(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

shill,
now that you remind me, yah i think it was AVIVA. I still have the policy in my baby #1 file. Shall go home and read it up this weekend.

Agata,
sorry to hear about your experience. hope you will find a nice gynea soon

Nello, don't worry too much lah. most preggie woman just take folic acid. if your gynae thinks that it is sufficient to take folic acid then just stick to it lor. my gynae gave me duphaston to stabilise the pregnancy as i was diagnosed with polycystic ovary syndrome. with this kind of syndrome, the miscarriage rate is around 50%. my blood test is to test for progesterone level. if it's too low, i'll probably have to go for regular jabs. now crossing my fingers that the test result will be good.

jeelomelo, yup. it's to help to increase progesterone level.

first time i heard of maternity insurance. what's that about?

Agata, not sure about KKH but there's a few female gynae you can look for in TMC like Jocelyn Wong, Yvonne Chan, Sim Lay Nor who's rather popular. just visit the TMC website to get their contacts. mine's a male gynae though. personally prefer male gynaes cos i find them to be more sensitive.

Nello,
I had been visiting the TCM at Bukit Batok is called Fu Nan Traditional Chinese Medicine Centre. I think tian yang is good for baby and us. My sis went to TCM every month during her first pregnancy, her girl came out strong and healthy. I had been going TCM even before my pregnancy and it helps my eczema. For me i feel more comfortable with chinese medicine than western medicine. Even my girl is also seeing TCM to tiao yang her health as she is on the weak side. So far I have never let my girl take western medicine except panadol for her high fever. My gynae only prescribe supplements so it doesn't clash with chinese medicine. According to my first pregnancy, my gynae also never do blood test in my first visit.

dingdong,
Actually when my girl have very high fever I gave her panadol to reduce the temp then 1 hr later give her chinese medicine. Yi shi said its ok to take it 1 hr later after taking western medicine. As for an tai yao, i'm not sure if it works this way. You check with ur gynae and yishi. Ur gynae do blood test too in ur first visit? In my first pregnancy I think i only had blood test in 16th week.

jeelomeelo,
Hi congrats, i remember u. I think u did join my spree before but is not motherhood.com leh cause i never buy from that website before. I've been the same, still organising sprees but not that frequent as before. Think this year will be my last year of organising sprees cause with #2 coming, won't have time for that liao. Yes this is my #2 and i am a SAHM since my first one.
So how old is ur #1? Now u seldom buy from sprees?

sstarlight,
Hi there, congrats. U also join my sprees before right. Think at 4 weeks, line is faint. I also tested around that time, the line was also faint.

Hi all, i'm back from my gynae visit. For the brown spotting, doc gave me Duphaston to stablize the pregnancy. Doc did a ultrascan & i'm able to see the bb now, abt 1.1cm , so tiny .. the scanned pic indicated 5w6d +/- 10d now .. still in early pregnancy

Hello Nello,

I think its month 1-3 is first trimester? Month 7.5 onwards until give birth is last 3 months?

Its my 2nd kid now, last time I don't believe in any all these too. Things like cannot eat this, cannot do that. During that time I even did a small renovation in my home during my 1st 3 months and now my first kid got a red scar behind his head as large as a 50 cent coin. Luckily its covered with hair. When he go army and shave botak, probaby the scar will appear again :p

Now after this incident, I am guai guai already. What old folks say I follow, esp if I having a dd now, I her to be pretty pretty.

taurus:
Yeah I am one of your regular in your sprees. You are a very reliable spree organiser. Heh heh.. But lately never participate already cos very busy with work. So happy to see you here. Can hop on to your spree to buy our baby things together.

Hope my faint line is not false alarm. Really paranoid.. haha

Good luck to all of us here. Have a smooth and healthy journey towards a chubby heathy baby~!!

taurus, my sinseh mentioned that the interval between chinese and wester medi must be at least 2 hours so as not to clash with each other.

xltan, 1.1cm for 5 weeks very big leh. the size include the water bag?

btw, what else do we need to plan for in preparation for the comming baby? like when to arrange for confinement lady, when to buy maternity wear....etc.

Thanks, Lemon, Angeline and Dingdong. Not sure if I want to try a male Gynae. My face will be bright red then :p

Xltan, wow your baby seems to be bigger than mine. At 6w6d, my baby is 0.9 cm. In one of the website, said that at 7th Week, baby is at 7-9 mm. So I was thinking...wah, mine is a big one.

taurus.. wahaaaa.. salah person! what a boo boo! Yea. I seldom buy from sprees liao.

