(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

guessed most of us are now coping with our babies le.. 30 mommies popped.. So its the "Not Getting Enuff Sleep" stage (again for some).

Jenifur>

sorry can amend my BB LT from 43 to 48 instead? saw wrongly on my card.. 3 & 8 looks sama sama.. thanks!!

Michelle>

the pain in the stomach i also kena.. cos C-sec i thk will hv alot of wind enter.. damn painful right? I asked my gynae to increase my dosage for painkillers thrice before i discharged.. but its only for like the 1st 3 days then damn painful.. when the gas like push the uterine or wat.. but now i'm ok le.. but my stupid legs now then like water retention or wat.. whole legs swollen.. doc ask me to observe for these two days n try to eleviate them by putting a pillow under it.. if i feel breathless at the same time.. then hv to see him tmr lo.. =)

BFing>

I hv probs with my nipple which i din noe.. so now hv prob bfing my ger.. then last min hv to go buy Medela Mini Electric Plus at Kiddy Palace then hv to gudlat to pump n pump.. started out both side only add up to 20ml.. then now slowly both side add up to 50 ml.. guessed my milk supply only came in ytd bah.. so far its formula n bm lo.. no choice.. anyone can guide me more on this?

Hi Jen,

kindly update for me, thanks

BB name: Darius Pang
Weight: 3.175kg
Length: 52cm
Delivery: 1st Sept 2009
Method: Emergercy C-sec w epi

Reali exhausted...this is my birth story.
on 31 Aug, went to my gynae apptment at 10am, i was oni 1 cm dilated..gynae acked to choose a date if i cant deliver on my edd.I wanted to waited till 7 sept but Hb impatient liao so we decide on the 1 sept instead..
3pm - admitted to hos to induce...
9:30pm - oni 3 cm dilated, gynae burst my water bag, slowly can feel the contraction
10pm - contraction kick in at every 5 mins interve, asked for the laughing gas
1 sept
2am - oni 5 cm dilated. Cannot tahan the pain anymore asked for epi.

3am - 8 cm dilated
4:30am - 9 cm dilated but bb heartbeat slow down. Midwife said bb is abit stress, checked the amino fluid to see any change in the color to ensure the bb. Hb and me vy worry...keeps on praying
5:30am - midwife said back to 6 cm dilated (i was wondering how come??)Dont have strong contractions. I may need to go for c-sec.
6:20am - gynae checked, 9 cm dilated again but bb is geting distress. gynae said wait for another hr and c how.

7:20 - push for the emergercy c-sec
After the ops, gynae told me my pelvin hole is too small for bb head to go thru cos when he was born, there was a big lump on his head..
But reali glad bb is doing well.
Now the oni pain i feel is the wound and the breasts...reali hated the engorment...

Hope all the mummies who had deivered do take care and hv a speedy recovery...

Hi Shelled,

My nipples are reali vy sore..n one of them bleed..startg i did do it vy well..now slowly get the hang of it.

C-sec hv to wait for how long then i can ask for post-natal massage?

*stephanie*
wah nice to know another mommy having her 4th kid like me

last time i never encountered any complication at all, bt tis time round i did n it really caught me off guard...every pregnancy is different...last time u may haf encountered such, bt who knows tis time round u will be lucky enuf to get away wif it???? fret not...

Good luck to u
hoping a short and smooth delivery for u!!

*sheryn*
My bb oso on both bm and fm...i lazy mother la...if i don't rest well nw, i don't think i can managed a household of 4kiddy after confinement...

other than the 1st night after i was back home, didn't sleep well coz need to express milk to relieve my badly engorged breasts, yesterday nite manged to sleep fr 2am til 8am tis morning...at least can sleep for a full 6hrs...slept 2am coz was expressing milk....

managed to run thru the thread fast when back home bt may haf missed out something, saw tat u were admitted same day as me?? 1st sept?? anyway me 4 bedded de...

RE: HOSPITAL SERVICE
saw many mommies complained abt the svc of TCM, bt for all my deliveries at Mt A, even if their svs isn't excellent, IT IS GOOD! when i was having the heavy bleeding, i really make a MESS...my blood even stain the stocking of a nurse...the bed, the floor, the toilet and myself are in such a MESS, i was feeling bad abt it, bt the nurses actually assured me tat it is alright, no prob and asked me nt to worry abt the mess...and they cleaned my down there so often until the bleeding has stabilized and nt creating big mess liao...

and they are really pro BF oso...

and i can say they are fast to re-act for my every request...

