(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

astro and ong : what is water discharge ? my 1st pregnancy so dont really understand the terms..

shugar : i need to eat before i sleep, so wont wake up in the middle of the night (hopefully))..i just had my 2nd dinner n will sleep soon.

hopefully the cramps wont be so bad tonight, it keep getting worse lately .. sigh

hiya!
i think i found my cure for the very bad MS - that's blended brown rice!! Read somewhere that brown rice absorbs water like anything so I thought it must be great for the hyper-acids in my tummy that was giving me the bile-ish throwups that made me feel so terrible just two days back. Surprisingly, after my first meal of that, I could rest properly -the first in a week at least. Today, after lunch, I had another meal of that, just when I started getting queasy...and guess what? I managed to sleep from 3pm - 12.30am!! So I am going to be completely wide awake for a few hrs...shugar you got company...

hmm..more and more pp joining this forum!! It does feel like the ship's getting bigger and that's a good thing..misery loves company!!! hehehehee...but i think sharing our prbs (MS, spotting, cramps etc) can make you feel better and not weird...

Mrs Neo>> Thaddeus is the name of my nephew. Seems to be rising in popularity...and he's quite a cute fella!

Loke>> I think selecting an English name is the easy bit...I am worried though, abt the Chinese name. Thought to make it easier since both HB and I are quite Mandarin-zero, choose a single word rather than worry abt having to pair it up and making sense etc. Check out this link for choosing Chinese names in the Year of the Ox..http://www.chinaname.cn/article/2008-10/38309.htm.

Mama Astro>> if Astro stays permanent, so will you as a Mama!! I think this forum needs experienced folks like you...first timers like me are quite scaretty cats and honestly, the experience for me daily is always a mixed bag...and it is always nice to hear abt your experiences.

Ong>> How was your experience with Dr Sim? I am seeing her now and so far ok but would like to know more...thx!

OIC astro. I think I have seen lizard eggs before. I think they are white and round, a bit like some kind of sweets. Haha, you are right about my work.

Angelina, I've read that cramps could also be due to constipation, if not it's stretching of the uterus.

xoxolight: glad you found your cure. I simply slept for more than 17 hours a day. Simply too tired. In fact, I hope to be able to go home early today to sleep.

ong: do online shopping if you can't get out. I saw some nice dresses that can be worn as maternity, but they are too low cut for me to wear to work. They definitely fit my idea of a sassy mum. The prices are quite affordable too.

xoxolight, glad to hear that u r getting much better now.

Astro, wow.. u going for a trip?? nearly book a trip to London.. decided not to go last min else its gona be a waste. cos currently not in a mood to go anyway.. hv to force myself to go to work too.. lol

Ong, yes.. online sites hv got some trendy clothings and their prices are quite reasonable too.

Siangjiao, hope u are fine now.

Hello Mummies, this thread is really moving very fast... I have the very very bad MS since last Friday. For those mums suffer from MS, you can tried to take some strawberries and 100plus... It's work pretty well for me last few days.

Hello Ginger, Dr Woo also find some blood clot. But he told me not to be too alarm as I do not have any spotting. This friday I will be going to visit him to check again and he will confirm the EDD as well...

I'm from Jun 09 thread. I have 2 tins (700g each)of Similac Mum for sale. Selling at $15/tin, with a complimentary $5 voucher for each tin, on your next purchase of Similac Mum.

Self-collection at Clementi MRT station on weekday nights or Sembawang MRT station on Sundays.

Interested, please PM me. Thanks.

Hi Angelina,
Basically water discharge to me feels just like water as it is not sticky type. And i was wondering if it is "Yang shui". I think Dr Sim just tell me not to worry as the scan shows ok.

HI xoxolight,
Dr Sim was recommended to me by a fren then who say she is very friendly etc. However, i guess that depends as she did not talk much to me n my hb(probably becos we r those quiet type & dun know wat to ask) & personally i think she is quite ok except for one incident. As my first baby is a breech, i was told to hv C-section. Normally after c-section, u need to put a elastic belt at your tummy area to alleviate your pains on the wounds and also to apply some cream to the wound area to prevent itchyness. However, non was told to me and i only found out from my another fren(her doc is fm private)abt these stuffs and had to get my HB to haunt for it quickly since the pains is unbearable. Guess maybe that 's the difference b/w KKH and private hospital service. I guess her service shld be much better now as compare to 5yrs ago as she is featured in a no. of magazines after she left KKH for private practice. I have other frens who uses her at TMC and are satisfied with her services too.

