(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Haystack, that's a short labour too. Even shorter than mine. Hee. Was the contraction very bad? I think some nurses deliberately lower the dosage so that mums know when and how to push.

Babylet, its ok not to know about pregnancy stuff previously. Now that you are pregnant, can start to learn about it! As a second-time mum, personally, I would advise that you focus on topics like delivery, breastfeeding and emotional well-being. And oh yes, spend lotsa time with your hubby now =)

lilac
ya... very bad till i kept crying in the labour ward. the nurse still tell me not to cry and reserve my energy for pushing. i don't think they lower the dosage. it just did not went into the "correct" position. cos when the moment my gynae came and bring up my legs to push, i can feel the total numbness.

babylet, it's impt start to learn now esp breastfeeding if you want. for me, i encountered alot of problem on breastfeeding. i think i need to relearn this again too.

haystack, oh dear. That's bad. I mean with epidural, its still hurts, then no point having it hor? Perhaps you can try without epidural this time round? Yes, breastfeeding for me was difficult too. I hope it will be easier this time round!

haystack

Issit bcoz u started too late? Some pple tell me cannot wait too long to start. Just like period cramps, I find that if I take the Panadol after the pain becomes unberable, then they take very very long to work.

How to learn abt breastfeeding now??? No breastmilk yet mah.

lilac

I think maybe I shd go library & borrow some preg bks to educate myself. The gd thing abt being clueless is that I am a sponge & can absorb a lot of education (I hope haha)

My mum said that now the nurses put a lot of pressure on the new mothers. Just a few hrs after delivery, they press the mums to BF. Mum says just after delivery where got milk? Is this true?

babylet,

haha... of cos no milk now lah.. just read up more on breastfeeding.

i started on epidural very early. just before i feel any contraction. and the best part, i had the side effects of epidural

haystack
i struggle badly on breastfeeding for my #1. SO stress , very little milk. End up i give up. Give formula. This time, think i don't care liao. Have , have lor. Don't have just give formula. Sorry to those mummies that are pro breastfeeding. But i really want to enjoy being a 2nd time mum rather than being so up tight about whether it a must or not hehe

hui chern

I'm sure it's a personal choice. Actually for all u know, it was bcoz u were so stressed that's why no milk.

hui chern, i can fully understand your feeling.

babylet, yah... epidural can have side effects on some pple. for me, i shivered badly after i gave birth and having high fever throughout the night.

haystack

Really???? Issit there any long term effects like backache, weak health or something? I aws tot epidural ws one of the greatest inventions leh.

haystack, babylet,

it is very normal to be shivering after taking epidural, same for me too, I was c-sec so have to use epi, shivering non stop for few hours, but not everyone will have side effect like backache or weak health lor, for me im ok so far

hui chern,
I agree with you, wont be stress on BF anymore, was struggling and suffering. of coz if i can have alot of milk like some other mummies i will still prefer to give breastmilk to my baby, but this is depend on luck, some mummies naturally will have alot of milk that make the BF much easier, but some not so much that make it so difficult and baby was not full after BF
so i will just take it easy la this time.

feire
So this is bb #??? Yah, last time after birth the lactation consultant keep stressing me about breastfeeding. So fed up plus i got complications after #1 dd was born. I wish that time i can just tell her to leave me alone.

haystack
You shivers after epi ? Me didn't use epi for #1 thinking to use it this time haha. Cos my frd she took and she was so relax during birth can even talk on the phone.

hui chern
This is my 2nd baby, I did tried my best and wanted so much to total BF my 1st baby, but just not enough milk, im so envy some of my friend can have non stop milk flow that they can have extra to keep in fridge, i guess is depend on individual and luck, if dont have dont have to stress about it la, after delivery already so depressed.

feire
True, totally agreed & understand how you feel. Me too having my #2 haha. Like my frd she don't even need to latch on , she just pump and has a lots liao

Jul 04
Wow, yr frd still can eat. Can eat during labour meh, won't the poo poo haha come out during pushing. Me totally didn't eat liao , too painfully liao

after delivery, latching your bb on will help to stimulate milkflow and in the first 2-3 days it's normal to have thick yellowish drops coming out when you massage your breast. This is colostrum and contains a lot of good stuff for bb including antibodies.