Hi girly n shern,

i was at Mt A too since 31 Aug.i was discharged on 4 Sept at 2 bedded. I reali like the service over there, all the nurses r great n they r reali pro BF , all the nurses will assist u at every bb feedings. After my ops, the bb was bought to me 1.5-2 hrs later cos im on c-section if not they will bring ur bb to u less than 1 hr.
And oso received alot of free gifts...will be there again for 2nd one...

so sianz, now confinement, my mom everyday make me drink those longan water, me keep visit toilet at least 4 times a day, my backside so pain man. raghhh...

i see many mummies having having heavy bleeding after giving birth, hw cum mine like not alot de, izzit all stuck inside????

breast milk
its the 6th days, but i onli manage to pump out 10-20ml, so sianz...

Sheryn Toh,
me also c section, then the leg now machiam pig leg, so swollen.

this morn i also passed out a small clot. give me a shock when i felt jelly like stuff coming out from bottom! but other than that im ok, bleeding also lessened now.

Myfavchoco
im also drinking longan water everyday! it makes u diarrhoe? for me ok leh. plus i think i drink at least 3 litre of plain water cos breastfeeding makes me so thirsty. in fact when baby start sucking i feel the urge to drink water!

every mom is different so dun worry abt the amount of blood u have :p as long as no excessive bleeding.

till now i hv not tried pumping cos too lazy! i just latched baby all the time. btw, the amt u pump is not equivalent to the amt of milk u have. cos if u latch baby, baby is able to suck more milk out of ur boobs than any pump. in fact baby is the best pump. so dun be discouraged by the amt u able to pump out. also, some mothers milk come later some earlier.

myfavchoco
when i did my first confinement my mil also didnt let me drink plain water. i was so thirsty n dying to drink water i begged her for it in the end she relented hehe...

<font color="ff0099">puroland</font>
I didn't stop BF when J had jaundice, which was why he was yellow-ish even until full mth. Why you throw the milk away? Pump and store for future use??

<font color="ff0099">Sheryn / my favchoco</font>
Both my legs also swell very badly lah! It didn't go away until last weekend leh! So basically they were swollen for 2 weeks! Swell until my knees!! I couldn't even walk properly cos the ankles couldn't bend cos they were soooo swollen. My gynae said to watch out for unbalanced swelling. If 1 leg swell a lot more than the other, it could mean you have blood clots in 1 of your legs. So pls take note!

<font color="ff0099">Sheryn Toh</font>
For early days hor, bb really don't drink much milk. I was discharged on Tues evening, and Friday went back to gynae to remove bandages for my c-sec. I only had 1 bottle of EBM (ard 50ml, combined from both breasts) and it kept Keegan happy and full for 4 hours! I came back from gynae and was hoping to BF him so my boobs stop feeling like they're gonna explode, but he was still full from the 50ml EBM! End up I had to pump again cos really cannot tahan liao.
So don't worry, 50ml combined from both breasts is jolly fine!

I'm very curious how much I can pump out now... cos so far I only pumped 4 times. And the whole of this week I didn't pump at all. I have no idea how much milk K is drinking at all!

<font color="ff0099">berrypie</font>
Welcome back!! Congrats on the arrival of your baby.

Good to know that both you and baby are well, despite the emergency situation during your labor.

The engorgement will pass in a week or so. Try not to be overzealous with the pumping, and it should pass really quickly. Meanwhile, use cold compress to ease the pain from swelling. And BF baby often to clear out the milk. Should help.

I was so intolerant of the engorgement when I had J that I would pump and empty my boobs every 1-2 hrs, end up overstimulating and causing more milk supply! My entire engorgement period dragged past 2 weeks lor! With K, I REFUSE to pump unless necessary cos I don't want the same situation to happen again. I just latch him on whenever he's hungry, then engorgement passed in 4-5 days! Phew.

Nipples sore not a good sign leh. How sore is sore? Does it hurt when you touch them? If hurts hor, means you have to learn how to position bb properly when latching on. It's common to have some soreness during early BF days while your nipples adjust to being suckled frequently, but it shouldn't be sore until painful to be touched.

