(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

shelled> lol. i can support my boy to sit up even when he sleeping n burp him. if i manage to wake him up, means he still wan more milk. if he continues sleeping after burping, means he is satisfied n really wanna go to bed =p

<font color="ff0099">Michelle</font>
You are damn power for a 1st time mom, ok?! *kowtows
Mine will wake if I kacheow him too much. Then later he wont' go back to sleep liao... So mai lah. I rather not burp him if he don't want to.

<font color="aa00aa">xueli</font>
Oh. i reach ESH at 8am and pop at 4+ leh. You reach at 1+pm and pop at what time? Must be quite fast for you too leh. I heard them saying Roger Heng has 2 patients on 15th so i was thinking was it YOU! :) Really very coincidental hor. Haaaaaa..... Me too had bloody show at 5.30am.. 2 hours earlier than you! But your baby really very big leh.....

<font color="ff0000">stitches</font>
I'm also having stitches there... and still painful.. my gynae said will take about 12 days to be not painful.. sobz sobz... it's so pain lor... ):

princessxiaomei
Ya.. Roger &amp; the nurses there also say mi so small but baby so big... Haha....
I reach there 14.9.09 @ 1.25pm baby come out on 15.9.09 @ 5.06am....

When u still gg bk to roger??

shelled> lol. no la. u see ah. if i dun try to wake him by burping him, i wun know if he's in deep sleep. i put him in bed, den he will wake me up 10-30mins later, den i got to wake up agn. might as well i make sure he is really sleeping, den i got peace for nxt 3hrs =p

n hor, if i dun burp him, he will really merlion in bed, once he nearly choke himself, cos i nv burp him leh. he was lying facing up, all de milk in de mouth, he choke n nv turn sideway to release all de milk. heng my mum wanna go take photo of him, den saw him choke -_-"

so now i make sure i burp him after every feed.

I will be going back to him for the 6-in-1 jab around 24th oct (sat?)... think you will go there too?

oh so you actually came in the night before. I thought u came in on 15th... :) i reach there at 8am in the morning, just nice you deliver finish liao.... :)

You got stitches at the bottom? Mine still so painful... waiting for it to go off asap... making me so hard to sit, lie, move about... movements slow like mad... ):

princessxiaomei
Ur baby health booklet got date that on 15.Oct09 need to go for a jab??
Yes. I'm gg bk to Roger for the 6-in-1 jab too.. Hee..
Yes, i als have stitches until my backside there due to my baby too big lo... i also veri pain. Sad...;( I sit, stand, walk also pain..
Give birth took mi half of my life... Hee...

Actually we have one more mummy also same Dr as us, She intro herself on 15 sept post name Pei Pei.. Hee...

Michelle,
Is it necessary to stay 1 more day with baby? easier to BF?

Paige,
The catering u mentioned. They free unique favours for your guests means what?

>MICHELLE
Yalor...so I'm still thinking whether really should cater from babyfirstmonth.com....*sigh* but their menu is really interesting lah,...maybe i'll try this time round lah, since not many ppl coming :p Then if food not nice, won't be too paiseh

BURPING
Does your baby wriggle when you burp him/her? My baby wriggles A LOT now that she just passed 3 weeks old....was so much easier to burp her when she was younger!
when i sit her up to burp its sometimes really frustrating!! she will start boxing, wriggle, figid here and there, make funny noise! then of course she will do a merlion if she struggles too much! Help!

>SARAH
If you go to their website, under baby full month gifts, they have choc egg favours etc (but i think the free ones they are giving won't be as nice as the ones on the website?)But they will do personalisation of the favours for free though...

So if you order some of their selected menu, they throw in all these for free....

I was looking at the menu and was asking the contact person Lyn whether can change here and change there and she's rather accomodating...but like what MICHELLE said, not many reviews so still not sure whether to place my orders with them or not yet...hmmm...

