(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

hey bryest,

its gd tat bb is latching shorter time at nite.. which means tat u cn slowly cut away nite feed.. but nt when he is feeding every 2-hrly.. Cld be e 5min is insufficient to last 3hrs.. tats wat hap to my bb when she suck lesser time den usual, she gets hungry earlier.. Try bottle feeding at nite where u can know hw much intake he takes..

Fatbabe, my fren hav spare fitti Size M to sell now at $11. U need urgent I can chk w her if she can pass to me asap. Than next round we consorlidate n order our end. My gal wearing mamy poko s now.

Ag, glad u wanna join us tomorrow at 153 coffeeshop :p

sherry,

then got anybody at home to help u wif shernise?? then you can come out for breather..heheh....but its ok if you cannot make it...esp now you looking after shernise yourself..

cy,

aunt essah called me...she coming at 2pm! yeah!!....issit messy ar?? she ask me to use old bedsheet but i dun haf wor...cos moved in juz change..hahah...

AG,

you wan to PM us your contact number....

fatbabe> My target to breastfeed is 6 months. I will stop once 6 months target is reached lor..

Wow, so good, you going back to work on 15 Apr... Me going back to work liao on 29 Mar....

Is motilium cheaper in Msia? Your SIL so good, get 40 more pills for you some more...

SH> Better see doc since fever is so high...Doc will prescribe meds suitable for BF one.

Re: Fitti diapers

I must say Fitti premium diapers are really quite good and value for $$$ leh... Lucas is finishing his last pack of Size S liao and will move on to Size M coz can see that the sides are cutting into his thighs and always red, red...

Re: Feeding Time

I think I have been successful in stretching Lucas' feeding time to feed 4 hourly, even though he is only drinking 120-130ml each time leh.

Thank god!! He is taking the bottle now and less struggle now...Hope it will get better!!!

Recently, I have also wean him off using my breast as the pacifier coz he always want to comfort suckle... I bought the Nuk pacifier last Sat and seems that he is fine with the Nuk pacifier.

Sgn Nth mummies> Enjoy your breakfast date tom!!

Geraldine,

Any feedback on Dr AL Lim? How was the stay at TMC? Dr AL lim waiting schedule is a killer cos gonna wait for very long and he only deliver at TMC. Thanks

Dolphin : Deepest codolences to you and your family.. take care ok?

Taka Fair : I should be able to join you guys with Arwen, I will confirm by Wednesday afternoon.

I arrived on 6th March and I peifu those mummies who had confinement in this heat! Unbelievable! Poor Arwen is so tired these two days. Lamb and CYang, just let you guys know how my flight went so you might have an idea.

Since last week, I had repeatedly tell Arwen she will be taking a plane and the procedures and all. Past accounts had made me believe informing her what is to happen always seems to help her to cope even though she may not fully understand. I show her pictures of Singapore, the airport and my family .

Nevertheless I was really super stress despite already packing and anticipating the possible problems ahead. On the morning before the flight, I bathe and feed her as usual but i guess my high anxiety state really affected her, she puke all her milk out! She never once puke milk so much before and I was super heartpain to see mlik coming out of her nose and mouth! But she was fine , smiling but refusing more milk. I so very nearly cancel the flight but I know it is due to high stress level.

I pack lightly, taking only the utmost essential as I know SIA provide diapers, wet tissue, a cloth bib and hot water. I also pack 2 of her favorite toys and 1 small blanket. I check in my wallet , packed in the rest of the luggage. Only have our passport, my ATM, 1 credit card and small change in my jean's pocket. I do not want to have to worried about my money while carrying Arwen.

I read on some forum, some airport allow parents to bring in water , that is, if you prefilled the bottle with cold water . I tried but Pudong airport does not allow that so in the end, I had to empty all the bottle and my hot flask also. Check in is simple, the airport staff are very helpful and I get to go via the Express Lane.

Once in transit, I fill my hotflask again with the water dispenser there and immediately made a bottle. Anticipating that Arwen might be uncomfortable with the air pressure, I immediately made a feed using only hot water, cos I know by the time we board and take off, the temp will be just nice. I also bought a bottle of Evian in the transit cos I do not want to use the water on the plane, so weird taste lah.

I thought I need to use sling while boarding but in the end, I just push the stroller to boarding gate and carry her into the aircraft. My Ergo sling prove to be a burden as anyway Arwen wore an infant seat belt as I carry her, Ergo was too bulky and my other cloth sling also useless.

