(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

hi mommmies.. been a long time since I last commented. want to ask if anyone knows of a reliable nanny at Eunos Crescent? Appreciate if anyone can advise.

firipy,

Paiseh to only reply to you now. Am so zombified after last nite's elections watching plus, had a long weekend in China. Over the labour day hols and we spent a nite in Kunshan, taking Nat to enjoy the nature. It was truly a great trip as Nat was obviously enjoying herself with the nature and little animals. Interestingly, I thought after the trip I would feel more rested and rejuvenated but ended up more tired! :S Then before I could rest, my brother came to visit us and spent the week here.

And the irony is ... I enjoyed myself with my brother way more than the Kunshan trip! Hhahaa. Now that he's gone home, makes me wanna quickly return to Singapore for summer! Anyway, your parents and in-laws worrying are normal. Really. A lot of people have the sorta impression that China's not a safe place for kids due to all the news that they've read and heard about about crime syndicates.

If you're talking about Liaoning or Dalian which is northern china, I think it should still be quite ok as compared to southern china but that still doesn't mean no crime. I guess be it in China or anywhere else travelling, you basically have to be on the alert when traveling with a child. Especially at this age, where they start running about. The other day, I was at H&M looking at a pair of shorts and I had to turn my head 10 times to check Nat was! It was then I realized that I can no longer go window shopping with Nat like before! I ergo her, she will stretch out to wanna touch this and that.

I put her in a stroller, she behaves like there are needles pricking her all over and squirms like a caterpillar! So no choice ... it's either I go with a galfriend (who has no kid in tow) and watch over Nat or park her with DH and go shopping over the weekend. Or if all things fail, there's always taobao! Hhehehehe. So ... I think more importantly, you just have to make sure Ayden is with you guys all the time and within sight. Especially if you're in an environment which is all unfamiliar to you, all the more you should hold him close to you.

It's not gonna be easy if you're thinking of shopping based on my experience shared earlier. But if you're gonna be there with DH, you guys can take turns. As for kidnapping, I still do hear of stories every now and then. About how moms leave their kids in the car and the chauffeur drives them off, never to be able to see them again. And contrary to what Jessie said ... these people eye more on ang mor kids than local kids! But I do also agree that these days, the burden of raising a kid is very heavy in China and that people may think twice.

But my helper still tells me that no matter what, children are still very sought after in many parts of China. I won't advise you against taking Ayden to China just that you have to be cautious like keeping him within your sight, hygiene factor (bring him to decent places to eat, dun let him touch here and there and then rub his eyes or put hands in his mouth) and of course, watch your belongings all the time. I'm not sure about Dalian or Liaoning but Shanghai isn't pretty much a stroller friendly place if you ask me. So if it is the same there, then travel with a baby carrier, might be more practical. Hope the lengthy post helps!

pauline - Glad to hear that you're all ok!

bubbleluv - Usually I'll just use a metal spoon to cut. I wun buy any other scissors or whatsoever. Coz' in the first place, their food shud be quite soft to cut it with a normal metal spoon.

Lamb, so happy to see u post! thanks for the insights nonetheless cos I won't be going china till like 1 mth plus later. I told my mum be it in china or sg, I still have to keep watch on him cos he is running abt nw, nt just walk. Recent day trips to msia sort of trained him to nt wander in foreign plcs. I kept repeating to him that he mite get lost n nt see mummy,daddy, and everyone again. Drill it in him, hahhah!

Talking abt election makes me very sad, I teared when I saw Mr Chiam lost potong pasir n Bish-toa payoh GRC on tv. Tho I don't get to vote for him, I admire the work he has done for so many yrs, his dedication is almost as old as I am! My dad tells me stories abt how Mr Chiam started his campaign as an independent person, rallying with his own car n posters on top of it. But still they put up a very good fight to contest in a GRC that wasnt contested for a long time n at first attempt got 40+% votes.

Happy Mother's day everyone!!! My hb forgot its mother's day n din prepare anything n told me father's day no need to prepare for him. Men....

