(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

good morning all...

Chris
Thanks so much for organising ...you're wonderful! We totally enjoyed!!! It was a great event for all mummies, daddies & the bbs.

swanston
you're good with organising as well...you've been a great help to chris!

shihui
thanks for the KOI
you made everyone happy ~

momo_mummy
appreciate your talk on protection. really made most of us consider about getting the protection
you go gal!

Wah ...macam I'm presenting some oscar speech ah??..hehehe

Good Monday mummies. Sounds like you all had alot of fun at the gathering. Where can see photos arh.

Waa... Eastgal you bb really heavy weight ah. My boy was 9kg, but since last week of cough and flu, now drop down to 8.9kg, height only 67cm.

PeiPei, according the books I have been reading, if baby is not eating a full meal of puree/cereal, you can still feed milk right after the semi-solid to top up. That's what I did for the first 2 weeks too. Then gradually increase more spoonfuls of solids and less milk. I think once baby can take in at least 6 tablespoon of solid, then can totally skip the top up with milk liao and wait till next feed to give a full bottle.

Mummies, ask you all arh... when you say feeding 2 tablespoon of cereal / brown rice etc... you mean 2 tablespoon of dry product before mixing with milk/water, or 2 tablespoon after mixing already?

Seems like my boy quite picking about his food. He really likes his brown rice and can take a big half bowl of it. But when it comes to veggies, can only trick him to take 3 or 4 teaspoon and he will clamp his mouth shut. Haizz...

Ru Yun: my gal max can drink 150 ml per feed, total still less than 750 ml per day. But if still growing well and healthy, should be fine.

cljl,
I just bought a buffolo brand 24 hours themos. Must say very good. I tried the test, to put raw rice grain and boiling water in at night, the next morning really become porridge. This weekend, I also cook the baby's porridge for lunch, and keep the balance portion in the themos, dinner time still hot hot. Really save me the trouble to cook again, or even reheat. I will highly recommend it. Sure no problem to bring out.

The even better thing, I bought it at sale price. They opened a outlet store near my office. Shiok ah.

Cljl : I dun think they will dun like milk coz that's what they had been drinking since birth.

Raerae: my boy nvr hit 180ml before. Doctor ask me to feed him as much as I can coz his weight too little for his height. But he dun wan so bo bian. 3 hourly drk 140 - 150. My fren's gal who is 2mth younger drink 210ml since few mths ago.

Nvm la, so long as he grows healthily can already.

Agata: sometimes quite weird becoz my fren whose daughter drink 210 per feed , she told me 1 day ard 1.8litre her gal drink but duno where the milk go. I think maybe some drink a lot but not all absorbed by body?

Raerae, i try to google and see if they have website or not arh... tell you later.

Cloudy, i definately agree that amount of intake doesn't always equal to their size. The difference between by gal and boy is clear example. My girl was very small size, but at 6 mths, she can drink up to 240 per milk feed, and eat a adults bowl of porridge or 2 bottles of baby food, but she about 6kg ++ then. She only reached 9 kg when she was 1 yr old.

My boy, almost 9kg now, but take only 180 - 200 milk feed, and only a few spoonfuls of porridge.

I think their individual metalbolism rate makes the difference.

morning, thanks for organising the event chris, swanston, shihui. my first time trying KOI.

angeline, think next gathering you should be back already so you can join us too. buffalo brand? never hear before, is it available in singapore?
i also want to ask the same question, 2 tablespoon is it dry product or after mixed.

angeline, my girl jovin same, welcome cereal with open mouth, but once she sees food she doesn't like, she will clam shut.

Angeline : ok now u answer the query that has always been in my mind. Thx
I duno what's my boy weight now thou.
Only know its 7.5kg at 5mth. Looking forward to next visit to knw the weight.

Angline : will e porridge go watery? mine duno y became watery after like 3 hrs leh... errm.. buffalo brand to buy frm wher? dept store have? wats e price? my hubb quite niao one leh.. he dun wan to spend too much... hahahaha....

Ru Yun : thats wat my cousin told me leh.. coz she niece stopped drinking milk like 1 yrs... or izit my gal is full n want to play? everytime i gt to go to a very quiet place to feed her milk lo... if not she keep on moving ard... but each milk n solid interval is 4 hrs apart leh.. cant be not hungry leh.....

hello all!

karen, hope ur gal's fever better today...above 39 degrees then considered as high fever...juz sponge her and monitor her temp... usually weekends if bb's sick, i will bring bb to 24 hrs clinic or if urgent cases will go A & E but A & E at kkh always looong queue...

cljl, my gal also likes to play with the teats with her tongue...i think could be teething related ba... i have this zojitsu (dunno whether i spelt it correctly) for porridge but so far haven used it yet!

