(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Pegsfur, totally salute your perseverance. I was only able to pump 70/80ml max . so still only feed him for 1st 2 weeks only at night feed FM. After his feed increase to 120ml , it got too depressing for me so i decided to stop. My sanity was more important :p Worse part is my boobs were super leaky. need to change 2 breast pad per day !

sharon
tats a gd idea.she is an expert in sling
yupz gng. u gng wif ur bb & hubby??

jul
agree agree!!!own bed own hse is the best wan do wat or eat wat oso can.

reira
emmm got to check out le.. hope got my place here.
i wanna go the gatherin oso.can help me add??i donno how.
sandydee+jewelle

BabyS
i oso cook halfway she will cry need carry her & cook so dangerous & ma fun. so i change to eat cup noodle. let it cook itself.

Pegsfur
i givin FM oso face these pro. den my bb god grandmum teach me aft shakin open cap to release the air. when no bubble den gif

piggytoh

don know leh..
he eat finished liao also don wan to sleep wor..

3rd day liao leh and making me worried tat he don sleep.
maybe i should increase the milk supply and let him drink see he got sleep or not.

im seeing hw is he tml.

Sbb,
Dun worry la sometime they r like tt .. Tt time my bb like tt for 3 day be4 back to norm wor.. Ya u can try to increase the milk n see how ..

i have an unopened tin of mamex step 1 1.5kg tin expiring feb 2011 for sale @ $53, self collect buangkok mrt. selling as my son is changing to step 2. interested pm me, tks.

i think my boy sleep too much. he sleeps for almost 20 hrs everyday! last time still got awake for many hrs but now after milk he will zzz if i dont move him. just now after finishing his milk, his eyes was wide open but didnt make any noise so i went to do other stuffs. when i got back to the room 10 mins later, he already in lala land. day time he sleep, night time he also sleep but longer.

jul
yup both neogarden and food empire tingkat for 2 pax is of same price. actually neogarden is cheaper cos the rice is only $5 per person.

i bought a farlin teat puncher for $7.90 from kiddypalace incase next time need to punch hole in teats.

kyrie
i didnt buy bigger bottle to pump. when i pump i always take out 3 bottles. medela 150ml can store 200ml if totally fill it up.

tinkabel
yeah, i tried to latch on one side but problem is the side i latch on is the left side that can only produce 150ml. i read that if we dont switch side hor, it is bad for baby's eyes development or something. thats why have to balance both side. so now i have to pump to get rid of some foremilk before latch him on my right. else he will have this foremilk/hindmilk imbalance.

sbb
Zachary only make "eh eh" sound for maybe 2 - 3 "eh eh" in the middle of the night and he will start to cry. during the day he will wake up and make "=(" face then start crying.

BabyS
for the milk blister, is it in the middle of your nipple?

Pris
the pet pet M size price went up, is it the $16.80 for 84 pieces instead of $13.80 for 70 pieces @ NTUC? I found out there is a BP here selling a pack @ $13 for 70 pieces. I am currently waiting for NTUC babyfair (shizuka told me it happen every 3 mths) to buy them in bulk!

Sandy
is Jewelle & your hubby coming?

sharon
i tried both fruit & peppermint MIM tea. i prefer the peppermint one and didnt add any sugar inside. i think it does help for me cos i drank it during period and my supply is still normal. heard that supply will decrease a lot when having period.

my hubby should be coming. when is the last day to confirm?

31st OCTOBER gathering

venue~ babymaking (sembawang mins from mrt )

time ~ 12pm oki???? but try nt to be late la if not diff to take pixs le....cos maybe some hv other programmes may wanna go off 1st???? try la hor :)

Food~take outs ( pizza hut etc ) or cathering

Drinks ~ babymaking will go buy n we chip in????

suggestions

1) weishy ( Nonya food ~ teck neo $5 min must order $150 so we need 30 pax :p )
2) Reira (ok with weishy's suggestion & chip in for the drinks)
3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)
10)Sbb ( eat 1st then come over)

Participants

1) weishy + HAyley + helper ( Lucas )
2) Reira + Hubby (Zachary) - Tentative
3) Priscilla ( Kai & Ray) - Tentative
4) *michele* (Chace) + Hubby
5) Janice + Hubby + Baby Ethan - Tentative
6) Nicole + Jania - tentative
7) sharon (ryan) - tentative
8) Regg (Regan)
9) Peg + Hubby (Claira) - tentative
10) Happi (Rayes) - tentative
11) babymaking + zachary + hubby + maid
12) Sbb
13) Sandy Dee

20 participants so far. hopefully calculate correctly. excluding baby cos they cant eat mee siam yet!

