(2009) Twins/ Triplets/ Multiples mummies to be

MomMe
You got mail.
Juliana
My bbs are 9mths+. they are still on Enfalac stage1. It's a bit expensive comapred to stage 2 but i heard the nutrients are better. Some pple feel that coz the kids are weaning, it's better to drink stage2 milk to complement the solids.It's your personal take. Your bbs are still 6mths, so, no need to rush into changing to stage2. Coz our bbs are premature so perhaps you want to take their corrected age into consideration. I think i will probably change into stage 2 after 10months.(corrected age)wch is their 1 yr old

It is good to know all of you doing well! We are 7mth already!
If anyone know where to buy Similac Follow-on cheaper then NTUC?

annfresh
is Similac follow-on the green one?

i have this lobang, door delivery of FM various brands, its cheaper, but i dunno how much cheaper, if u want i can email you the list.

np. so is it really cheaper? i've heard that places like sheng siong, or ang mo (neighbourhood supermarket) sometimes sell milk powder cheaper, so i'm not too sure.
any other mommies want the list?

Thanks Alice. For my boys, they are pretty 'violent' and rough.. They cant keep still within the confines of the pillow..most likely they will 'jump' out of the pillow... My boy slipped from my mum's lap while milking..then resume a standing position...we had a good laugh... of coz he not scared lah..he thinks v fun.

I recently notice that my boy don't sleep within the confines of the pillow... sometimes accidentally kick the sister.

Then now my daughter cannot see what my son is holding she will snatch it...

this thread seems queit..
how's school life so far?
need to ask u also, yr camera is only plugged into power, and not into computer or anything?

poko
i saw the bday party pics on fb, alot of xin si, can tell from your organisation of the party!

Imaketrain , yes dear.... Quite a fair bit of effort but was worth it la. The guests enjoyed the party favours, n the kids had fun activities. Shd become a party planner hor ...

Haven't been posting in for a few days though was a silent reader . Am still recovering from party hangover , can u believe it ??

How r u wif yr babies ?

Juliana,
I waited till they are 6 months to start on the No 2 of FM

Imakeitrain
Can I have the list too on the delivery of FM too?

Poko
So that is you. I know someone from the forum has a big party bash coming up. U very yong xin. Even got so many activities for the other children. How did u do all those planning? Just the venue itself I been thinking what to do with it.

Ximi, yes yes ... It's me ( blush blush )... I (no hubb involved even ) planned it from scrap to the big day ! Proud of it that it turned out as planned , and god blessed us wif the perfect weather ! What more can I ask ? Can chk out the pics on fb. U on fb ?

Basically , i've an older boy already. So done parties before ... I jus needed to change the concept abit as the party is focussing on the twins. So had to think of theme , party favours , age gp of kids ....

Bought temporary tattoos n sand art for kids. Placed them on the table to do themselves ....

The highlight was the piñata !!! The kids love whacking it n trying to break it apart for goodies to come out!

Left art work of kit kat wrappers to the printing specialists .

Can advice u if need help next time . I luv planning stuff like that.

Party was at our house func room so it was one less worry .

where did you get the pinatas? Looks like a good idea. I'm gathering ideas for my twins party as well...... will be having it at a chalet with lots of space.

Poko -- Just saw your twins' bday bash pics. What a party! I esp loved the idea of the wall with their photos from birth. Seeing the pics kinda make me excited abt my twins' 1st yr bday tho it is still quite some time away! When did you start planning ah? So I know how much time I shld give myself!

Yah the thread quite quiet these past few days hor.

imakeitrain
my school v busy..tho i am only taking 2 modules now...the readings can kill lor..i can onnly read like now, at night...or day time i shut myself in the studyroom while my boys wail outside the studdy room..now they see me they cry for me to carry..wch i feel proud..i walk to them, they smile, then i walk into kitchen or disappear from their sight, they cry....but i love it..hehehhe...my pimples poppign out tooo coz i so stressed...pple in my masters course so smart..i like oh, did-i-study-the-right-topic kind of student... basically playing catching up lah...