Happy Mother's Day! Keke, was so warm today , just like SG so I told DH we go eat SG food here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jacky Cheung song was stuck in my head from last week when I heard it in the cab, so today went to buy a CD. Well well.. as usual, Chinese to English translation SIBEI funny one! Let you guys have a look what I encountered here :

每天爱你多一些 - Every day loves your some

我等到花儿也谢了 - When I the flower also tahnked

我真的受伤了 -I was really injured

夕阳醉了 - The setting sun was drunk

回头太难 - Turns head too difficulty

还是觉得你最好 - Thinks you to be supposed better

饿狼传说 - Greedy person fable

爱的比你深 - Likes being deeper than you

头发乱了 - The hair was chaotic

等你等到我心痛 - Waits for you to wait till me to be grieved

你好毒 - Your good poison

但愿人长久 - Hopes the human to be long time

旧情绵绵 - The former friendship is continuous

Sometimes I wish they would not try to translate! It really caused a lot of confusion with DH when he try to understand the titles!

littlelamb, thanks, tomorrow starting class liao. luckily, it's school hol in lieu of Polling day so can catch a lift from hubby to Little India. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Firipy, I was up till 3am watching tv too. Me too, feel so sad for Chiam See Tong and his wife for losing Potong Pasir but Sitoh yih pin worked the ground for 10 yrs and did not move to GRC for easy entry to parliament so I respect him too. I read online that after counting overseas votes, difference is only 78 votes. They are trying to get support to hold a by election.

Jessie, LOL, so funny. You poor hubby must be really confused. I'll have a shot to improve the translation. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

每天爱你多一些 - Loving you more everyday

我等到花儿也谢了 - I waited till the flowers wilted

我真的受伤了 - I was really hurt (by you)

夕阳醉了 - That intoxicating sunset

回头太难 - There is no turning back

还是觉得你最好 - You are still the best

饿狼传说 - the Legend of the hungry wolf

爱的比你深 - My love surpasses yours

头发乱了 - Your ruffled hair

等你等到我心痛 - My heartbreaking wait for you

你好毒 - Hello, poison

但愿人长久 - Hope our love is everlasting

旧情绵绵 - Unforgotten romance

Pauline : Keke, your translation makes it better but 你好毒 - Hello, poison -> should be You are very poisonous ?

NEED ADVICE

Want to start finger painting with Arwen, what you guys use, the brand and where to get ah ? Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessie, my first translation was 'You are very poisonous' but I thought it was too literal and may not make sense in the western context too so change to 'hello, poison'. Maybe 'You are toxic' will be better? keke.

Btw, I bought crayola finger painting book and pad since it's non toxic and washable. My no. 1 enjoys it. But for younger kids, those tubes of finger paint may be easier to handle. Raelynn got most distressed and whined (almost cried) when she saw her fingers smeared with the globs of colour though. After I wiped her hands clean, she refused to go near the paints. :p Guess she's not ready to get messy. haha.

been an exciting saturday: polling day, my sister's wedding, and grandma passed away. so tired. no mood to work. :p

jessie and littlelamb> the 2 of you voted?

firipy> a by election will be good. is there a min % of votes to get to be elected? if so close like not so fair. :p

luvbabe> not really beg lah. but think shd b getting busy soon. hope you'll have a smooth biz trip.

bryest> dont think will organise any playdates soon coz Mattias gg for his op on 16 may. need about 1 mth to recuperate.

pauline> raelynn is so cute. i havent tried finger painting yet. coz i cant imagine the mess. :p

jessie - Wah liao, the translation cracked me up big time! U went to eat Singapore food? Which one did you try huh? I've been thinking about laksa ... think I'll try making it for dinner some time this week.

firipy, xin & pauline,

Nope, I didn't get to vote coz' missed the deadline. Plus we had to fill up quite a bit of things, and prove that in the past 5 years, we were in singapore for 30 days. That means I gotta go dig up the dates I was back. I was kinda lazy too. :p I think for me, what i feel most sad about is that George Yeo lost his post at Minister of Foreign Affairs. I really think it's an important role and that he has made many significant contributions to Singapore's economy as the Foreign Minister.