Got very bad engorgement 2days and got recommendations frm many mummies in this thread who had Mdm Rokiah service. This is the 2nd times I'm using her service and 2day is worse than the 1st times.My breast harden very badly. She able to help me when I call her although she is on hariraya visting with her family. She came at 11pm and ended abt 1hr 20 mins and by then my breast was so soft and I feel very happy with her service. Last week went to KKH as got block again and I find that they are gd in theory but not practical. For 2hrs they try to squeeze my breast super painful but not even a drop my mild came out. When I had my session with Mdm Rokiah, I find she is more professional with her job. Now I keep recommending my fren to her for blockducts service, as a new mummies I find that we really need someone like her that really support us breastfeeding.

isabella
the 2nd time you got engorgement and couldnt clear the milk by pumping/latch, is it few days after giving birth or few weeks after? i am thinking of engaging mdm rokiah's service again cos i am afraid there are blocked ducts.

I complained too soon about baby sleeping too much. Today struggled with her from 8pm to 2am before she finally sleep.

Also dun know what's wrong, she keeps crying non-stop and now the volume super loud! Carry her, rock her, swaddle her, on hair dryer also dun work for long. When she manages to sleep, she'll suddendly wake up like in state of shock and cry again... Back totally aching from leaning over cot to put my one hand on her chest and the other to pat her to sleep.

Going to ke siao liao. Now up pumping...

pegsfur, babys

what pump r u using? dun give up k? i also started with a miserly 30ml ard week3, when bb shd be drinking 60ml. slowly n painfully worked my way up.

i'm on my 3rd bottle of fenugreek liao! n i went to parentcraft 5 times! wong boh boi knows me personally liao

in fact, i went into the blues for abt 3 weeks+ of my confinement due to bf woes. cried everyday during weeks 2-3 lor!

nicole, babys

at least ur bbs latch! sam gets really angry n screams coz the milk is so slow

babys

i used to pray everytime while latching sam too! will pray so hard that he wun struggle, will be willing to suckle, wun scream till face turns red!

pumping time!

congrates babys!your ss is coming. Just keep on latching and pumping. I find that helps to increase ss.

31st OCTOBER gathering

time ~ 12pm oki???? but try nt to be late la if not diff to take pixs le....cos maybe some hv other programmes may wanna go off 1st???? try la hor :)

suggestions

3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)

Participants

8) Regg (Regan)
12) Sbb
13) Sandy Dee
14) phy_o + hb + megan + myra

22 participants so far. hopefully calculate correctly. excluding baby cos they cant eat mee siam yet!

i suggest we bring bumper playmaps to the person's house so tat all the babies can lie on the map. else takes up a lot of space.

I can bring mine.

joia
is your girl having colic? so far Zachary is colic-free. everytime he cry sure is milk or diaper. hope he will continue to be this way.

jul
wow! you went to parentcraft 5 times! went there for help regarding latch on?

phy*o*
what is a bumper playmaps?

sandy
ok.

31st OCTOBER gathering

suggestions

3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)

Participants

2) Reira + Hubby ( Zachary ) - Tentative
8) Regg (Regan)
12) Sbb
13) Sandy Dee ( Jewelle )

reira

yeah lor! first time engorgement, 2nd time sleepy bb, 3rd time struggling bb, 4th n 5th times for re-training on latch on.

Good mrng mummies,

Woke up at 6.30am to pump & preparing to go out bringing my gal to hwaxia later.

Attends one of my good fren yest night & the couple so sweet, bot all the guests raffles hotel's snow skin mooncakes..it's sooo yummy

I'm so happy tat my gal has been sleeping thru the night in the past 5days...though she sleep late like 11pm+ but her last feed usually ard 10pm+ but she can sleep thru the night till 6-8am. So far we has put her to sleep on tummy at night mayb u gals wanna to try on your babies as well.