Depending on your massage lady leh. Some will do for you 2 wks after C-sec, some 3 weeks, some 1 month. You have to call your massage lady to check what's her usual practice lor. Last time with J, Mdm Khatijah started massaging me 2 wks after birth. But you must first check with your gynae that your wound area is healing well, no infection, etc. Otherwise cannot massage hor.

<font color="ff0099">myfavchoco</font>
My bleeding not heavy also leh. Was quite light when I had J also. I wonder if it's because it's c-sec and not natural birth?? I stopped wearing pad since last weekend cos started to have rash from constant pad use! I've never reacted well with pads, and have been using tampons since I was 15. But heng the bleeding is light lor, so I just stain my panties a bit here and there, then wash lor. Better than getting rash everywhere down there!

*berrypie*
i was discharged on the 4th too!

*mama to 6Js*
oh ya i haf the confinement lady with me. She take care of the bb at night. She sleeps in the same rm with bb. Me 1 rm with no3 and daddy 1 rm with no1 and 2...

thanks for sharing yr story. My EDD Is 16th Sept. But my gynea say might need to induce by 7th or 8th sept. Anyway still waitin for my labour to start naturally. As i heard induce can be very painful. I was thinking not to take epi. But seems like induce cant tahan e pain. Going to see my gynea tmr. Ill be 38weeks and 5days. Might hv to induce that very night itself. Hopefully i can endure the pain. Wonder how natural labour will be like. So far no symptoms leh...

Thanks for sharing yr BFing stories. Hmm wanted to know if want to exclusively breastfeed need to mix formula milk or not or also need to give warm water? Cos since its my 1st baby my mum say BM may not be enuf and might need to mix FM in conjuction with BM. I was thinking of breastfeeding alone for atleast 3 mths.. Havent bought any FM yet. Coz i preparing to BF....

Girlygirly,

I hope so too.. *crossing fingers now*

I thought I've always heard of TMC being service very good?
That's why I chose to deliver there this time..

Previously my experience at KKH also not bad lah.. but it was as a subsidised patient.. this time trying private hospital, hope the experience is good...

Haji Girl, My EDD also 16th Sept leh.. now just waiting to see when baby want to say Hi.. lol

Haji Girl, just remember to keep latching baby on.. I'm also determined to fully breastfeed baby that's why never prepare FM. I dun like to give FM cause dun wan baby to have nipple confusion and affect the breastfeeding routine...

As long as baby peeing and pooing normally.. and is alert and etc, that means he/she is drinking enough.

<font color="ff0099">haji Girl</font>
To BF exclusively usually means purely BF without supplementing with FM at all. There's no reason that because you're a 1st-time mom, so won't have enough milk. Have to trust that your boobies know what they're doing!
It's not necessary to give bb water, as BM is high in water content, but it won't hurt to start giving a little bit every now and then so bb gets used to the idea of drinking water. Good habit to have once they get a bit older and start on solid food. Hope this helps!

shelled
me also nver pumped since day 1 i dunno how much joseph boy is drinking! so everytime i see his nappy full of pee i get ecstatic!

Thanks shelled. Hmm will consider BF Exclusively for the first 3 months. After which will supplement with mixing FM> Worried that wont have enuf milk. Heard drinking boiled fenugreek and drinking papaya or fish soup helps produce more milk. Will try out. Am already dripping drops of milk alrdy. Sure there is enuf milk supply for my bb.

<font color="ff0099">mama to6Js</font>
Later PD ask how much is bb drinking? Then both of us have no answer.
I had to tell the PD during K's review checkup that "my boobs have no measuring units". But I really need to start storing some EBM! Otherwise I cannot sabo my hubs to take the boys! Also no need think about going out without bb. I still planning to go touch-up my tattoos leh! 2 of them are fading badly and look very ugly.

<font color="ff0099">haji Girl</font>
It does sound like you'll definitely have plenty of milk for baby! If you're able to latch bb on very well during 1st 3 mths, I'm sure you'll have plenty to pump and store for later!

