(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

yikai - The breasts should not be hard and firm after feeding. Likelihood your milk is not flowing. Did you feel if you had lumps on your breasts? If you do, you need to 'unlock' these lumps as they're blocked milk ducts which prevents your milk from coming out. The most common method is a warm compress. ie. Use a warm towel or a bottle with warm water like some have taught here to massage your breasts. For me, the nurse has pressed really hard for me and pumped at the same time to release all the milk. Hope it works for you!

firipy (firipy): Happy Birthday! Er I think it is today right?LOL! How? Got celebrate?

bryest : Yah, Lamb is right. Er.. cry to death will not help anything leh. I mean you need to be strong for your LO. And crying definitely will decrease SS. So must be positive! If you really feel down and feel like crying all the time, do let your doc know. I watch my mood like a hawk cos I don't want to end up super depress due to hormones!

Megan Lee (meglee) : Maybe your LO cluster feeding eh. Good so they can sleep more at night. I don't think you will overfeed cos babies will stop if they are full or at least this is what I have read. So far, have not read a case when baby overfed and have problem other than being more chubby.

Lamb: Yah, I heard of SG mummies who bring milk powder to SH. Er.. abit siao on leh. I cannot do that also. So I just choose imported FM here, seems like MEIJI milk is among the favorite here. I am using Friscolac , so far so good, will try Meiji next.

Yah, Motherhood is more than feeding. I love bathing, singing, doing massage, sleeping beside her, talking to her.. I mean, really feeding is just one aspect. Even if you bottle feed, you can put the bottle very close to your breast and baby can experience the warmness of your body also.

Just got back from fetching my #1 from school, paid his school fees and went shopping for some tidbits for our children guests at baby's thanksgiving celebrations this weekend. I feel so "mummy-mummy" now that I'm already paying school fees! :p

Little Lamb

You can only post in the spree section if you've joined this forum for a yr. so you can only post in Jul 2010. You can always PM the spree organiser, they'll take in your orders.

Gabrielle

Hey, last woman standing huh? Apart from Jolene? :p Nevermind, hope you have a smooth VBAC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Byrest

Don't worry, their jaundice will clear as they grow older and their liver matures.

BBchic

Ya lor, sometimes damn tired, just conk out. I am tempted to latch lying down, but worried I'll roll over baby.

CYang

Hey thanks for sharing yr LC tips. Really helpful - though leaning back is really common-sense, it helps to read about it!

Yes, I guess only in the ideal world do babies empty breasts. Most of the time I've never emptied breast too. What we're doing is just Feeding on demand. So no worries, 10 mins, 20 mins, even 2 mins. Sometimes babies just want to quench thirst, like us. :p

jessietan - You put me to shame leh. These days, when I have the time, after feeds, I catch up on my rest. Initial week still got time to sing and talk to her. Now I leave the chatting tasks to the old folks and DH. LOL. Coz' I know in time to come, she has a whole lifetime ahead to hear my voice. Already heard my voice for 9 mths liao. Time to share her with others. Kekekke. But I did note something lor. That my gal tends to be really impatient with my mom and DH. Probably coz' during pregnancy, I was really impatient with them!!! Oh dear ... whatever thoughts we had during pregnancy really did get transmitted to them man! Poor DH complaining why our gal hardly smiles at him. I was so mean. I told him, "Coz' you were always working in SH while I was in SG mah. So there wasn't much bonding lor." Then he pouted and looked so sad.

smalldreams - Oooooooooh, no wonder ... k k, I cannot wait till July liao lah. I wanna buy some polo ralph clothings for my gal for CNY leh.

hello mummies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] been exactly two weeks since i log in..LOL..super busy man not enough hands and legs...muahhahaha..

no time to back track...congrats to all mummies who have popped, will pop in again when more settled

take care mummies

lamb> yeah.. he looks different everyday. In fact, he can look different in pictures taken from different angles on the same day. we wanted to have his hair shaved during his full moon but it ended like a bad hair cut instead.

My ss is not sufficient for my LO. So, I am supplementing with formula. In fact, I feed more formula than BM. Only that day I was joking with DH that formula is the main course while my BM is the dessert. I tend to prefer to pump and feed cause whether I latch, he just never seems to get enough and then get very frustrated. And bcos I have no way of telling how much he got from my BM, I tend to guess how much I should top up based on how he would have gotten had I pumped.

