(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

think i will judge how my little darling progress before deciding when I should feed cereal... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ET & Redtea - Thanks. My gal is on a bottle of FM at nite before she sleeps. But I dun think 1 bottle will cause constipation. Her tum tum is not hard leh ... Could this mean she's not drinking enough? But she still pees.

hi mummies, talking about cereal, i read from another thread that they found worms inside the cereal tin. the cereal company is heinz, there was a link but was removed le.. so better check the contents first before feeding baby.. i think i will also start feeding solids at 6 months..

wow suddenly this thread got so many jwest mummies... used to be alone here... hahaha

Josie, LO = love one

febie

i tot LO means little one.. hehe.

feeding habits

my girl is not drinking much these few days.. she gets distracted/irritated when drinking & will wail if we force her to finish 120ml. Max is 90ml every 3 hrs.. dunno what's wrong.

During night feeds then she'll take very long to drink her 120ml cos keeps falling asleep.. end up only finish 90ml sometimes. so tiring.

next month she's going to Nanny's.. scared nanny cannot tahan her attitude. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

tiring reading thru the threads...

actually, i feel tat it's a shame tat company no nursing rm and hav to pump in toilet...hw to expect high birth rate in spore ? (*___*)

sharon,

my bb also preterm, she's 4mth + now but if corrected only 3mth + early out to the world by 1mth exactly. Don stress yrself over BF it's the quality not of the milk, since we are alredi eating food frm outside will not be as "pui" as during confinement liao... tink had read thru some articles don noe post by who in e previous thread abt BF vs FM both are equally beneficial to bb. The most impt thing is a happy & healthy bb.

just like u , i also don like pp to grab bb frm me. My Joey will throw tantrum if she's away frm me so now everyone will slow dwn n gently carry her hahhaha...

jessietan,

hw much is yr arwen drinking ? my joey is drinking 200cc now x 6 daily, in btw x1 100cc glucose water x2 30cc plain water....the milk powder gone in a wk

littlelamb,

don worry abt bb wt or compare lah.. cos they will suddenly boost, i also shiok now tat milk powder running fast...

To all expressing mommies,

Been meaning to ask this ... but keep forgetting. How long a time do you all spend expressing huh? I only do 10 mins ... coz' my breast feels empty about after 10 mins. Or should I stay longer?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3907134.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3907135.jpg]

firipy (firipy)/fat_babe": Hey, don't feel bad ok, you guys really work very hard to bf liao.

joy: Hope you and your family are okay now..

Lamb: I don't know why your LO dun poo often... did you ask her PD before why like that? Maybe whack loads of water and veggie in your diet? Avoid heaty stuff? Maybe give your girl some water?

Arwen starting on semi solids since two days. Today we mix abit of Heinz apple carrot puree in her porridge, she is struggling to swallow and keep spitting it out but she likes the food and keep crying for more also. Damn funny! Very messy also!!!

koonie : Arwen drinking 200mls 5 times now. She gets 50 mls of rice water and 5 tablespoons of porridge now. LOL. But sometimes she also dun want to finish her milk! Keep playing with the teat and only drink 150mls per time! Very notti!

I tell you guys, I am abit sick of waking up at 4 or 5 am for her morning feed liao. Never have good sleep for 2 months siah. Haiz... now my brain half fried and memory getting worse. Like I need to write down list of things to do these days! Last time, dun need one! I got super memory, haiz.. better got find some brain supplements.

As for semi-solids, honestly I am grateful I got a nanny to prepare and feed her. So much work also!!! If it is me alone, I sure just feed cereal and Heinz can food. Still have to hunt for a cute good food tray! LOL

koonie: Tell me about it.. Arwen finish 900 gm of milk a week..the milk powder runs out like water siah.. lucky here got sell refill packs so it is cheaper or else here the Friso is like SGD 42 a tin!!!! Pengz!

little lamb,

ur LO din poo-ed may not becos drinking not enough la. as long as good pee-ed alot means fed well.

jessie,

ur Arwen's eyes sure is pretty and she's getting prettier by days. btw, ur Arwen's feeding now is 4hrly? my LO feeding now is 3.5-4hrly 180ml. think bottle fed bb sure drinks alot.