But of course, everyone has their own reasons when they cast their vote. I just hope that this decision made is only for the better. A lot of my Singaporean friends back home were very passionate about this year's GE. They're hardly apathetic like what some people said. People are sending me videos, articles and airing their views. It's quite scary how the new media can influence people's point of view.

Not that it's not good but all the more people now have to be discerning, given so much info to absorb.

hi everyone. haven't had much time to come in these days. happy belated mother's day to all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin, thanks, ya, I was surprised why her reaction was so strong? :p

YL, happy belated Mother's Day. Long time no see you here, busy with work or relocation? Free to meet for late lunch or tea sometimes? My course is at Little India, can take mrt to go to town. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pauline>no lah, work is busy n not much time to come online at home. lunch should b ok but tea might b a bit difficult. sms me? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

--- On Tue, 10/5/11, Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) <[email protected]> wrote:

From: Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) <[email protected]>

Subject: Outings for the Underprivileged Children

To: "Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network)" <[email protected]>

Date: Tuesday, 10 May, 2011, 11:22

We are still short of sponsors and volunteers for the outings arranged for the Underprivileged children, below is the updated numbers :

No. of Children Sponsor : 12

No. of Volunteers : 6

We hope to have about 45 children and 35 volunteers to come along for this Ice Cream Making Workshop, for those who can help, do get back to me by 15 May 2011 so we will have sufficient time to send out the flyers to the children.

In the event we are unable to get sufficient sponsors, we will cancel the outing and will refund those who have sponsored so you can use the funds to reach out to others instead.

Charles Tan

Volunteer Resource Network

Email : [email protected]

URL : www.vrnetwork.org

From: Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) [mailto:[email protected]]

Sent: Thursday, 5 May, 2011 11:09 AM

Subject: June Holiday Programme for the Children

We will be resuming our outings for the children from the low income family this June after taking a break last Dec. This coming June, we plan to bring the kids to downtown east for an Ice Cream Making Workshop and have Ice Cream Buffet there as well, below are the details :

Event : Ice Cream Making Workshop + Ice Cream Buffet

Date : 18 June 2011 (Saturday)

Time : 10am to 2pm (Tentative)

Venue : Downtown East

Meeting point : Daybreak Family Service Centre

Blk 855 Yishun Ring Road Training Wing

(5 mins walk from Khatib MRT Station )

Targeted number of Children : 45

Volunteers required : 25

The cost for each child is about $35.00 which will cover the cost of the event, including lunch and cookie packs for each child. We hope each of you can sponsor at least one child for the trip, we will also need some volunteers to join us for the trip to take care of the children and help them out during the ice cream making workshop when we are there.

For those who would like to sponsor, you can mail a cheque payable to “Maple Lifestyle”, indicate “VRN June” and mail it to :

Maple Lifestyle

195 Pearl’s Hill Terrace

#01-32

Singapore 168976

Please let us know the details of your cheque such as bank, cheque number and amount via email if you are sending by cheque.

For those who preferred to funds transfer, please do email me separately for the account number to transfer.

Do remember me to update me so I can consolidate the sponsored funds, we will stop accepting funds once we have enough as per our usual practice.

And for those who are keen to volunteer, do provide me with the following particulars :

1) Name

2) NRIC

3) Contact Number

4) Email address

The cost for each volunteer is $38.00, we will likely be getting McDonald Lunch for everyone, if you are a vegetarian, do inform us and we will pack lunch separately for you.

We hope to be able to get your support to sponsor up to a max of 45 children from the low income family group for this trip.

Charles Tan

Volunteer Resource Network

Email : [email protected]

URL : www.vrnetwork.org

Am posting for information as they are short of sponsors and volunteers for the event. Pls liaise with the organiser directly if you are interested in helping out..