I will put my attendance as tentative cos cant confirm as tis point.

31st OCTOBER gathering

suggestions

3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)

Participants

2) Reira + Hubby ( Zachary ) - Tentative
8) Regg (Regan)
12) Sbb
13) Sandy Dee ( Jewelle )
15) donkeymami (Jovia) - tentative

Reira, now NTUC is selling the M84 for $18.15 used to be $16.80.

<font color="ff0000">31st OCTOBER gathering</font>

suggestions

2) Reira (ok with weishy's suggestion &amp; chip in for the drinks)
3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)

Participants

3) Priscilla ( Kai &amp; Ray) - Tentative
8) Regg (Regan)
12) Sbb
13) Sandy Dee
15) donkeymami (Jovia) - tentative

18 or 19 adultz participants so far. hopefully calculate correctly. excluding baby and children cos they cant eat mee siam yet!

<font color="red">31st OCTOBER gathering</font>

suggestions

3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)

Participants

4) Janice + Hubby + Baby Ethan - Tentative
5) Nicole + Jania - tentative
6) sharon (ryan) - tentative
7) Regg (Regan)
8) Peg + Hubby (Claira) - tentative
9) Happi (Rayes) - tentative
10) babymaking + zachary + hubby + maid
11) Sbb
12) Sandy Dee
13) phy_o + hb + megan + myra
14) donkeymami (Jovia) - tentative

removing my name coz hubby works half day on sat - by the time he come back and pick us, the party will be over!

Michele:u try la cos we probs will finsih at 3????

Reira;bumper maTS for bbs when they learn how to crawl or even b4 :0 will bring mine if alot of participants....if not me no car le.....

anyone staying near bt merah etc to share cab with me :p

pegsfur

Lemme know after u try out the KCK Catering k? Prob if they send to you, they'll deliver to me as well.

So r u gog to stay home with Ovann on ur own? I'm thinking abt moving back to my own place with Sam, but dunno if can cope! Tingkat can take care of the meals, I can bathe him no prob.

But I worry abt whether I have time to pump EBM often enough, with all the time needed for washing, sterilising, pumping, feeding etc. Then if he cries &amp; wants to be carried, how ah? *stressed*

Latching

Wah, just finished patching Sam for half an hour. Praying hard he sleeps for abt 30min &amp; leaves me in peace. I was so desperate when he was struggling at the breast that I was singing Amazing Grace to him while he was drinking!

How Much to Feed

I find it hard to pinpoint how much to feed Sam. When I feed him 120ml EBM, it's hardly enough. If he's v tired, he'll fall asleep for a short while then demand milk an hour later. If not tired, he will cry or demand to be carried for a while then want more milk.

But if I feed him, say, 150ml, he tends to puke more. So I dunno how leh!

<font color="ff0000">31st OCTOBER gathering</font>

suggestions

3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)

Participants

7) Regg (Regan)
11) Sbb
12) Sandy Dee
15) jul + Samuel - tentative

Baby Crying

Guess I am haunted by my milk supply prob.

Everytime Sam cries, I will panic &amp; think that he is hungry. Doesn't help that he seems hungry all the time! Then after feeding, I'll need to carry him a while b/c he tends to puke. And also, maybe not full, so he cannot sleep &amp; wants to be carried.

Everytime he goes "eh.. eh.. eh.." in his sleep, I panick. I can't tell whether he's getting ready to

1) cry for milk
2) not comfy &amp; needs to be burped again
3) just wants attention

I think I may go crazy soon.

jul
sometimes, if Zachary wants milk or diaper change and i was in the middle of showering/washing bottles, i will just ignore him and let him cry for the 5-10 mins lor. else i will be so stressed up.

Pris
omg. i was waiting for the baby fair. during july, the promotion was 3 pack of M(70) for $34.95! oh well, maybe i will buy from bp then. cheaper.

Jul, babies tend to have a strong suckling need, so even when they are sleepy, they will root around looking for comfort. So Sam may not be hungry although he looks like he is. Don't stress yourself, if not enough EBM, its ok to feed the FM. What counts is you're doing your best. Do get help, let your MIL or hb take care of him while you rest or do something of on your own. Sam needs you to stay sane and strong.

reira

Zachary won't go into a screaming fit?

