too and wonder if I shld be doing more with them/for them since I am at home. But then again, perhaps the expectations we set for ourselves as mothers are too high sometimes.

May -- Hats off to you for working and studying and being a Mom. A true supermom if u ask me! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fat_babt -- You very funny leh haha. I like the tai tai idea. I also wish I can be tai tai... but as it is now, Im more like a dowdy housewife lor.....

2As

haha... yeap, that's what my mom conveyed to me. wow, you've never bathed your baby before yet? Then who has been doing it before? Bathing them is, surprisingly, something I love and never felt like a chore. But getting my #1 dressed makes my blood boil sometimes. Coz he prances around like a monkey on the bed. So hard to put powder and clothing for him. You can start bathing them if you want [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On amount bb drinks now: How much is your bb drinking? My girl averages about 900-950 ml a day.

Mstan: 550 ml/24-hour seems low.

Oops I forgot the time! Better take a break and drive my girl to school first.. Be back to chat later..

smalldreams, yah.. packed schedule but very happy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

totally agree on the bathing part too.. i got to know that from the antenatal class that it's very impt for parents to bathe/massage/cuddle their kids to form that bond.

chameleon: haha.. still got some distance to go; but my colleagues have been very inspiring. My mom also was v 'supportive' by forcing me to be independent. I spent 2 full mths of my maternity caring for the baby alone, bathing him everyday, getting him to nap, on top of cooking for myself, cleaning the house, clearing work emails and catching up on my readings for school.

mstan: my bb went thru that too. If your bb's happy... shld be ok? that's what PD said. If u r still worried, let the bb drink at every 2hrs interval.. more meals to make up for the lesser feed per session.

may,

did i hear mahjong!??! hahah

sueanne,

sophie shipped free for $150 worth of purchase..i think we total haf $1.6k....can nego to deliver more areas...kekeke...

for me i know i can never be a SAHM from the short ML i had for my elder son. very very bored at home. and babies are so needy in the initial stage where so much time is needed to feed them, burp them, change nappies, carry to sleep etc etc. i was driven mad with frustration so many times a day. guess i just lack the patience required to be SAHM.

i always believe in balance. so even now as a mummy of 2, i try to spilt my time. true, kids will still take up almost all of my time when im not working but i believe effort should be put in to maintain ur r/s with others & urself.

1) so sometimes i lunch alone to run errands or just to read my mag (yes no time to read mags at home!) or a novel.

2) hb and i will try to take half day leave once a mth at least to go catch a movie or simply catching up w each other over a nice meal w/o the kids.

3) i alternate deposit one of my kids at my mum's place for a day during weekends so i can spend more quality time with just 1 kid (his own special afternoon once a week).

4) i also take half day leave once a mth to go for my facial and of cos some shopping time w/o the kids!

5) i ve to ferry my elder son from childcare daily during weekdays. so to continue exercising, i go to the gym twice a week during lunchtime.

6) i meet up with my friends at least once a week. most of the time bringing my elder son alone or make special arrangement like getting the hb to babysit him in the evening . it helps that my younger son is away at my mum's place for 2 nigths a week. so i try my best to arrange all outings w friends/dates w hb+elder son on these 2 nights

it takes alot of efforts to maintain some time for my own activities but i dont believe that life becomes stagnant when u have kids.

Anyone keen in getting a BN Lucky Baby Car Seat (still in packaging)? Suitable for Newborn till 18kg.

PM me if interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4010150.jpg]

smalldreams: im opp of you. im VERY VERY lazy when it comes to taking care of the LOs needs. i hate feeding them milk, cleaning up their poo and bathing them haha. but i love to talk/ interact/play w them. nowadays when i go back home from work, all the feeds for yr are taken care by hb including the night ones. cleaning up poo for both sons also by him and bathing the kids in the weekend mostly by him too. :p

he is opp. of me. ask him do all these menial chores he is game. but ask him to spend time read a book, role play w kids or just sit there coo to yr, he cant make it. so i will take on the "interactive" parent role. so despite me seldom bath/feed/clean up my elder son, he is still v sticky to me. :p

hope the younger one will be the same too!