Once take off, I give her the bottle to suck but she was sleeping very soundly so I give her the pacificer instead. I think she did feel uncomfortable with the air pressure cos she whine quite a bit, I tickle her chin to make her keep sucking the pacificer.

The bassinet is pretty good, at eye level so I can watch her all the time. She was soothed by the airplane engine noise and slept all the way! I had to wake her up to feed! I manage to have my meals and even nap a bit!

Changing her was ok, I pack the diapers and all in a small pouch seperately. So when I need to change her, I just carry her and the pouch to the toilet. The toilet is small but workable, I manage to pee also! LOL!

Some tips

1) If really want to latch and BF, better ask for window seat, I was in the alsie seat and even tho SIA got one of the most spacious economy seat, I felt cramp in, and hard to position Arwen cos her head and legs exceed the width of the seat liao! Also even with nursing cover, very very troublesome as really cramp and not even 3 mins, the seat belt sign turn on and I had to unlatch and put away my cover and put the seat belt on her, lucky she was very sleepy so she did not fuss. I gave up and gave her FM instead.

If got window seat, at least got more space and more privacy.

2) If want to sling, better get those pupsik/ bilboa etc kind, carriers really too bulky and troublesome. Prepare for times when you have to carry babies in your lap for awhile incase of turbulence.

3) Get a cap , a sweater with hood or a nice rimmed hat cos the lights will disturb babies eyes making them waking up easily.

When I landed in SG, honestly... I was pretty exhausted mentally more than anything. My SS drops so much! I hardly feel engorged and when I latch, Arwen only suck 5 mins and cry for more liao.

SO! Be calm and positive or SS might drop leh.

Arwen adapt pretty well but too many visitors last 2 days and poor girl was so tired and sleep throughout both nights! The heat also makes her grouchy and she don't drink very well, only finish 100mls per time!

I hope today , letting her rest at home the whole day would be better. Maybe see how, later if she is in happy mood, may take her for her haircut .KEKE

sherry...

okie!! i will drop by maybe wed..keke..

jessie,

you are bk!...hey...my bestie came bk wif her toddler 1 month ago....she had to stand infront of the fan constantly if not heat rash will keep appearing!!

Dolphin : Deepest codolences to you and your family & do take gd care, ok?

fatbabe : yr ss still so gd ? I engorged & didtn pump for 7.5hrs yest but only manged to pump 190ml after a long time pumping & that's consider alot to me liao....;p

luvbabe : yes I find S size fitti a bit too tight 4 my bb waist & thigh. Already finished my S size already & started on M size but find it too long so always let her wear higher behide & front....;p

Re: Fitti diapers

I was thinking of ordering somemore.

Anyone wat to share 2 cartons ? I will be ordering M size.

Let me know asap as think promo ending 11 Mar, right ?

fat_babe (bbchic) : Yah lor! Poor Arwen, got heat rash under her double chin liao! LOL. I keep fanning her also.

She really super slack siah, always sleepy one, like a real Singaporean ! But I think she enjoys all the attention, she keeps smiling at everyone, phew!

Melody,

I tried to bottle feed at nite but everytime after drinking from bottle my boy become eye big big. Wonder if it is coz he dun hv breastto suckle? Or is it wat i give not enuff for him?

Jessie,

But window seat no bassinet rite?

dolphin: deepest condolences to you..

jessietan: welcome back!

luvbabe: im trying to stretch my boy's feeding time to 3.5hr intervals from today onwards.. 4hrs too ambitious for me liao.. haha. so far ok for the 1st 3 feeds of the day. see how it goes.

if successful, will be feeding him 7 feeds instead of 8 feeds though the amt stays at 120ml still..

Yuki,

I have revs your hp number & pm u mine as well.

Cy,

can I get from your fren 2 packs of fitti? I can collect from her this Sunday.

jessie...welcome back...tis few days weather really hot

bliss_ling...my gynae is AL Lim too...personally I like him very much...my stay in TMC is good, he comes to visit me everyday w/out miss...sometimes morning and evening...he did csect for me, I find it vy good, no pain...ya his waiting time can really kill...

dolphin>deepest condolences.

jessie>welcome back! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mstan,

my ss plunged from 1.1 litre drop to 700ml per day liao...pump about 4-5 times a day...each time 150ml to max 200ml only..

Thanks girls! Now I am so stone, sleepy all the time also! Can't wait to go shopping soon!