Hi Jen, can help me update

ADD: 4/9/09
Wt: 3.12kg
Lt: 48cm
Name: Evelyn
Mtd: Natural w epi

will update when i'm back home, still in hospital

Shelled
my pd is a pro breastfeeding n was a breast feeder herself. so im sure she wont ask haha.. instead if u stop too early or for no apparent good reason she will nag at u hor!

next week i starting my massage so i also gotta start pumping once a day in case he gets hungry during my massage. though i sttill quite reluctant to start him on bottle.

<font color="ff0099">camomile3</font>

<font color="ff0099">mama to 6Js</font>
How come you not starting immediately? I'm trying hard to find someone who can accommodate me last minute lor. Mdm Khatijah cannot do for me cos I can only massage in the evening after hubs gets home. Then cos fasting mth, alot of them cannot do for me in the evening because they need to do prayers and break fast! Feel so stressed trying to find someone...

Shelled,

My nipples feel pain when i touch. Today is my 6th day on BF. Maybe initial stage cannot latch on properly that cause nipples to crack and bleed. But i tint now slowerly healing thou still pain n my bb suckle reali hard too...

Girly >

Yeah.. u hv to rest well now cos u hv alot more kids to handle after.. peifu u leh.. now i handle one i oredi peng san le.. when i was being pushed into the delivery suite i thot i saw ur name at one of the ds doors n ur docs name.. so i knew u were there too.. i was at 330 then 321 then 333.. u were in which ward? I thot of going to see u.. but din get ur contact no. from any of them.. asked the nurse but they not sure.. ur name isit Chia M** L***?

berrypie >
so u're also near us during those days.. I must say Mt A service is excellent.. I also will definitely go back there again shd i hv a no. 2 in future.. and i thot it was goin to be damn ex.. but it was affordable.. next time when i start workin then shd b able to prepare for a no.2 lo.. =) I also discharged on 4th SEpt eh.. was at the nursery to pick baby up at 12noon.. wat time did u pick up ur baby?

myfavchoco >

yeah.. how come our legs will swollen after c-sect? its like usually they will say closer to delivery or during pregnancy then will kena water retention.. but ours is like after delivery lo.. did u chk with ur gynae? im going to go for my post natal check tis sat.. tmr hb will be bringing ger ger to jurong polyclinic to test for jaundice.. cos PD ask us can to go to any polyclinic.. so much cheaper lo..

Drinking Plain Water >
I requested to drink water during confinement and my mum was ok to it as long as i stl drink longan water at the same time.. plus im on alot of medication now.. so take medicine tt time must drink water mah.. so stl ok for now..

Shelled >

oh..so i better observe the unbalanced swelling.. but urs two weeks then subside ar.. whoa lao.. so shd i panic if tmr swelling stl hvn go down? cos my gynae ask me if two days later stl nv subside then might hv to see him le... i better call him tmr again..

okie.. hearing tt 50ml is jolly fine makes me more secure now.. initially i tried to latch bb at the hospital.. try n try but bb dun get the nipple grip.. then cry n cry.. i was so helpless.. n felt useless lo.. for not being able to bf my ger when i wanted to so much.. then my mil they all thot i no milk supply.. so they also worried.. but pumping out also good la.. at least i noe how much i pump n how much she drank.. whether my supply got increase or not..

Haji Girl >

I am alternating BM n FM now.. cos i stl hvnt got alot of milk supply yet.. n i just started pumping ytd.. i only bought two tins of FM on the day i was discharged.. cos i thot of bfing totally.. but god noes i couldnt..

I wonder how Ling's doing now hor..

Sheryn Toh,

I be seeing my gynae tomolo, shall ask him y kanna water retention. My gynae ask ask me to observe whether"small leg"there got harden or pain anot. if yes must see him immediately.

Sheryn,

i think i pick up my bb at ard 12:15 cos went to L1 to settle my hosp bills, bb birth cert and bb bonus scheme/ co -saving all at 1 time.
I will be gg back to Mt A either on Tue or Wed to look for our PD Terence for another check up.

myfavchoco >

yeah.. thank you so much!! ur small leg got pain? mine sometimes feel tight then ankle there will aching..

berrypie >

oh.. i was at the lobby area at tt time just leaving i thk.. c-sec for me alot of ppl tell me cannot eat chicken cos its surgery wound.. might itch.. then cannot take anythg with dark soya sauce.. later the scar will be very dark.. n the usual seafood cannot eat lor.. chicken essence also cannot.. so now i only eatin fish n veggies.. n pork mee suah.. then drink milo eat crackers biscuits, longan tea and plain water..

