(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

Ashley, we missed you and lil Amanda too. We missed 2 lessons liao. H still have slight runny nose and cough yesterday. Her body is so sweaty and cold after taking the med for more than a week. To prevent her from catching another bug when her immunity is most vunerable we decided to give the lesson a miss. We din even get a mc yesterday to get a replacement lesson. So we will only have 1 replacement class from last week.

Taurus, H is finally well today.

I have checked out kiasuparents before. Really alot of KS parents there. Anyway, i have reserved a vacancy for my gal in my boy's kindergarten. She will start lesson in 1 year time.

Bidosoh, good to know that H is well now.

Ya, I realised there are a lot of KS parents out there after reading the kiasuparents forum...lol...they stressed me out.

Ashley, I received a call from GUG to inform that H will be going to tod class next term too. I hope A and DK will still be her classmates.

Bidosoh,

I haven't received any call from GUG yet. Perhaps I should give them a call tomorrow.

Yeah, we miss lil H for the past 2 Sundays. Both lil A and DK behaved like big bro and sis last Sunday, with the little babies who are still crawling. Kekeke!

Ashley, I have a ex-colleague whose son is 6mths older then my boy. He can write very good composition at 4 years old. So of course he started writing earlier than that. If I can find it I will print and show you. She use to tell me what she is teaching him. Stress me out alot too!!!

kanelmo, so cute, must be really funny. I thought Ashley mention that the payment advice already stated about the toddler class?

yooo hoo...
anyone ard?

taurus, my boy "memorises" rather than read...the books tha he brought back from skool...he can read not becuz he can recognise the words, its becuz he memorises them! faints!! i am still use the finger brush to brush my gal's teeth leh...

ashley, the fees for amanda's skool sounds ok leh...good ratio really!! wah pcf so long queue eh?? scary!! u reg for JG liao? better reg early cuz also looong waitlist one...

kanelmo, ya lor...the invoice tha they gave out last week already indicate the tods class class room number le...

hi hi!!
Long time no login here...

Can i advise something..
Had been crying since yesterday... My gal sort of reject me and dun wan me.
today woke up, when she saw my MIL, she turn away from me and want MIL to carry. I wanted to carry her from MIL but she turn me away.
I feel she dont love me.. how to make her love me and call me Mama. I am so lost and dejected.
Sorry for the rant... feel so sad.

starrz, dun feel sad... maybe she moody??
perhaps wait a while then carry her back?

sometimes when i reach hm, i ask my gal to call me, she will say "mai(no)".. haiz...

starrz, hello nice to 'see' you here. I have this incident once with my boy. He refused to sleep with us and wanted to sleep with my mil. This incident happened around 2yo time. I know how you feel. After much reflection, i feel that I didn't spend much time with him. So I am very determine to win him back. I spend all the spare time i had with him. I also give up reading hobby and tv just to spend time with him. After that, no such incidents anymore.

However, after my gal is born, everything changes. I don't have much time for him. While my gal prefer me to my hb. So my son is closer to my hb now.

sporty,
Think naturally they are like that. My girl can read those words in her school books but when i asked her to read the same word in another book, she didn't know how to. So they memorise but do not recognise the word. Now i'm bucking up on her reading using Peter and jane series. Seeing the primary one curriculum really made me kan cheong on her academic progress which previously i did not really pay that much attention.

Starrz,
Dun be sad, they naturally will grow more attached to those taking care of them and who are with them most of the time at some stage especially now with their separation anxiety. My boy now stick to me and dun even want his dad. But when his daddy start playing with him, then he will go to him. He still haven't call me Mama even he's glue to me. Eventually they will grow out of this stage.

Bidosoh,
Me same too, boy attached to me and my girl now closer to daddy but i still try to spend some time with my girl if not she will feel neglected and my boy will get jealous when jiejie sits close with mummy. Ur boy will be in primary one next year right? How you find his progress now? I see the primary one curriculum really pity the kids. They need to know so much compared to our time. Really stressful.

sporty and taurus, i find 3-4 years old they read books by memory. At 5 they can read the book word by word liao. That goes to show they are progressing.

taurus, I think naturally, the elder one is closer to papa and youngest one to mama. I don't have time to check out the p1 curriculum. I just send him to as much enrichment lesson as I can afford. These class are so expensive. Hopefully he can learn somethings from there. He can recognise common chinese/english words. However, he cannot count well. I didn't train him in this area. BTW, I spend more time training his body than books. As if i don't train his body, he will have alot of miss classes next time. I am not worried about curriculum, I am more worried for his health. As I believe with a healthy body he sure can progress.

thanks all for the advise. Appreciate that!!