Hi Glass and Glad,
thks for the info. I do check out on some online sites in which i see some forumers recommending them.

hi, taking myself off the list for time being. Scan didn't go too well last Fri. Re-scanning this Thurs. Hope to be able to join in again. Take care everyone k!

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NICK</TD><TD>BABY#</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>HOSP</TD><TD>GYNAE </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>ong1312</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1-Oct</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>sportyangel</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1-Oct</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD>Dr.Selena </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>1-Oct??</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Woo BH </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Moobb</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr L N Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Mrs Neo</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>shugar</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>5-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>glass</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>xoxolight</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr L N Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>ginger</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>famela</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>glad</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian B Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Grace</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Bubble_min</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth E.Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Soh</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>13-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Loke</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>14-Oct</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD>Dr. L S Lien </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Roxie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>14-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr. Woo Bit Hwa </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>MieMie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>15-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>yeet7</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Oct</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>_piggy_</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Oct</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>siangjiao</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>clumsybabe</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth E. Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>happyface</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr K T Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>dreamygal</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>elise44</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi gals, thanks for asking about me... I am better now.. was still spotting a little yesterday, but only like a few drops of old blood.

My sister got me this book called "What to expect when you are expecting". After reading a little, i find it pretty good cos it helps me manage my emotional expectations. Inside it lists many scenarios that pregnant mummies might experience and when is the time to panic, or when it's perfectly normal. I find the chapter on spotting pretty enlightening and it calmed me down.

Thaddeus sounds nice. Sounds like some Greek Mythology God to me. In my family, the grandparents always give the grandchild the chinese name, so we are not worrying about that. Ask them to give us a few options to choose; in case the one they really like sounds awful.

Dear Ryne,

Please take care! I'm going for a scan this Friday, as my first scan 2 weeks ago didn't show anything. Makes me worried too! I keep you in my prayers

Hi all MTB or MUMs :p

I tested positive on sat havin missed my period for 2 days....first time parent so veri excited...hehe...have made an appt to see a gynae to confirm tomolo....juz wondering m i too early to see a gynae nw? coz i guess i m 2-3 wks preg nw

and does anyone experience weird feeling in the tummy tts not pain but juz feels uncomfortable?

thanx

hi raywen, congrats and welcome to Oct MTBs!!

like you, i tested very early.. and i went to see gynae within the next 2 days.. the v scan din show anything, only thickening wall linings which the gynae said is good signs.. but cant see anything at all.. and ended up had to go back 2 weeks later..

if you have just missed your period for 2 days or so, you are probably in week 4 now, they start counting from your last menses period date..

the weird feeling is like some little stretching goin on ya? a lot of us experience that, but there are some who feels more crampy than others.. guess it also depends on your pain threshold..

wow, the thread is moving beri fast....

dear MTB, i've added myself in as well....last sat visited the doc, everything is fine, can hear bb heartbeat....EDD brought forward to 1 Oct....seeing doc in 4 wks time....counting down together