Thanks a mil! =)

Morn peeps, bad day again..... My mum as usual made so much comments abt my mil dunno do wat n go where late to relief her when she wants to go class etc. She is going for hols n ask me to ask my mil to stay over my plc. My hb nt happy that his mum is being ordered..... Told me go find nanny

Hey ladies,

Been a while. Heard that the weather in SG is quite unbearable these few days. Take care, folks!

Here is a recommended activity with you tod: Stickers. I bought a few sheets of stickers (animals, vehicles, shapes) from Daiso and it was great fun teaching Renee the prints and she's also learning how to stick them in her book and press them down. Learning how to use both hands, peeling them off her skin when they get stuck in an unwanted position.

tks Cyang...ya weather really vy vy hot but i think you side could be hotter during summer right???tks for the recommended activity...i think it's a good idea!!

Hi mommies! I haven't been here for a while... but seems like it's very quiet lately.

TYL: So you confirmed going to US already? Hubby will stay home or will put Ayden in childcare? Must meet up before you all leave.

Anyone has any activity ideas or craft ideas to share? Think my boy getting super bored with his toys and I don't wanna buy more lah, no more space at home and he really not so into toys.

Pauline: Where to get crayola paint from? Thanks! Wanna get the non-toxic paint and let Kenan do some art work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheerieheart (cheerieheart) -> I just got the book

The Toddler's Busy Book: 365 Creative Games and Activities to Keep Your 1 1/2- to 3-Year-Old Busy

http://www.amazon.com/Toddlers-Busy-Book-Activities-3-Year-Old/dp/0671317741/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1305280066&sr=8-1

really like it! Very simple and fun to use [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Got the whole range of Crayola paint and crayons and everything , it is really really nice way to keep Arwen occupied. I do not think they will be hard to find in SG though.

I also put a raincoat on Arwen , fill some drinkable water in two shallow pails and let her splash around,she loves it. I mean I am not keen to bring her to the pool here yet cos the water always too cold.

I clear my kitchen cabinets so that all the lower shelf contain no glasswares, just dry food and plastic stuff and she can go there and open whatever she wants.

Seriously... entertaining them is really not easy!

jessietan - Ha, I got the book too! From one of the 2nd hand sales here. It's really interesting! And it was only going for 10rmb! What a steal! I must say it's got really interesting ideas.

i've been quite busy and away from office last few days. and next 2 wks v bad too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] last nite stay til 7pm.

firipy> we have no compassionate leave. must use up AL first then can tk unrecorded leave. think coz we have quite a few days to begin with?

but i havent got to time apply for leave yet. haha.

hope ur childcare arrangements get sorted out. now that you're working, it's just ur mum and mil taking turns hor.

c.yang> my friend told me abt the stickers idea and gave me lots of unwanted stickers to try it out. but haven't got time to try. thanks for reminding. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheerieheart> this website has some ideas, but must really pick and choose, coz their age range quite huge.

http://fun.familyeducation.com/preschool/extracurricular-activities/33392.html?WT.mc_id=FE_Your-Child_0-6_2011-05-13_email

my friend passed me a book called baby days. many ideas too.

usually, when i'm hm, i just see mattias taking his stick walking around, or throwing his ball around. or just watching daddy do housework.

sometimes, i really wonder what my hb does with mattias everyday. he dont go shopping, nor library nor playdates. :p

btw, have you all got training pants for your baby?

now mattias can sign to us that he pee or poo but still dont want to do it in the potty.

esp for poo, even if we know he's gg to poo, we dont bring him to the potty as he wont poo anymore. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

now thinking if i shd get training pants or just continue using pull-ups. v ex. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yap! Now I am busying buying or collecting weird things like bubble makers, pingpong balls, corks, straws, balloons, cardboards also some color dye. Seems like in some playschool, they use shaving foam and mix dye and let the kids do some painting!The book really makes me want to try out new things with Arwen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all, been super busy at work recently. Reached home noti bryan already sleeping. Only weekend tried my best to keep bryan company. Have started to borrow books from library every two weeks instead of spending money buying story books etc.take care ladies.