A&A&A: yr drinks ard a litre now. just up the amt from 900+ last week. seems better cos he more settled at night not waking up screaming that often like last few weeks!

ecookie

you're so fortunate your hubby is willing to do all that! mine has yet to bathe baby even once. he used to brush #1's teeth and wash him up before bed, but now, the lamp in the toilet has gone wonky so I'm the one who washes both up!

I guess no matter what, kids sure look for moms.

That's why even abused kids, will sure look for their moms even if their moms have kicked or neglected them to a pulp. haha no black or white in parenting i guess...

Updated my order again... (consolidating for some of the feb mummies so that it is easier to order):

Orders captured as of 20/5 5.10pm

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

9. cheerihearts (2 teethers)

10. koolduh (bath and pool toy)

11. Liverpool (3 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

14. Febie (1 Sophie Teether & 1 Sophie Bath Toy)

15. Josie

16. Cami ( 1 Blue Chan Pie Gnon and 1 Pink Chan Pie Gnon)

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

18. Gardenia (2 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

25. Melody (1 Cool-It-Soother)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

Hi I think the forum went haywire, this morning the list comprises of 54 orders... but now when i looked back only 32!!! have added in my order, i think mummies who order after 32 may need to update the list again?

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (2 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

SH & 2as : yes 550ml/day seems little but maybe she's sick since tue....already brought her to c doc/PD on wed aftn but she seems still hv cough & bloacked nose till now....hv to monitor her 2nite & if so hv to c PD again tomm....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]....oh, the PD said my bb hv small stomach so cant really take alot each time so think hv to feed her more often & be very patient with her when feeding becos she very easily distracted & need very quiet environment to drink....;p

Am back.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chameleon: I agree with you re the setting of high expectations on ourselves. However, that may be used as an excuse sometimes. :p Sometimes I wonder which is better for the child. 1) A full-time working mum; or 2) A stay-at-home mum who does her own things.

Smalldreams: Was the CL at first, and then the maid. I'll try to bathe her this evening. Am afraid she'll slip off my hands. :p

And yes, my elder 2 prance around naked like monkeys too! :p The 3-yr old refuses to take baths now; while the 18-mth old doesn't want his bathtimes to end so quickly, but both prefer to go au naturel after their bath times. Haha..

Fat_babe: It takes more than having money to be a taitai. It takes effort, hardwork and discipline too. I mean, it's a chore to me if I have to go to the salon to do up my hair everyday, to go do my manicure/pedicure once a week, to go for regular facials, and likely botox sessions. And to meet up with other taitai friends at hi-tea, shopping etc etc. For me, I simply boh-chup!

May: I admire that you are so independent. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ecookie: Am like you. I lack the patience.

Mstan: I see.. Yes, the bb's appetite will dro when they're not feeling well. Once they're well, the appetite will pick up with a vengeance! Don't worry..

Updated list:-

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

abt SAHM/FTWM, initially, i had grand plans to stay @ hm and hmsch my kids... tk 10 yrs off to tk care of 3 of them (my plan)... but aft these 4 mths, i realise tt i nd more time and freedom... :p... really miss working, gg out, shopping...

like 2as mention, i feel like i wan to stay hm just to do my own things... so might go bk to work next yr and let hb tk over the stay home job... haha...

but no matter what, one of us will stay with the kids...

ecookie> saw ur schedule and really admire you to be able to do so many things... think time alone with individual kids is really important... your hb must b v supportive, if I go out once a mth with my friends, mine will complain already... haha...

tyl> thks for checking, the one i looking at is the pull string one... but i cal... unless they give a 50% dist, it's still quite ex... yest found one @ tangs... so bought liaoz... but i'll get the boat bath toy... how big is it?