<font color="ff0000">Sarah></font>
yah... its up to individual..but coz i check ard the "market rate" is like usually come $20, go back can range from $20-$100, so i will feel a bit paiseh if give too little..
but see how la.. hehehe... if i not enough money to buy food by next week, i bo bian cut from her AP loh.
hahaha...:p

<font color="ff0000">Pam></font>
so far i had engorgement once.. on my 4th day.... it was pretty bad..so hard.. i cant even sleep.. i massage with hot towel, then pump, then once flow stop, i massage with hot towel again, pump..for like 1 whole hour..
but it only went down a little and got softer by a little...i was at it for like more than an hour...cant even go to sleep with 2 hard lumps..
next morning, i latch bb many times..coz she like always hungry..and it was only then the engorgement went away...
so i really with the rest...that bb are always the best to relieve our engorgement...

<font color="ff0000">Bonjour></font>
i'm using Pigeon rapid steam sterilizer...think its abt $100+- range...its 6min to sterilize..and good...
cant rem its 6 or 8 min... hehee.. :p
can put in any size bottles coz there's no stands inside...

<font color="ff0000">Michelle></font>
hahaha...chalet no need to cook. no need to do hosuework..no need to feed..still need to do what????

ya ya... if my gal continues sleeping after burping..means she's satisfied..if after burping still crying also means not enough..
wahahhaha...same same... finally something in common.. hahhaa....

<font color="ff0000">flower></font>
i'm not ordering from elsie kitchen liaoz.. because my chalet at Aranda Country Club..its a must to cater their buffet..
else pay penalty of $300..
we calculate calculate.. not worth it..so we get their menu loh...

<font color="ff0000">shelled></font>
hahaha...must find one day she good mood then i dare to try....else lie down get up very hassle... she will be wailing liaoz..
hahaha....takes me 5-10sec to get into position to prop up nursing pillow..unbutton, take out the bra clip then shove into her mouth..
i've got a little impatient girl here....
but would seriously wanna try this so comfortable position.. whahaha... :p

<font color="ff0000">Paige></font>
u dun wrap up ur girl??
wrap up both hands tightly then she cant move or wriggle le ma..easier to BF and burp that way.. i try to wrap her up before i BF whenever possible..
if she hasnt started wailing..else her hands will get in the way for my breasts to go into her mouth.....

>RACH
Noleh, my girl is a perspiring Queen, she can sweat buckets! so I let her sleep with just a short sleeve top and diapers, somemore i turn on fan for her, she still perspire!
At night, if sleep with aircond, i just cover a blanker over her, when she wakes up to feed, i just carry her over to my bed and feed then burp (with long sleeved romper, bottomless)
So, ya, she struggles, kick up a big fuss and do her boxing and kicking moves...
Maybe I'll try to wrap her no matter how hot she feels then she won't move...hmmm, good idea! Thanks!

Just wanted to offer a solution if you have painful sore nipples.. I had that too and my nipples started having the bubble with blood inside... then I was scared to burst it as am afraid if it bleeds, I cant breastfeed anymore. My hubby went to buy something called the nipple shield ... it's a soft silicon shaped like a nipple where you place it over your nipple while layching bb on.. I used that.. although it still hurts, it sort of prevents your nipple from further abrasion from bb's tongue and gums.. I will use that for one day and latch bb on breast without the nipple shield the next day..
Today is the 11 day liao.. and my nipples are fine already..

Rach and princessxiaomei
Actually I tot my gynae didn't help me too. She could feel the bb's head liao but didn't even suggest helping me to push him down. I actually started to feel him coming down but gynae says dun wait and risk traumatizing bb. So cut me up lor. Whatever, I'm not going back to her in the future!

Shelled
Hahaha FOC tummy tuck!

Paige,
Oh... not bad then. But how many they will give? as in if we order buffet for 40 pax they will give enough for 40 pax?