If I let Sam wait for his feed, by the time he starts drinking, he will be so agitated that he will keep releasing &amp; scream in rage. His face turns red &amp; he will not be able to drink properly &amp; will choke &amp; vomit. Headache leh this BB. Very very impatient.

Mich

Yeah I am giving him FM "easily" liao. Just that he cannot wait. If he gets hungry, by the time I make the FM (which is like 5min?), he will be red with rage liao.

Jul

Your bb is so cute... = )

Same here...my bb behaves e same way....i jus give her e pacifier before e milk is ready to 'bluff' her first... = D

Jul, most babies cannot wait at this stage. But it'll get better. When they are older, firstly they don't normally cry for milk and some babies even decide to go on milk strike as they have new found interests in the environment.

Piggytoh

I tried to increase the supply and today he ate 150ml. initially the last 30ml he asleep but once finishes he wakes up again and puke a bit. I can see that he is very sleepy but cant sleep. 4th day liao le.. jst nw I put him @ his bed and he oh na a bit than I massage his face and oh na and finally sleeps.

Im keeping my finger cross nw. hope he can be back to normal asap.

========================

MUSIC FOR BB

Anyone knows where to buy gd music for bb? Kiddy palace and mother care??
I only let my bb listen the music I have played before my pregnancy.

Any recommendation?

========================

Reira

I think bb must sleep as much as possible nw ba. That time I read an article, they said sleeping is gd for bb brain development. These few days he didn have gd sleep as he cant sleep, me very worried. I wanted him to be back as usual asap. 

Your bb eh eh 2-3x only ah? My one very long wor. Making a lot of sound. I don know if he felt uncomfortable or not? Cos when I put him to sarong and than I rock him he will stop this sound. But I cannot keep on rocking him right. Haha…

========================

donkeymani

me also wan to bring bb there later but hubby cannot confirm can go or not. In the end jst nw he said don go. Aiya… but tml if bb better, I wan bring him out there for swim class.

========================

Jul in week

Sometimes bb can cry in their sleep. U try to let him cry a while and he will stop. Last time I don kw I wanted to carry, but my mum stop me. He said if he cry in the sleep and u always carry he will get used to it. Only when he cries very loud, than we will carry him cos he must be very frighten. Than after that put him to bed again.

Try to get other ppl to help u also.

I get my mum to help me take care cos I know I not gd with babies. But now, im better. I don feel afraid alone with him liao le..

And your bb very cute wor.. haha..

========================

31st OCTOBER gathering

suggestions

3) Priscilla
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9) Peg (thinking...)

Participants

7) Regg (Regan)
11) Sbb + bb (zhao zheng) + mum - tentative
12) Sandy Dee
15) jul + Samuel - tentative

mine is tentative. can only confirm near that week as i got something on. including my mum (nt hubby cos he might not be able to cme) cos she likes babies and i cannot go out alone with bb as i cant managed alone. pai seh to say this.

my bb head is still very pointed leh.. he doesn have a flat top. and everyday we have been massaging his head to make the top flat. front view cant see but side view very obvious.

i scared next time grow up ppl call him pointed head how???

jul
how old is sam nw? Jania is also impatient when she is hungry, she will scream and struggle if i latch her..so normally i only latch her before she gets hungry and start screaming..if BM not enug then give FM loh, no choice gotta stay sane and happy, i already "see open" liao..

re not enought milk
if after feed 120mil, sam still cries or asking milk after 2 hrs instead of 3,can start to slowing increase your feed to 150mil. Initally I also scared then ask Dr Ong, he says go ahead and increase, so i did that, jania also puke initally but i will burp her in btw her feed..
sometimes baby cries doesn't mean they are hungry, it can be because they need attention or comfort, so i'll try all methods first...