mstan> tt time i chk with my cousin, she mentioned tt e PD advise her to start solids @ 5.5mths coz her bb showed signs of milk rejection, mayb u can chk with ur PD on this...

smalldreams> abt e abused kids part, i still cant figure it out... in one of my psychiatric moments, thought of trying it out on my bb... :p...

added my order below. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Updated list:-

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

35. jazxin (bath toy + teether)

Dolphin..Sorry to hear about yr SIL. May your family find comfort at this time of loss.

ecookie, cheerieheart, lsntyl..Don't know if they can complain or sue..but I find it is really doctor's fault, they know his condition, should have tsrf him to the another hosp to get the op done asap, my friend said they gave "excuse" that the was no suitable PD heart surgeon in that hospital, so they had to wait etc. She was angry at first..but has resigned to the fact that it was a matter of time..furthermore if her baby lived, she said life won't be so normal for him..need op every year!

bbwoofie..A lot of my SAHM frens are tyring to do work from home but not easy unless u have a helper. But will take awhile to earn. One of my fren is doing property..she can earn about 2k a month, provided she "work" and must willing to travel to show clients the property etc. I used to do a diaper bag biz but no time..now with freelance teaching and program planning not too bad..but have to do work at nite. Daytime is fully spent on the kids and chores! Haha!

AAA, May..I sacrificed my job and a job promotion..ahhh!!..to become a SAHM too..sometimes I feel quite sian. But I found a group of SAHM frens that we can chat and most of them are educated and had good jobs..We do have some "intellectual" conversations..of cos not about work anymore..haha.

I think its good to get away from the home etc..to keep our "sanity"..and it would be blessing if can find a job that is flexi work frm home too.

ET, Cheerieheart, Steph, AG, Firipy and others who may be keen..Rgd the baby program at Kovan, tentative start date is 30th May 10:30am. Please PM me if you interested..so I can consolidate all your contacts and update on details. Will include a monthly overview of the program.

Xin..No classes on Sat cos tudio is fully booked. I will be trying to organise a weekday class at Kovan. Maybe u can PM me.

LSntyl, Febie..I will be sourcing out another venue in orchard area for sunday morning or afternoon if you are still keen, but need enough numbers and the studio have to be suitable cos most studios are heavily used by dancers, I don't like the floor unless owner allow to mop..but if orchard area I will have to get one of my teachers to conduct the same program.

bryest - Probably you just headed back to work, that's why you're feeling this way. Give yourself some time to assess these feelings before you make the decision. I suppose your DH supports your decision to quit too? As for your mom not giving estovan tummy time, did you talk to her about it? I guess it's easier to communicate with your mom than MIL I suppose. I know it's heartaching to leave behind your son and to head to work thinking about him all the time, especially after spending 4 months of being with him. Just gotta assess your priorities and then decide I guess?

ecookie -- I couldnt agree with u more re maintaing r/ships with others. While we are mothers, we are also wives, daughters and friends to people who are also important in our lives.

I really like your idea of spending time with just 1 kid and having his/her own special afternoon. I think I'll start doing that too! As it is, we always bring the twins out together because I feel guilty if I left one at home with my parents. But u are right, each child shld get his/her own special afternoon. I wonder why I didnt think abt this earlier!

Updating my order, and calling all sengkang/ponggul mommies to PM me if you want me to help collect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

36. Yeocouple

2As> Me same as you =) i also aspired to be a teacher during childhood... But during 1 week of poly, my lecturer was asking the class what were our ambitions.. I answered that my ambition was to be a housewife..=) The whole class laughed at me.. We were studying accountancy & finance, most wanted to become accountants & auditiors, but mine was far different from theirs =)

I agree that "grass is always greener on the other patch"Sometimes i wonder, how nice if i was working and could go for more holidays... No one single income, lots of sacrifices needs to be made. But i still enjoy the time spent with Aaden.