I met Helen earlier regarding my ss and she suggested that I pump after every latch and also suggested that I try fenugreek. Unfortunately, it's difficult for me to follow through the pump after every latch bcos I tend to be occupied with either entertaining him or putting him to sleep, etc... it's hard to do what I want to do when I want/should do it because I'm taking care of him all alone. Sometimes when I just took off my clothes to bathe and before I even get wet, he woke up startled and I had to quickly put on my clothes and rushed to comfort him. So, I guess I'll just do the best I can and try to comfort myself by thinking that any amount of BM is better than nothing.

I am still seeing the PD who attended to him at birth, Dr MC Tan at RH. He is pretty good and assuring, although I have the intention to find a PD nearer to home. Oh btw, Yongxian also had wind in the stomach which caused him to grunt and kick during feeds. The PD prescribed ridwind and it seems to help lessen the grunting although he still does fart a lot.

With regards to the US timing, these days I tried to keep him awake longer during the day and would actually wake him up by 530pm so that he would not have problem sleeping later in the evening. He would get upset initially but would settle down after a while.

jessie> he was actually half asleep and luckily I had my phone around.

bbwoofie - Was wondering where you've disappeared to. I guess a lot of the usual gang haven't been visiting due to being busy taking care of their LOs. Is your LO reaching 1 mth soon?

cocomama - Yeah, in an ideal world, we hope to pump after every latch. But it simply is too tiring. For me, it's most convenient to just latch her. Plus I wanna train her for the breasts now so I'm staying away from the bottle. I guess when YX fusses while latching, it can get really frustrating for you. My gal these few days, seems to want to drink like ever so often. I dunno if it's growth spurt but how can it last for so many days? I therefore conclude that each time she drinks, she poops and then gets hungry again, that's why. I noticed she gets hungry after she poops! Dunno if it's a good or bad thing. I'm planning to see Dr. Tan as well. The last time I was at the clinic, I did notice that he has a lot of patients. You were lucky that he was the attending PD then. If he's good, I intend to continue to see him. I live in the east area, so getting down to RH isn't much of an issue. Plus I'll be headed back to SH ... so what I'm more concerned is the PD there! I was almost tempted to go down to see him this week due to rashes on my gal's forehead. But seems like it's going away. *keeping my fingers crossed*

Hey little lamb

the sprees also take some time to complete. If you order now, still

must wait for shipping etc. At least 1 mth.

Faster if you buy through BP threads, or just go to the shop and buy :p

Both kids napping. Now I'm getting a bit excited - thinking of packing some goodie bags with tidbits for the celebrations [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope all goes well.

smalldreams - Yah, they replied me already ... saying that they cannot deliver by CNY. Never mind ... I'll use it for other occasions when I take her out. Am eyeing on some polo ralph clothings for her. Better not let DH know. :p What celebrations?

Little Lamb

for Malays, we don't have full months, but we have a thanksgiving ceremony, where we snip some hair (then parents shave off baby's hair), weigh it against weight/price of gold, and donate the $ to charity.

It's just like a full month (makan session for guests, haha!), just held whenever (not bound by any time rules) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes, there'll *always* be occasions to dress yr LO up!

smalldreams - Ahhh ... okie, that sounds interesting. It's something like us praying to ancestors I guess. The thread is sooooooooo quiet today ... I hope it's not gonna go dead or something. I missed the days where this thread was hustle and bustle. I think the 'noisiest' period was when one by one started popping. Very soon, all mommies will be occupied by their LOs and have no time to log in here. So sad. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cocomama, i am facing the same prob of not enough bm.. then i was telling my hubby that my bm is to supplement formula not the other way round.. but I also subscribe to the belief that any amount of bm is better than nothing.. so just try bah.. if one day ss really dwindle and disappear.. then it will be the day that I stop bfing...

little lamb, I believe that most mommies are either faced with CL leaving and they have to do everything by themselves or they are resting as much as possible during confinement... dun be sad... although the thread is moving slowly, but at least it is still moving mah... there will be a time when most mommies are able to come out with a routine (hopefully) and will be able to come here and post again... right now is a trying period...

Hi ladies..

I finally delivered my baby gal- Elisha Grace Quek on Friday, 29 Jan..2.99kg at TMC..Gynae Dr. Paul Tseng..a successful VBAC! So happy!

Who else have popped this few days?

Been too busy to log in..but also feel bad to rest sometimes..cos my mum-in-law helping out a lot..since my hubby has to go back to camp.