Redtea: Thanks, yah her features slowly more define now and she is more mischevious now. Sometimes she got a certain glint in her eyes like she is up to no good!Nope, she drinks 4.5 to 5 hrly now. Each time 200mls max so in the end still about 1 litre. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jessie: ur gal wont cry for milk? my boy will still cry for milk so cant drag too long. 4 hrs is the max but normally 3-3.5 must feed liao. @_@

hes drinkng ard 980ml now..

jessie

My LO just coming to 3mths.. She's on FM..

All ur LOs drink so much.. I'm worried my Terilyn not putting on enuff weight.. She's quite heavy when I carry but she look 'slim' not 'bak bak' like ur cutie Arwen or d other BBs here.

jessie> is Arwen struggling to swallow because she still has the tongue-thrust reflex? but she looks so happy to be eating porridge. nowadays also Yongxian will look at us eating and then look like he's swallowing his saliva.

for 3 months old baby means they can drag longer till 4 hr liao? cos i was wondering when 3 hrs is up, my son like not hungry like that... haha blurry me.. i just increase his intake to 150ml, about 5-6 feeds cos sometimes he will sleep so much that he miss 1 feed haha.. if he miss 1 feed, do i have to wake him up to feed?

Lin: 3 months at 90mls 3 hrly is ok leh. Maybe can slowly drag to 4 hrly liao.

cocomama : yah, I started her on semi liao cos last week she keeps watching us eat and also move her mouth and put her hands to her mouth so I know can try liao. Yah she definitely have tongue thrust reflex but I think by next week she will swallow well. Have to be patient and prepare loads of bibs!

Lin, heehehe...

sama sama lah... still them right?? hehehe...

oh Jessie, I just love Arwen's eyes... she's telling us that the porridge is delicious huh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]She's just so pretty...

I'm feeding my LO between 2-3 hrs if he is awake... abt 125ml each time...

but if he is sleeping, and can sleep for more than 5hrs, i will increase the feed to 150ml at least...

argh... My lerynn is still at 3hrs feeding interval... Drinking 140ml per feed... she is drinking 7 times a day... But normally she will just drink 100ml for 1 or 2 of her feed...

Tml she will be gg for her 3rd month check-up... wondering what is her weight & length... Heehee... Hope she stay strong for her 2 injections...

jessie,

arwen started on semi-food, my joey only can drool when i'm eating happily whhahahha.... she's on enfalac AR FM which contain rice starch, so i sometimes testing mix it thicker for her to drink lor.. so kan cheong always drink like buffet flow, in a wk time tink milk level gotta increase, cos 200 cc she drink till dry drag like 4hrs only...xiong xiong xiong on pocket !!!

u let arwen play until she tired from 8-10pm, will knock out surely...

ecookie, u try increasing yr bb's feed, once they full full contented time will drag longer

lin,

mine also not very bakbak...=p

jessie, Arwen is just sooo adorable...

Esther's 3 month 3 weeks old. she's taking 160ml x6 daily. i'm not sure how to drag longer the hours. usually around 3 to 3.5hourly i'll feed her. n she didnt cry for feed.

now her last feed is around 1030 to 11pm. after which she'll wake up between 730am to 8am plus next morning. she usually also didnt cry for feed in the morning. i'll just feed her automatically worrying that she'll be hungry.

is this alright? i'm not sure if i overfeed her. but she always finish the milk.

koonie: increase somemore? cos yr drinking ard 980 ml and he's already 7.3kg at 3m. i scared i overfeed him. mum said if you give him alot he will still finish and his appetite will be bigger like vicious cycle like that.. headache.

but he will cry for milk and very excited (kick legs n has glint in eyes) when we approach him w milk! really milk monster!

Thanks girls, she is super cute sometimes, getting funnier also.

koonie: She sleeps at 8pm one but sure wakes up at 12MN and 5am for feeds. Shack siah. Yah siong on my pocket also but bo pian. I calculated her food later also siong, fresh veggies, fruits, meat, rice, also alot!LOL!