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NICK</TD><TD> BABY#</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> HOSP GYNAE </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD> ong1312</TD><TD> 2</TD><TD> 1-Oct</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD> sportyangel</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 1-Oct</TD><TD> MEH</TD><TD> Dr.Selena </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD> Joyce</TD><TD> 3</TD><TD> 1-Oct??</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Woo BH </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD> Carlyn</TD><TD> 2</TD><TD> 1 Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Yvonne Chan </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD> Moobb</TD><TD> 2</TD><TD> 3-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr L N Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD> Mrs Neo</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 3-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD> shugar</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 5-Oct</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD> glass</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 7-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adelina Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD> xoxolight</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 8-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr L N Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD> ginger</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 10-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Woo Bit Hwa </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD> famela</TD><TD> 2</TD><TD> 11-Oct</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Irene Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD> glad</TD><TD> 3</TD><TD> 11-Oct</TD><TD> TBC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian B Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD> Grace</TD><TD> 2</TD><TD> 12-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Lawrance Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD> Bubble_min</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 12-Oct</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Kenneth E.Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD> Soh</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 13-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD> Loke</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 14-Oct</TD><TD> MEH</TD><TD> Dr. L S Lien </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Roxie</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 14-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr. Woo Bit Hwa </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> MieMie</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 15-Oct</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD> yeet7</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 16-Oct</TD><TD> TBC</TD><TD> TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD> _piggy_</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 17-Oct</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD> siangjiao</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 18-Oct</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Judy Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD> clumsybabe</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> TBC</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Kenneth E. Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD> happyface</TD><TD> 3</TD><TD> TBC</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr K T Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD> dreamygal</TD><TD> 2</TD><TD> TBC</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Caroline Khi </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD> elise44</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> TBC</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> TBC</td></tr></table>

Hi Raywen!

Congrats on your positive test!
1-3 weeks may be a little early to go to the gyne now as the scans pick up the baby's heart beat and image best at around 6-6+ weeks.

But maybe he/she can give you some advise on what to expect etc for now first.

There are quite a few of us first time moms-to-be here and think all of us are pretty excited. Welcome to the club, heheheeh!

Ryne and clumsybabe: Do take care... I'll pray for you. *hugs*

Raywen: Welcome; i scanned last week at 5 weeks 2 days on the belly, baby is probably only 3 weeks old, and my gynae couldn't see anything, but she keep stressing not to be alarmed cos she knows i'm gan chiong spider.

Yea, i get the weird feeling too. Feels like cramps but not quite there. Nowadays i feel my leg like very 'sng' or 'suan' like that. Anyone get this feeling?

Welcome onboard, Raywen..

Yes, most of us feels the weird feelings in our womb too, some described it as cramps while others said its 'stretchy'. For me, it's both together.

Thanks, Mie Mie

siangjiao - mine is not the legs, is my butt.. esp the right side of the butt.. feels damn uncomfortable... feel like punching my butt to ease the discomfort...

siangjiao, your gynae gave you a date to look forward to, which is the EDD. My gynae didn't want to count for me until he sees the sac..

i'm guessing we're about the same duration being preggy now, cos when he scanned that time he said i'm 5 weeks+

hey shugar, serious! heehee.. why ah? why we having this feeling? and no position can ease the discomfort.. just keep feeling very uncomfortable..

MieMie,

Not sure, but i was thinking that it may have something to do with some gas buildup or constipation?? Hahahhaa
I actually felt a bit better after a trip to the loo! :p

shugar, i dun have constipation problem leh, at least for the past few weeks.. gg to ask DH to help me massage tonight, hope it gets better.. now i can only discreetly massage in the office, cant let pple see that i keep touching my butt right! hahaha

oh...so start counting from date of last menses ah...no wonder i find it weird how come i detected mine so early :p tt means i m in the 5th wk le...

thanx all
hope everythin is well and fine...will update aft i see the gynae tomolo....

MieMie, hahahhaa. maybe try to get up and walk around more often? maybe that might help!

raywen, look forward to your updates!

Hi everyone again. Wow, so many postings already. I would like to share my 2cts worth on some of the matters posted here since this is my 2nd bb already. Hope they are helpful.

MATERNITY CLOTHES

Can try Suntec on the top floor near Toys R Us. There are a few small maternity boutiques and a relatively large one called "Spring". Can also try Maternity Exchange in Marina Square and Thyme (I think Canadian brand) at OG.

SPOTTING

Please visit gynae asap (esp red colour ones!). Better to err on the side of caution. Also, why not get yourself a peace of mind too by getting professionals to confirm that everything is fine. Other worrying signs include stomach cramps (like having period kind but pretty severe) and severe backaches.