Agata, sorry to hear about your experience too. Hope you'd find a good one soon. Thanks for sharing the info. Anyway, I had sashimi that night before I tested on the kit hehehee...

Anyway, if any of your mtbs have history of diabetes in the family, just watch your diet. During pregnancy one may be prone to gestational diabetes. I had GD during the last trimester of my 1st baby. Everyday got to poke 3times to test blood. So quite leceh.. so just take care if any of your family has diabetes history...

Hi Angeline,

Just to share with you on the maternity coverage. Previously I took up a ladies plan with maternity risk when I got married because I know that once I got married, I want to have a child.

Then later on, during my course of pregnancy, due to hormonal changes, there was this weird growth (like extra flash) on my breast and I was referred to KKH breast centre. I thought that I am safely covered cos I have the ladies plan and moreoever, I buy extra coverage on Maternity right (since my breast problem is triggered by pregnancy homones changes). Then guess what, its not covered at all. I checked with my agent, both the ladies plan and maternity insurance I bought cover only things like breast cancer, breast removal, womb cancer those serious illness only. Not something that small growth on the breast.

Then later on when I gave birth to my first kid, I had 40 hours labour and still not dilated and doc quickly send me for emergency c-sect cos my pressure was dropping already. Again, I thought my maternity insurance will cover it. But I was told again unless baby still born, or I miscarriage or any other more serious scenarios then I will be able to claim.

I was so upset (maybe caused by post natal blues) that I cancelled all my ladies plan and maternity packages after my confinement. Cos 2 pregnancy related incidents which leaded to me to be operated during my pregnancy and its not covered under my Ladies plan nor my maternity insurance. So I sign up for what? Why would I want the 20k if I suffer a miscarrge or baby still born. I feel that it really serve no purpose.

Just my 2 cents worth lah and it was 2 yrs ago already. Maybe now the policy have changed. Read the clause carefully when you sign ok

tested with my GP today and confirmed 5w2d pregnant and sec only 0.72cm.
was given only 5mg folic acid to be taken once a day.
drew some blood for testing.
was asking GP when to start seeing Gynae, he said not neccessary until the later. Mentioned that meanwhile, i could just visit him for monthly scans. Is that common?
I thougt from beginning must go to gynae already

jeelomeelo:

Will I get "stoned" for revealing the company? You PM me if you really want to know lah. Don't want to offend any insurance mummies here.

Hi cassandra,

You GP have the ultrasound machine? Else how he conduct his monthly scan?

If pregnant should see proper gynae right? So strange for your GP to say no need.

casand,
Think ur GP wants to earn ur money for the monthly scans. Normally we will go to gynae once we know we are pregnant. Gynae are professional in this line but GP are not, so better see gynae.

casand
I agree with the rest. I suggest you see a gynae instead of a GP. Coz they will not be able to advise u on the things that you need to know.

hmm...for maternity plan, i dun have...but i manage to claim almost 97% of my hospital bill when i was giving birth to #1 by Emergency csect...
I used my hospitalise plan to claim as my agent told me to give a try! then my gynae helped me to write a report for claimant and she told me she never hear her patient claim these kind before.... so we all give a try! and who knows! I manage to claim my hospital bills!!
I paid cash 2.7k+ and Medisave 3k for my bills and end up i claim back cash in FULL and medisave, i manage to claim 2.7k....
When my gynae knows it...she is so surprise and ask wat is my plan and will advice her patient if happen they are same case as me...
(mine is induce, then tried natural labour for 12 hours, and sent for emergecy csect)...

Sinkor,

Yes I managed to claim under my normal hospitalization insurance also. I think I managed to claim full except for the 7% GST. My medishield insurance covers pregnancy complication.

That's one of the reason why I cancelled my Ladies Plan and Maternity Insurance cos they didn't help me when I am in trouble.

Dingdong/Agata,

I dunno if my size include waterbag ??
I'm based on the remark of "+GS : 1.1cm" on the ultrascan pic , not sure if GS (Gestational sac?) refer to waterbag as well..

My 1st gynae visit was on last mon , i didnt managed to c anything during the scan.

Glad to see this little dot now .. just hope my brown spotting will stop soon.

hihi!
wah.. lots of post to catch up... been a bz day.. running here n there.. den my #1 eczema flare up.. hubby got ear infection.. aiyo... juz return fr GP not too long ago... :p

regarding insurance, i got one fr AIA woman's health insurance.. one of it is pregnancy related... think it's complication fr preg.. but not sure wat it cover.. got to read up on it...

regarding pantang-ness, it's both side lah.. i'm quite okie with attending wedding/full mth etc.. but i will usually inform the person beforehand.. if they mind, i won't attend.. if they dun mind, i will attend..