Bidosoh, nice to 'see' u here too!

A lot of ppl told me that is a passing phase.

I am also determined to win her back. so yesterday after her dinner, i bring her down for a walk. And at night play more with her and sing more songs for her. Although she did not show that she loves me or wants me.. at least she play with me and didnt reject me.

Bidosoh,
Not really though, it depends who spend more time with them as we need to take care the younger one so more time spent on them. But i find that if i find time even just 15 mins with my girl, she'll be happy and our relation will grow closer. Oh so u sent him to alot of enrichment classes. As i have budget constrain so now i'm trying to teach her on my own, even 1 page of worksheet a day is also good bah. Yah health is most important, without it one will not be able to learn and absorb anything. His health not getting better? Actually i always feel that consuming too much western med will weaken the body. Thats why even if he got better from his illness, after that his health will still be weak somehow.

Starrz,
With more time spent on your girl each day, she will grow closer to you.

cljl,
Oops forgot to answer your question, my boy is using the pigeon step 2 toothbrush. Afraid the step 3 bristle will be too hard for him. But will upgrade once all his teeth are out.

Used to come into this thread but too busy to come in these days.
I do home learning with my kids. My 3 years old can recognise common sight words and she can read the books. I test her by bringing out other books with some of the common words, and she can read them too. She has mastered some of the common words, so I am pretty sure kids at their age don't only memorize the books, they can read too..

One thing, we read lots of books to our 2 kids, as long as they bring a book to my hb / I, we must read to them (kind of like my house rules). I can read the 3 little pigs story like 10 times in a night..haha.
Jia you mummies! Home learning can be fun...

my girl has no interest in books at all. Since she loves Barney right now, I'm looking for storybooks with Barney so that she can be interested enough for me to read to her. But so far, cannot find any in Popular and Harris. Anyone knows where I can find Barney storybooks?

My ds suddenly got this weird habit. He was napping halfway yest n was crying n sitting up suddenly. Then he refused tO lie down to continue to z. Same for bedtime, he rather sit upright n doze off, but refused to lie his head down!
He has been having slightly high fever lately with no other symptoms which I suspect is teething canine.
I tot molars out means all peace! Din knw canine is another round of challenges.

Ashley: hi hi
it takes awhile for them to like books I think coz now got YouTube n tv everything moving mah.. U can go to bulk purchase to have a look.. Sometimes they sell cartoon character books!

Starrz: i somewhat like that too .. My gal super sticky to daddy!!! He leaves the room she will cry. !! Mama leaves room she say bye bye.. Can die lo! Somedays I m angry too but just keep on walking through it... Keep going they know who their mummies are!

Hello everyone!

My boy been down with cough, flu these few days. Suppose start toddler class on 1 June and ended up only went for 1 day of class. ah yo! But i find school boring leh when i joined him on the 1st day. also quite noisy as got a few classes i can barely hear the teacher oh!

morning ladies.

my girl is calling every woman in the house "ma" lor. me also call ma, my mum also call ma, my sis she also call ma. lol.

xy's molars are still not out yet. they sure are taking a long time coz her gums have been swollen for a long time.

morning everyone!

taurus, thanks!

Ashley, my gal nowadays also suddenly into Barney.. every morning keep on asking for Barney.. haiz.. but books, attention life span is very very short...

these few days, not sure y she reject porridge n only drink milk.. at tis age she stil reject solid? or are they sick n tired of porridge? when she's eating porridge halfway n sees ppl eating rice, she wil ask for rice... but after a few mouth she say she dun wan... y hur?

n becoz she not eating, i scold her(quite loud), she will get those shock feel and then she wil cry.. am i too fierce?

would like to check with you all... i just put my 19-mths gal at half-day childcare for 5 days. I am wondering if it is too early for her and if it is better for her to join playgroup instead?

hi mommies! i'm looking for a preowned Fisher Price Rainforest Jumperoo. If you've one to sell, pls do let me know by PM the price, condition and location. many thanks!

cljl,
is she teething?
cos she may be unbearable but duno how to say.

Mine had fever on n off for last 5 days, + some loose stools, today got slight runny nose.
He's been out of sch for 3 days this week. Sigh, he loves activities in sch, but we have to keep him out so that he can rest more.
He also has not much appetite.

How about giving her some milk or soft bread? It will help.

I wana get toys for him, but find that this age, they are too young for the 2-3yr old items.
So to cheer him up, got him a barney balloon. he likes to play with it cos it floats.