Xin> U wanted to homeschool your kids also? I'm planning to homesch Aaden as well, mayb using the ACE material

i also want to be rich tai tai! or no need be tai tai lah.. just rich! hahaha then no need to work or can work a little bit as and when and yet play with baby and be a wonderful housewife!

hahah... i feel so happy just dreaming about it.. thou i know wont happen ahha..

kk finish pumping and reading. back to being just housewife.

A&A&A - I totally agree with what you said about how the grass always looks greener on the other end man! As a SAHM, I am always facing my gal all day long and I recalled initially, when I just brought my gal over to SH, without help, I'd long for my DH to be back soon, counting down the hours. I am lucky I have a helper coming in so that I can also communicate with her. There are times when I also miss my working days. But ask me to trade being a SAHM to working life? Nah ... I still wun do that. It's because she's my daughter and all my life, I've always told myself that when I have my first child, I wanna at least not work for the first 3 years of her life. So I guess ... this is fulfiling it for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

A&A&A - Actually ... as SAHMs, we still can have intellectual conversations with others. I mean ... that's what playdates are about right? So that the mommies can socialize as well. So being a SAHM is not literal in every sense.

May - You mentioned that you cannot see yourself sacrificing your future just to take care of your LO. Likewise, your mom probably feels the same way. She finally has a chance to step into the working world and be a working grandma and would not want to sacrifice that for kids. I guess it's never an easy decision leaving your LO in the hands of IFC. After all, they're not someone you know well. But life is such these days ... that we have working parents who cannot be home to take care. My mom's working too and as much as she misses her granddaughter and wants to be in SH, she still wants to have earning power. It's sacrifices in life we have to make. Either you sacrifice having to leave your child in IFC or you sacrifice your career to be with your child. Either or. But either ways ... it's definitely a tough decision. *hugs*

SH - Yah, think the server under maintenance ... all posts from last evening to this morning are missing. Hopefully they come back?

SH - Whoa ... your LO can miss you already? I recalled our LOs are almost same age. My gal doesn't seem to show signs of missing me when I leave her with daddy leh. Maybe coz' she see me everyday until xien already? Wanna see someone new?! LOL. But I did share with my mom that sometimes, I dun find my gal very attached to me. It's like she can be with her daddy too. My mom chided me saying that's coz' I'm always leaving her to play on her own most of the time and doing my stuff, that's why there isn't that attachment. But I guess that's how I want her to be ... independent.

Looks like there are quite a few SAHMs on the thread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charis, Littlelamb, Xin, Yingz, Melissa and who else?

Charis: Good you have this group of SAHM friends. I gave up a high-paying job with a team of good colleagues in a top investment bank. But I'm not looking back. I know when I quit that I'll probably not come across the same combination again. At that time, I thought I was retiring; but now, I'm having second thoughts about staying at home for good.

Littlelamb: I hope I can get back into the working circle. I mean, with humans' life expectancy lengthening, I cannot envisage myself staying at home for the rest of my life (ie another 50 years!).

Same here. I look forward to the evening when hubby is back. Sometimes, after we put the children to bed, I will want him to go out with me. One weekend day we will leave the kids at my il and go pator. These days, pator almost always mean catching a movie.

Ya man, what happened to all the old posts? I think sue Ann mentioned she had an excel spreadsheet. Anyway, just in case I put back my order on the gift set again. :p

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline (1 set of Sophie giraffe soft toy n Sophie teether if same discount applies)

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

36. Yeocouple

A&A -- You forgot abt me leh. I can also be considered SAHM lah. Tho technically on no pay leave still but already told boss not going back to work till at least the yr after next ... so not sure if she is expecting my resignation cos I havent heard back from her yet hahaha. But yah, intend to go back to work eventually cos still need to earn money for the kiddos! I also look forward to my date days with the hubby. Once a week, either a Sat or Sun, we will leave the twins at home with my parents and spend some couple time together shopping, catching a movie or having a nice meal together. While we may be parents and mother and father to our babies, we are also husband and wife so must keep the romance going hhahaha.

lamb -- yah sometimes I also wonder if the babies are xian of seeing me everyday 24/7 hahah. Everytime my parents come home in the evenings they give them megawatt smiles hahah. But ok lah, I do get megawatt smiles from them when they wake up each morning and that really makes me happy and I think to myself what a great way to start off each day!