Wil update on birth story soon!

jessie, yup,tdy's my birthday, thanks for the well wishes. Dunno go where have dinner, very tired to really go celebrate.my bro blanjah me dinner at soup restuarant ytd n this afternoon my godpa brought me to eat sushi! heheh

I had an adventure ytd with baby n mum.We took bus to visit an aunt who had cancer, went to surprise her at tampines,she knew I am visiting her but dunno I brought Ayden! So used to taking mrt or hb drives me, I dunno abt the bus route.We worry no plc to sit so took bus 3 to punggol to change mrt to sengkang. Gosh, the ride is super long! Ayden sleeping super shiok on me n my mum's arms n lap loon the bus.....He can drink his milk anytime anywhere!!! So kuku lo both of us shld have insisted on taking bus 27, no plc sit oso make ppl give up seat, ahhaha!

smalldreams enjoy ur thanksgiving!

I got my bday present fr govt.....iras e-filing, sian!But this yr I can claim working mother's relief! Yipee!

Congrats mummies who popped, sorry if I miss anyone out, am super tired these few days. Bring Ayden out is super tired.....

This morning, scared the hell out of me... At 7.30am, Lerynn vomited blood (solid blood)... I damn freaked out lo... dunoe the blood is from my breastmilk (from earlier direct bf feeding at 4.30am) or it is from her body... Me & hb quickly rushed to Thomson PD Center... After check check and wait wait... finally at 11.34am, result is out... She is fine... Seems that it is my breastmilk... Btw, i got direct bf and pump... When pump, i see that it is milk, with no blood... Doctor said Lerynn's suckle too strong, that's why... I didnt realise becos when my breast leak it is also milk, only when she direct latch on and suck real hard then she got the blood from me... So from now onwards i will not direct bf her, die die must use pump... At the same time can check if got blood... Wah lau... What a start of the day... But anyway, fang xin after seeing the checking result...

Lerynn also did 'The Metabolic Screen' and Jaundice test... Now i really understand what ur mummies meant by heart damn pain when seeing out babies doing the Jaundice test... Why cant they use injection to withdraw the blood... at least pain 1 time only... like that poke poke poke her little heel... Ohh mine.. Somemore same leg... heart pain... but lerynn was quite strong, once the poking stop, her crying stop... then poke again, she cry, then poking stop again, her crying stop... Salute my baby lerynn man... it looks damn painful lo...

then after settling Lerynn, i was to see gynae... gynae said my c-sect sitches red red... cannot remove yet... got medicine and need to go back on Fri/Sat to remove sitches (if can)... I choose Sat and was thinking, so fast remove the sitches already? Cos i c-sect on 28th Jan ma... Sat is only the 9th day...

Josie,

I also had to experience natural delivery and c-sect for my 1st baby. But I didn't progress to pushing yet before I was pushed to the operating theatre for emergency c-sect. My waterbag burst and I was abt 6cm dilated before my gynae suggested emergency c-sect cos baby's heartbeat a br rregular.

Btw, mummies who went thru natural and emergency c-sec, how much is ur full bill? Thanks

yesterday went to TMC to register birth of baby, but misplaced the Notification of Birth, so had to do it another day.

Then went to gynea for 1-week postnatal visit, then after that, a visit to Lac Consultant, which lasted till 12pm+.

Then brought baby to paediatrician for 1 week check up, got the Metabolic and jaundice test. Had to be admitted for 2 days.

Only reached home at 4pm+ without baby. What a tiring day. Had to pump at home for EBM to send to baby.

little lamb:

LO is exactly two weeks old today[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] me missed reading the thread..think like what clarissagoh said..most mummies either catching up with sleep or pumping/latching..think the thread will get busier again when most mummies return to work late march/april

will sneak in again when got chance

hellos all...

liverpool...

i like torres pic sunbathing...looks like he's duper enjoying e sun..kkek....

cocomama,

aiyoh..your LO really getting cheeky yeah!! i like the wink!...

poxchan,

i think bb's clock.not certain one...but got 1 time 6 hour.better than nvr..at least you noe dat LO can be "sleep train" soon..