During the first few days, bb will not actually experience hunger, so it's ok that you're not gushing like a cow when you bf. (This was told to me by a lactation consultant during #1 after i went home coz so stressed with little milk and pressure from mil to give fm
) Continue to latch and pump to tell your body to make more milk. But wanna make milk must have input lor, so must eat and drink and rest. Dun stress. If really cannot, then do what's best for mummy and baby, give fm
I had v different bfing experiences for both #1 and #2, enuff for #1, not enuff for #2. In the end for #2, by day 7 I relaxed and gave her FM and desperately pumping every 2 hrs. Very tiring and subsequently I only managed to bf totally for only 3 mths or so. After that it was half and half and by 6mths she was taking fm almost 100%. I'm quite sad abt it and feel that it has affected my bond with her and her health. But that's just my girl. Every baby will be different. My 2 cents worth on bfing

was csec with epi for both of them. epi side effect for me is giddiness and nausea. But effective in terms of numbing the pain.

jul04> haha.. i guessed so... so rach is easier..

Yah.. but what to do.. ur doc's clinic is there.. so u have to bear with it.. bring some books to read... or is there anything to eat there? hehe...

haha... i guess better not to ask mums... my fren's SIL found out she's pregnant and went to ask her mum the symptoms...
before that..she had no symptoms at all.. after she asked...all the symptoms came.. hahaha..

ignorance is bliss i guess in this sense... ;)

5 hours is possible.. i think Hui Chern had 6 hours for her #1.. gotta check with her again..

wah.. talking abt my mum.. i know when she had me.. she went to hospital at midnite... till morning still cannot.. then realised my head is still up..
so she had a c-section in the morning at 10am... hahahhaha.. i was naughty....

i hope i dun have this man...

you dun learn practically for BF. but read up.. on how to prepare ur nips... ur body... to produce milk (not sure how true that is though..), the difficulties that comes with it..
so that when we are doing it.. we know that its like that... we are not the only lousy ones... hahaha...

i think the milk comes slowly.. the initial liquid that comes out are supposed to be very good for the bb... some yellow liquid or what.. i cant rem..
then slowly more will come as the demand is required. but it differs from person to person....

put into the bottle.. no bonding with ur bb loh... then not much diff to bb..except that the nutrients is still there la..
putting in bottle allows u to know how much has been consumed too... direct we wont actually know how much bb has drunk.. and we prob gotta BF more often.. :p

but i do heard we can take certain food and do certain exercise on our boobies to produce more milk.. dunno true or not? :p

momo> hahaha.. i'm not so health conscious yet.. Mmm.. i'm too used to eating 1-2 meals a day...
now i try to be more conscious to eat.... i dun even know if i'm hungry or not.. when time's up. i tell myself its time to eat! haha...

I guess a wholemeal sandwich with milk will be nice for tea break..

claire> 31 Aug?????????????????????????????? its already 5 months since u last preggie??????

Chern> Nope.. only nausea feeling sometimes.. at nite will tend to have headache and a little giddy. but that's all..
hope it maintains that way..

yah.. $500 till give birth.. and its from 12 weeks onwards..

yah. when i had full dinner.. i will feel sooo uncomfortable loh..

I havent been sleeping well man..... tossing and tossing.. DH gotta toss with me.. hahaha..
he havent been sleeping well too. coz i toss too much...
and i've been more light sleeper now.... i dun use to hear his snoring... now it bothers me...

Anyone experience this???

lilac> i think alot of reading on breastfeeding has to be done beforehand...and we gotta prepare outr body too...
so that it'll be easier... intial BF is not easy.. i heard from many frens.. alot of patience needed too...
else will tend to give up...

those i see succeed are really those who persevere on..and were well prepared....

those that know a bit here and there.. and impatient. tends to give up after a while...

pray that i can be patient too.. haha..

jeslyn

Yeah, I got duphaston from my gynae. 1 tablet every am.

hui chern

I dunno man. Maybe she was very hungry and no energy to push so gotta eat something???

liliac, haystack: hi hi... My 1st little in contrast to you guys was so long. Pain since midnight. Went to hospital at 5AM. Had epidural at 7AM, then by 8AM dilated 7cm. So I thought will be damn fast. Then the rest of the 3 cm took forever, cos my baby's head although down, his face was facing the birth canal. I was stuck in the labour ward until he was delivered at 7:01PM. My hubby had bf, lunch and dinner and I ate nothing throughout. Damn cham lor. That's y I think abt 2nd one, feel damn scared.