chris, thks for organising the gathering...u dun have to apologise to me, its not ur fault...juz treat it as i'm suay lor...cuz 5 cups tha were missing, 2 cups were mine! haha... anyways i can always buy it la...u dun have to worry!

swanston, u did alot for this gathering! thks for all the hard work!

raerae, nice meeting and talking to u
finally i see ur lil raema!

eastgal, yes ur boy's tall @ 62cm!

ruyun, cheer up!
my gal also still taking 150ml...so ur boy is not alone la...hehe

mbj, my gal also loves her cereals!

mbj, yah lor, but cannot just feed cereal mah. Cos mine is the brown rice cereal from the chinese medical shops. I don't know have iron supplement or not. So far he only taking 1 bottle of FM a day. I scared not enough iron supplement.

cljl, my porridge did not go watery. During jie jie's time, I got the 3 hour keep hot kind, but I found that if out went out early early, by lunch time, the porridge kind of cooled down already. So when I saw the sale for the 24hr keep hot i quickly buy. Usual price almost S$50, i paid less than S$30 for mine. Then I bought another display item for S$10, but that one can only keep hot 3-4hr. So if go out whole day, can put the lunch in the 3-4hr container and dinner in the 24hr container.

Devlina, yah, I know Themos and Tiger very popular in SGP, HK got Buffalo brand, but no Tiger. I've used quite a few of their items, quality not bad, but of cos Themos is still top of the line lah.

devlina, thks for the thought!
i dun take chocolate one...so its ok la, i go becuz of the company, not the KOI!
i already sensed tha something was wrong when i sorting out the koi...hee

sporty : ya i also think it could be teething... actually for teething, need to buy those teethin gell for them?
i think tis zojitsu brand is wat everyone use.... but will urs be watery after a few hrs? i told my mil off becoz she say her flask is better... of coz better when i feed my gal 30 mins ltr from it la... mine, i only feed my gal 3 hrs later... arrgh!

looks like mine is e only one who hates cereal... hahaha...

angeline : oh.. thats means mine not gd becoz it went watery? whow... less than $30 that can keep for 24 hrs is gd leh! so maybe mine lousy becoz its bought at NTUC? hahaha....

heard my cousin say thermos very gd.. but ex...

ru yun : ever since she is 6 mths lo.. she will fuzz when she drink milk.. but tat time i found out that my mil cut e teats too big.. so she gt choke... but i changed e teats then now as n when.. still abit cranky n likes to move about.. after 20ml, she sit up, after 30ml she sit up.. then after tat she drinks in a almost sit up position liao...

out for lunch! tata...

angeline
then you should start a BP...hahaha...Buffalo Thermos...

sporty
awwww...so sweet...aiya...nvm la, next time buy one for you ok.

cljl, i thot porridge as long as its left there for sometime, it will be watery?! even not putting it in thermos?

devlina, its ok la...not ur fault too...juz tha my hb's abit disappointed! hee

angeline, when you come back from HK this July, can help me get one water cow aka buffalo brand keep 24 hours hot one? if not convenient then it's ok.
too bad singapore only got tiger and thermos, and i have been using thermos but i find it quite useless.

sporty, i bought barley one for her, she still prefers her brown rice.
why some KOI missing? went swimming ar?
today lunch break you can go make up for it, keke.

devlina, i love edryan's double eyelid. slurpz.
can post the 4th nov babies pictures? i missed the big family gathering pic cos jovin was sleeping.

starrz, you around? today working? husband work whole day today, super boring, want to meet up for tea?

HI Mummies,

wow you guys must have had a good get together gathering seeing the number of emails flying around! :0

Raerae- I think I dun just need tall guys in Singapore, we need more guys ( period ) Not enough man to go around these days...

Angeline- That is what I am afriad of too..once they fall sick for a few days, they can lose as munch as 1 kg or more depending on intake.

But I believe that the most important thing for babies at this age is sleep!! Once they get enough sleep, they are less cranky and they will drink and eat lots without much fuss.
My baby normally wakes up about 9am everyday when we leave for work. Then after his bath at 10plus, my mum will give him milk and then get him to sleep. Normally he sleeps for 1 hour or so then wake up to play. By 1pm, he get his brown rice cereal with ikan bilis powder or plain porridge with Bovril ( alternate days )
then its play time till 2pm and then get him to sleep again. Sometimes he can sleep till 5pm or 5:30pm which is pretty good as it leaves my mum some free time to do her stuff.

cljl- For Thermos i think there is also another brand called Foodgo which is quote good. I have not bought any myslef..still shopping around for options.

yeah im finally gg take my ML .. gg take ML on 13th Aug to 27 aug cause hb gg reservist .. still gt 2 wks to clear .. whhahaha and childcare leave next ..

My food jar is tiger brand. Gd leh.also can auto cook porridge de. That time my cousin bought coz she just put braces wanna bring porridge to work. After that I also bought. That time my FIL cook porridge for me bring to my house, I reach home 10+pm eat still hot .