I'm also alternating FM &amp; BM... Will latch my boy 2-3 times a day still... the rest I will pump out every 4-5hrs... cuz 2-3hrs still not enuff BM to feed my boy... he needs like 80-100mls every feed... If I latch him every feed he every feed also not full... very stressful... so I decide to alternate FM &amp; BM...

It's good to standby one FM first cuz initially I also tot I could total BF... but end up the 4th nite, no matter how long I BF, baby still not full... my poor hubby got to rush to jurong pt 24hrs NTUC in the middle of the nite to get FM... Lolx...

I also got a big blood clot drop out today when passing urine... around 10cm... got more blood came out after eating my mum's Black vinegar pig's trotters...

Hi to all mommies,
seems like now the thread is talking abt delivery, BF &amp; cnfinement which i cant take part much for now. hahah... its ok. i got 1 question to ask. Should i get a dual pump? be it medela or ameda. cos i have a single electric pump (Farlin) that was given by my friend le. dunno is it good or not.

*sheryn*

hahaha...ya tat's me! obiang name, hw come u know arh? i was at ward 327. me discharged around 12pm too on 4th sept.

Hi all mummies out there

Anyone who had piles and given birth via normal delivery? Pls share your experience and how bad the piles became after delivery?

I had piles all along and it became very bad and painful esp after poopoo even without any straining during my last tri! It became like a bunch of grapes as many of them surrounding the anus (sorry i know its disgusting but its the best illustration I can think of). I am so worried that by natural birth it will be super big as need a lot of pushing!

Anyone choose c section becos of this reason? Can anyone whom had same experience as me pls share. Thanks.

Hello all mummy &amp; MTB,
Please update for me e details as follows:-

BB# : 1
EDD : 12-sept-09
BB's Gender : Prince
Gynae : Roger Heng K M
Hospital : ESH

<font color="aa00aa">sarah</font>
You wanna invest in dual pump? :)
I only bought the single one leh. Cos the dual pump really very expensive! Heee... I think you can still continue to post any queries.. the mummies here very helpful one.. sure reply you! :)

<font color="aa00aa">xueli</font>
As your baby grows towards the end of pregnancy, the shape of your uterus, your liver and intestines encourage your baby's presenting part (usually head, but sometimes bottom) to dip down into the pelvic cavity.

You read more from here...
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/whenheadengage/

I don't know how to link leh. LOL! :)

You have msn?? YOu pm me ur msn address lor.

THink for Roger Heng's patient, he will tell you baby now at 10% or 30% bah... so if 30% means engaged liao lor..

hi, Acneery Gal,
my piles condition worsen last mon. doc gave me medicine to make my stools softer. i controlled my own diet. no fried food. ate porriage. drink more water. til now my piles still bleeding. very fortunate tt the gynae gave me 9 days MC for bed rest. i totally cannot walk &amp; sit properly. only can lie down 1 side. the ointment tt i apply everyday does not seems to work anymore.
now the worst thing is i jus got diagnose got diabetes. tmr going to see gynae. wat i am afraid is to check glucose level everyday which means taking blood test every meal. ;<

now already 37 weeks kena such things.

princessxiaomei,
ya agreed. all mom here are helpful thats why i din stop myself to ask question.
Thanks. So do u think i should get a new 1? Farlin brand ok or not?

Hi Sarah

I'm a first time mummy &amp; have yet to use my breastpump cos i have yet to deliver.

i think getting dual or single pump also depends on ur needs &amp; usage.

for me, i intend to express out after i go back to work, so i bought a dual electric pump (ameda lactaline) cos dual electric pumps will be faster &amp; more efficient than single pump.

for medela, heard tt pump in style is good. for ameda, u can consider ameda lactaline.

Xiaowei,
i intend to continue BF after go back to work also. I think will invest on the dual pump. Thanks. Does yours comes with cooler bag?

<font color="aa00aa">sarah</font>
Not sure if that brand of pump is good or not cos i never use before. LOLS. But usually i hear people recommending Medela, Avent, Pigeon.

Princessxiaomei,
my visit is on sat, currently waiting see if baby come out this few day if not see u next sat.. Tat's wat he said.. Hee...