MORNING SICKNESS

This is new to me. As I mentioned in my earlier post I did not have any MS for my bb#1 at all through out the entire pregnancy. But this time round.. not so lucky. Althought I didn't do any merlion but the bloated tummy and lump in the throat feeling is enough to make me quickly lie down and hope I don't puke. I have found ginger tea to be very effective in stopping the pukish feeling. I'm taking the very convenient granulated sachets. The brands "Owl" and "Gold Kili" are not bad. Someone here mentioned about eating grapes and I tried that too. Works real well too. The standard textbook cure I believe is 'soda biscuit' which is something I detest from young. So I've not tried that but I heard it works. If it's really bad, your gynae can give you anti-nausea pills too.

EXPANDING WAISTLINE/TUMMY

As I've posted earlier, my tummy has already expanded since my last pregnancy last year. kekeke.. What I just want to share here is that NOW is the time to apply stretch mark cream!! Don't wait until stomach big then put ok.. Too late lor like dat!

good afternoon all..

is on leave from now to friday. supposed to go to hong kong over the wekend but postphoned to allow myself and my boy, and my maid too, to recover from the viral infection.. wah liew. the three of us.. like playing ball.. happily passing virus from one person to another!

was feeling slightly moody just now.. popped a fish oil.. mood stablised a lot.. haiz.. dun have other parts of the morning sickness (MS) as of yet. but mood swing is bad seah.. they said bad ms is indicative of a healthy preg.. so mine.. ehh. considered as bad MS? ha..

ong: yo! yes.. quite normal to have some brown spotting. that is implantation bleeding when the egg burrowed itself into the thickened lining of the womb .. some ladies experienced a sharp pain too.. this will go away after sometime and is no cause for concern.. but if the spotting is bright red and heavy and persistent.. then must be alert liao..

^5 for a non kan cheong hb!..hahaha.. nothing frazes him!

shugar: ha.. no problem.. actually which medcine is not gross? lizard eggs or not? whahahha.. *winks*.. and i am not an early sleeper also.. there was once i loggin with the nicks..'zombie'/werewolf'.. hahaa. scary to find such nicks on a MOTHERHOOD forum hor?? hahahah. pardon me. i am sot liao..

Angelina: hihi.. hmm. i supposed Ong meant the amniotic fluid
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amniotic_fluid
no worries about the jargon.. just continue asking if unsure, ok?

yo xoxo! ha. ur nick is cute..:p i call u xoxo for short hor?
.. we will all learn along the way. and our bbs are our best, sometimes harshest, teachers!! :p preg is the easist part.. parenting is the tricky one! ha :p
i can change my nick.. as in the parts NOT in brackets.. the one in brackets will not change because that is my login name u see..

no worry about being scardy cat! i am also one! i remembered for my boy. i felt all alone. coz my frens this age group, not even married man.. haiz. then genna post natel depression..can't establish breast-feeding .. cranky bb with pacifier dependency.. etc etc.. wah. horrible.. this time. i will right all the wrongs! (if this preg is viable

Glass: psst.. u know why? coz i was an ex-teacher :p.. ehh. actually i am still one now.. u taught secondary ?

glad: yalor. going for a trip. else when bb #2 arrives.. really no life liao :p:p.. so just do it! nike slogan :p leaving on thursay..

joyce: blood clots are normal in preg.. my gynae advised drinking more fluids to prevent blood clots

Ryes &amp; Clumsy Babe: good luck to you and keep us updated

welcome Raywen: yep. i tested one day after my mense was due coz i planned for this preg.. went to see doc on third day.. can see a water sac already. which is a good sign.. coz my gynae explained that at this range.. (5 weeks plus). either see thicking lining, or a water sac.. or even better watersac plus yolksac and a ehartbeat.. also scheduled to go back for a scan 2.5 weeks later like u

and liek mie said.. they count from last period day.. so yes. now u 5 weeks preg.
i remembered for my very very fast preg.. the nearby gyane very unkind one.. i said i think i am 3 weeks preg.. she so stern tell me 'u CANNOT be 3 weeks preg one'..and she didn't explain.. then i was like 'how come i CANNOT be ah?'.. ha..

re the weird sensations/bloatedness
all part of MS! ha.. stupid effects of our increasing horomones now!

eeeks.. i just burped.. fish oil! yucks..
and oh my. what a long post :p

yo chiapatty: agree with u on the stretchmark creamy thing.. *staring at the horrible stretchmakrs still left from last preg*.. GONE CASE liao! haiz..