Sporty: ya my son got companion liao. Hehe . Btw eastgal son is 72cm not 62cm

raerae, i called their distributor, they said they don't have website. Sorry. Later if I go out for lunch I see if can get a cataloque and upload here or not ok.

cljl, the packaging say can keep 24 hr, but i haven't tried for so long yet lah. The other night when I tried to 'make' porridge with it. I put boiling water in at about 11pm, next morning 7am rice become porridge and water was still hot hot, so far 8 hrs passed test. Maybe I should try 24 hrs and see how hot it last.

Think my baby is the one of the worst. He only drinks 130ml per feed, sometimes cannot even finish. Everyone says he looks less chubby now, considering that he was the biggest when he was born, 4.245kg. 4 weeks ago, he was about 8.6kg and 71cm tall.

Yah, Eastgal, that's why that few days we fed him 100ml every 1 hr, so keep up his intake. Don't mind me asking, why you feeding baby brovil? Isn't the salt content very high? Just curious.

I don't mind to do BP just for our thread. But before promising too quick, let me go to the shop later and see if they have cataloque or not first. Otherwise, I won't feel comfortable to recommend and help to buy something you all don't get to see.

What's the price that Themos / Tiger / Zoji is selling in SGP? If buying from here not cheaper than buying from there, then boh hua liao.

Sporty, aiyoh i didnt know, i was so greedy ordered 4 cups of KOI - shld have given 2 cups to u, sorry!
i didnt get to enjoy my KOI bcos lil A kept grabbing my straw to "steal" my KOI (at one point she grabbed and out sprayed the KOI on everyone around, i think splashed on Rue's hb, v sorry and paiseh Rue)

swanston, i just remembered...sorry i was reading the KOI list to u but had to "abandon" the list bcos my hb kept "pestering" me to feed lil A leh *geeez*

mbj, my gal still having the HT brown rice one cuz i have 3 boxes...so still having tha lor... ya man, koi went swimming! hahah... i cant get it over lunch la cuz there's no koi near me! heheh

ayukie, ohh finally u going ML! thas good! hehe

ru yun, opps...think i very pre occupied with something, so gotten the height wrongly (sorry eastgal!)

sporty, dun like that lei, you give your mirelle same pattern everyday? keke. lucky she likes the brown rice..haha

angeline, sometimes thermos got warehouse sale, then it'll be cheap. but dunno if buffalo will be better than thermos or not.

Seems like mummies/daddies & babies had fun during the gathering. Too bad i can't make it
Next time probably?

Got a question to ask. My girl has an insect bite on her forehead and it got swollen. Is there any self remedy/medication? Or should i bring her to a PD?

ardenz, its ok la
thks for the thot! love ur gal's hair...nice nice!

mbj, aiya...slowly la...still have "stock" for brown rice...so let her finish first la...hahha...sometimes i lazy till ieven dun feed her cereals...hahhah

adelynn, even if u bring ur gal to the doc's...they will juz give her a cream to apply...

adelynn, calendula cream? think no need for pd ba. there's nothing they can do too.

sporty, 2nd one more slack right. me too. haha.

angeline, cos i tried thermos but didn't like it. but since you mentioned it's like the best, then maybe i just stick to it ba. save money la. haha.

Seems like a fun gathering u gals had, any photos to see?

sporty,
I have problem pumping with my manual avent thats why never pump. Difficult to achieve let down.

Angeline,
So buffalo brand have thermal cooker? Didn't know that but i'm using their rice cooker cause its stainless steel pot. I only know buffalo brand can be found at OG. But dunno ur buffalo brand same as mine cause their items quite ex.

taurus,
Yes buffalo brand also used to have thermal cooker. My first thermal cooker was from them. I think they specialize in stainless steel cookware. I got a set of wok and pots from them too.

Angeline: my tiger food jar is 69 but that time got promo so free 1 small flask for water. If u get urs at 30sgd I tink is very very cheap ba

Can u imagine when angeline go thru the custom, the custom offices check n found wok, cooker, food jar etc . Haha. Like doing import export

taurus, what size wok you looking for? Later why i go to the outlet shop, I help you look see look see...

cloudy, waaa $69 very ex leh. is yours the very big kind? My jar is 0.5litre only. They have some gift box that have free water flask, but those jar can only keep 3 - 4 hr hot, so i didn't get those. If really many wants to get the food jar from here, I will help lar, but probably send a box back in sea frieght, or air frieght if price not too expensive. I won't lug all the jars, woks and my own 2 kids, plus all our barang barang. Too much a nitemare.

Angeline_ We only put a bit for taste ..dun worry, didnt over do it.

Sporty_ no problem..typo error i guess ..

BTW if you mummies are really doing a BP for thermos for porridge storage, do let me know..am interested.!