My bro's kid had a piñata at his party but he liked the piñata so much and couldn't understand why ppl were hitting it and burst into tears!! Haha..

Sophia, there r party shops at middle road ( opposite bugis junc). They all used to be at concourse , but now all relocated to middle rd. Absolutely everything u need for party can be found there like tattos , piñata , piñata fillers (candies n toys ), goofy bags , deco ..... Pinatas generally range abt $30 to $50. Depending on size n design.

Otherwise , u can buy from overseas bp n order what u need . U will need to give then + ~ 2 mths. So better look n order now. I got my Mylar balloons from there, also sone other deco.

Chameleon , i put their pics up on the wall ( like star awards) cosany didn't get to see their early days. So i placed abt 15 big photos leading to their 1st bday . My guests loved the idea too

spiffy , yes ... I think some kids mus be wondering why must hit the cute piñata. But once goodies fly out , it's a stampede !!!
What I did for pinatas is , I had 2 of it. One for 5 yrs n below , the other for 5 yrs above. Reason is children get all excited wif the goodies , didn't want the older kids to trampede the younger kiddos.

Must charge all of u professional party planning services ok ?? Enjoy the planning process ...

Chameleon , I started buying stuff for party abt 1 mth before. Booked the balloon n banner pkg abt 3 weeks before party. Catering abt 2 weeks before.

Hi Poko1,

Thanks for the link on the personalized kit kat.. havnt have the time to look at it as yet..

you are very meticulous in organizing and planning for the twins birthday! I salute you for this.

My gals' birthday in Aug.. i havent even think of what to do for them as yet.. i left only 2 mths to plan..

Thanks for the tips. I've been to the shops there before for my sec 4s grad nite. Forgot about it, come to think of it, it's a great place to look for cheap party decor.
Your twins look so alike! Mine can't see any similiarities........

Daphne , u r welcome
start planning soon , my dear !! I rather detailed person la ... Do things must swee swee all the way ....

Sophia , I tot they look diff... Their sizes especially getting more n more diff. Gal nearly 8 kg. Boy 7.3 kg. Someone last sat said to me, wa ... I have the boy n gal at so close gap . Faintz ......

Poko
Paiseh hor...ur girl is 8kg and boy is 7.3kg at 1year old ah...light hor? But hor, they v cute leh....i want to pinch can? I nearly misspelt pinch as punch...if i really type that, i will kenna punch from the mummy.

76, ya lor .... They light weight babies !!!! Cos I wan girl join ms universe n boy join mr manhunt , so I put them on a diet from birth !!!! This is latest trend ma !!!! Cannot overfeed them else next time cannot be beauty queen / king !!!

Jokes aside.... Ya they light lei ... But dr always never mind , never mind .... As long as they follow milestones. Sigh ... I wished they were bigger but cannot lei , feed them so many many things still can't put on . Everyday , feed them porridge x 3, yougurt , lauging cow cheese , puffs , avacado .... But still light weight. How ah ???? Sigh .... Their tummy definetely not inherited by me la, must be my hubb tummy. My hubb more he eat , more skinnier he become. Really ....

hi long time din join e forum hehe..my twin boys are 9 mths++ old now. crawling everyway n putting all e toys in e mouth

poko....e "party shop"u mentioned located at?? wat's e link to c how to organise?hehe..pai sei..need your enlightenment.

bb can take avacado now? is it gd??

poko,

i am on facebook. have send a request to add u....
That is alot of effort to put in to organise the party with so many DIY stuffs loh.. I like the way u put their photo from birth.. I going to gather all their photo now

I have a qns, babies are coming 7 months, do i still stick to 3 hours interval of feeding them milk?

Little queen .... I dun know link to organise party, but rather I read here n there and past experience to improvise a party. If u need pple to print personalized birthday party favours though, that I have link.