SH (stonelamb) : My seat is 31 C, which is like the left side of the plane seatings. They put a bassinet there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

megan,

i have a lump at the aerola on my right breast. I tried massaging the lump but it's quite hard and won't go away. Just called my breast specialist to make an apptmt to see her. Not sure what the lump is. I'm worried cos it's getting bigger and it's hard.

melody,

I think he's too tired that's why he drinks a bit only and falls asleep. I'm sure 5mins is not sufficient to last him for 3 hours. That's why he woke up every 2 hours to feed. i wanted to bottle feed him but i can't warm the milk in time for him. When he wants to drink, he does not have the patience to wait. Cry till his tears keep rolling down. so I just latch him on at night.

bryest,

i totally understand.. heehee.. my girl also like tat.. recently, i start to get ready once she wriggle in her cot & her 3hrly is up.. so i feed her b4 she cry in hunger.. indeed she finished 90-100ml..

my baby has been crying all the time if he's not carried... I really need him to cooperate to keep my sanity. all the crying has been taking a toll on me.. cant stand his crying... sigh..

Hihi haven't logged in for long long time cos I decided to bring my no. 1 home to look after instead of asking mil to help. Raelynn is past 3 months old n just learnt to flip n raise her head. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessie glad to hear that u r back from sh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fatbabe, my ss also dropped cos I dun always have time to pump. But got enough frozen ebm from Jan n feb so still ok bah. Just got a second hand freezer recently. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fatbabe,mstan u all still better than me la,tink my whole day ss is 400mlthere abt.

I still try to pump n latch as much as I can b4 I go bk to work.better than nothing n treat at slimming session. Altho I dun slim very much....I getting very lazy so I try to latch when I m at hm cos when I pump like quite hard to get let down nowadays n I wait till sian.So tired easily oso.

jessie,welcome bk!

ag, I oso stay in skg lei,which part u stay?

pauline, glad to hear fr u, my boy head can lift like when he is 2 mths old but he still cant flip, can turn 45 degrees, he turning 3 mths in 12 days, hope can see him flip b4 I go bk work.

smilemum> i can totally empathise with your situation. My LO kinda demands to be carried every waking moment.

Try to find something in the house that fascinates and keep their attention. Mine likes to look at windows, a painting on the wall (they seem to like paintings with black background or with black stripes) and TV. It only keeps her quiet for 30-45mins, but at least I get some 'me' time.

Secondly, if you can, get a sling/pouch. It may not seem to work in the beginning, but LO will get used to it very soon. I'm carrying LO sleeping in the pouch as I'm typing this. She was squirming and fussing when I first place her in the pouch, but she managed to fall asleep in it yesterday.

And I practice comfort suckle since she doesnt like the pacifier. It's tiring but at least it keeps her from crying. 10mins and she falls back to dreamland.

Lastly, if you are stressed out, just let them cry in their cot while you get a drink or a small snack. Sometimes they just need to cry. I did this once recently, letting LO cry for 5mins. When I was about to go pacify her, she was fast asleep.

Hope it helps. Chin up okay? Hugs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jessie> welcome home! btw, I've given up on the pacifiers... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh, mummies who brought their LOs to healthway for vaccines, do we have to make appointments or just go in the morning? Planning to make the trip tomorrow.

Welcome back Jessie...

Glad you survive the ordeal... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

westie meeting:

i am fine with either meeting place (Lot 1 / Taka bb fair)...

but i guess some mummies want bring LO out but not confident, might not want travel so far ....

Let's have the list again: -

Lot 1 westie mummies meeting up (11 mar - @ 3pm):

1)c.yang (Maybe with Renee)

2)Clarissa

3)bbwoofie (with princess)

4)febie (maybe with Shayne)

5)Bryest (with bb)

6)Afann ( with baby Ashton)

7) Joy + missy

8) Yuki

9)koonie + bb joey

10) luvbabe (possibly, will arrange)

11) Jessie (to be confirm)

12) Mindy (with Isaiah)

taka bb fair - 11 mar,

time: 11.30am

and venue to meet[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]rchard Mrt Station? Taka Square?

1. mstan

2. luvbabe

3. joy

4. ET

5. LSnTYL

How?

Either place fine:

febie (maybe with Shayne)

smilemum: my boy is also the same as urs! he went thru a needy period where by every waking moments must be carried. but this week slightly improved, carried abit if he s falling asleep can slowly put down n pat him from there w help of pacifier. its just a phase! hang on! my elder one was exactly same pattern last time too!

firipy: my boy can lift up his head when on tummy but only few secs before "crashing" back haha. wonder when it will be steady for us to carry him the upright position?