Geraldine,.

waaaah the puke blood really sounds v scary...i will probably faint if dat happen...eh..i think still can latch..maybe now pump..then when your boobs more condition to the suction oredi then can latch her...

my 1st 2 c-sect..took out stitches after 1 week...only this one...cos of holiday...took out on 9th day...

lil lamb,

yah i know some say bb suckle can actually drink more...but after i latch tytus hor...even though v v soft boob oredi..still can pump another 20-30ml....so i think he nvr "empty" the breast...

Charis....congrats on VBAC and arrival of Elisha!!

Lin..congrats too!! dun feel too upset by the c-sect yeah....most important bb & you are safe!

dear mummies and mummies to be,

sorry for disappearing (again) cos the breastfeeding is like a 24-hr standby job. I have sacked my confineemnt lady after 6 days (long story). She has bought 15 bottles of wines (for cooking confinement food) and now left 14 bottles which are lying around. Each bottle costs $15.

For any of the mummies doing confinement adn need wine, i am willing to let go for nominal fee provided collection is at sengkang, if not, have to throw all the wine away.

if interested, pls email [email protected]

Good luck to all mummies

clarissagoh - Hmmm, yah. Very soon, it'll be my turn to cope without help. But on the other hand, I'm dying to eat other food also. Very greedy. Kkekekekke. Longing to drink bubble tea lah, eat sashimi lah, eat KFC lah. Hhahaha.

bbchic - Yah lor, today hor, my gal, every hour wanna feed!!!! I almost peng san leh. I wonder how my boobies can produce the milk in time for her lor. Could it be growth spurt again huh? But last week just once leh. Wah biang.

geraldine82 - Your story sounded scary. I would freak out if I were you. But lucky your LO also smart, know how to purge out the blood. If swallow already no good also.

firipy - Happy Birthday! Your birthdate very nice hor ... So envious, can bring your LO out liao. I'm dreaming of the day where I can bring my gal out shopping leh. I need some retail therapy!!!

Charis, congratulations on the VBAC. I really hope I would be able to announce the same thing soon but really no action!

Jolene, who knows? At the rate I'm going, you might just overtake me.

Sigh. Feel very frustrated about the whole thing. I decided to screw it and planned a menu of nice things to cook for this week.

little lamb> no... she has already swallowed it... i bf her at 4.30am, she then had 20 ml of FM at 6.30am... the blood only out at 7.30am...

geraldine,

blood is safe for bbs to drink..i google on dat when i had cracked & bleedig nipples...

juz dat the idea not v appealing yeah..

little lamb, high 5! i oso wanna drink bubble tea... damn sian leh, dunno y these 2days my ss decreasing... was already pathetic to begin with loh.. sigh, tink got blocked ducts.. bt no matter hw i press, still got hard lumps.. press until blue black liao..

firipy, happy birthday!

geraldine, dun worry since the blood is out le.. more imptly, the check up results is fine.. she is ur flesh n blood mah.. so have faith, she will be ok...

gabrielle, dun tink abt it.. enjoy ur current freedom.. i m sure most mummies will tell u the same thing.. once bb is out, u lose all ur freedom n time.. do wat u like nw, eat wat u love now.. enjoy urself... n bb will b out in no time...

clarissagoh - Perservere, k? When I had blocked ducts, the nurse also press and press until I kenah blue black. Better than you leave it there potentially for infections. I think the key to not having blocked ducts is to prevent engorgement. And to prevent engorgement is to latch regularly. If you can't, must be disciplined to pump regularly. 3 hrly at most. Gotta try to maintain that in order to maintain ss and also to regulate ss.

fat babe> yup... but the amt she vomited out not very little... think got 10-15 ml... somemore solid blood... i see ald, i got a big fright lo... but anyway good that she is fine...

Tonight so quiet...

omg geraldine ur milk kick in already? lerynn realli suckle well n powerful!!!

if me i will faint lah.. 10 ml blood frm baby mouth no joke man..

luckily she is ok now...

jaundice check very heart pain hor.. tmr my Ashton gg for another test n to review .. my heart gg to break again...

hope he doesnt nid to stay again , hope our one week of hard working tanning him works!

he has turn slightly darker now..

lolz

I brought baby to see his pd. He just took a look at baby and says his jaundice better but still have jaundice which is below 10. Didn't even take blood test. But I'm still worried cos it's just based on the pd's quick look, not on blood test.

Just wanna know a gauge on how much is the bill for mummies who tried to deliver naturally and ended up with emergency c-sect. How mch does the mummies have to pay for everything? Thanks

Today so quiet. I'm the only mummy having to wake up and breastfeed? Does anyone has advice where I can get nursing tops? Thanks

bryest> i'm around too... Just finished feeding Lerynn... Gg to catch my sleep now... Hopefully she can last till 7 plus and wake up for her bath...