Woh, all yr bb drinks so much ? My bb still drinking ard 100-125ml each time only (every 2.5-4hrs)....dun think she pass over 150ml b4....;p....is it too little for a 4mths bb ? Try to gv her more but she cant finish all in 1 go leh....;p

Wah! There are quite a numbers of mummies living in the west! hehe. Shall have a gathering if possible. haha.

Koonie, My girl was born at 33weeks. BUt still thank god. I saw some serious case premature bb at the ICU there kept in the box with all tubes & tubes on them. Some of them born 500g only. Gosh. Thank God mY girl still consider ok.

Wei - you dun have to wake up in the middle of night to feed ur girl. How nice it could be.! I hope by 6mths my girl can sleep throughout the night then i will not become Ms panda.

luvbabe > i am also fighting with Bryan over his milk for the past 2 weeks. The teachers in IFC are complaining that he is refusing his milk. he latched on for a short while at 8+am yesterday, then I sent him to IFC. Brought him back at 5+ and he only drink about 100ml for the whole time he was in IFC. Then, he took about 20ml at 6+pm b4 latching on at 10pm. Argh!!! Guess we just have to work harder to get them to drink their milk.

lil lamb > if I express every 3.5hrs, I will be done in 10min for each side. I don't continue on cos it gets painful.

no time to read the past threads... mummies, what was all the worm things about? Seems too scary, cos how to check the whole can of cereal b4 going to our LOs? What is a more ok or reputable brand to buy then cos thought of giving my son a small small dose of rice cereal mixed in milk when he is 4+ to 5 mths in his night feeds.

jessie > arwen is so so so adorable!!! i wanna kiss her!!! LOL!!!

wei : so envy u that u can sleep thruout the nite.

I wish my bb can be like yrs sleep at 11pm & only wake up at abt 7.30/8am for feed. She dun make noise / wake up at all in the middle of the nite ? How u train her wan ?

Btw, yr bb only FM, right ?

mstan888

My baby is turning 4 mths next week and still drinking 120ml per feed (3 hourly). I tried to feed more, but anything over 120ml, he will reject... Wonder when he will start drinking like the rest of the bbs here...

yeocouple : yr bb on fm or bm ?

Does yr bb able to finish 120ml in 1 go ?

My bb sometimes dun & need to wait abt 30-60mins....;p

Sometimes she will cry for milk after abt 1.5-2hrs later but only drink abt 20-40ml only....;p....gv her more milk for her feed but she cant finish all....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

thinking of getting electronic breast pump to lessen pump time. Mummies can you share opinion of Medela PIS or Ameda Purely Yours if you have used before? Thanks

Yeocouple - my girl turning 3mths today and she is drinking 80-100ml only. She tends to strech herself alot hence, she throw up abit of milk. I raise her case up to KKH private clinic PD. But then she said its common & normal leh. When i see her throw up the milk, i feel so uneasy. hehe.

Mstan8888- When she cry for milk 1.5-2hrs later, maybe you can prolong the hours and let her drink at one go? I do that for my girl (prolong except her growing spurs period. If not, the drinking time get disrupted. Just my opinion lah. hehe.

mstan888

he is on ebm in the day and fm at night.. he doesnt always finish 120ml at a go. sometimes he stops at 80-100ml but he wun cry for milk till another 3 hrs!

BTW, he is very small, at 20th percentile, weighing 5.8kg only. how heavy is your baby?

wow wei, pls teach us how your baby can sleep till 8am! haha yes lets have a west side gathering too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my son sometimes can take 120-150ml usually. like if he sleeps for too long then will increase to 150ml but not all the time can finish, he's on fm btw.. all babies grow at their own pace, we just have to observed and increased their milk intake at their own time, but as mothers we just worry naturally if they are having enough.

sharon

I rem when my baby was 2mth+, he just to throw up so much milk, my pants will be literally soaked! I read that it is common for baby to do that as they are developing the muscles in their tummy and as they grow older, such occurrences will reduce. True enough, Kaelen doesn't throw up milk these days...