Hi Mummies, I have the following items to let go:

1. Pigeon Natural-fit Manual Breast Pump – bought at $59.00, selling at $45.00, condition: 10/10, used ONCE only as my cousin handed down an electric dual pump to me. Includes 2 nursing bottles with sealing disks for breast milk storage, adaptor to allow usage with wide-neck nipple, and user manual. Basically everything that came in the package are intact, except for 1 nipple teat which I have used for my LO and thus not hygienic to sell. :p

http://www.pigeonbaby.info/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=18&category_id=16&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=40

2. NUK breast milk containers (in 4) – bought at $42.20, selling at $30.00, condition: 9/10, no defects at all, used for a month for storage of breast milk only. Selling coz I have stopped breastfeeding after LO turn 1 month. Bottles are compatible with NUK premium choice teats.

http://www.nuk.com.au/productpopup.php?id=created_1248752131_unique&path=/products/productworlds/naturalfeeding

3. Moms in Mind Sarong Carrier (Sateen in grey colour) – bought at $48.00, selling at $40.00, condition: 10/10, opened for practising twice at home only but NOT worn outdoors before at all. Selling coz received another handdown pouch sling from friend and also receive a pram as gift during LO’s full month, so doubt I will have any use for this sling, dun wan it to go to waste.

Price negotiable for sincere buyers. Please PM me if interested, collection venue can be arranged.

taka bb fair - 11 mar,

and venue to meetrchard Mrt Station? Taka Square?

1. mstan

2. luvbabe

3. joy

4. ET

5. LSnTYL

6. Megan (Orchard MRT station)

febie,

i won't be able to meet you gals at lot 1 cos need to go see my breast specialist on my breast lump.

megan,

i will be meeting you gals for a while at taka after i see my breast specialist in mount e.

koonie : fitti order directly thru the distributor - email to [email protected]

Min 2 cartons (12 packs) for delivery.

Anyone wat to tap on my order ? Think promo going to end soon. Not too sure is it 11/12 Mar ?

Re : taka bb fair

I will be there ard 12.30-1pm. So maybe meet u all there at the fair instead. Will sms joy/luvbabe.

Lot 1 westie mummies meeting up (11 mar - @ 3pm):

1)c.yang (Maybe with Renee)

2)Clarissa

3)bbwoofie (with princess)

4)febie (maybe with Shayne)

5)Bryest (with bb)

6)Afann ( with baby Ashton)

7) Joy + missy

8) Yuki

9)koonie + bb joey

10) luvbabe (possibly, will arrange)

11) Jessie (to be confirm)

12) Mindy (with Isaiah)

13) Febie (with Shayne)

taka bb fair - 11 mar,

venue: Taka Square (wait outside watson - 11.30am onwards)

For those coming by mrt, wait at orchard mrt then go togther ya? (11.20-11.30am)

1. mstan

2. luvbabe

3. joy + jovin (orchard mrt)

4. ET

5. LSnTYL

6. Febie (with Shayne)

7. Koonie + joey (orchard mrt)

8. Megan (orchard mrt)

9. jessie + arwen

10. bryest

btw, if you gals want the used bottles to trade in for pigeon bottles promo, let me know, i have about 6-8bottles and 2 mummies already reserved as follows:

1. mstan x 2

2. TYL x 2

Will be bringing the used bottles on that day...

Either place fine:

febie (maybe with Shayne)

joy + missy

btw, for those who will be arriving at the taka bb fair, can help to check out the makan places there and chop chop the place since we have a few mummies bringing LOs along.....

so how on that day got 2 gathering, how? u gals want to put the Lot 1 gathering on wednesday or friday instead?

where are we eating in taka arh? maybe good to place reservation? I suggest either crystal jade kitchen or tampopo.

hmm, maybe should let jessie choose since she just back in SG? see what she feels like eating? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

taka bb fair - 11 mar,

For those coming by mrt, wait at orchard mrt then go togther ya? (11.20-11.30am)

1. mstan

2. luvbabe

4. ET

5. LSnTYL

6. Febie (with Shayne)

8. Megan (orchard mrt)

9. jessie + arwen

10. bryest

11. fatbabe

12. melody

13. afann

14. cy

taka bb fair - 11 mar,

1. mstan

2. luvbabe

4. ET

5. LSnTYL (orchard mrt)

6. Febie (with Shayne)

8. Megan (orchard mrt)

9. jessie + arwen

10. bryest

11. fatbabe

12. melody