how old is ur 1st?

clummsybabe, this date is not gynae give one ... it's based on the EDD tools from the internet. But because my menses is fairly accurate and i was using OPK + temp charting, i was pretty sure i ovulated on day 14 of my 28 day cycle. My gynae, said the day is subjected to change though, but not too much.

sangjiao: hi!
wor.. 5 weeks plus u can do belly scan liao? ..my gynae.. 'default' vaginal probe till like 8 weeks.. with me one :p

hi all... wow... the postings are going so fast!

anyway i found some comfort food for my MS too. i found that almond nuts work for me. when i feel uncomfortable, dizzy, hungry etc, i'll pop a few almond nuts inside to give myself some protein, fiber etc. then i'll have some energy to go downstairs to find proper food.

and if i have nasty taste in my mouth like those wanna puke feeling, i'll drink some orange juice to overpower the nasty taste. hope this last cos i dun wanna do trial and error anymore.

oh, and i finally saw my bb over the weekend! this is my 2nd pregnancy but i lost my 1st even before we saw the heartbeat. but this time, we saw a much bigger amniotic sac and the embryo within it, and the heartbeat too! so happy. hope this time i can carry it to a safe delivery!

hi astro!

hope you get well soon! haiz, *envy* i am in the midst of fighting for my holiday now.
facing very strong objections from my paranoid ILs.
I know they mean well but, haiz, you know lah old folks....
Oh i am taking fish oils too!
and also burping tons too! I haven't done any 'merlion-ing' but just keep having uncomfortable feeling of gas stuck in my chest and mild on and off headaches.

for the mummies with very bad Morning sickness..
maybe the following can help?

---------------
Treatments
Treatments for morning sickness typically aim to lessen the symptoms of nausea, rather than attacking the root cause(s) of the nausea. Treatments include:

Lemons, particularly the smelling of freshly cut lemons.
Avoiding an empty stomach.
Accommodating food cravings and aversions.
Eating five or six small meals per day, rather than three large ones.
Eating cabbage.[12]
Trying the BRATT diet: bananas, rice, applesauce, toast and tea.[13]
Ginger, in capsules, tea, ginger ale, or ginger snaps.[14]
Eating dry crackers in the morning.
Drinking liquids 30 to 45 minutes after eating solid food.
If liquids are vomited, sucking ice cubes made from water or fruit juice.
Vitamin B6 (either pyridoxine or pyridoxamine), often taken in combination with the antihistamine doxylamine (Diclectin).
A doctor may prescribe anti-nausea medications if the expectant mother suffers from dehydration or malnutrition as a result of her morning sickness, a condition known as hyperemesis gravidarum. In the US, Zofran (ondansetron) is the usual drug of choice, though the high cost is prohibitive for some women; in the UK, older drugs with which there is a greater experience of use in pregnancy are preferred, with first choice being promethazine otherwise as second choice metoclopramide, or prochlorperazine.

hilo citrus!
how far are u in this preg when u went for that scan?
i am like a kan cheong spider now. hoping 2.5 weeks later i can see the heart beat.. coz my very first preg was terminated coz bb's heartbeat just stopped.. my boy now (my second).. i was soooo kan cheong.. that i went to get 'jabbed' with progesterone for nothing! hahaha.. this time i am trying to CALM down.. ha.. *deep breaths*

Shugar: ya i know.. old folks.. ha. i haven't tell my mum my preg yet.. i not close to my mum. so she is almost the las tto know :p.. else i dun think i can go anywhere! :p

my gyane did advise against going on a trip in the first tri also. but my trip was already planned.. so she 'no choice' :p see ur gynae in ur next checkup.. for his advice on flying now? ur gynae is douglas ong huh? exp leh him :p
thanks for asking. i am well now.. so is my maid . my boy still a bit of cough. his routine is haywird now.dun want to sleep. keep running around.. haiz..

shugar: no vomitting as of yet.. with my boy also no have.. but i am having bad mood swings.. i am by nature an emotional person.. now worse seah. *sigh* so hence i am starting on fish oil SO early..for the mood support..

