(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Kam/ Rach/ Kiki,
You girls v funny.. Hahaha. I don't need baby dust now.. Need new job dust! I have been looking for new job since Feb till now and can't find any yet. Green w envy when
Saw my other frens n ex colleagues found jobs so quickly.
Was planning to get a new job first, settle down n plan for next one. We planning for a dragon bb.. So my new job plan like going downhill.
(
Sigh sigh.. Dunno Wat to do now. Dun want to keep staying in my current coy, v sian w everything. once preggie will be stuck there for abt 2 more yrs... Not forgetting my current work load is alot.

Kiki...
There's a period of time when my boy will keep using the same word for everything. Dun worry.. It will outgrow as he outgrew it. Sometimes he will point to truck n say bus or vice versa.. will correct him but he still keep repeating the wrong word, so I know he's being playful cos he definitely knows.

Now he parrots after us... Like Rach, will ask what he wants, n repeat the words so that he knows.

On vocab, will you teach ur child not so nice words? My mil actually taught my son the word kill and showed him how to kill ants!! I was shocked when I saw that n heard my son saying kill ant n did pressed 1 with his finger.I don't think he understand the meaning of kill but I think it is not a right thing to teach. It's not abt ants or what, JuZ dun want him to have the wrong concept or value when he grow up.
Was v pissed n told my mil that she should not teach him such things. Think I almost wanted to roar at her!

Melissa
I taught Ian about ants from his books.. then one day he actually pointed to an ant on the floor and told me "Ant". I was so happy but without thinking, I kiiled that ant on the floor. Now, when Ian sees an ant, he'll press on it too. I dunno leh, hubby and I kills every ants that we see in the house so I guess it's ok for Ian to help out too. Hhaha but we don't wanna let him feel that it's ok to just kill.. Aiya... dilemma

Melissa / Itsy,
We don't kill ants or any other small insects. When the kids see them at home or outside, we will ask them to observe them and then say "shoo shoo, quickly go back home, mama is waiting for you". We think that love should be for everything including ants :) HR learns to press them or use his foot to step on them, when I remind him that the ant's mummy and daddy are waiting for it to go home and they will be very sad if they can't see it anymore, he would then guai guai let it go off without trying to hurt the ant/insect.

In term of speech, i tink my gal is quite ok, we can understand what she wants most of the time. Maybe coz my elder one talks alot to her. She can even speak simple hokkkien as she's with my mum most of the time. Now, we have to be careful when we speak in front of her coz she tends to pick up some words and repeat it. she also like to take books and want me to read to her and she will repeat after me too. she can even say " i want to eat fries" when we passed by mcdonalds.

HI all,

Anyone has any recommendation of training pants. Tried those 3 for $10 kind. Not good leh. Will leak after each use. I busy cleaning up the mess. Heard there are other thicker kinds. Saw bumwear but super ex. Still considering to get or not. Any recommendations?

Corinne:

I gave up on training pants for my #1, bought panties for her instead. She would tell us that she wants to go to toilet in panties, but will not say anything when in diaper.

Hi mummy

Just like to check, did any of your bb reject porridge or rice suddenly?

My gal reject solid food.. only selective food she take.. The rest of the time she just drink milk.
I got so worry cos she use to eat a bowl of cereal in the morning, a bowl of porridge in the afternoon and night.
Now, she dun want porridge or rice at all.
Not sure is it due to she is not feel well.. having cough since last month... but not able to get fully recover.
Any advice?

cos i tried using pants or underwear for my boy, most of the time he wun tell me he wants to pee. Will only say when he urined and by the time all leak to the floor. Tried to bring him to toilet during intervals but most time he refused to urine. After a while, he pees and I had to clear up the mess. Maybe he is not ready yet hor.

i also tried to remove diapers for my gal on sun, but after 2 'accidents', she asks me to put on diaper for her coz she feels shy to urinate on the floor. I did not want to stress her so i put the diaper for her. Might try again at a later stage. My elder one was very easy in everything, no worries at all.

Wonder do I cont. or not. Mine occassionally very cooperative. Last week tried her without diaper and 3 hrs no accidently. All done in the toilet. Sometimes just refuse to tell us she want to pee or when bring her to potty, refuse to sit. Should I cont or pospond to another month?

Got once after pee for a while, he look at daddy n show him she pee on him. Daddy no feeling.

<font color="119911">Kam</font>
I know! HAhaha we shouldn't kill ants as they're living things too.. but they are invading my house! Dunno why they are all over, I've already kept the house very clean with no food laying around but the ants still hang around the house. I can even differentiate 2 diff species and where they 'hang out'! After some time, we got really frustrated and just simply kill as we see them lor tho now I try not to do it in front of Ian. :p

Gd morning!

My dd2 said afew more new words the past 2 days! Heehee happy! Ytd she pointed to her shoes and said Me shoes. It could mean her shoes, or Mea (her name) shoes. Either way it's still correct! I got goosebumps lei. So out of the blue. Then hrs later she told her sister to 'sit here'. O my God. I thought I hadn't cleaned my ears properly that day till she said out loud... Dehdy sit here!!

