(2009) Twins/ Triplets/ Multiples mummies to be

Juliana , yes ! My twins can use their fist to bang table . If they see a spoon , then they use the spoon tok tok tok on e table . Very pai say , as so noisy . But they r at an exploratory stage now so I guess it's normal .

I bring cheerios , cheese sticks , biscuits , raisins , sun flower seeds , or whatever in my bag bag. To keep them quiet while I shop , or when we go out makan . We dun bring toys cos they prob so tired of playing wif it at home , got no more novelty . Thus food is the best distrac at most .

They also mostly wan to eat everything we eat , n drink . So age appropriate accordingly , I teach them my love n appreciation for food , by offering them bits n pieces of noodles ( normally soup ones ), fried rice , cakes , macaroni ,
pasta , pizza n stuff .

hi.. can i ask mummies of older twins (i mean 1yo n abv).... did u bring your babies for the MMR (or MMRV) vacine? if yes, did u take all the vacines together or seperately? n at which month thnx thnx~

p/s jes, i PM-ed u le. :)

Fat Bobo , I jus took my twins for the mmr. They r now 16 mth . On top of tat , they took the chicken pox Jab too . So inject left n rite side tog . My boy had the fever aft tat .

They will need to do the DPT jab aft 18 mth . By the way , I can't remb what is dpt !! Anyone knows ?? Keke ...

Hi ! I've checked ...

MMR : Is for prevention of measles mumps n rubella.
DPT : it's prevention of polio , tetinus n hepatitis , etc ( those 5 or 6 in ones ).

So mine had the mmr vaccine N pox jab last thus . In 2 mths will be their 6 in 1 booster.

thanks poko... means u din bring them for any jabs when they were 12mths? that's combined into the 15th for MMRV izit? the MMR u took is the new with 13 strains or the old verson of 7 de u noe?
(that's wat we planned initially.. we did not go for any 12 mths jab..but combining to jab all at a go at 15 mths.)

im so lost.. noe nuts abt the vaccination.. so many jabs.. n all the terms! *faintz*

read that there r argue abt this MMR that is linked to autism... so duno if shld delay it? (some even say not to take it at all or watever!)

although it is in the guidlines (or regulation) for a child to be vaccinated before going to primary sch.. but it's not a law rite? juz a regulation that one 'should be' n not 'must be'!?!

then.. there were discussions about spliting the jabs to individual instead of a combined de! haiyo!!!!

btw.. DPT - Diphtheria

so ya.. my girls r 14.5mths now... am planning for the 15 mth vaccine soon liao. but duno to take wat.. or wat can be delayed... alamak!!!

pls tell me im reading n worrying too much.... ..n juz go ahead to bring my girls to hv the MMRv!! -.-"

Hi Bo bo, yes - it's indeed confusing . I didn't even know what jab I was bringing them for , till the nurse told me . I didn't chk their health book for ages !!

Hmm ... They didn't see their pd for a while before this , I tink they did get a growth Assesment at 12 mths though , but no jabs . At least not that I can remember .

I honestly dunno if what u mentioned new strain vs old strain , or whatever ....So I can't advice u on this . All I know is pd said " ok , so they're have their mmr n chick pox today ", n I said " uhhh ... Okay ". Haha !!

I did ask him abt the autism thingy link . He said it's not really proven but rather due to some links to autism , rumours spread abt the consequences of it . It was said that some kids were tested aft mmr was given during the 1970's. There was only a handful of kids tested , perhaps less than 30. But at that time , autism was getting "recognized " more n more kids were seemingly getting into . So the result sft the test showed that quite a few did have it aft mmr . But really , till date - there is no evidence pointing mmr to autism .

Mainly also with early medical intervention n psychological tests , some children r sent for tests early in life , like 3 yrs plus ( due to hyperactivity , no control , etc ) N as no one yet
can pin point to what exactly causes autism , they some how use this to support the claim.