Rach,
If CL reli not good dont have to be paiseh lor. Some come dont even know how to cook. For your case u're satisfied with her so no harm to give more. to show appreciation also.

pam,
try to pump a little out first to ease the fullness than massage, should be easier. i usually massage the harder area while bfg dd, makes it more bearable than trying to massage a hard breast.

Yup, my health booklet states that date for a jab. That is if you're going for the normal vaccination at polyclinic all those. The nurse never explain to you? Since our baby same day out of the OVEN ah... i think if you are to go back for the 6-in-1 jab which cost about $140 each jab at ROger, most likely i would see you there if you're going on a saturday. :) Most likely i will be there on 24th Oct. Prefer it to be on a saturday.... but now a little hard to take timing cos got baby.. later poo poo lah. pee pee lah.. drink milk lah... LOLS.

Are you breastfeeding him? My baby has mild jaundice... but Roger Heng says no need to sun him when i went back on saturday. However, i notice his eyes there the white part, a little yellow.. i'm still monitoring lor. VEry shagged. I am doing everything by myself with the help of hubby... my mum help me to cook meals and hubby will go back and collect from her... my bedsheet just now kena baby's pee, poo, puke... now got to wash bedsheet some more... and my hubby today had to go back camp for a short while.. leaving me alone with baby.... tiredddd...

Your baby has jaundice? How much is your total bill? When you discharge?

My stitches i dont know which part exactly but its very painful lor.. shit also must slowly and try my best... ): until now still painful.. ):

OHHH... i didnt see pei pei leh... she also same ROGER HENG as us and deliver on 15th????

<font color="aa00aa">itsy</font>
Choose gynae also must choose carefully. My friend's stitches TORE when she tried to shit few days later.. make me panic and afraid of mine. BUT i trust my gynae's skills. LOLS!

How are you coping now?

BF lying down
Actually I'm afraid if I feed lying down, I might fall so deep in sleep that I suffocate my bb with my booby. HAhaa

Latching
My bb keeps latching and letting go and latching and letting go again and again and again.. till he gets frustrated. Is this normal? Dun think so right? Does it mean he's not latching correctly and not getting milk thus he keeps letting go and latching again?

Princessxizomei
Ya, I totally regret going to this gynae. Gave me a scar and deprived me a chance of natural birth. Dunno lah.. perhaps she is right too and I should push the blame on her.. anyway, it's over.

BB Ian is a big eater and I have problem feeding him cos one of my nipple is a bit short. Sigh... I see some of you guys can BF so easily, dunno why I so ma fan. Not enjoyable at all. But I'll persist on hopefully situation will improve.

How about you? Any problem with your in-laws for confinement. Saw your pixs on FB, your hubby really look damn blissful sleeping with bb.

Can we trust that if we shove nipple into bb's mouth and bb kept shaking his head or use his hand to push my breast away, that means he doesn't want?

princessxiaomei
Oh no.. Pei Pei deliver early than us.

Ya lo.. Veri busy le.. How u do ur confinement?
wat is jaundice? I dischange on 18.09.09

<font color="ff0099">itsy</font>
DEATH BY BOOBIES?!?! Your imagination really quite exaggerated hor??

Trust your internal motherly instincts that your subconscious mind will make sure you won't squash the lil one despite you sleeping like a log. I used to think I would roll on top of Joshua (when he was a newborn) and just smother him. But never leh. Not even close. Somehow there's a natural sensor even if I'm dead asleep, and I don't even cross into his area.

Strange. I don't think you're engorged right? Most possibly is that he isn't latch properly so ain't getting a good grip on things (pun intended). Do you have any idea how long it takes for you to letdown after he latches on? Some babies prefer quick milk flow and get pissy when its slow, so they'll unlatch in defiance, but latch back because they're still hungry. vicious cycle.

<font color="ff0099">Rach</font>
That's why we have to try to catch their timing and feed before they cry lo. Otherwise feel damn panic one leh!!