Re: nursing top

Cannot advise as i'm not intending to get yet since just stared confinement... At home can just wear anything... Only wear nursing bras for convenience sake... Got check out those thread here at SMH? Buy outside like kinda X...

Nite nite...

Geraldine,

I also jus started my confinemen but when I brought my baby to see his pd yesterday, I realized I need the nursing tops esp if wanna feed him in car. Btw, when did u deliver ur baby?

My baby keeps coughing like choking in the middle of his feeds, then he refuse to drink after that and went to sleep. Is it normal?

I had been tired these few days,my hb said must be I nvr take care of myself during confinement. Told him cos I took bb out so super shag carrying the diaper bag.

lamb,thanks,my bday is just eat n eat kekkee. I bring Ayden out until he is so used to it, kept sleeping only when outside, then dowan to slp when its at wee hrs, tdy woke up at 5 dowan to slp till now!

bryest, i gave up counting his pee n poo , hehhe ,as long as he does pee n poo I dun care le. U check out those bulk purchase webby for nursing tops.Else get fr moms in mind, got very basic nursing tops.

oh yah,anyone who is fan of popeyes chicken?There's a new branch at toa payoh!Its at the eng wah cinema that building near to courts....No need to go tampines or airport le kekkke

Clarissa,

I'm well aware of the fact that it's the last few days of freedom. But at the same time, I'm also very anxious. How come baby isn't out yet? How come got show but got no dilation? Etc! Stress!

Bryest,

maybe ur let down is too forceful so ur LO choke and cough? If he zzz and is contented then maybe he has enuff. If not, u can lean backwards a bit while feeding him so dat the flow is not so strong and he won't choke.

My boy caught flu fr kor kor. Now terrible coz nose block. Not eating much, waking up often coz nose block.

Re: jaundice

went polyclinic to do blood test but they say result is 205. This number v diff from the one in 10 given by gleneagles. Anyone know how to interpret this number? Or it's equivalent?

anyone knows when we can start yoga after giving birth? my creaking bones feel like they need stretching.

SH>I understand from my visits to poly that 300 is the too high number for jaundice tests at polyclinics. But that is after the 5th or 6th day. Level below 100 is good

bryest,

Don't worry about PD not taking blood tests. Some PDs are just more old school. They are more experienced and have seen many of such cases. The last PD I went to also didn't take my gal's blood and said just mild. Gotta learn to trust them coz' if you don't, then I'd suggest you change PD. As for nursing tops, you can try the BPs page.

I bought my tops from there. The Japanese premium one from babyland. Not sure if her BP has ended already but you can look out for it. I find that her tops are quite pretty and comfortable but that's coz' I'm looking more for casual tops. If you want formal tops, then hers are not suitable. Another thing is, her tops are more the baggy sort coz' it's jap style.

Hope it helps. The coughing and choking might be due to a let-down on your end so your LO couldn't swallow in time. When your LO chokes, be sure to unlatch.

firipy - Wah, Ayden's so good, can sleep while you bring him out. That makes things very easy for you leh. I am not sure my gal will fuss or not. I'm trying to master the art of using the Moms in Mind sling ... so that I can nurse her while I shop. Hhehehe.

bryest> I delivered my baby on 28th Jan morning at TMC... During hospital stay, i use a shawl to cover while i bf... i might use the sarong sling to hold her & for nursing purpose... Then in car got additional tinited window & sun screen... Heehee...

Geraldine,

hope your baby is fine now.

I haven't bought any sling yet so totally got nothing to block. And my baby is latching every 2 hours so I need to standby anytime.

Little lamb,

I trust the pd cos I know he's very experienced and popular. Guess I'm more worried abt baby and needs more assurance.

I just need casual tops, will go check out the the bps.

I unlatch baby when he chokes. After dat, he refused to drink and fall asleep. Any advice?

bryest, think it's ok if he doesn't drink after choking.. same thing happened to my baby.. just wake them up a little earlier for their next feed.. no point waking them up when they want to sleep.. might choke them again..

btw, any mummies brought their babies out and have started to put them in car seats? thinking of bringing baby out to fetch dad, but was wondering bout car seat.. she's bout 3 wks old, not sure if she's too small..