(haha, maybe cos he is drinking so little anyways!)

sharon, mstan - i didnt train her. from the time she's around 2 month old she's sleeping between 11pm - 12am plus to around 5am - 6am plus. then slowly she just sleeps earlier n longer time. no later than 12am and not earlier than 1030pm. however i'll make sure her last feed is after 1015pm, then only she'll wake up between 7 plus to 8plus. she doesnt wake up in the night.

really very thankful that's i dont have to force her in order for her to have a very sound and long sleep at night. i've a friend who let her son cried for 2 whole nights straight in order to train him to sleep from 11pm to 8am. it works as bb realised no matter how he cry he's not getting any milk. but it'll break my heart. i can't even let esther cry for 1 min let alone 2 nights.

yeocouple : my bb juz turn 4 mths last Fri & she's only abt 6.425kg...yes, her weight abt 25% percentile only....;p

My bb also on EBM/FBM in the day & 1 FM for her last feed at ard 11pm/12am....my ss running low now so think going to feed her more FM very soon.....;p

My baby girl's drinking is very erractic. Some feeds she only drinks 70ml after coaxing for a long time. Some feeds she can drink 150ml or more.So its very hard to estimate how much ebm t warm up for her!

Yeocouple -- my boy is going to be 4 mths in 2 days and when I brought him to pd last week he was only 5.5kg. He drinks more than his sister, but still not very much.

Sharonk -- my girl used to stretch and arch her back alot and throw out milk too. It was very difficult to feed her at one pt in time too. Suspected she had reflux so brought her to pd who gave me medication. I hesitated in giving her the medication but I didnt see any improvement in her condition so after 2 weeks of sitting on it, I finally relented and gave her the medication for 2 weeks.Not sure if it was the medication, but her condition improved vastly. She stopped stretching and arching her back and crying during feeds and also stopped voitting her milk. PD also told me it is common, espcially among smaller babies and they will usually outgrow reflux when they get bigger and their digestive system gets more matured.

wei ^5, missy also slept thru the nite after she turned 1mth! I don have to train or force her to sleep thru the nite, she just slept thru like dat. even my #1 also slept thru the nite after he turn 1 mth.

RE: Milk intake

finally my battle with missy over the milk bot is over, at least for now, for the past few weeks, had been fighting with her over the milk intake/bottle cos she will tend to push out the teats and refused to drink anymore, so we dragged her milking time from 3hrly to 4hrly and she has been drinking 140ml every 4hrly and the last feed before she sleep thru the nite will be 180ml at least.

jessie, arwen is getting prettier and prettier!

ok, back to finish my piles of work, sian!

mstan888

hehe, at least yours is over 6kg mark!! my ss running very low too and i started taking fenugreek yday. if it doesnt go up, then i'll give more FM too.

chameleon

how about your girl? is she heavier? how do you prepare her feed when it's so erratic?

re. sleeping thro the night.

my baby will feed at 8pm, go to bed abt 9plus, then wake up at 1+ for milk. after that, he'll sleep till 6+...

Yeo -- last week she was only 4.9kg!!! FAINT!!!! Going to the pd again this week for their vaccination, hopefully they put on some weight, but I know my girl will prob just hit 5kg only.

What i do is that i have one bottle of ebm and another bottle of FM for top up if my girl is in a good mood to drink.... so I dont waste too much BM. Cos as it is, I dont have enough BM for 2 babies so need to minimise wastage of BM.

koonie - Whoa ... your gal really can drink leh!!! I think my gal probably just drinking half of what your gal is drinking lor. And probably only 5 times a day! And then lately, dunno issit because never poo, like not much urge to wanna latch for a long time leh.

Hmmm...maybe I should try to see if I can make Arwen sleep through but sometimes I scare she don't have enough cos she drinks 5 times a day now nia. Maybe after 5 mth, I will skip the 11pm feed liao.

Now she is growing, she needs more attention, if we ignore her for a while, she will EH EH very loudly! Guess the road ahead will be even more tough.LOL

little_lamb,

My gal also nv poo for a week & PD advised that it cld be my diet that is causing it.. I express abt 15-20min.. Usually by 10min, breast r soft le.. But breast will conti to produce milk if u conti pumping, so i conti loh till i felt its enough for my gal.. Dun wan to have a prob with ss>dd.. Currently still dd=ss..

Milk intake decrease: PD said its normal, likely due to teething.. nt exactly teeth coming out nw but e prelude to it..