<font color="ff0099">bbq98</font>
Nope. Cannot trust yet. Babies tend to turn their heads left/right to search for the nipple to latch on. Not really shaking head. And they have barely any control on their limbs as of now, so they aren't pushing away either.
K has a habit of placing his arm between my boob and his face, and then it would seem like he's pushing me away when he really isn't. What I do is that I kiap his lower arm between my elbow and body, then hold his upper arm. Until he's latched on, then I let go. It's a bit of a struggle, but no choice leh. Otherwise his arm is in the way!

princessxiaomei
For hospital bill we must wait for final billing then can say. cos sometime they forget to charge us then see they send cheque to us or send bill for us to pay lo... Hee...

rach
you can try the Babysafe foam pillow which is about 1 1/2 inch thick. The other one I'd suggest is Core. ( I bought Core kids but I don't normally let baby sleep on it yet. Its great when baby is slightly older.) Both are available at Robinsons and is very thin so baby should not have problem balancing on the pillow. Yes, you need to use one hand to support baby. Supposing baby is lying on your left and you are lay facing baby, use your right hand to hold baby's head to put to your breast. Use the same arm to support baby while she is feeding. Get the picture?

shelled
oh, you have a cane. My husband keeps wanting to get one but I'm really against it. My hubby has a bad temper and I'm just afraid he can't control himself if the cane is within reach. I just can't bear to see my son being caned even though he can get quite out of hand sometimes. Haiz...

Ling

RElli ar.. okie Happi to hear that.. I'm stl patiently waiting to receive the headbands.. my frens kept saying not worth not worth.. two headbands for 30 bucks.. I dun care la.. as long as can make my ger the prettiest.. i dun mind.. =)

I just received the outfit n shoe shoe i bought online today only.. so just lacking the headbands then complete le.. Excited excited!

And so looKin forward to tis Fri where I can start to wash my hair n shower!!!

my confinement is ending next Monday and I'm 2 minds about it. On one hand, I'm looking forward to having one less person in the house, the end of her cooking (I don't like her cooking lah) but on the other hand, it means I will have one less pair of helping hands. Resting as much as I can now to store up energy for the sleepless months ahead.

HUr. I had my total bill leh. You discharged together with baby? I thought that day discharge what we paid is everything all finalised liao? OMG~ But my bill quite cheap ah. I expected to hit 4K at least....

Your nurse never tell you baby must sun anot?

i discharge on 17th. :)

How i do my confinement! I do my own lor. Only my mum cooks for me lunch and dinner, my hb will collect from her everyday. Basically i cannot rest. Sigh. BUT, i have decided to ask hb to send me back to my mum's place after he goes back to work cos i need my mum to help me with the washing etc. I cannot do so much lor. Very shagged and taxing on me. My eyes are like closing once 6pm arrives every day. URGH! You confinement for 30days or 40days? Luckily my mummy cooks damn delicious confinement food for me or else i totally going nuts lor........ :)

She deliver earlier than us? I never see her nick leh...

<font color="aa00aa">itsy</font>
I am still trying to figure out my baby's routine. LOLS. My sisters everyday ask me to post photos of him so i every night before i sleep i will upload lor... hahaha.... i have so much to complaint about them... but now inconvenient to complaint.... i cried buckets already for 2 nights.... all because of them. Sigh.

<font color="aa00aa">sheryn</font>
You endure not to shower for how long???? So far i have been enduring but very very hard leh.... but then i get my hb to sponge me every day... cannot take it.. look like sticky pad like that.. niam niam one... urghs.. yucky!

sarah> tat time i stay 4days. cos i wanted to make sure i was ok, den stay another day with bb, cos he got jaundice. i stay with him cos i wan him to be on tbf. think tat's de only way =p

paige> keke. okie. do let me know hows de food k? i oso interested, cos deir menu really looks interesting.