Howdy everyone?

Been so busy that I neglected this forum! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Work is forever busy and now things at home are getting spoilt one after another.

My Tefal electric kettle can't auto turned off anymore, my dad brought to the agent and changed the switch and it's working but I kept tasting a weird metal taste in the water after boiling. So i've been buying mineral water for baby's milk!

Anyway, cut short the story. was looking at some water purification. Wonder anyone care to share some thoughts?

thanks in adv.

Cheerieheart, i got mine from Bp n borders (when I didn't want to wait for pre orders.)

Steph, I considered buying a hyflux water purification jug cos thought no need to boil water, it'll be cheaper. But in the end after factoring the water purification cartridges, think cost is the same. Plus inconvenient cos got to keep buying cartridges. :p I got a yellow tefal electric kettle too n touch wood still working so far. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Pauline! My tefal serves me 10yrs already so time to retire. Ya I research a couple of brands usually it's the cartridges and filter that costs. So when I drink from the boiled water it has stale taste means something wrong with the kettle right? As drinking from tap is ok.

Morn everyone, tink A grown over these few weeks or I havnt been carrying him constantly.... My arms r super sore!!! I need salon pas, super aching. Luckily tmr is holidays!

Steph, could it be because the heating element is rusty? Can use some vinegar to boil and clean it first before boiling water again?

trying to finish up some work. feeling abit bored so decided to come in here to tk a look. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

on water purification, i actually filter then boil for mattias. for adults, we just drink the filtered water. the purpose of filtering and boiling abit different.

i have some whitish stuff on the base of my metal electric kettle too. cant get rid of it. but hb says it doesn't matter. think i shall try out the taste. :p

how's everyone? sorry I haven't much time to read through all the posts. hope all the bbs are well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Steph, Pauline, Xin

Sometimes I am quite weary of electric kettles. I dislike plastic electric kettles most, so like xin I buy a metal electric one. But sometimes I think the best is a normal kettle which you boil over the stove. I'd think that's the healthiest & safest, no?

Did u guys read about the maid's body which was dumped in the water tank of the HDB block?! Gross or whaaaaat? So euwww rite, of all the places. The poor innocent victims who turned the tap on that day.

Smalldreams, my hb spoil the electric kettle within 6 mths n fr them we jus use the stove kettle. Too lazy to buy new one n its use mainly for A 's milk. We usually jus drink fr tap last time. I saw the news n hope the maids n cleaner in my area dun have r/s disputes, haha! I can't imagine those who drank n ate with the water tank water in the morn that day.... Am feeling bored in office tdy

Hope everyone is fine!

Xin, you can squeeze some lemon juice or pour a little white vinegar to clean the kettle. It should rid the whitish area :D

Smalldreams, ya damn gross. Me wanna puke jus tinking of it!! yucky

The thread seems to be gliiiiiiding away like a snail. Hope everyone (big and small) are fine.

We went to KL for the 'long-weekend'. Took Monday off and intended to spend some time in Melaka too. Who knows our car broke down in KL, even though we just serviced it 2 days prior to the trip. It was then towed to the manufacturer's workshop in KL (since it's still under warranty), spent 3/4 of a day there and still had to be towed back to SG for repair. And we flew back instead. Initially, they had wanted DH to follow the tow truck back to clear the car at custom. As expected, DH almost blew his top. Luckily, in the end, he didn't have to. What a stressful vacation!!

4 more days to YX turning 17 months. I almost can't believe he's going to be 1.5 years old soon. He's been picking up a lot of words lately. He doesn't do Q&A and most of the time will not repeat words after me. So, this lazy mom has not been doing any flash cards or much reading to him. Much to my surprise, he picked up words that we use on a daily basis, whether we were talking to him or not. And he tends to talk in sing-song tone, which I find amusing sometimes.