What I can sugg u is to break the vaccine into 3 parts , or at least wait till they r 3 yrs old . It's not mandatory for it to be given at 18 or 15 mth per say . But yes , before pri 1 - all must be completed .

It's really up to you whether u wan to go ahead , if drs are concerned abt the link , prob - there will already be some changes in the vacinne guidelines . So perhaps u can read more abt it , n decide from there .

Talking abt pri Sch , I am quite sure from my exp , that the child has to be inj against bcg n e rest . And also , a booster bcg is now given at pri 1 ( last time pri 6 ).

Fat bobo
My boys were 13 months when they took their MMRV and chicken pox jab..it was just 1 jab together... I trust my PD...he knows whats best for the kids.. For e.g he din think rotavirus was necessary for premture bbs..so we din take that.. We will just follow what needs to be taken.. according to the milestone..but of coz need to question...i was indecisive whether to take chicken pox till he say better to take...so we went ahead.my next apptment is when they are 20mths next April..so from now till then, no jab...My boys no fever after the jab...different from their usual jabs which was sure fever...btw, if got fever, it will start only after 5-7 days after the MMR jab..this is quite 'unique' in the snese...so have ur girls jab yet?

76:: hvnt leh.. i might be delaying till 18-24mths....i will still let them take the vaccinations la.. but prolly latr lor. lalala~
(anyways.. hb busy this period oso...... so ya.. latr on bah!)

oops just saw this..
Sophia, my bbs used to choke on the meds when given thru a syringe too, so I used a teat instead. Measure out the meds with the syringe then pour into the teat when feeding.

morning mummies
im at 25 weeks with twin boys now and just got diagnose with gestational diabetes with a sugar result of 14.9 as compared to normal passing rate of 7.8.

anyone had any experience at this? going for the detailed sugar test for the whole day at kkh tomororow.

my gynae said hopefully i can hold the twins in me till end nov or mid dec at 32 weeks.

anyone have any preloved items to give away? on a really tight budget now. pls pm me . any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Just read Young parents mag, there's a garage sale on nov 13 at turf city. it's organised by twins mommies and they will be selling strollers, toys etc for twins. Can go check.

Dear mummies..

Any suggestions for Hong Kong hotels? I'm bringing my gal to disney next month but dont know where to stay. Heard only need couple of hours at disney thus prefer to stay somewhere in the central where we can access to the shopping district easily

My boys 6.5mths already. Time flies. Wanna stop bfeeding yet feel very guilty!! Coz I'll be in Hong Kong for a week or so. Any advices?

What do your babies do from the time they wake up till the time they nap or sleep? My mum and maid kept carrying them around and now it seems they are used to being carried around.

hi addy, you can try Royal Plaza Hotel. I went during the National Day break. It's big and very clean. Very near to MTR and there's a airport transfer stop just at the hotel so no worries about getting to airport.

Thanks Sophia!! Will check it out!

Mummies,, how are your daily schedules like? My twins are 6.5MOS, my mum, my maid & I are home, but i usually nap in the afternn coz I'm on 'night shift', else run errands. But i find my time really really tight. I've also got a 5YO girl, so after i tuck my boys nite nite, gotto shower her, read her books, do some assessments, etc..

ALso, at which months do i start my boys with 3 meals a day? They only have a meal of porridge a day now. No breakfast cereals or dinner.

Hi addy , I like the prudential hotel in HK . Train station is at the basement of the hotel . It's quite a nice hotel , , so close to the station ( jus take lift down ) n have eateries n shops downstairs n ard the hotel .

U bringing yr 6 mth old twins tog ? Or jus u n hubb n 5 yr old gal ? Do get bb meal in board ( whethere they eat or dun eat
nevermind) cos got lots of goodies like jar food , cute bibs, cute cutleries ....

is it yr 1st time in HK ?? One thing abt HK is the streets quite uneven n bumpy ( not like our orchard road ). Quite a fair bit
if steps too , so be careful wif the bbs .

hk Disneyland - we have been there many x . Actually Disney hotels are nice too . Yr gal will love it. I dun think u can finish in a couple of hours honestly . Not because it's big , but rather queue for the rides ! Like small small world , toy story , pooh - rides are like 120 min wait dur Sch hols !! Take the FAST PASS . You can Find our more abt the pass from the
net . Gd for popular rides . I use a Walky talkey for theme parks overseas . Cos some x separate due to queue separately , etc ... So no need use international air time.