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/newborn/babycrying/

thanks, mere , sbb

n thanks mich, nicole, sbbfor the advice too. i think i'm quite blur n clueless. sam is already 7 weeks 2 days n i still dunno his 'pattern'

jul,
u r not alone...ryan is also similar...no pattern
worse thing is he will wan latch whenever i carry him, human pacifier n he dun wan eat pacifier...so tired...i survive on 4-6hrs of interrupted sleep...when he wants milk or wan to latch...he cries loudly n v scary...like goin to choke...tink he gotta lotsa wind, but refuse to b burp n keep fussing...headache..he doesnt sleep alot in the day too so i cant rest much

sam is so cute

long time never post here already...

busy with bfding...

sharon,
my boy same as urs...
keep wanting to latch on...
gee...not enough sleep also...

me now a giant panda...

jul
sometimes he will scream cry but once i feed him, he ok liao. he will be too busy drinking milk. before i always told him, instead of crying he should save the energy to suckle for milk. just now we went out for lunch, he waited for 1 hr cos i didnt bring any ebm out. we thought we are going to nearby to eat, who knows pil changed their mind and went to town. so he cry, stop, look around &amp; repeat for that 1 hr. after i finish showering, the moment i step into the room he saw me and scream cry liao.

sbb
music ah? not nursery? if you want those mozart ect music, pm me. i tell you where to get hehe.

oh, since when they zzz their brain is developing, then it is better to let him zzz.

sharon
nowadays, i am used to be Zachary's human pacifier hahaha i just latch him laying down &amp; suckle for comfort. within 10mins he fell asleep le.

Reira

nursery also can.
i pm u liao le.

ya zzz is better thats y im worried bb cant sleep. my bro also worried. he said if bb lack of iodine also cant sleep. so i got to take some iodie intake and when bb drink my bm than its gd for him.

jst nw my bb managed to sleep @ bed for 1hr wake up cry than put him sarong. hope he bk to normal asap

any bb head still pointed ma?

mine is still pointed leh. the above is not flat leh. i see other bb head the top is flat one.

looking at his side is obvious. if front not so.

Help!!
Think my boy now needs more milk to feel full, but he dun wan to finish all at one go! I'll have to give him 150ml, he'll then refuse to drink anymore..wait an hour then cry for more..i.e. 50ml more..washing bottles drives me crazy lor!! Have been feeding him so often that i can't do anything else..dun even have time to eat! How ah?

Am thinking of going out NOW to get a pacifier so i can stuck it in his mouth whenever he starts crying! My hub keep saying let him cry..but i just can't let him cry like tt and ignore him leh!

kyrie: try the pacifier. Sometimes they are not really hungry but just need to suckle. I chose to give my 1st son pacifier as my MIL drove me mad every time bb cry and she say bb is crying, so hungry ask me to feed. then give pacifier, bb happy, she got nothg to say. So for shannon, I gave from 3rd wk onwards. Anyways, my 1st son kicked the pacifier habit at 12 mths so i figured it's not a killer to give pacifier.

kyrie

yes pacifier is gd to bluff them. but u hav to prepared tat sometimes they will puke out. haha.
i gave to my son but he always puke out.

when he cry i rock him in his sarong 1st.

piggytoh

my bb head still pointed leh..
tat time i told u at hospital right.. we everyday keep on massaging. sad wor..

SBB,
my bb cos vacuum so at birth time also pointed.. i din massage frequently but surprisingly his head v round now.. i think not every1 will have v round head bah.. nvm la when he older with hair no 1 will notice his pointed shape")

I have avent ones at home but he reject it..so have to go out buy the NUK ones since i'm using NUK bottle teats..shall try them tonight when he starts crying!!

Now he knocked out..since 4pm!! Guess he used up quite a bit of energy crying the whole morning and early afternoon!

sbb
just replied to you and accept your msn invitation. during the day, sometimes my boy also zzz half an hr and woke up wanting attention. i just latch him and he fell asleep within 5mins. also, he just spit out milk while zzzing!!! @$%$%@$! hate it when he did that even tho he only spit out milk at most twice a week. sometimes i wonder when will he go into non-REM sleep so that i can put him on the bed without waking him up.

kyrie
whenever my boy cry, i will stuff my nipple in his mouth first. but today, he got new pattern!!! tried the human pacifier but he scream cry. carried him to his cot and on the cot mobile, he ok liao. after awhile he sian of it and wants milk.