His favourite word is 'wei-wei', which he used to refer to the fan and also his windmill. Everytime we try to correct him by telling him that it's a fan, he will retort in a corrective tone to tell us that it's a 'wei-wei'. I'm still not certain how many words he knows since he only speaks whenever he likes it.

The other day we were in the car and it started to rain. Then I heard him said something. When I looked at him, he pointed at the raindrops on the window and said 'raiiin-ing' in a sing-song tone. And then only I realized that he was telling us that it was raining. DH bought 2 bottles of multi-vits, he took 1 and started to shake it like a rattle. Then he saw the other one and said 'one more'. On day he woke up early at 6am and I suggested to him to sleep a while more. He answered 'no more' and proceeded to sing his wake-up song. He would also tell my dog 'up' whenever we are about to board the car. That's the word we use to tell my dog to climb up the car. He also likes to sing and dance. I hope he will not tell me that he wants to be an entertainer one day.

I am still cooking for him on a daily basis, and somehow feels a little guilty if I have to feed him jar food. However, whenever we dine out, he likes to try our food. DH has even fed him curry rice. He also likes to feed himself using the fork and spoon. So whenever we eat out, I would place some puffs or white rice in his bowl and he would spend some time entertaining himself while we eat.

Oh! This little boy of mine also enjoys role-playing. He would snatch my magic-mop to clean the floor and prefers to walk my dog than to play at the playground whenever we go to the park. After he finishes his milk, he would put the bottle into the kitchen sink. He wants to be the one to switch on/off the fan/light too.

He is quite a friendly and sociable little fella, often approaching strangers and smiling at them. One of his nanny's neighbours nicknamed him the future PM of Singapore for almost always having a smile on.

On the 'not-so-pleasant' side, he screams a lot more when excited and has started to throw things lately. His scream is so loud and piercing that DH swears that he will turn deaf one day because of his screaming. The other day, he finished his food and threw his bowl on to the floor. I made him pick it up and put it back on the table. After that, he didn't throw the bowl anymore. Hope it will stay that way.

I realized that our little ones are growing so fast. And reading some of the posts here, it seems that their personalities are slowing emerging. Do post some updates on your little ones. I especially enjoy reading stories on how they're slowly becoming a little person with their own mind. Hmmm.. maybe I should also save a copy of this post so that I can reread how he was like at this time in the near future.

Pauline/cy/smalldreams/xin, yes try with white vinegar and it kinda of descale the kettle but quality wise, still got sourish taste now hehe...think i better throw away.

not sure with metal ones. be it plastic or metal, i think anything land on the hands of my maid + subj to wear and tear, I can't see my things last through long enough.

Blame myself for not scrutinizing such details often enough.

Steph, can try boiling n throwing away the water a few more times. Can't be helped with maids, mine also spoilt so many of my stuff.

hi everyone...

wow cocomama, your trip really sound stressful...hehe...

YX is vy clever can say many words, as for HW she a bit lazy wt words...everything only say 1 syllabus, like ma, pa, kor, jie, ka (kakak), cat dog, bird, go, hi, bye...sometimes all this words sounds quite alike, so dunno whether she is saying it or not...my neighbour laugh n say she is a "guan jia po"...cos always jaga her brother...when we are outside, if she can't see her brother, she will start calling "kor...kor...go"!!! When she sees her brother crying, she will immediately go and hug and sayang her kor kor. her kor kor will appreciate it so much by saying "thank you mei mei"...both of them will take care of each other...am very blessed to see both of them loving each other

HW's fav past time wt kor kor is play hide and seek...she will pretend to close her eyes and we hide...then she will come and look for us...then take turns to count.

HW also a very good helper, she will put her milk bottle in the kitchen, her dirty clothes in the laundry basket, throw rubbish, help to keep toys...my maid always praise her and say it's easy to take care of her and entertain her!!!

megan> wah.. HW is so loving. the way you described the siblings' relationship make me yearn for a girl leh..

could it be because they were born on the same day, therefore they share some similar traits like being helpful? i sure hope YX will continue to be so helpful when he's older.

xin> hope all is well with Mattias.