haha. my boy still ok with burping. only when he nv drink enugh, den wan drink more n i interupt his drinking when i burp him. but it's oso becos he fall asleep, den i choose to burp him to wake him up. dun wan him to choke himself while drinking when sleepin

my bb oso perspire alot. but when i sometimes he will sneeze. so i on fan for him, but still wrap him up in a thin nappy

rach> lol, if pple dirty de chalet, den at nite wanna sleep, den need to clean up abit? maybe help u bbq food. haha. help u take food.

lol. sure got things in common, but every bb still got their diff habit. so got to catch ur bb's pattern, den ok liao =p

itsy> no leh. once my boy latch on, he'll refuse to let it out till he's really satisfied. sometimes he even forget to unlatch when he falls asleep. i need pull down his chin, insert my last finger into his mouth n pull out my nipple. maybe u r not latching correctly

bbq98> not exactly leh. sometimes is bb cannot latch on correctly, den get frustrated. so he push n turn n turn. keke. so usually wat i do is wrap his hands in his blanket den latch on. but now he ok liao. even i let his hands out, i can control them =p

sheryn> wah. u all really buy nice clothes for bb full mth. gees. i nv buy for my boy. i buy all de big big clothes tat r really nice though. keke. den hubby ask me wat i tryin to do -_-"

itsy
i have same problem as u, one nipple is shorter, so have problem initially. lactation consultant taught me to press the aeola so that the nipple part can come out

bbq
my boy sometimes shakes his head, think because he can't suck due to wrong positioning

Hi Michelle, I do agree that you damn pro as a 1st time mum... I mother of 4 still can't suceed in total breastfeeding.

Actually my nipple one side short, 1 side inverted but still can latch on baby with no problems.. if you feel got problem, use a breast pump to draw your nipple out first. Short nipple also got advantage one..

For delivery, my Gynae is super good... super pro... Anaestetist also super pro... I have been telling my friends that I had a painless delivery with epidural. Only discomfort felt was when baby move down the birth canal...

My past delivery with Epi, I could still feel the pain during delivery cause Epi will be reduced as told by the docs so that I can feel when the contractions come and push...

But at TMC and with Dr Tseng, I had the Epi on and it was painless.. I just followed their cues on when to push... after 3 pushes, baby's head was out and after 2 more pushes, baby's shoulder was out...

Best part is, I only had a small neglegible tear and Dr Tseng did only 1 stitch for me.. I couldn't feel the pain of it at all.. hehehe

My past deliveries also like some mummies here have stitches pain.. My 1st was the worst, on the 2nd day after discharge, we have to bring baby for check up right? My bro went with me and I was telling him, i think he crawl also faster than me walking cause it was too painful for me to walk.

This time round, I could get up and down the bed as much as I want and when I need to poo, it was a breeze too... I still remember previous deliveries, I was literally stuck in the toilet for 1 hr plus till my mum knock on my door cause thought I fainted inside...

For mummies whom didn't have a very good experience with their gynaes and want to try for another kiddo, I strongly recommend Dr Paul Tseng of TLC in Thomson... Thumbs up!

stephanie> not tat i pro la. sometimes bb keep waking up wanting to latch on. make me worried tat i got not enugh milk for him. but i very insistent on tbf. n since i dun haf any fm at hm, i got no choice but to offer my boobs to bb whenever he cries? so i guess this is one reason why i manage to get bb to learn to latch on right.

n my nipples both are protruding out oso. so easy for bb to latch on?

btw, u all really make natural delivery sound so scary.

damn forgot if i replied... anyway...

rach: glamourmom's tanks think M i cannot fit like shelled say lor... because i am heavy-top!! SOB SOB... thats why i nv place order for lacey.. dun think can wear >.<

bonjour: my sis also recommend Pigeon rapid steam sterilizer to me. Comes with the tongs. I bought already but have yet to use it so cant give comments. Bought it for about $99 coz got discount then. You can try WTS thread or even ebay for new ones :p

Stress ah.. everyone pop liao then discussing already.. think by the time i pop, everyone move on to another topic/phase. If i ask back same old qns, pls don't hoot me.. XD

<font color="ff0099">Mamijoan</font>
I'm not for the cane either lah. My mom used to go berserk with it, and I swore I would never use a cane on my kids. But then this boy really knows how to push my buttons (on purpose!) and he knows I won't actually hit him. Out of desperation, I was advised by some other mommies to purchase a cane. They told me "Hands are for loving, cane is for punishing" so better not to mix it up, otherwise the kid will use hand to smack other ppl when in school, etc.