Re: breastfeeding
I am very pro breastfeeding too. I remember I had no milk to feed baby in the hospital. Then by 2nd day, baby was crying really bad. So no choice, give in to the elders' naggin and feed FM for a few days. Then after that I TBF him until he is 10 months. But I am also a control freak and hate the messiness of latching. So after trial an error, I liked the idea of latching him for once every morning and then the rest all bottle feeds, so that I can monitor how much exactly to feed. Cos my MIL keeps askg me to feed whenever baby cries. Then later no choice, had to give pacifier. Better give pacifier than overfeeding.

For those who are 1st time MTB, try reading Gina Ford's book. Her concept on training baby on a routine is very helpful and workable. But of course, you have to stick to it and make changes only according to baby's needs and not nagging by parents. I havnt read it myself but have practised it from 3 months onwards after hearing from friends how good it is. She provides a timing for your baby's routine at each stage, which you can fine tune. Basic concepts are:
- let baby remain engaged in the day, so that baby will sleep at night (in her routine, bb is to sleep from 7pm to 7am, but of course, ard 10pm, u wake bb up for dream feed). This also teaches baby night time is for sleeping and not for feeding
- let baby feed as much in the day, so that he will not need to feed so much at night
- train bb on routine so that they know what to expect and this makes life much much better for us as adults too.

I regret trying this too late. but think abt it, 1st 3 mths with ILs, very difficult, cos when baby wake up at night crying, MIL knock on my door. I feel stressed by her than the baby. But after I trained Matt, i feel more sane. He is happier and I m happier. Knowing his routine makes going out with him easier. I always feed him and change diapers then go out. And I bring absolutely nothing, if I know I am going to be back before next feed. Matt slept throughout the nites since 3 months. Now he is 14 months. Definitely makes my life easier as a working mother.

rach

The last time my hubby went with me. I think 2nd appt he will also go with me. But TMC like nothing much to eat. Aiyoh.. will be so bored again.

I also got this lighter sleeper feeling. Actually I was already a light sleeper. Now, I get even more disturbed. Plus need to get up once, sometimes twice to pee. Irritating leh. Last nite I din drink any water b4 bed, also cut down after dinner, but still had to get up at 4am! Arrrgghh!

claire

Thanks for sharing on ur BF experience. Wah I feel like I'm studying for pregnancy & childcare PhD or something. Everyday got new things to learn.

raincloud, I am really sorry to hear that. Although I still don't know who u are (and u will prob not let me know, but it's ok), do take care. Do PM me if u need some advice. I actually had a chemical pregnancy before in June 2007, so I totally understand how you feel. Do take care.

jul04: Contraction started ard midnight. Then as usual, gynae will give u advise to try to monitor the time between contractions and only go to the hospital when contractions become more freq (I forget what duration now!). So I ren lor. Then actually wanted to wait for midnight charge to be over then take cab, but so pain, cannot wait alreayd, so went at 5AM. When I went, there was one woman in labour with epidural, she yelled so loud, I was so terrified by her and confirmed my decision on taking epidural haha. Then after epidural at 7AM, labour only ended at 7PM. Then I couldnt move for a few days after that cos down there so sore, not that gynae stitching not good. In fact, the nurse told me, if it was another gynae, he would ask me to go for Emergency C section str away, instead of waiting and still trying.

it's the contented little baby book by gina ford. She wrote a number of books. Here's some titles from Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=gina+ford

My experience is, I think hv to have to determination to stick to this program, which prob tend to be difficult with parents and ILs ard. But it's definitely a gd program to put the baby on.

wah lau...i juz bought a stick of apples to eat and aft the 2nd bite, i alr feel veri nausea!! cant even finish the whole stick...waste money...

tinkabel

U can hear other pple screaming in pain? Not one person one ward or something?

Thanks for the link. I'll go take a look this evening. Yeah, I'm kinda worried that my MIL will interfere. My mum prob wun coz she's working, & she's more modern & she doesn't live with me.

If my MIL does do confinement for me, then I may face these interferences liao. Sigh, cannot decide how to do my confinement.

jeslyn

Bobian. I find myself like this too. Buy something, take one bite, dun like the taste, then dun want liao. Babylet very fussy.

tinkabel> wah.. routine sounds bery nice..

Makes everyone happier. i guess the difficult thing is when they cry and we dont know what they want.. hee...

thanks for the book recommendation... so many books to be reading on now.. will read that in the last trimester i guess.. hehe..

jul04> yah.. i've been getting up to pee so very often.. esp before going to bed.. i'll be like going every 1/2 hour.. haha...

rach

Seriously is there something we can do so that we dun get up to pee, & can get an undisturbed nite's sleep?

jul> i guess just drink lesser.. and i read tat cranberry juice helps.. i dunno what kind though..
hahha..

