Nlimn: word recogition is way too early.. seriously.. not cognitive ready.. dun rush
get them to like the language by constant exposure.. speak to them so that they hear you pronounce the words.. they can't sound yet, not at this age.. typically 4 - 5.. if really put in a lot of effort .. maybe 3 years old..
for Bao.. i didn't do much except send him to GUG.. and montessori. coz he likes manipulating small objects.. then coz his temperment is v focused and quiet.. he picks up on letter awareness very early.. this bally is different from his brother.. gross motor all over the place.. but linguistics wise.. he ain't as quick as his elder bro. but i think temperment wise. he is more confident.. so there is a nice balance there..
as for speaking to M.. be consistent.. which is ur comfy lang? for me. i process my thoughts, and write in english. but i am acutally ok to speak in mandarin.. so it is a bit of serendipity. ididn't set out this way. but out of my natural orientation.. i was consistent with bao.. and my helper.. and then my mum (can't speak english) and miser (darn strong in chinese).. so bao just picked it up..
the kids wun get confused.. they are lang genuises at that age.. it is us who will get confused.. and even if they speak some words in english.. some in chinese. .it is also okay.. as long as they can converse in that language for a long period of time when they grow older.. all okay..
for GUG.. the phonics is adapted from zoophonics wor
and abacus.. might contradict pri 1 maths. i read from kiasu parents forum
Ting: i was pretty intrigued by schichida sometime back.. but for the wrong reasons
., i was intrigued at their marketing..
as for potty trianing.. i believe .. wait for the kids to be physically ready. then we talk.. else it is more of potty training the adults than the kids.. i feel.. and no offence to the parents here who have started.. i have a case to share.. my other thread. one lady toilet train her girl early.. or rather her girl toilet train herself v early. end up go outside.. dunwant to use toilet.. hold the urine till come back.. coz dun want diapers also. big headache for her.. so for #2.. she is not going to start that early..
bao is alsmost like KD.. focused and observant kind.. he is his teacher's pet.. coz everything all follow instructions
. hahaha..
gross motor he is that kind confident then do.. even confident also wun do sometimes! so he stays on Little Gym.. so that he gets to be an environment which will provide impetutus for him to try things which he naturally will not.. totally opposite from bally who has no fear and gross motor good. so for bally. i am puttin ghim out of little gym and start on gug to train up his focus..
for me it is not enrichment strictly.. but of complementing and enticing the child to do what his environment might lack in.. when kids bigger. then i start them on their interest.. for bao. music and piano.. bally i dunno yet..maybe karate?! hahaha..
good and bad Bao's kind of temperment but being focused is def an advantage.. and my observation is this.. gross motor not that strong.. linguistics quite good.. but of course.. there are always exception to the rule too..
jrrt: depend on u liao.. if u dun want to wean her.. it will continue

get them to like the language by constant exposure.. speak to them so that they hear you pronounce the words.. they can't sound yet, not at this age.. typically 4 - 5.. if really put in a lot of effort .. maybe 3 years old..
for Bao.. i didn't do much except send him to GUG.. and montessori. coz he likes manipulating small objects.. then coz his temperment is v focused and quiet.. he picks up on letter awareness very early.. this bally is different from his brother.. gross motor all over the place.. but linguistics wise.. he ain't as quick as his elder bro. but i think temperment wise. he is more confident.. so there is a nice balance there..
as for speaking to M.. be consistent.. which is ur comfy lang? for me. i process my thoughts, and write in english. but i am acutally ok to speak in mandarin.. so it is a bit of serendipity. ididn't set out this way. but out of my natural orientation.. i was consistent with bao.. and my helper.. and then my mum (can't speak english) and miser (darn strong in chinese).. so bao just picked it up..
the kids wun get confused.. they are lang genuises at that age.. it is us who will get confused.. and even if they speak some words in english.. some in chinese. .it is also okay.. as long as they can converse in that language for a long period of time when they grow older.. all okay..

for GUG.. the phonics is adapted from zoophonics wor
and abacus.. might contradict pri 1 maths. i read from kiasu parents forum
Ting: i was pretty intrigued by schichida sometime back.. but for the wrong reasons
as for potty trianing.. i believe .. wait for the kids to be physically ready. then we talk.. else it is more of potty training the adults than the kids.. i feel.. and no offence to the parents here who have started.. i have a case to share.. my other thread. one lady toilet train her girl early.. or rather her girl toilet train herself v early. end up go outside.. dunwant to use toilet.. hold the urine till come back.. coz dun want diapers also. big headache for her.. so for #2.. she is not going to start that early..
bao is alsmost like KD.. focused and observant kind.. he is his teacher's pet.. coz everything all follow instructions
gross motor he is that kind confident then do.. even confident also wun do sometimes! so he stays on Little Gym.. so that he gets to be an environment which will provide impetutus for him to try things which he naturally will not.. totally opposite from bally who has no fear and gross motor good. so for bally. i am puttin ghim out of little gym and start on gug to train up his focus..
for me it is not enrichment strictly.. but of complementing and enticing the child to do what his environment might lack in.. when kids bigger. then i start them on their interest.. for bao. music and piano.. bally i dunno yet..maybe karate?! hahaha..
good and bad Bao's kind of temperment but being focused is def an advantage.. and my observation is this.. gross motor not that strong.. linguistics quite good.. but of course.. there are always exception to the rule too..
jrrt: depend on u liao.. if u dun want to wean her.. it will continue