So far I've only used it 3 times to smack his palm gently. And since then I've pretty much only needed to grab the cane and he's back in line already. No need to hit him anymore. But sometimes it gets very tempting to whack him anyhow lah. Especially when he flooded the kitchen by stoppering in the sink when everyone was sleeping at night.

But I guess if your hubby is that type who might anyhow whack, better not to have it around. Caning is very painful lor.

Good luck for when your CL leaves. I'm sure you'll be able to cope just fine.

Michelle, I actually also dun have FM at home.. cause I want to TBF but in the end had to succumb cause baby always still cry even though I latch him on 20 mins each on each breast, sometimes i can latch him on both breast a total time of 1 1/2 hr but after that he still cry for milk leh..

Sigh.. he latch on very well but just that he will keep wanting milk...

hahah my 1st and 2nd delivery was really scary... but subsequent ones were better.. this #4 one was the best! hahah

<font color="aa00aa">bbq98</font>
I agree with shelled. At this stage, they still turn their heads in search of nipple. Its an instinct. My baby too likes to put his hands between by breast and his face so tends to push away but actually, they cannot control their movements much now. My CL actually taught me to swaddle the baby while bf. However, sometimes, its too hot and I prefer to remove the swaddle. In that case, like shelled, I will "kiap" the arm nearer my face between mine and her stomach. The other arm, I'll kiap below my arm. As for the turning, each time she unlatches, I just need to hold her head and shove her mouth into the breast. Get the picture?

When baby is satisfied, she will stop that head turning and tongue sticking out action after unlatching. Especially when she is awake and is not turning in search of breast.

<font color="aa00aa">shelled</font>
guess our toddlers have pretty similar temperaments. Mine will purposely do the thing which I tell him not to. I guess he is trying to get attention. Gosh, stoppering the sink in the middle of the night?!! I'm also paranoid that my toddler will run out of his room in the middle of the night and go to the balcony or get into some other kind of trouble. That's why until now I still sleep with him after we moved him to his own room. He got too active to share bed with hubby and me.

<font face="kristen itc"><font color="#FF6666">sheryn...</font>

hurhur... i alr started to shower n wash hair the very day i went home from hospital.. cannot tahan liao.. but of cos i gotta use herb water n the confinement shower gel n shampoo that i bot earlier on.. aft bathe still sweat like pig.. but better than nothing la.. :p</font>

<font face="kristen itc"><font color="#FF6666">mamato6...</font>

just recalled that i wanted to reply u the other day.. type halfway then go attend to my gal, then hb see liao just close the browser.. he wanted me to rest then just closed everything.. haiz..

okie.. will not pressure all u mummies here.. hence, will not mention how much i'm expressing now. i guess we dun have to compare the amt of BM we can produce la.. just do ur best lo. at the beginning is tough n painful de.. just persevere ok? JIAYOU!

Sheryn, princess
wow u all really can tahan not bathing ar? i bathe the very day i delivered lor in the hospital. Even wash hair. then after discharged, my mum will ask me to clean myself 2x a day, i close the toilet door and showered lo.. haha then abt 2-3 days i will wash hair once. Then today is Day 12 and my mum says i can officially wash hair.. but need to boil this boil that. i say no need lah so troublesome, then i take my clothes and go into toilet to bathe... lol... i'm the rebellious type lor, nv listen to thse old folks tales. i even secretly drink plain water lor.. so thirsty cannot only rely on the longan red date drink :p