Hope I'm not too late to place my order.

Yeocouple, r u collecting for SK/PG? rem me ah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

36. Yeocouple

37. Steph

Sorry a bit lag on the thread,

Bryest:The gel can be used from birth, it did indicate that the earlier u start, the better.

Cheerieheart: I don't mind to cont'd the lessons, I'm so obsessed with the sign language part.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lil lamb, good thing the worst is over! My curr commitment is to give him breastmilk for as long as poss.

Ecookie, I m w u on the having a life for ourselves; somemore u got two kids. Not easy~

Steph, u missed out on my updated order, please see my post at 2.13pm. Have repasted my updated order again. hope it will not get overwritten again. :p

1. melissa

2. ET

3. pauline (1 set of Sophie soft toy n teether)

4. clarissa

5. fat_babe

6. sueann

7. Cy

8. Mstan (2 teethers)

12. Josey

13. Wendy

15. Josie

17. Freesia (3 teethers)

19. Poohbear11

20. ladykirvin

21. Marshmello

22. Lin

23. Yuki

24. wei (2 teethers)

26. Yingz

27. Michelle

28. summer's mama

29. SH

30. Jmi

31. Wendy

32. Lsntyl (bath toy)

33. Cindy (mummy woon)

34. Jolene Chan

36. Yeocouple

37. Steph

chameleon

i feel d same.. BB only gimme megawatt smile in d morning. When I get home from work she kinda ignores me but smiles at my MIL & HB. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] haiiz..

I'm still trying to get over seperation anxiety.

littlelamb> i also 'guilty' of leaving my son alone... like now... :p... but guess as SAHM it's even more impt to teach them to b more indpt and not demand our attention all e time? if not surely will die...

yingz> 'wanted' was e word... haha... now i really thinking twice... coz i not v disciplined leh... up til now don't even have a set routine for my son... sometimes go out late then wake up late... :p...

u confirm gg to homeschool?

abt staying hm, guess cant stay @ hm forever, once they are in their teens, our chn wont b hm most of e time and u'll just bore to death @ hm... haha...

my mil just started to have her own life after staying hm for 20+ years... so now she also not keen to take care of mattias... :p...

abt coupletime, we are such possessive parents that til now we haven't let baby out of sight... :p... guess we shd arrange a date night soon...

mstan8888 - Actually huh, I think my gal drinks about that kinda quantity too leh. On bottle per day, maybe 300ml? And then the rest of the time I latch her ... so I really am not sure how much more she drinks on top of the 300ml. Plus each time I express, it's less than 100ml these days. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

does any of u use pram cover? as in to shield bb frm sun n rain? are they all universal... saw one @ robinsons abt $40... got cheaper ones?

tried to search on forum but cant find... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

aiyoh... just managed to get online... I'll add in the extra orders and update later k? Oh what happened to last nite's posts... sob.

Steph

Yup, will help u collect. Actually, if any SK mummies order cereals from ET, i can help to collect too. Cheerieheart says we can have our SK gathering along with the collection. hehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Salutes to all SAHMs!

I know i am def not so wei da, i still wanna my "me" time. During my ML, i was totally disconnected, no facebook, no internet, cos i was so bz taking care of my bb. So going to work actually gimme more time (& sanity) for myself..

My bb is not very sticky with me. When i leave home in the mornings, i search for any hints that he is upset cos i am going away, but dun have lehhhh.. haha. I think i am like SH. it's the mummies with seperation anxiety, not the bbs!!

All mummies that quit their job really a big sacrified!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my hb want me to stay at home for 1 yr!! Not sure I can take it or not. Am afraid I will lost touch wt the working world.. Sigh.