Agata,
i'm with Prof Mary Rauff fr NUH.. heard she practice at Mt Alvernia too.. She is very nice.. always smiling and very reassuring... her nurses are very friendly too..
she's quite pro-natural.. encouraged me to try minimal pain relief (ie no epidural) for #1.. prefers natural to c-sec.. and open to new ideas like water birth etc...

Hi starlight, then i think my 3% that cant claim might be GST hor! haha.... that time tried to find out wat is no cover but dunno how to check...so just leave it since have money claim back liao! ;P

Tmr will be my turn for check up liao...after the long wait..... so excited :D

i have tendered my resignation yesterday! Some of my colleagues who knew were happy for me cos they know the nature of my work will surely have a negative impact on the baby.

Yesterday was a bad day at work and I worked till almost 11pm, with lots of drama and stress. i hope today will be better. Everyday, I tell my baby to be strong and tahan for a while more before we (baby and me) can have our deserved rest at home.

Morning Gals....

How I wish I can stay in bed longer... wat a cool morning.
Ooooo...really tonnes of threads to catch up.

Dingdong,
I was diagnosed with PCOS too. Hmm but my gynae didnt give me anything except FA. Guess I need to bombard her with questions when I see her next week.

Taurus,
Thanks for the info.

Sstarlight,
Actually, I am quite pantang too.. keke
Since we knw we shouldnt do it, we should jus listen to those old folks. When my mum was carrying, she didnt knw and she went to hang the calendar( those chi-na type, with big piece of red paper infront) I had this red patch on my face when I was born. But luckily after some praying here and there, able to get rid of the mark, if nt I guess nobody would want me :'(

Okie.. gonna get back to work

Remember to take your FA ladies.

morning ladies

nello
yep, i wish to be in bed too now. haha
I was also diagnosed with PCOS. I guess thats why doc gave me progesterone pills. Will be going for my scan later in the afternoon.

GOOD MORNING ALL NOV MUMMIES!

Nello,

Heh heh.. yeah. I also try to be pantang lah. Just to play safe. I totally is a bo chap in my first kid, now I really guai guai listen already.

My next appt is 2 weeks time. Hope can see baby heart beating already. After that I am going for a holiday with my hubby and kid. Now really worry about the trip. If MS kick off I sure won't enjoy much. Dare not tell my in laws about my pregnancy too. I scare they forbid me to go holiday (but its booked months before hand).

wow, what policy did you get that can claim emergency c-sect fee. I had emergency c-sect too, but my agent tells me that my policy doesn't cover anything related to pregnancy. Share share with us leh. Although already too late for me, at least can recommend to colleagues and friends.

hi all, made an appt with my gynae this PM. just wanted an assurance that everything is fine.

Rest enuff ladies... and dun let other things stress you up. take care

Hi Angeline,

My policy which allows me to claim emergency c-sect is from GE. It covers pregnancy complication.

Jeelomeelo:
Keep us updated ya!

Hi Angeline,

My policy is GE too! haha...is HSP Plan which cover hospitalisation... but i dunno my plan got cover preggy complication mah...i just file for claim and got the money within 2 weeks :D

Hi saintbaby,

Congratson #3!! :D

Hi Ashley, congrats to you on work stress FREE.... now just concentrate on taking care your health :D so advertising line really super stress huh as per those drama shows mentioned huh? really need to work so long hour... must be very tough....

Good day to every mummies here~

Found out am pregnant last wk, first pregnancy. Haven see a doc yet, will try make an appt by this week.

Think this my 7th week, haven experience any morning sickness, was happy thinking i may be lucky but now kind abit worried that is everything okay cause i do not have any MS yet.

Hi saintbaby,

u are the 3rd person who are vex over #3... my 2 friends also kena #3... at first they also keep thinking "should they keep or not"...and in the end they keep bcos is a life...
dun worry, as long you can afford to have #3, just go ahead.... now "suffer" but later when 3 kids grow up, you can be relaxed liao... think long run :D

hi ladies, just went for my gynae appt yesterday. someone cancelled so managed to "jump" queue. hehehe. baby is 3.5mm at 6 weeks 2 days. now that i compare with the rest of yours like abit small hor. hmm...

my sister also told me that some insurance policies can claim for pregnancy. her fren's hubby even managed to claim for his wife from his company's insurance. so i gave her all my policies to take a look! hahaha.