Bidosoh - Perhaps I took the last spot. I suggest you put yourself on the wait list for Sat 9:30am. If there's a open spot next term, you can have the option to move to Sat 9:30. Lil DK can see Lil H again!

Ashley - It's great to see Lil A back to herself again. Perhaps you can check out bulk purchases on Barney books. Maybe Borders or Kinokuniya.

kanelmo, yup, i have put her on the waiting list. They still have vacancies for bilingual class on sat. However, i still prefer the English class. Will stick to Sun for the time being.

kimifin, i think so both bottom n top e molars are halfway up... but sometimes she eat, sometimes not.. bt i gif her milk and she finishes so i hope shld be ok... but then no soilds, not enough nutrients rite?
soft bread, she only take a few bites and after that she dun wan.. haiz.. even plain water she also dun wan...

toking about toys, wan to buy bt worried pricey.. hahaha...

cljl,
try to let her try anythg u are eating..sometimes i just give some oats in milo(my version).

i thk he's into stickers now, but have to find the larger ones n make sue he dun taste them!

yea.. when i feed her porridge, then when she sees mi/others eating rice, she will nt wan her porridge anymore.. so we will feed her wat we eat.. but i worry abt e msg intake... but no choice...

she hates oats leh.. last time i bought cereal for her, eat not even 1 mouth n i throw the whole pack away...

she rather take sweets than choco... each time i go for gynae appt, wil get to choose between stickers n sweet, she wil take the sweet lo...

hello all

i've not been checking this thread for months. glad to see that it's still as active

i've been missing the mummies and babies gathering. hope there will be another one coming soon.

Bidosoh and kanelmo, ya very happy that Amanda is back to her usual self in class...lol...I like teacher Lenny a lot, not sure if we will get her in the tods class...

cljl, my girl is like yours too...wanna eat whatever the adults are eating. We let her eat outside food if we are out on weekends. I also worry abt msg intake, so will just give her boring food like yong tau foo soup (I don't feed her the soup) or kway teow fishball soup. She will slurp them up happily.

I haven't given sweets or candy to my girl yet...am trying to delay as much as I can :p

Ashley, e prob is I dun wan to feed her too much of outside fd, but my in laws will feed her.. haiz.. nothing i can do except showing my black face...

sweets i don't give but my hb always give... i worry bad for her teeth since she doesnt like brushing teeth..

cljl, i know how you feel cos it's the same for my in laws too!! My FIL even gave her soft drinks without my girl asking for it first! sigh....

My mum is the opposite, she is totally anti outside food. She will scold us when she knows we feed her precious granddaughter outside food.

Ashley, haiz... what to do.. all i do is just to complain to my hb... whow.. ur mum is gd leh! she anti outside food!
not only my in laws, my father also like to show her what he drinking then she ask for it and no choice gt to give to her... arrgh!!!

Ashley and Kanelmo, yup Teacher Lenny is a very nice teacher. Can see that she adores all the children and she is so lively. My gal loves her music class. At home she can do all the "good morning" , "I am special", "if you are happy" and "the wheels on the bus" actions. During class she is like so blur and as if has never heard the songs before.

Bidosoh,

Same for lil DK. At home, he can sway his body to the Good Morning song, can do the actions for I am special song. But in class, he just stares at the teachers as if it's his first time listening to those songs. Strange.

hello!
how's everyone??

kanelmo, u switched to the sat class eh? what time?? if 930am then maybe same class with M! haha

Wow, so long never come in. so happening. sporty jio me come in look see look see.. hahaha

re: former GUG class: u mummies miss the former GUG sun morn class? How come never make noise one. all always so quiet only me and sporty whisper whisper giggle giggle together hahahahah...

Lil JO still sings the good morning song and i am special song too sometimes complete with actions!!
i think GUG is good starting point!

Ayukie, u damn lag la as usual. wahhahahaha

Dingdong and mummies, want gathering ah?? Ask me lah! I can organise. wahhahahahahah
))) ok, signing out,

MM6J, Master always :p

2 year old MASS bash gathering - brought to you by MM6J

Date: Weekend in November
Food: Should be buffet style
Interested put ur name!!

(if got demand then i org) hahah if wanna volunteer to help can put "volunteer" beside nick also.

2 year old MASS bash gathering - brought to you by MM6J

Date: Weekend in November
Food: Should be buffet style
Interested put ur name!!

(if got demand then i org) hahah if wanna volunteer to help can put "volunteer" beside nick also.