So I guess my dd2 is slowly wordblooming now. ;)

Is it really true? Kids being taken care of by grandparents/sahm start to speak late? Wah then my Dd1 must be express stream man. At 11 mths can walk at 1.5 mths can talk in small sentences. Is it possible that it's not abt the person who takes care of the kid but the lack of exposure the kids have when growing up with a particular caregiver? Like I notice sahms (who have extra energy and are KS like me) that does lots of educational activities at home with their child tend to have their kids speak pretty fast. But that is also if there are no distractions from older siblings. Like for my Dd2, I couldn't do much cos Dd1 wants to explore all the time and I have to supervise alot. And we cannot expect grandparents to do craft or (some) read books right. And they'll prolly get a headache from flashing cards ! haha. :p

Any mummies been to Class 95 Movies in the park.
Is it very crowded? Wonder if its suitable to bring babies and toddlers there. Start from 6pm

Kaira

I haven't been to movie in the park but I've been to Ballet under the stars... same location. Shouldn't be a problem getting a space. Go slightly earlier lor and bring a mat to 'chop' your space. Will your toddlers be able to sit and watch movie from a screen when there's so much distraction around? I foresee lots of running around :p

Itsy,

Ya.. Thaddeus will sure run about. I always think and think, end up all places never go. Feel like give it a try ..

Just to share , will be bringing my boy to watch the disney show at marina bay sand to celebrate his 2nd birthday.

Kaira
Then go ahead! Just have a mindset that it's an experience for the kid and the main purpose is not to complete watching the movie :p Enjoy!

Mayya,
You are trying to say 15 mthsor 1.5yrs old or 1.5 mths?

Exposure &amp; gender do play a part in kids speech and behaviour. I can see a great difference in my 2 kids. Another 2 more months, my gal might be in same pace as my boy. My gal's speech sudden speed up after she attend pg.

Kaira,
Today my gal pee in the kitchen and when maid ask her pee where, she can point to the potty and say "pee there". She knows where to pee but always must wait for us to ask her. Yesterday, she sit on my hb n later climb down, stand there for a while then pee out. I guess she is not ready to tell us she want to pee but everyone expecting her to say as she can tell us when she want to poo.

Connie,

Your gal has done very well. Ya maybe give her some more time. Good job to you too.

My boy has reach the terrible two
Yesterday, he lay on the floor and cry for 1 hour, just because I didnt give him the bread as its near to dinner time. I miss his baby days. Totally not like this.

Kaira,
Yes, miss the bb stage. Now she will ask this n that and refuse to finish dinner. Half way through dinner, she saw the biscuit n pattern again. Wonder when will she resume back to the good gal stage.

I took the health book to the pd but forget to ask her on the jab yesterday. My memory getting from bad to worse.

Connie,

My memory now very bad too. Hai .. My boy very seldom cry when he's below 1.5 years old. Now every day cry. Last time, first thing he wakes up , he smiles and very cheerful. Now first thing he wakes up , he cries. I'm wondering if it has somthing to do with his brother.

How are you going to celebrate your gal 2nd birthday ?

Kaira,
No idea now. Maybe just buy cake to cut at home n 1 for the school. How about you?

Ask you, do ur boys fight or bully one another? How do you handle?

Connie,

My #1 loves his didi alot, so far no bullying from him. My #2 only 3.5mths now. I feel most important is to be fair to both of them when you punish them. Or make them apologize to each other or promise to each other never to fight.

This time round, we also not intend to have any party too.

Mummies here interested to go for a group cycling at ECP with our toddlers ?

Are we still having any 2nd Bday Party?

Btw mummies, anyone sent ur tods to Shichida, GUG or LNT??
why or why not?

Kam, what's ur view on these enrichment programs?

Rach,
I don't believe in enrichment program. Enrichment classes are results of commercialisation, giving parents a choice if they want to "outsource" the teaching/learning part to third party. To me, what the (young) children want most is time spend with parents, lots of attention and love and to play together with parents.

Oh!!!! I missed out Kam's reply......

Kam> but hor..... It seems like children who are sent to such enrichment classes are smarter, learns faster, etc etc etc....
Makes kiasu parents like me... Stress!!!!

Or does it mean if we dun send them... Then we ought to do those enriching stuffs ourselves???
Flashing cards and teaching them... Through play... And not in a forceful and stressful environment???
$800-$1000 a term is so exp!!!!!

I didn't have such luxury (or not) as a kid and also grow up like that... Dun even have to go for tuition and still graduated w a normal degree....
Does it really differ from kid to kid.... (means inborn ability)
Or really it's the classes that produces the geniuses etc etc?

Why u dun believe in such classes?
U think they have no real effects? :p

Rach

For enrichment classes it's really up to the individual parent. And there are many different kinds of enrichment classes out there. Some look good on branding and marketing but don't really seem to impart a lot of useful knowledge that i can't do it myself at home. Those I wouldn't spend money going. You'll have to go for trial classes to find out. Each parent is different and has different skills. Some may feel that certain classes are useful because they don't posses that set of skills to equip their children.