Hi Sinkor...

There are lots of factors to consider.. haix.. very vexed about it... Counting back, i'm about 5 weeks now.. made an appt to c my gynea on 9th Apr.. so i still got some time to think about it..
*sigh*

Hi saintbaby,

Do consider carefully. I love to have 3 if I can afford it. If you can afford it then go for it. It will be very tough bringing them up.. but in return, imagine when you are old, all your 3 kids all grown up and come and visit you with their kids, it be lots of joy and company. You wont get lonely.

But the decision is yours. Do consider carefully

ya...do think carefully....
in fact nowsaday alot of pple want to have a kid also very hard due to many factors. You consider lucky to have a #3 compare to those who is childless. Discuss with your hubby and hope things work it our for you...

wow, so many post and new mtbs.......
my MS seems to be kicking in liao...... constantly feel nausea and the only way to keep it down is much on tidbits...... wonder how much I'll gain for this one. will be seeing gynae first time this thurs....... so excited. hopefully can hear heartbeat then.

hi dingdon, i was at vivo last sat looking for maternity clothes too! all my jeans and bermudas no longer fit.

hi ladies, my gynae said that travelling by vehicle is ok but best to stop, rest and stretch legs every 2 hours. flying is not advisable. hope this helps.

hi saintbaby, plan ur finances well for #3. my colleague also just gave birth to their #3 after a 10 yr laspe from their #2. they deicded to keep it after calculating their finances. but remember not to overestimate ur funds and underestimate ur expenses.

Brand new Medela PIS Advanced 2008 (shoulder bag) for sale. I am selling it away cos i have very little breast milk. Used for 1 week only. Just bought this yr hence still under warranty. Bought it for $599 and selling it for $400. Interested...pls email me [email protected]

congrats to all new MTB..

ariesgal,
my MS seems to be coming too.. been feeling nausea.. same as u.. keeping it down by munching lots.. :p shall eat while i still can... soon, when MS comes full force, i think i won't be able to keep anything in tummy long enough to be digested liao... :p

shihui, it's terrible feeling right? sometimes i don't even know if i'm hungry or nausea..... but i know i've been eating more. today even my boss commented tat my tummy seems big and ask me if i'm preg! as i'm quite close to her so i confessed to her liao but she told me to wait till 1st tri over then inform my dept head cos now is really cruicial period cos we are going thru retrenchment..... so now praying hard that i don't kenna MC for MS..... my last preg was smooth with only real morning sickness..... but this one like machiam whole day thing.

shihui / ariesgal
I got the feeling my MS is oso coming. kept wanting to vomit for nothing leh..the feeling of wanting to vomit. Nothing comes out tho.

shihui, ariesgal, devilina
i got the feeling too. monrning feel like vomiting but nothing comes out. mouth feel terrible the whole day, so much so dun feel like eating. evening even worse. :S

i heard munching on crackers will help with the MS? like su1 da2 bing3? But nothing seems to help for me haha.. wish i could eat all day too!

been worrying whether baby is growing fine since no tummy yet.. how to know whether the pregnancy is progressing normally? in-between the checkups i mean..

ariesgal, devilina, swanston, veryfatmum,
ya lor.. feeling is terrible.. keep having the vomit action but no vomit.. my sense of smell becomes more sensitive too... abit body odour i smell already can't tahan.. will feel like a big torture... :p kept chewing on mentos to overcome the 'strong' smell... :p

su da bing got use ah? i got su da bing in my office.. but hor, mouth so dry... see liao no appetite already... :p drinking ginger tea now... hope it get rids of the wind in my tummy..

veryfatmum,
dun worry.. now, as long as no spotting or serious cramp, we shd be alright..
MS is a sign (my gynae said tt to make me think positively of MS) tt bb is well..
later part of the preg, we can monitor bb's movement to make sure tt bb is okie..

hey sstarlight, sinkor & swanston...

Thank you so much for all the advice... I know the ultimate decision lies with me.. Actually have discussed with hubby and I know he wants to keep the baby.. But now in my mind it's all blank and it's a super big question mark..

Sorry for dampening the mood here though.. cos i'm sure all MTBs are all eager about their pregnancy..

I'm starting to get very tired.. Just finish lunch but can feel that whole body aching.. haiz...

shihui! i just surfed the net (too sleepy to work :p) and found that ginger is good for relieving nausea during pregnancy! so smart you
B6 & B12 also supposed to help