Party shops at middle road. Opposite bugis junc. Go to yahoo search for AZ gift shops , u will see the address n contact. On iPhone, can't close this forum to attach the web, sorry.
There is at least 5 shops all selling the same party stuff. The price may vary frm shop to shop, but they located next to each other so can chk prices easily .

Avacado - it's a healthy fruit ( or veg, keke ). It goes well mixed wif yr own steamed apple or banana or yougurt. Even on it's own , my babies will take it. I hear avacado is healthy fats wif all the impt vitamins.

Ximi, as for milk , since my babies started on solids , I dun follow so closely 3 hr rule. Rather , as and when I feel my babies may need milk , I give. Normally I give milk before they nap . Or I give milk in b/w lunch n dnr.

Poko -- I want your hubby's stomach hahahah. I want to be able to eat and lose weight! Now I dont eat also gain weight!! SIGH

Ximi -- My babies are on 3.5hr feeding intervals since they were abt 3 mths old. Last week I tried getting them on a 4hr feeding interval (so 5 feeds per day instead of 6 feeds a day) but it kinda screwed up their schedule and they ended up drinking less rather than more so I put them back on the 3.5 hr feeding schedule. But I heard/read that from abt 4 months onwards can start on 4 hrly intervals already but I suppose whether that wld work or not will vary from baby to baby.

76 -- I always laugh when I read your posts!

Ximi
Agree with chameleon that the feeding intervals vary from bb to bb..got to trial and error..basically my bbs on 5feeds per day. 6am/10am/2pm/6pm/11pm..(with some variations) they sleep around 8pm...and wake up for dreamfeed at 11pm...my elder boy sleeps at 8plus and koon all the way till 6am...

separation anxiety! feels good hor.. i also want!! my 2 still abit toot toot like that.. maybe dun even know i am their mommy. lol.

ximi
all bbs different i guess, my babies were on 2 hrly then 3 hrly, now back to 2.5 hrly @ 120ml, sometimes still seem v hungry. Dunno if i should feed more solids? but they still young so i'm quite blur..

poko
yr planning really very nice, u seem like a v organised person right? I'm those "everywhere" kind v jialat, thats why i think to plan my babies birthday in Nov must start soon!

i will try to upload milklist here then everyone can see k..

Jul, already pm-ed u.

Imaketrain, I am a pretty messy person actually. Open my cupboards , everything falls out that sort ...The merticulous party planning is just a rare phenomenum that happens once in a purple (rarer than blue) sky!

hello mummies!

i find milk powder very expensive at NTUC leh.. usually i buy from neighbourhood provision shop near my mum's place. the disadvantage is you will need to recce a few before you find one that is the cheapest, but for NTUC the price is more or less fixed unless there's some super promotion

my boys just completed their 9month check, so far so good.. started to feed them two solid meals a day now.. lalala ~

poko, i think as long as your babies are healthy and happy, sleep well, eat well, play well and poo well, you shouldn't be too worried

I keep worried that the babies doesnt have enough at night.

My elder boy like ur 76, sleep at 8plus then wake up at 3am to drink then sleep again. While my ger is like on avg 4hrs interval at night.

I bot my FM at provision shop too .. Price is much cheaper than NTUC. Even promotion, still ex.

All: Does ur babies open up to strangers easily?

See jay , long time no post !!! How hav u been ?
Yes , tq for the reassurances . Babes have indeed been happi , eating pretty ok , poo-ing nice shaped poos , so i guess I am assured ....

I also bought my milk powder from provision shop.. cheaper esp since we need to feed 2.. 900g of milk will finish within a week.. 'siongz'..

ximi: my gals now 9+mths.. they do not open easily to strangers.. esp now i just engaged a maid to help look after them.. they need some time to get used to her..

Any recommendations to help to stop cough with phelgm n running nose..? my gals are sick since 2 weeks agao.. taken medicine but still have not recovered.

imakeitrain, the price for Nan 2 still more exp on your list. I get mine from the chinese medical shop for $28 as compared to $29. I ordered from her before, but she stopped due to some reasons. You mean she started again?