But its good that we are peeing.. coz our system is filtering the nutrients to our little one...and the waste are sent back to us.... and its filtered out of our body via waste.... ie. pee.. heheh..

learnt it through "in the womb" as well...

those who have yet to see it should see it..

www.youtube.com > search for "in the womb"

its really informative...

rach

Cranberry juice helps? I tot it's just for UTI? But my GP told me that cranberry juice is very very yucky to drink. Nvr tried tho.

Oh yeah hor, my hubby hasn't found the In the Womb for me yet. I told him to find it for me. I shall remind him again tonite hahaha.

Update about my ms. I went to the gp yesterday, she asked how many days mc I need. Silly me, I just said 1 day. Anyway, I've decided to quit so rather do it fast. She prescribe 'dimenhydrinate' to help relief my ms. I puke my breakfast and lunch yesterday and today.

Babylet_Got_Heartbeat (jul_04) > Stangely, I also feel cold and weak now in my first trimester. Not sure if its normal or not...

Forgot to add. As i think my ms is quite bad, all food smell and images of food really puts me off. I even hate the taste of plain water.

However, I realise that 100 plus or any isotonic drink makes me feel better. I'm able to drink 100 plus without feeling sick. And I just realise that 100 plus contains salt and glucose to prevent mummies suffering from ms to become dehydrated.

rach
31 aug 09 is the EDD i got from online preg calculator when I key in my last mentrual period. actually, thinking abt it, last time i was preggy also in aug 08, but not successful then. Now have been blessed with another baby and praying hard all will be well.

rach & jul 04
cranberry juice just taste sour lor. Can always buy & try lah

I quite a light sleeper by nature but now preggy light sound will wake me up. Then i can't go back to sleep liao.hehe

I seems to crave for lime juice more this days. I hate the yucky after taste in my mouth. Make me nausea. I'm always hungry...

Btw, my #1 is induced & labour is 6hrs

jul> i always love Marigold cranberry.. but it comes with other fruits la.. i dunno where to get pure cranberry...

Claire> ooh... okok.. EDD... i tot LMP.. i think u wrote LMP is 31 Aug.. hehehe.. :p

Chern> Dr advised to take lukewarm water.. try to avoid anything cold.... can take lime juice meh??? i dun really dare to take anything cold... but was thinking.. fruit juices all cold de leh.. those packet soya milk also cold...

hahaa.. how ah?? can still take rite? hehhe.. i try to leave it a while before i drink la..

rach
oops, think i type too fast

cold stuff i still take, but not as much as before, and like u, i try to get it not so cold first.

went to see gyne yesterday. and had a blood test done to check my hormone level. Sigh.. so sad that its low.. even lower then my 1st pregnancy. last time gotta had 1 injection every week till bb is 12 weeks, and this time 2 injection a week till bb is 12 weeks. Really pray hard everything will go smoothly for this pregnancy...

haystack,

I oso not sure. My first pregnancy, it ended with a miscarriage. So when i'm pregnant again, i change another gyne and he took blood test to check my hormone level. And the result is out and its too low and could'nt support my pregnancy (maybe thats y i had a m/c for the first one) and after 12 weeks of injection, the bb dun really need the hormone (so call progestrone i hope i spelt correctly, gotta double confirm) and our food intake aka nutrition, placenta is more important. and i gave birth to a healthy girl. So this time pregnancy, my gyne check again. aiyo lagi worst. need 2x a week and 3 times a day duphaston. faintz very siong ah...

claire,

yeah jia you! I gotta endure the injection pain!

enxuan

Seems like it's normal to feel cold in the first trimester. I think no need to worry lah. It's good that you've decided abt your job. Now u can concentrate on the pregnancy rather than worrying abt whether u shd quit or not

hui chern

What is induced labour?

rach

I still drink cold stuff leh. Things like soft drinks, cold soy milk etc.

crystalz

I also had m/c b4, so gynae gave me progesterone tablet to take. But only 1 tablet each morning. She din take blood test or anything. Are u spotting?

rach

Er...i hate warm water, make me what to puke. Hot water still ok. But got choice i like cold water hehe guilty me

Why cannot drink cold water. Me just avoid too liang beverages lor