astro, thanks for sharing.. Realised e lemon works pretty well for me.. Really hated drinking plain water now so what i did.. I added lemon.. Haha..

glad: last time i cannot take plain water at all! hahah. welcome.. veyr eng.. so doing random surfing.. i think i sould add lemon to water now.. just in case.. :p

thanks mama silverback for the treatments of MS, will give it a try....

my MS making mi beri uncomfortable...i aso heard my colleague mention abt "soda biscuits"...but i haven't tried tat, but find it too dry 4 my mouth....

astro, really? Fish oil works when we having those mood swings? What brand r u taking now? Even though tis is my third preg, everything is like so new to me.. Cos my kiddos age gap r pretty wide too..

hi mama silverback,
based on the sizing, the doc expects me to be about 7 weeks along now. he is dating me based on the sizing because i didn't have a proper menses after my miscarriage to give him a LMP date. (goes to say this pregnancy was kindof unexpected. :p) i was also quite kan cheong so i practically asked for the utrogestan hormones medication to support my pregnancy even though there was no visible problem at that point of time. :p

hi shugar,
you know wat? until now i haven't told my parents nor my ILs. :p because in about a month i'm flying to the US and i dun really want them to know until i'm there. :p (by then it's too late for them to nag me) plus i checked with my doc. he said it's okay for me to go as long as i make sure i dun strain myself too much. so i guess i'm given the green light.

astro, were not going soon leh. by the time we leave, i'll be 11 weeks+ so i think that's why gyne was quick to say no problem. but my ILs, well, parents being parents prob think they know better than gynes! HAh!
Had a few friends that were with douglas ong and gave him good reviews, hehe, so decided to pick him. Ex ah? I didnt do much researching :p Hahahaha
just though he's a nice guy and quite comfortable with him lor. hehehe, maybe later then my wallet will start hurting :p

Mama Silverback: thanx for ur advice
am glad to know i m not too paranoid..haha...tis is a planned preg too tts y i so fast use the test kit to check...overjoyed when the result is positive....

citrus, u steady la.. But take gd care during ur trip there.. Long haul flight.. I dread tat.. U going states for work?

siang jiao, oh yes.. I've e suan feeling on my ankle instead.. Super gao wei.. Hv to get hb to keep on pressing tat area..

Carlyn: call me Astro .. my nicks change like the weather.. only 'astro' stays constant :p
ya.. soda biscuits is good. if it is too dry for u.. take with water with lemon? (also from that list).. idea?

glad: ya.. fish oil helps with the DNA development for bb. at the same time it stablises the moods of the mother.. i did't realise it .. till i did some thinking. how come i was sooo unexpectedly calm and sedate during my preg with my boy.. then after that post natel depression.. i matched it with my frens' experiences.. realised they carried on with fish oil.. but i didn't! ok. did some reading.. and bingo liao.. so now start on fish oil.. REALLY early .. else i will be lashing at everyone and anyone.. hb already kena left right up down liao.. and that is.. with fish oil wor :p:p
this is the brand i am taking.. my gynae prescribing another one.. but i think i will ask her opinion on this.. maybe brin ghte bottle to show her.. coz this one. my frens doing BP/sprees.. cheaper :p
http://www.vitacost.com/Nordic-Naturals-Prenatal-DHA-from-Purified-Fish-Oil

glad: how old are ur kids now ah?

citrus: wow! ha. i am also given the utrogestan (the lizard eggs) coz like u.. i am also going to hong kong.
i think u are quite stable now (almost 7 weeks).. plus withthe hormones u are taking. hence ur gynae allowing u to fly

solid u. get preg after miscarriage almost immediately? :pP hey. ur gynae.. ok with prescribing utrogestan.. when no visiable problem. no side effect right if taken when nothing's wrong.? i forgot to ask my gynae this :p

woo citrus! smart move.. haiz kind of makes me regret telling them b4 going.. now i'm having a hard time. US... long flight... i'm going to tokyo.

hi glad, i am dreading the long haul flight already and am kindof scared and stressed out about it... but it was all planned before i realised i was pregnant. actually i'm going over for a while because my husband is working there. and i guess i really want to be with my husband esp at this point of time.