I hav a 8 yr old boy n 16 mth boy/ gal twins .

I tink yr bb still young . Once a day solid is enuf. Increase to Inc breakfast perhaps 8/9 mth then dinner aft breakfast is established . Hope this helps ! Cheers

Hi Poko1..

Thanks ya.. Such precious advise

My twins are not going. Only me, hubby + my 5YO gal coz we had initially planned a trip to Melborne before my pregnancy, but we put the plan on hold after the test stick shows 'positive'!! Since the boys arrived, we've tend to neglect her a fair bit but she's understanding. So we thot wanna bring her walk walk and spend time with her.

I'll check out Prudential ya. Is it near the shopping districts, night markets?

Wow, your twins so big liao. Mine still in 'panda' nights stage. I read all the ex-posts from Jan 2010.. Wow, u've all came a long way. Really, expecting twins arent easy ya. But it's all worth it.

addy, Prudential hotel is jus a couple of stops away from the main shopping belt like ladies market / mongkok, etc .... Perhaps abt 3/4 stops from the shopping area .

I have stayed in another hotel at tsim sha tsui . Not too exp , n rite at the " tip" of the shopping belt . Let me recap the hotel name n get bk to u later .

will be driving to Malacca in Dec with the twins. Any tips on what to look out ? Will be spending some time a A Farmosa resorts, is it worth the trip there? Our first overseas trip with them, actually quite nervous. But if I dont take the plunge and do it, will never have the courage.

Sophia,
In A Farmosa, boring place... not worth staying there. Their waterworld not so clean like wild wild wet in singapore.

If you want can stay at renaissance hotel in melacca capital city.

Sophia
Why will never have the courage? You can start taking them out anytime, dun have to impose a time limit for yourself...Enjoy yourself with the kids.

hi juliana, not staying at the resorts. Will stay at apartment Mahkota. Bringing my maid so not practical to stay in hotel either. Is the Animal world worth the time there at A Farmosa?

76, not that I dun have the courage to bring them out. I fear bringing them overseas. Hubi and I thought this would be a good 'test'for us before we bring them to Bintan Clubmed without the maid and my parents. (That's a scary thought).

Sophia , I can't advce u on malacca , but I can certainly advice u on club med bintan . I can advice u what u need , to get from them , what is available n the v v reasonable charges for bb sitting that I discovered due my stay there. ( of course one of u to jaga at all times ).

Meanwhile , enjoy Malaysia . It wun be too hard I'm sure . Have faith n do have a swell time !!

Sophia

Will you be bring your maid along? OR just you and hubby. I understand. i nearly freak out too when i bring them to perth. So many things got to take n remember etc.

Dont give urself a time limit. Just do it and enjoy the trip. It is not that bad.

ximi, i will be bringing my maid. So in a way, it wouldnt be that bad. Just that the logistics is going to be a nightmare I think.
Can I dont feed them porridge for that few days? What else can I give them?

With maid around, not so bad.

i bot some instant white rice and brown rice cereal . But in the end i didnt really use much. As we have a kitchen so some days i will mash potato and there are alot of baby food sold in the supermarket there .

Usually i tried to order some fish so that i can share some with them. and i give them white rice, bread and waffle etc

Ximi,
where do you stay? apartment or hotel? if its apartment would you mind gimme the details.

Coz, i'm try to go free and easy

will be celebrating my twins first lunar birthday on sat. did any of you place those items for them to choose so that one can ' see' what they will be in the future?
What did you gals put out for them? What do the items mean? I want to try just for the fun of it, excuse to take more pictures of them too.