Of course if you are like my aunt who majored in pedagogy then she can teach her kids at home herself. But if you dont know how to do it then it may not be abad idea to attend a few classes, learn and steal their ideas and then do it yourself at home. Hehe.

I have another question....

Anybody knows if it's harmful to wrap meat in cling-wrap b4 freezing? It suddenly occurred to me that I might be doing the wrong thing. I wrap individual portions of minced meat in cling-wrap for freezing and whenever i cook for Ian, I just defrost 1 portion.

I remembered seeing on TV that there's some problem with the cling-wrap used in Taiwan supermarket. I wonder if those sold in Singapore is ok, esp when used in freezer.

How do you guys freeze meat in the freezer?

Cling wrap

I just use new clear plastic bags to freeze individual portions of meats.

I didn't know about the cling wrap story until my mum told me not wrap C's bread / sandwiches in cling wrap, said will release toxic substances. I was like, it dont use to wrap sandwiches, then use cling wrap for what other use?

Anyway what's the problem w cling wrap?

I put meat in small containers. You can buy a few of the lock lock to use.

Rach,

What enrichment program are you planning?

Do you have time to teach your kids now? I tried my boy when he is 18 mths for 1 term on the flash cards type of training, not much help cos he only go there to see gals. I can see some kids are sleeping in class so parents learn. I tried using flash cards on my kids and they snatch my cards. So can only play the cards with them, hopefullly they will learn.

I find the playgroup is enough for the time being. You might want to try enrichment class next year.

RY doesn't eat meats so I dun freeze her meats..
Our meats are stored in those plastic bags at NTUC?
those one whole roll and u tear individual bags and can put fruits, meats etc...

Potbelly, Connie> yah... So tempted to see ppl sending for this and that class... Wondering if RY is missing out anything... She's at home and will be until Oct when she goes for half day CC... some frens go shicida, neuro tree.. Little genius etc etc... And say got diff... So... I scared RY will lose out if she doesn't go for anything....
But all these classes so exp la....

I think it all voice down to affordability also...
$200-300 a month... On top of whatever expenses... Very siong....

Then there's also music and arts classes... Dunno helpful or not.... Haha....

itsy
i use my old advent cups (previously for storage of breastmilk/puree) to store the meats in small portions now. else, i scoop into small balls (good for 1 meal) and freeze them in freezer grade tupperwares.

Rach,
Yes, some enrichment v x. But no point sending if they are not ready. Really waste $$ n time. My gal's teacher comment my gal not ready for kinder beat so ask me to save the $$.

You can short list and see when you want to enrol. Certain enrichment need to q. Even if you q now, might only start next year.

Rach,
Children learn at a very very fast speed and they from everyone, everywhere, every minute, not only when they are at classes. It's true that they may be able to learn better when they attend classes as these classes are structured, meant to foster better learning. But children, esp young children don't just learn when they are at classes. They learn when they go to supermarkets, learn when they are at the park, learn when they are looking at what their parents do and talk, etc, etc.

To me, personally, I feel the most important is the exposure, as much as exposure for them, to different things, the nature, the animals, the people, musics and musicals, arts and crafts, etc. Be involved in their learning path, experience all these together with them, is my main focus right now than to send them to classes. Some are free while some have to pay, like the musicals/theatereate experience.

We do not send out kids to any enrichment (except HR attended 1 term of music class when he was just below 2yo, cos I, like you, heard so much about these classes and wanted to see what it is about). What they are losing out? Nothing. But on they other hand, they gain more time to spend in the park, to run around, to have fun at home with us, and save lots of time travelling to and fro from the classes :) But hey, bear in mind my kids go to full day childcare, so they already have enough "classes" in my eyes (though I rejected all the adds-on enrichment classes offered by the cc).

Like the mummies have mentioend. It's up to you. Up to each individual parent. Up to what your parenting style and belief.

Every child has talents. It's up to us parents to help them discover and develop their talents. I shared about this before after reading a book, but it's in Chinese though, http://babyhaore.blogspot.com/2009/12/early-childhood-education.html

Thanks mummies, for sharing!

potbelly
Can use aluminum foil?

Kiki
I wrap individual portions then keep inside freezer grade tupperware. If I don't wrap them, they'll all stick together leh. Hahha I think I try to squeeze too much in the tupperware :p

Connie,
I freeze stock in lock lock, if need to freeze meat and fish in lock lock too.. I'll need a bigger freezer! Haha

Rach
I do feel that kids will learn more when they are in school. At least for Ian, when he's in PG, he'll watch what the older kids are doing and he'll follow, eg drawing, singing, dancing. When he's at home, he's more likely to turn into a destroyer.

Rach,

My boy attends GUG class every Saturday. His 2 hr PG at PCF will only start when he turns 30 mths. He enjoys very much and I find that's the most important. Haha and that's the only class he attends. Weekday, he just bum around at home.

Itsy,
I store each meal ( meat / fish ) in individual small tupperware. Why must use freezer grade tupperware ?

Kaira
I dunno leh :p My mum gave me 1 set that is meant for freezer so I just used them instead of the normal tupperware. Anyway, the covers are not air tight so can't use to store things that will lao hong.