Tomorrow my kids first parent teacher conference at the infant care. Quite excited actually even though I know it's nothing much. It's still their first! Will take photos for the fun of it.

sophia
I'm not sure, my friend gave me this list but i've not ordered yet. i think just cheaper than NTUC, but places like medical halls n all are cheaper still.

Daphne,

My babies were sick too, down with flu. They only managed to recover after taking anitbodies. I see two dr before they get well.

Sophia
Post it on FB.. after the parent teacher meeting session..

Daphne
Unfortunately, bbs need to develop their own immunity to get better... they are too young to take strong medcine..so sometimes mild medicne dun work, doc will just say let nature run its own course..And i have learnt to appreciate that advice. Initialy, beiing the new and frantic mummy, i will question the doc when they say my boys are ok when they are obviously havng sore throat, discomfort, flu, blah... but they say trust them...and sure enough, recover after a few more days.

Daphne ,
I second 76. It's true - let nature take it's course. No matter how hard to see them nose dripping or coughing. U can give cold medicine like chlomine. It's a standard drug for cold. The adult one will be the small yellow pill that cause drowisness. The bb version is the same , but the strength not so strong . If u do see dr for cold , u can ask n buy additional bottles to keep.

I'm not advocating self medicating , but flu , cold n fever all standard drugs la. But if not sure , see dr would be better. For babies below 6 mth , it is also recommended to see dr as some medicine may not be suitable for their stomachs.

Jus speaking from exp , as I was in a hospital industry till last year .

Once u give these cold or fever medicine , only time can cure them. So nature comes in !!

Like us adults , the med makes us feel better , but to be really recovered , it takes time.

My babies cross infected themselves wif a strain of rota virus last 3 weeks ago. They Lao sai 5/6 x a day. Saw dr twice.
The dr all Say will get better in time to come. Took them 2 weeks for their diahorea to go away .

We were even referred to the gastro specialist byvthe A&E dr at NUH. But they cured on their own before their appt.

Poko
Did your bbs take rota jabs? My PD says studies show that rota jabs not found to be more effective on premature bbs, so he said my bbs dun need...i think he meant,in layman terms, whether my bbs take jab or not doesnt matter coz if really kenna rotavirus, will also tiok the same effect...LS blah..and it wun make their condition better.

poko
paiseh last night when you sms me, i already gong gong le...after studying and doign assignment and worryign that my assignment not well done blah...so, no mood to answer the qn on the party..and no mood now to plan bb party..think i have to wait till end of ths month, when i have no lessons, then i can start planning.. Will be distrbing you then on ideas to get my planning started.I only have some ideas...like i said i wanted simple gathering...food from neo garden, 3D cake from pattisier and balloons, decorative stuff and a wall in the function room with wall paper to act as backdrop for photo taking...initially wanted to show ppt slides of video/photos of them..but i tot its a bit exagerated hor? Like wedding..short of red carpet..hahahahahhha..urs machiam like star award lah...just that your 'stars' not clad in some weirdo funky wear that bare the buttocks or bare the chest.

76, my babies did not take Rita virus jab. I dun know abt the prem thingy that u mentioned , but all dr says that it is highly contageous n can be spread due to external virus , poor food handling , fresh meat/ fish not handled well when defrosting n so on ....

I can't pin point on what caused it , but my hubb also kena. Dr said separate Twins but how to ? I take care myself , my house not say a mansion that I can isolate in one far corner of house ...

Sigh.... Bri got it first , Josh kena few days later. They were cured just before the party. Thank god .

Rota virus us like normal diahorrea. Just a stylo mylo name to it. No vomit though , just Lao sai many x a day. Appetite still the same though .

Didn't ask u abt party la, u blur la. I asked u if u doing the Sean lau photography as u mentioned before . U remember ??? Yr studies make u abit gila isit ???? Haha !!!!