Yes , can use anything . It's jus for the fun of it . Pots ( future chef or opps - housewife? ), cars ( f1 drivers ), stethtoscopes ( dr in the making ), bb drum set ( future Rock star ), bible ( lo n behold - amen ), dictionary ( Phd student or Lao shi ) or ball ( the next fandi ) all can make pix memorable !!! Enjoy their special day !!!

ok, so anything goes..... will gather the stuff for them to pick.
They are sick again though. Damn sian, every month will be sick once. I guess this is what I have to go through once they go ifc. Worse thing is having cough. No med for cough somemore.

Hello mummies, I have 2 tins of Gain IQ 3 (for 1year and above) 400g to exchage for a token of baby wipes. Expiry: 21 April 2012.
Will also throw in the $3 voucher for the next Gain IQ milk purchase at Cold Storage. Voucher is valid till 31 Dec 2010.
Do PM me if interested. First come first get. If no one interested I'll open to the Exchange section in the forum.

Hello all

Need an advise here. My twins are 1 years plus but i am still at stage 2. Should i move on to stage 3 and what milk powder should i give them. they are on Nan Pro 2 now.

Hi ximi
my boys drink enfapro..stage 2. Thinking of moving them on to stage 3 too.They are 15months..I dun think you shld rush..it took me 1 yr to swtch from stage 1 to 2.

my boys are 8mths, already started on enfapro stage 2 last month. now still on bm, night feeds on enfa. Is stage 1 better for them? Cos stage 2 states 6mth onwards so i bought for them.

mummies.. do your babies sleep thru the nite at this age? Mine sleep 8pm till 6am but few nite feeds. Sometimes only drink half of their 120ml feed!

Any SAHMs can share their rough daily schedule with me?

That is what i am thinking too, i think i will only move when they are ard 16 months or so. Thanks

All,

Are you are facing problem like me? I am a working mum thus whenever i open the door after work, the first thing i see is 2 smiling face with their hand stretch out. and if i only carry one. The other will be screaming.

What do you all normally do in order not to get them jealous of one another? I find both of them dont like to play with one another. And they get jealous easily too. I dont know what is missing out and has i done anything that trigger it off.

ximi,
My twins started taking stage 2 when they are 6 months and they switched from Nan to Enfa. Found Nan's quality quite poor thus the switch. Will also be moving them to stage 3 from next week once the 1.8kg tin is nearly half.

Agree that my twins also dont play well together. But they also dont play well with other kids. So, I guess it's just their age that they cant really play with others. When my kids are back from infant care, I'm usually home. So they greet me at the door. Daddy is holding one and I'll hold the other. Then we exchange to give them hugs and kisses. After that, I'll get miad to take one and they will get changed to their pjs. Then it's play time for family as maid gets ready dinner.

Do your twins 'fight' with each other? My daughter can be very rough and she will pull, pinch her bro.

ximi,
i'm going to change my kids milk to stage 3 once their stage 2 finish.

my twins want to get hug and kiss whenever I'm back home.. maybe I train them since they are 6mths, I will say goodbye and kiss & hug before off to work. and when I'm back i will kiss & hug them again.. sometimes they want to follow me to work. So I have to carry them awhile.

If both wants to carry I will carry both...

My twins love to interact with toddlers. Twins love to play among themselves and they do fight. Both are rough. My boy just bite my girl face..

Btw, mummies I'm kinda worry as my girl has yet develop any sign of teething... Coming 1 year old and still toothless

I guess I am not the only one facing this problem. But I notice my boy will like to play with other kids, just that he doesn’t know how to go about it and can be rather apprehensive about it too. (Cling on me the whole time) While my ger will just go and play with them on her own.
I am not sure if at this stage are they aware of each other presence and how does each of them see each other. Like Juliana, at least her twins play with one another and fight too. Mine is like totally stranger and each one happen to be in the other way, they will just cry out aloud.

Juliana,
Did you check with dr about this issue. I think not to worry about this. There is a saying the later they grow their milk teeth, the later it will drop off.